Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ask a Vegan Baker

Our community would love to help you with your vegan baking questions. Please log in to ask or answer a question. Want to be on the Ask a Vegan Baker answer team? Contact us!

Yuki244
Yuki244
Offline
Resolved
0 votes
Hi,

I have a severe egg allergy and gluten intolerance, so I've started following a vegan diet. However, I seem to react whenever I eat
Chocolate. There are a few vegan suitable chocolate Brands, eg. ' Balance'. Is there egg in chocolate and since cocoa content is generally low in most manufactured 'chocolates' , are there any vegan or plant based alternatives that you would reccomend.

Thank you!
Wednesday, February 20 2013, 04:29 AM
Share this post:
Responses (4)
  • Accepted Answer

    IBMiel
    IBMiel
    Offline
    Wednesday, February 20 2013, 05:27 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    Hi Yuki244, have you tried Carob as a substitute? While it's not my favorite it's the only ingredient I know of that is a substitute for chocolate and is healthy as well :) See very short video at: http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-carob-good-for-you/
    The reply is currently minimized Show
  • Accepted Answer

    Mattie
    Mattie
    Offline
    Thursday, February 21 2013, 01:21 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    Hi Yuki244,

    When you mean Balance Chocolate, do you mean the chocolate version of their energy bar? If so, it's possible the chocolate coating just doesn't haven enough cocoa to make you sick. Most bar chocolate candy and energy bar manufacturers don't use 100% chocolate coatings in the name of affordability.

    If you don't mind potentially getting slightly sick in the name of looking for answers, you might want to track down some cacao nibs and eat a small amount to see if you get the same allergy as when you eat normal chocolate. Chocolate is made with cacao, which contains cocoa solids and cocoa butter. Chocolate also contains sugar, vanilla extract , usually lecithin and sometimes other stabilizers and flavorings, depending on the manufacturer.

    If you have symptoms after eating cacao nibs, then it's safe to say you have a chocolate allergy and sadly, the only thing you can do is avoid it and look to carob-based foods as IBMiel mentioned.

    Good luck and us know what you find!
    The reply is currently minimized Show
  • Accepted Answer

    Yuki244
    Yuki244
    Offline
    Friday, February 22 2013, 12:02 AM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    Thank you for the replies.

    IBMiel,I have tried Carob biscuits. Thanks for the link.

    I don't mean Balance energy bar , it's a chocolate bar that is supposed to be suitable for vegans and vegetarians.http://www.klingelechocolade.be/
    The reply is currently minimized Show
  • Accepted Answer

    Mattie
    Mattie
    Offline
    Friday, February 22 2013, 09:15 AM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    I looked at that bar and although they don't list the ingredients, it looks like they use rice solids instead of milk solids. Most high quality dark chocolate is vegan- just look for it without milkfat or butter in the ingredients. Other than that, as mentioned earlier, carob is the way to go. Good luck!
    The reply is currently minimized Show
Your Reply