Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Reviews written by Freeda

8 results - showing 1 - 8
 
 
Vegan Granola Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     October 20, 2013
Rating 
 
5.0

Great recipe!

I had extra apples to use up and this turned out great. It was crunchy with just the right amount of sweetness. Whenever I have a vegan dessert to make, this website is the first place I look. Thanks!

Other Vegan Cooking Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     October 11, 2012

Addictive

I made this with lemon juice instead of lime, and I halved the amount of juice, tahini, and olive oil. To thin it out, I added some cooking liquid from the beans. It was spectacular and would make a great Thanksgiving appetizer with crackers or rice chips.

Vegan Cookie Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     August 21, 2012

Gluten Free flour not recommended without adjustme

I tried making these with a gluten-free flour blend in place of the AP flour, and they turned out more like cake or bread. I imagine that the baking powder would need to be adjusted when using rice flour blends, or that I shouldn't have mixed it so much. They weren't super-sweet either, and since I baked half the batch in a square pan and half the batch as cookies, I put some vegan vanilla frosting in between a layer of square cookies (inspired by the Cowvin Cookie (http://stickyfingersbakery.com/products-page/sweetsandeats/cowvin-cookies/) and they are much better that way!!

Vegan Sauce Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     August 08, 2012

Did not work for me!

I tried this recipe twice and each time the caramelized sugar ended up like rock candy in the pan when I added the cream, and it wouldn't mix with the cream--it just hardened into a clump. I checked my thermometer w/boiling water to make sure it was reading the temp correctly, and I made sure to tilt the pan so that I could get a good reading since the sugar/water was pretty shallow in the pan. I'm wondering what I did wrong! I used an older metal saucepan and I wonder if the metal is too thin? Do you need a super heavy duty saucepan? Help!

Reviewed by Freeda     July 08, 2012
Rating 
 
5.0

Wheat-free version

I substituted 1 cup oat flour and 1/2 + 2TBS rice flour for the flour in this recipe, and the cookies turned out great. The dough was soft, not thick (probably because of the oat flour), so I made them like drop cookies and shortened the baking time to about 10 minutes.

Vegan Candy Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     June 26, 2012

DON'T SKIP THE STEP WITH THE THE COLD WATER BATH!!

I almost got lazy and didn't prepare a cold water bath--but thank God I did because the sugar boiled way over, onto the stovetop and nearly caught fire! Keep the cold water bath near the stove!!
Thanks Mattie for including this step--it saved the day.
One day I will attempt these again. On someone's else's stove.

Vegan Candy Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     June 26, 2012

DON'T SKIP THE STEP WITH THE THE COLD WATER BATH!!

I almost got lazy and didn't prepare a cold water bath--but thank God I did because the sugar boiled way over, onto the stovetop and nearly caught fire! Keep the cold water bath near the stove!!
One day I will attempt these again. On someone's else's stove.

Vegan Brownie Recipes
Reviewed by Freeda     June 13, 2012
Rating 
 
5.0

Vegan Heaven

I would strongly recommend this! I've never had success with candy-making, but this recipe made it easy--just follow the instructions exactly. It took me about 30 minutes to get the caramel temperature to 250 (I have an electric stovetop and had to watch it vigilantly.)
My only complaint is that the instructions say to use "coconut cream" and then later, "coconut milk". I assumed they were the same thing? The fudge turned out excellent, so I must have done it right! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

8 results - showing 1 - 8