Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (20)
7
37 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
I am not sure how I came to this recipe but I am so glad that I did. I made this earlier today and snuck a taste after several hours in the freezer. I split the ice cream leaving one half as the original recipe and then I added puréed frozen strawberries to the other half. Both are delicious but the strawberry is heavenly!! Thank you so much, I am so happy to have a base recipe to add my favorite fruit and mixins to. The only thing I plan to change is to use refined coconut oil instead of the unrefined to avoid the coconut smell and taste and to make it more of a true vanilla. I look forward to trying the variations you come up with.
Rating 
 
5.0
Kihelaine Reviewed by Kihelaine July 20, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUM!!!

I am not sure how I came to this recipe but I am so glad that I did. I made this earlier today and snuck a taste after several hours in the freezer. I split the ice cream leaving one half as the original recipe and then I added puréed frozen strawberries to the other half. Both are delicious but the strawberry is heavenly!! Thank you so much, I am so happy to have a base recipe to add my favorite fruit and mixins to. The only thing I plan to change is to use refined coconut oil instead of the unrefined to avoid the coconut smell and taste and to make it more of a true vanilla. I look forward to trying the variations you come up with.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie, greetings from France!

I just invested in a Kenwood Chef with an ice cream maker attachment, and am looking forward to trying this recipe. Here in France we have cashew butter, which consists of only puréed cashews, and is nice and smooth. Have you ever tried anything like this, or do you have any idea of the quantity of cashew butter I should use to replace the nuts? If not, I'll try it with say 1/2 cup, adjust the liquid, and let you know my results.

Also, I have some apple concentrate syrup on hand. Have you ever used this? It is nice and sweet, but may give a little acidity, so I might reduce or omit the vinegar. What do you think?

I just discovered your wonderful site, and am looking forward to looking around it! Many thanks!
chilepepper Reviewed by chilepepper June 21, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Cashew butter and apple syrup

Hi Mattie, greetings from France!

I just invested in a Kenwood Chef with an ice cream maker attachment, and am looking forward to trying this recipe. Here in France we have cashew butter, which consists of only puréed cashews, and is nice and smooth. Have you ever tried anything like this, or do you have any idea of the quantity of cashew butter I should use to replace the nuts? If not, I'll try it with say 1/2 cup, adjust the liquid, and let you know my results.

Also, I have some apple concentrate syrup on hand. Have you ever used this? It is nice and sweet, but may give a little acidity, so I might reduce or omit the vinegar. What do you think?

I just discovered your wonderful site, and am looking forward to looking around it! Many thanks!

Owner's reply

Great ice cream ideas chilepepper! I've used cashew butter in the past, but the issue is that most of it found in grocery stores in the US is roasted, which lends only what I can describe as "pet" flavor and aroma to desserts made with it. Ice cream that smells like your pet dog? Not very appetizing! Unroasted cashew butter is almost impossible to find so it's easier to just call for pureeing cashews. If you can find unroasted cashew butter, go for it! It's one less step you'll need to worry about.

Regarding apple juice concentrate, I've found that it has an extremely high concentration of malic acid. Malic acid is a very sharp/harsh acid that can clash with many foods, especially desserts. White grape juice concentrate has a softer acid profile but is much harder to find. Sweetness actually goes through what I refer to as a "flavor path" as it's perceived on your palate from start to finish. I've found that plain 'ol sugar tends to have the most full, long lasting flavor path so that's why I recommend it over other sweeteners. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
any chance I can use agar-agar instead of the Xanthan gum? I can't wait to try this!
Thanks!
Reviewed by Sue Walker June 15, 2014

any chance I can use agar-agar instead of the Xanthan gum? I can't wait to try this!
Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Sue!

