Reviews written by Gilly

10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
 
Vegan Butter Recipes
GillyGilly   October 08, 2014

Damn good spread

Well I made this but unfortunately I made it with really strong virgin olive oil and neither I or my husband liked the taste much. However I then made it again with neutral tasting rapeseed oil (plus a mix of Maldon salt and sel de Guerande) and ended up with a bloody delicious spread that spreads out of the fridge. Pretty much what I've been looking for. Matty you are a splendid chap!!

GillyGilly   January 26, 2013

Hi we've been able to Soyatoo for quite a while in the UK. However sometime ago you used to be able to get the soy cream in a carton and whip it up like real cream and it was fantastic. Then it disappeared and you could only get the squirty stuff. I went to the German webpage and their message said something along the lines of it not being reliably stable so they were removing it from the UK market. However you can still get it in Germany - what's up with that? I wrote to them in albeit rather poor German but never heard back. Still like the squirty cream but it is a bit temperamental when trying to get it out the can. If you do it the way Matty advised it does seem to work pretty well. Made some excellent "Devon" cream and strawberry scones. Going to try making Pecan pie from Pie in the Sky tonight and serve it with that. I haven't tried the rice cream but I think I'm about to as someone found some for 49p in a bargain shop and bought me 8!! Wish they'd bring back the cartons though.

GillyGilly   March 07, 2012

I'm big enuff (and getting bigger) to admit I was

Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.

Vegan Ice Cream Recipes
GillyGilly   March 05, 2012

Here it is. Try it! Unbelievably good.
http://seitanismymotor.com/2010/05/speculoos-spread-ice-cream/

Vegan Ice Cream Recipes
GillyGilly   February 12, 2012

Have you checked out Mihl's recipe for specaloos icecream on "Seitan is my motor" website? I made that with ground up specaloos instead of ginger snaps and it was absolutely fantastic. I'm guessing this will be too...

GillyGilly   December 09, 2011
Rating 
 
5.0

Dear God help me!

Mattie you mad crazy scientist, I just made this....now I am hooked up to it's liquid form intravenously...I thought we were going to be more like Bill, eat salads, fruit, boiled potatoes...I know, I know, fresh raspberries...but coated in lush chocolate, thick gooey, silky, wickedness.... can't write...overdosing on chocolatey...nes......s....

Vegan Baking Guides
GillyGilly   December 03, 2011

In the UK Alpro is a pretty good yoghurt. I really like their plain one all though it doesn't really have the sourness of a good dairy yoghurt. I made a pretty good soy yoghurt but have not had much luck making nut yoghurts. I added a bit of sweetner as nut milk apparently lacks the sugars to feed the culture. I also read that pectin thickens it but it didn't work at all for me. Have you tried making your own nut yoghurts and if you have what success have you had?

Vegan Brownie Recipes
GillyGilly   November 30, 2011
(Updated: November 30, 2011)
Rating 
 
5.0

Dooooof!!!!

Well I really only made these because I wanted to make Mattie's double chocolate brownie chunk ice cream! ha ha ha I removed a couple of brownies at the beginning and diced them and put them in the freezer to remove all temptation of finishing the tray! These are gorgeous! I've made brownies before with fax seed for chew and they were good but not as good as these. After I'd made the mix without walnuts, I studded one half of the tray with walnuts (for myself) and left the other half plain (for my husband) so Jack Sprat and his wife lived happily ever after (if somewhat wider around the girth.) American husband said these were what proper brownies should taste like, so British wife was justly proud!

GillyGilly   November 30, 2011
(Updated: November 30, 2011)
Rating 
 
5.0

The bees knees!

Now this is what I call ice cream!!!!!! This is like a more intensely flavoured Ben and Jerry's chocolate fudge brownie. I have to confess Mattie, that I foolishly doubted the recipe and added a few more cashews as I love the thick creamy taste of cashew but other wise left the recipe as it was (may be vegans are just unable to leave recipes alone and have to fiddle due to all the recipe alterations they make to remove the dairy etc from their old favourite recipes?) When I saw the boiled mess of cashews, sugar and water I was a little unsure but then I dabbed my finger in and the taste was divine. Once blended this became a tremendously thick and creamy ice cream and unlike other non dairy ice cream I've made this was great properly frozen and easy to scoop straight out of the freezer. Superb flavour and texture. Definitely a winner!!!..and who'd have thunk vinegar in ice cream!! You are a genius man!
Oh I should add, I forgot to whip it before putting it in the ice cream maker, I'll try that next time, though it really seemed as if it couldn't be improved upon!

Vegan Ice Cream Recipes
GillyGilly   November 30, 2011
(Updated: December 03, 2011)

Damned good!

Since making the transition from vegetarian to vegan about 7 months ago I've been on a quest to replicate good dairy ice cream. I was always a fan of Ben and Jerry's so that's what I've been trying to duplicate. My husband is a fan of ice milk and likes his ice cream rather less creamy and he declared this a winner. I really liked it but I think I might have to sneak in some cashew cream or something to give it a little more creaminess. The taste was superb and very vanilla-ish. Great job!!

10 results - showing 1 - 10