Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Sticky Vegan Cinnamon Rolls Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (46)
28
57 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
These were fantastic! I made a substitute of the equivalent of 2 eggs worth of egg replacer. I made the dough in my bread machine for the first rise, wet ingredients first, then flour, then yeast on top. Came out perfect! I also omitted the nuts and raisins as we're just not big fans. In the filling, I added a tablespoon of tapioca flour after reading other reviews that the filling leaks out a lot, and I used half the maple syrup. The filling was hard to spread but it seemed to help things stay inside! Lovely flavour, next time I will be adding even more cinnamon though. This is a keeper, my family had no idea it was vegan and I'm making these for our Christmas morning treat this year! THANK YOU!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rachel December 18, 2012

AMAZING

These were fantastic! I made a substitute of the equivalent of 2 eggs worth of egg replacer. I made the dough in my bread machine for the first rise, wet ingredients first, then flour, then yeast on top. Came out perfect! I also omitted the nuts and raisins as we're just not big fans. In the filling, I added a tablespoon of tapioca flour after reading other reviews that the filling leaks out a lot, and I used half the maple syrup. The filling was hard to spread but it seemed to help things stay inside! Lovely flavour, next time I will be adding even more cinnamon though. This is a keeper, my family had no idea it was vegan and I'm making these for our Christmas morning treat this year! THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wonderful! I just brought these to a potluck and they were a hit! I made them half whole wheat and made a different icing recipe due to ingredients I had on hand. I also made the dough in my bread machine. I've already emailed someone a link to the recipe and I will definitely make these again!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Angela December 17, 2012

Wonderful! I just brought these to a potluck and they were a hit! I made them half whole wheat and made a different icing recipe due to ingredients I had on hand. I also made the dough in my bread machine. I've already emailed someone a link to the recipe and I will definitely make these again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow! This is my first time making cinnamon buns and this is superb! I didn't have flax meal so I used an egg replacer. Turned out great! So moist and chewy! Delicious!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Grace October 19, 2012

Wow! This is my first time making cinnamon buns and this is superb! I didn't have flax meal so I used an egg replacer. Turned out great! So moist and chewy! Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Amazing.. Best I've ever had even on day 2. My husband and son are not vegan like myself of my daughter and LOVED them. It's a great recipe and I've had no problems what so ever during baking.
Mattie, thank you so much. I've now tried 4 of your recipes and they all have been great!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rayna May 24, 2012

Sticky Cinnamon Rolls

Amazing.. Best I've ever had even on day 2. My husband and son are not vegan like myself of my daughter and LOVED them. It's a great recipe and I've had no problems what so ever during baking.
Mattie, thank you so much. I've now tried 4 of your recipes and they all have been great!

Owner's reply

Glad my track record is doing so well with you Rayna! ;) Awesome that your family loved these so much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These sure looked magnificent, but I was disappointed in a couple of aspects. The dough is excellent. When I made the filling, there was nowhere near enough to cover the rectangle. (I was following your instructions precisely, so I measured the dough to 16x20) My solution was to bulk it up with more 'butter.' I also added more cinnamon, 2.5 tsp seemed light. I carefully covered the surface, though I recommend using a rubber scraper or an offset spatula rather than spoon. Anyhooo. I baked them in a metal pan lined with a silicone sheet. I usually stay away from glass as it's a poor conductor of heat, and I wasn't worried about even cooking because I was using the convection setting in my oven. They came out looking incredible. I used a reduced amount of coconut oil in the frosting (I was low having just made some vegan butter :) ) and was glad of that because I prefer a less viscous result from using just the milk.
The thing was, when we dug into them, there was virtually no filling inside. It had either been absorbed somehow or leached out. There were in fact puddles of caramel on the silicone sheet. That said, my husband thought they were delicious, and they were really good. Next time I think I would actually cut back on the butter in the filling. Do you think that might keep the filling from sliding out?
Thanks!
Rating 
 
4.0
andreanewengland Reviewed by andreanewengland March 11, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Slightly disappointed

These sure looked magnificent, but I was disappointed in a couple of aspects. The dough is excellent. When I made the filling, there was nowhere near enough to cover the rectangle. (I was following your instructions precisely, so I measured the dough to 16x20) My solution was to bulk it up with more 'butter.' I also added more cinnamon, 2.5 tsp seemed light. I carefully covered the surface, though I recommend using a rubber scraper or an offset spatula rather than spoon. Anyhooo. I baked them in a metal pan lined with a silicone sheet. I usually stay away from glass as it's a poor conductor of heat, and I wasn't worried about even cooking because I was using the convection setting in my oven. They came out looking incredible. I used a reduced amount of coconut oil in the frosting (I was low having just made some vegan butter :) ) and was glad of that because I prefer a less viscous result from using just the milk.
The thing was, when we dug into them, there was virtually no filling inside. It had either been absorbed somehow or leached out. There were in fact puddles of caramel on the silicone sheet. That said, my husband thought they were delicious, and they were really good. Next time I think I would actually cut back on the butter in the filling. Do you think that might keep the filling from sliding out?
Thanks!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for your input Andrea! I've updated the recipe to call for a dough scraper or spatula to spread the filling onto the dough because it would work better than the back of a spoon.

The filling is on the scant side of things in these cinnamon rolls because if you add more it tends to do exactly what happened in your experience- to drain out during baking and caramelize at the bottom of the pan, gluing the cinnamon rolls to the bottom (in the absence of a silicone baking mat of course). I'll definitely make these again and see if I can increase the filling to the point of where the maximum amount can be added before it drains out. I'm having the exact same issue on a sticky bun recipe I'm currently working on.