Agar should work almost as well although I don't know how much you'd need to add. The xanthan gum holds onto air bubbles and assists in emulsifying; two things that agar doesn't do. So the ice cream may turn out a little more dense.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this for our Memorial Day cookout, and served it with my veganized peach cobbler. i was so excited about how good i already knew it was, that i kept bringing my friends to the freezer for a sneak peek taste while it was ripening. they were all shocked and in love. i substituted the canola oil for the cocoa butter and used refined coconut oil as it was what i had on hand with no worries. since i only had psyllium husk powder and no xanthan gum, i went by the substitution guideline you listed for the vegan butter recipe and it worked perfectly. i don't know if you've ever had Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla ice cream, but down here in Texas it is king, and something i know my husband has missed since becoming vegan. store bought vegan ice creams are shall we just say, unsatisfying. this is so much better than either of those options. thank you!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
verveine Reviewed by verveine May 28, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

delicious!

I made this for our Memorial Day cookout, and served it with my veganized peach cobbler. i was so excited about how good i already knew it was, that i kept bringing my friends to the freezer for a sneak peek taste while it was ripening. they were all shocked and in love. i substituted the canola oil for the cocoa butter and used refined coconut oil as it was what i had on hand with no worries. since i only had psyllium husk powder and no xanthan gum, i went by the substitution guideline you listed for the vegan butter recipe and it worked perfectly. i don't know if you've ever had Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla ice cream, but down here in Texas it is king, and something i know my husband has missed since becoming vegan. store bought vegan ice creams are shall we just say, unsatisfying. this is so much better than either of those options. thank you!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Just wondering why you didn't dump the water after the cashews have been soaked? In other recipes that I've soaked cashews I've emptied the water and then poured in fresh water to blend the cashews.

Also, what do you think about taking the soaked cashews and blending them with some soy creamer instead of water? My thinking is that I want to get the most creamiest taste out of vegan ice cream and wondering if this would help?
tages. Reviewed by tages. April 25, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Cashew Water

Just wondering why you didn't dump the water after the cashews have been soaked? In other recipes that I've soaked cashews I've emptied the water and then poured in fresh water to blend the cashews.

Also, what do you think about taking the soaked cashews and blending them with some soy creamer instead of water? My thinking is that I want to get the most creamiest taste out of vegan ice cream and wondering if this would help?

Owner's reply

Great ice cream questions tages! Dumping the cashew soaking water and replacing it vs actually using the cashew water comes down to personal preference. My preference is to use the soaking water because it has more flavor and eliminates a measuring step. But it's pretty nitpicky of me.

You could add some soy creamer but I prefer to avaid all the highly processed soy creamer additives. The goal of this ice cream is to keep things relatively minimally processed. Again, a rather nitpicky move; I bet it would be a little more rich with the non-dairy creamer. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Help! Whole Foods gave me whole raw coconut and I didn't realize it wasn't the oil until I got home and was in the middle of making this. I am already substituting additional vegetable oil for the coco butter (because it costs $25.00) so I don't know if this will ruin the batch. I am using a tofu base (boiled for 3 minutes to get rid of bean flavor, as suggested by one of the commenters) and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.
Veganease Reviewed by Veganease April 04, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Can I use raw coconut in place of coconut oil?

Help! Whole Foods gave me whole raw coconut and I didn't realize it wasn't the oil until I got home and was in the middle of making this. I am already substituting additional vegetable oil for the coco butter (because it costs $25.00) so I don't know if this will ruin the batch. I am using a tofu base (boiled for 3 minutes to get rid of bean flavor, as suggested by one of the commenters) and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Im following this recipe but the ice cream isn't seem to be going anywhere in the ice cream maker. Its staying a thick liquid.
Reviewed by Jon March 19, 2014

help

Im following this recipe but the ice cream isn't seem to be going anywhere in the ice cream maker. Its staying a thick liquid.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe is great such a smooth creamy consistency - the best vegan home made ice-cream I have tasted or made. And thanks for the detailed description of what makes this ice-cream great I can see now why some of the other recipes I have made have failed!
I use the cashew base as I like the flavour more. I don't have a Vita mix so I soak the cashews for a few hours and also boil them for 15mins before blending them.
Other flavour variations I have done with this recipe - White Chocolate and Raspberry - use 3tsp of cacao butter instead of the coconut oil half a cup of raspberries and half a cup of white choc chips.
Maple Walnut - use maple flavoured syrup instead of the corn syrup and add 1/2 cup of very finely chopped walnuts and one teaspoon of vanilla powder along with the vanilla essence
YUM.
Rating 
 
5.0
bellafood Reviewed by bellafood March 08, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delicious thanks for such a great recipe!

