Easy Vegan Ganache
Although not as smooth and creamy as Dark Velvet Ganache, this Easy Vegan Ganache recipe is still great when you need vegan ganache in a pinch. Ganache can be a very versatile base for a recipe. It can be adapted to anything from frostings to truffles to fillings. Just adjust the non-dairy milk in this recipe plus or minus up to 2 Tablespoons to get the thickness that suits your needs. For example: 2 more Tablespoons non-dairy milk will make this ganache solidify into a soft frosting-like consistency at room temperature. ½ cup of non-dairy milk yields ganache that is perfect for vegan cakes. You can even customize it further with things like Grand Marnier, Chambord, espresso or mint extract.
The importance of using semisweet chocolateIt's essential to use semisweet chocolate bars for this recipe instead of chocolate chips. Chocolate chips contain a higher amount of cocoa butter than regular chocolate. This is so they don't melt as much and retain their shape while being baked in things like vegan cookies. This low meltability also makes them unsuitable for ganache. Using semisweet chocolate in bar or chunk form will ensure your ganache turns out silky smooth.
Find more Chocolate recipes on Veganbaking.net
Easy Vegan Ganache Recipe
1) Chop the chocolateChop the chocolate into ¼ inch pieces. This is very important because if the pieces are larger than ¼ inch they won't melt enough. Place these pieces into a double boiler or a medium saucepan.
2) Stir in the non-dairy milkAdd the non-dairy milk. Stir constantly on low heat until all the chocolate pieces are melted. Once all the pieces are melted, remove from heat and whisk in any flavoring liquids if desired.
3) Cool the vegan ganache to suit your applicationUse the mixture while it's warm or wait for it to cool depending on your application.
This recipe makes about 1 ¼ cups of Easy Vegan Ganache depending on the ratio of non-dairy milk.
Get a price on the Semisweet Baking Chocolate I Recommend at Amazon.
fseeman, it depends on the chocolate. Look at the ingredient list. But most darker chocolates are in fact vegan.
Hi I am making edible teenage mutant ninga turtle mutagent ooze for my brother. Can I change the recipe to white chocolate and then add a green food colour? Thanks x