This recipe is great such a smooth creamy consistency - the best vegan home made ice-cream I have tasted or made. And thanks for the detailed description of what makes this ice-cream great I can see now why some of the other recipes I have made have failed!
I use the cashew base as I like the flavour more. I don't have a Vita mix so I soak the cashews for a few hours and also boil them for 15mins before blending them.
Other flavour variations I have done with this recipe - White Chocolate and Raspberry - use 3tsp of cacao butter instead of the coconut oil half a cup of raspberries and half a cup of white choc chips.
Maple Walnut - use maple flavoured syrup instead of the corn syrup and add 1/2 cup of very finely chopped walnuts and one teaspoon of vanilla powder along with the vanilla essence
YUM.

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you enjoyed the ice cream bellafood! Those flavor variations are brilliant. I can't wait to try White Chocolate and Raspberry!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I heard about this ice cream on Episode 42 of Big Fat Vegan Radio. Ben said it's delicious with the cashews, cannot wait to try it.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Amanda Erickson February 22, 2014

Raved About on Big Fat Vegan Radio

I heard about this ice cream on Episode 42 of Big Fat Vegan Radio. Ben said it's delicious with the cashews, cannot wait to try it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This icecream is delicious!! I've had many failed attempts at making vegan icecream but this one was great. A little sweet for me, but I can adjust that :)
I was wondering about how long this icecream will last in the freezer and still be scoopable? It was perfect the first time I had it, but 24 hours later when I got it out to have it again it was frozen pretty hard, and had to wait for it to defrost a little :(
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Lucy January 26, 2014

Question about scoopability

This icecream is delicious!! I've had many failed attempts at making vegan icecream but this one was great. A little sweet for me, but I can adjust that :)
I was wondering about how long this icecream will last in the freezer and still be scoopable? It was perfect the first time I had it, but 24 hours later when I got it out to have it again it was frozen pretty hard, and had to wait for it to defrost a little :(

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the ice cream Lucy! This ice cream is designed to be scoopable as long as regular ice cream is- for several months. The recipe is still evolving so I'll make it soon and if I find it hardening excessively, I'll take steps to correct it and update the recipe accordingly. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This is so delicious! I have been using Miyoko Schinner's book about Artisan Vegan Cheese, and so I knew the power of the cashew. Finally tried this today, and it is divine.

I do have a question - do you think you taste sweetness more when it's not frozen in the ice cream maker? When I had blended all the ingredients, I gave the cream a taste, and I could have sworn I added too much sugar. I actually got worried, and had some of Miyoko's macadamia ricotta on hand, so I just tossed some in because I thought it might balance out the sweetness. Now that I've tried it after freezing completely, I think it would have been fine as it was. (The ricotta is not a bad addition - I now have cheesecake ice cream!)

Just wondering if sweetness and temperature is "a thing."

Thank you so much! I had it with crumbled almond chocolate toffee (vegan also).
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Tara January 16, 2014

Will you marry me?

This is so delicious! I have been using Miyoko Schinner's book about Artisan Vegan Cheese, and so I knew the power of the cashew. Finally tried this today, and it is divine.

I do have a question - do you think you taste sweetness more when it's not frozen in the ice cream maker? When I had blended all the ingredients, I gave the cream a taste, and I could have sworn I added too much sugar. I actually got worried, and had some of Miyoko's macadamia ricotta on hand, so I just tossed some in because I thought it might balance out the sweetness. Now that I've tried it after freezing completely, I think it would have been fine as it was. (The ricotta is not a bad addition - I now have cheesecake ice cream!)

Just wondering if sweetness and temperature is "a thing."

Thank you so much! I had it with crumbled almond chocolate toffee (vegan also).

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Tara! Miyoko's book is amazing isn't it? I bet the ricotta was great in the ice cream. Great idea! Yes, sweetness and temperature is most definitely a thing. Colder temperatures absolutely mute sweetness. So ice cream will taste sweeter as it's churning at a cold temperature slightly below freezing but taste considerably less sweet once it hardens at the proper freezer temperature close to 0F. You'll notice that as ice cream gets more melty, it also tends to taste more intense and sweet. In fact, all food gets more flavorful as it warms, to an extent.

So glad it worked out for you! The crumbled almond chocolate toffee on top sounds fascinating.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This looks so incredibly well considered - thank you! I haven't tried it yet because I had a couple of questions.
I'm wondering why the use of unrefined coconut oil as opposed to refined (if the coconut taste is not desired)? Presumably refined will work the same? Also, I assume the coconut oil needs to be liquid before adding to blender?
Also, I can't seem to get cocoa butter in Australia, could I just use coconut oil instead or should it be a 'liquid' oil like canola?
Finally with the xanthum gum the stuff I have is in 1g sachets and is a fine dry granule - do i need to reconstitute it or anything or just add it to the mix?
Thanks in advance - I'm wanting to make this for Christmas and blow the minds of my omnivore guests! Cheers.
colleenc Reviewed by colleenc December 13, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Question re oils

This looks so incredibly well considered - thank you! I haven't tried it yet because I had a couple of questions.
I'm wondering why the use of unrefined coconut oil as opposed to refined (if the coconut taste is not desired)? Presumably refined will work the same? Also, I assume the coconut oil needs to be liquid before adding to blender?
Also, I can't seem to get cocoa butter in Australia, could I just use coconut oil instead or should it be a 'liquid' oil like canola?
Finally with the xanthum gum the stuff I have is in 1g sachets and is a fine dry granule - do i need to reconstitute it or anything or just add it to the mix?
Thanks in advance - I'm wanting to make this for Christmas and blow the minds of my omnivore guests! Cheers.

Owner's reply

Hi colleenc! A little bit of coconut taste is desired in the background, hence the inclusion of unrefined coconut oil. Cocoa butter has a similar effect but if you can't find it, substitute it with 1 teaspoon vegetable oil as the recipe suggests. The xanthan gum is just vortexed in as per the recipe instructions. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
First, I want to thank you for a very detailed break down of why we love ice cream. Your method of explaining why ice cream with dairy is such a joy to make and eat is very helpful in setting the right mental approach to why making vegan ice cream should be joyful!
Second, I've used this recipe twice...once to make a vanilla ice cream and then as a base for a mango ice cream! I prefer using full fat coconut milk and arrow root as substitutes for your original and the texture has been rich and creamy.
Would you agree that using this basic recipe as a base for several flavors of ice cream would work?
Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Nnamdi September 21, 2013

The Science of Delicious!

First, I want to thank you for a very detailed break down of why we love ice cream. Your method of explaining why ice cream with dairy is such a joy to make and eat is very helpful in setting the right mental approach to why making vegan ice cream should be joyful!
Second, I've used this recipe twice...once to make a vanilla ice cream and then as a base for a mango ice cream! I prefer using full fat coconut milk and arrow root as substitutes for your original and the texture has been rich and creamy.
Would you agree that using this basic recipe as a base for several flavors of ice cream would work?
Thanks!

Owner's reply

Thanks Nnamdi! Using full-fat coconut milk and arrowroot as a base is a great idea and should work awesomely as a base for different ice cream flavors. I'd like to eventually include full-fat coconut milk as a third option for a base in a future recipe update. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've been experimenting a lot, trying to come up with a good ice cream dairy free for my hubby. We haven't been thrilled with any of the commercial brands. Oh my gosh, thanks to you, I've just found it! The first batch I made was okay but we just didn't care for the coconut flavor soooo rather than adding coconut oil I instead added 12 grams (3 t.) of the cocoa butter. Perfect! We can't believe it! I used the silken tofu as there is less fat in the tofu rather than the cashews. However, I would bet this ice cream made with cashews would be wonderful also! Thank you so much! Next, the pumpkin--I plan to use this recipe and simply add some pureed butternut squash and spice!
Rating 
 
5.0
Veggiewoman Reviewed by Veggiewoman September 18, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic with one little change

I've been experimenting a lot, trying to come up with a good ice cream dairy free for my hubby. We haven't been thrilled with any of the commercial brands. Oh my gosh, thanks to you, I've just found it! The first batch I made was okay but we just didn't care for the coconut flavor soooo rather than adding coconut oil I instead added 12 grams (3 t.) of the cocoa butter. Perfect! We can't believe it! I used the silken tofu as there is less fat in the tofu rather than the cashews. However, I would bet this ice cream made with cashews would be wonderful also! Thank you so much! Next, the pumpkin--I plan to use this recipe and simply add some pureed butternut squash and spice!

Owner's reply

So glad this ice cream worked so well for you Veggiewoman!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Ok - if I could truly rate this recipe on a scale of 1 - 5, I'd have to give it a 12. It is the best homemade vegan ice cream I've ever tasted and it gives some of the best soy and non-soy based vegan store brands an honest run for their money!  I doubled this recipe to make two quarts. I also followed another poster's advice to boil the tofu about 3 min to reduce its nutty flavor (I boiled the silken tofu inside of a nut milk bag). The texture, color, flavor, and mouth feel were simply superb! I tried it on my family and they LOVED it! I got comments like "I can't believe how real this tastes!", "I can eat this without stomach issue worries, yet this is sooo good!" and "Bye-Bye Soy Delicious!" I will DEFINITELY be making this again and again! This will be my base for
butter pecan, maple and black walnut, turtle tracks, and many other "vanilla family" based ice creams.

Now my questions. Do you, or will you have a catalog or book of homemade non-dairy ice cream,  sherbert, sorbet, and frozen yogurt recipes? If so, where when can I find it/them? Lastly, if I change out the cocoa butter for a "tasteless" oil and remove the vanilla, is this an excellent base for endless fruit and non fruit ice creams? I want to understand how to build many flavors. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and recipe.
Rating 
 
5.0
ttyme09 Reviewed by ttyme09 September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Not Missing The "Real" Thing!

Ok - if I could truly rate this recipe on a scale of 1 - 5, I'd have to give it a 12. It is the best homemade vegan ice cream I've ever tasted and it gives some of the best soy and non-soy based vegan store brands an honest run for their money!  I doubled this recipe to make two quarts. I also followed another poster's advice to boil the tofu about 3 min to reduce its nutty flavor (I boiled the silken tofu inside of a nut milk bag). The texture, color, flavor, and mouth feel were simply superb! I tried it on my family and they LOVED it! I got comments like "I can't believe how real this tastes!", "I can eat this without stomach issue worries, yet this is sooo good!" and "Bye-Bye Soy Delicious!" I will DEFINITELY be making this again and again! This will be my base for
butter pecan, maple and black walnut, turtle tracks, and many other "vanilla family" based ice creams.

Now my questions. Do you, or will you have a catalog or book of homemade non-dairy ice cream,  sherbert, sorbet, and frozen yogurt recipes? If so, where when can I find it/them? Lastly, if I change out the cocoa butter for a "tasteless" oil and remove the vanilla, is this an excellent base for endless fruit and non fruit ice creams? I want to understand how to build many flavors. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and recipe.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much ttyme09! I'm so glad this ice cream worked so well for you! This recipe is meant for me to be a starting point for me to eventually to redo all my vegan ice creams from. I've been really wanting to embark on this journey lately and eventually post a book's worth of frozen dessert recipes on Veganbaking.net based on this recipe.

Someday I'll write a book but for now I prefer putting everything I do on Veganbaking.net and Veganfoodcraft.com (my other blog) so they can be shared and easily accessed by anyone for free, without them needing to buy a book.

Regarding your second question, the short answer is yes. You could use deodorized cocoa butter (or deodorized coconut oil should also work for a substitute), hold the vanilla and this recipe would definitely work as a base for any ice cream recipe. But you might want to experiment with leaving the cocoa butter as-is so you get the flavor-depth similar to a dairy based ice cream. It's worth experimenting with to see which option works. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
37 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3  
Ordering