Perhaps adding something in the filling such as arrowroot or tapioca starch would thicken it up during baking before it can slide out? If you get a chance to play with this before I do, please report back with your results! My goal is to make this Cinnamon Roll recipe the best, this side of vegan!

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a detailed review!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made these rolls today. They are pretty time consuming, but SO worth the work! I did use 3 cups all-purpose flour and 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour, and they turned out just fine. I will continue to add a bit more whole wheat flour each time I make them, so I won't feel quite so guilty eating them! The frosting will be my new "go to" frosting, as I really like the taste the coconut oil gives it.
Reviewed by Sue March 02, 2012

5 stars!

Made these rolls today. They are pretty time consuming, but SO worth the work! I did use 3 cups all-purpose flour and 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour, and they turned out just fine. I will continue to add a bit more whole wheat flour each time I make them, so I won't feel quite so guilty eating them! The frosting will be my new "go to" frosting, as I really like the taste the coconut oil gives it.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these Sue! I love how a little bit of coconut oil can really deepen the flavor of vegan desserts. It's our 'butter'. Please report back and let everyone know how far you get with the white whole wheat flour substitution. It would be great to find out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This was a tray of sweet, moist, rich rolls! we are definitely making this again. Thank you for the recipe and the great work!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Claudia February 25, 2012

AWESOME!

This was a tray of sweet, moist, rich rolls! we are definitely making this again. Thank you for the recipe and the great work!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These were unbelievable! I have never made anything like this before. As I transition into vegan foods, I have found myself experimenting with cooking and baking more. My omnivore husband and in-laws all gave me the thumbs up, and said, quote, "this recipe is a keeper, you can make them for us again anytime!"

Here are a few slight tweaks I made to the recipe...
I only had one packet of active dry yeast. A packet = 2 1/4 tsp, so my recipe was 1/4 tsp short.
I cut the salt in the dough to a 1/2 tsp.
I added a 1/4 cup of walnut chips into the filling.
I only sprinkled walnuts on the top; no raisins.
I was confused for a short period of time on step #8, and then finally decided that the instructions to preheat the oven was supposed to be before step #10, after the rolls rose for the second hour.

Thank you Mattie for continuing to provide delicious options to wonderful treats. You make becoming a vegan more palatable :-)
Rating 
 
5.0
Birgitta Reviewed by Birgitta January 22, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)

The results made me look like a professional baker

These were unbelievable! I have never made anything like this before. As I transition into vegan foods, I have found myself experimenting with cooking and baking more. My omnivore husband and in-laws all gave me the thumbs up, and said, quote, "this recipe is a keeper, you can make them for us again anytime!"

Here are a few slight tweaks I made to the recipe...
I only had one packet of active dry yeast. A packet = 2 1/4 tsp, so my recipe was 1/4 tsp short.
I cut the salt in the dough to a 1/2 tsp.
I added a 1/4 cup of walnut chips into the filling.
I only sprinkled walnuts on the top; no raisins.
I was confused for a short period of time on step #8, and then finally decided that the instructions to preheat the oven was supposed to be before step #10, after the rolls rose for the second hour.

Thank you Mattie for continuing to provide delicious options to wonderful treats. You make becoming a vegan more palatable :-)

Owner's reply

In the recipe I indicate to preheat the oven on Step 8 so it's heated and ready to go by the time the recipe is ready for baking. If I put the preheat instructions on Step 10 the dough would probably rise too much and time would be wasted waiting for the oven to get to the proper temperature. Let me know if I should word this better in my recipes. I know this can be kind of confusing and take a couple of reads so you don't actually put the rolls in the oven at Step 8;)

So happy these worked out for you Birgitta!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Being my first attempt at cinnamon rolls, vegan or otherwise, I was a little nervous. I used to think they were hard to make and that I should leave it to the experts. Oh my gosh have I changed my mind! These are perfect! My non-vegan husband told me they are the best cinnamon rolls he's ever had, and that they rival his mom's. The problem is now I can't stay out of them! :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kathy Marvin January 07, 2012

Sinfully Delicious!!

Being my first attempt at cinnamon rolls, vegan or otherwise, I was a little nervous. I used to think they were hard to make and that I should leave it to the experts. Oh my gosh have I changed my mind! These are perfect! My non-vegan husband told me they are the best cinnamon rolls he's ever had, and that they rival his mom's. The problem is now I can't stay out of them! :)

Owner's reply

Your husband saying they're the best he's ever had is the best compliment a vegan baker can get! Thanks Kathy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe turned out to be delicious! It is definitely worth all the rising time, because it is much better than yeastless vegan cinnamon rolls. I used a ruler to make sure the dough was rolled as thin as directed, and I got about 10 cinnamon rolls. I put them in a round pie pan, however, next time I will use a larger pan, or more than one pan, because the filling bubbled over and made my kitchen smoky.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rebecca Behr December 27, 2011

Nom Nom

This recipe turned out to be delicious! It is definitely worth all the rising time, because it is much better than yeastless vegan cinnamon rolls. I used a ruler to make sure the dough was rolled as thin as directed, and I got about 10 cinnamon rolls. I put them in a round pie pan, however, next time I will use a larger pan, or more than one pan, because the filling bubbled over and made my kitchen smoky.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Wow, Mattie. My hat is off to you! This cinnamon roll recipe is amazing, despite my changes to it. I'm not vegan (I'm married to a Frenchman and getting a Frenchman to give up cheese is a sacrilege, so we eat dairy) but my son is allergic to eggs, and I wanted a special cinnamon roll breakfast for my guys on Christmas morning.

I followed your recipe but used regular butter because that's what we have at our house. I also cheated and used the dough cycle on my bread machine.

Additionally, I put them together on Christmas Eve, then refrigerated them in the glass baking dish overnight. The next morning, I put the cold dish in my oven on the warming setting and then started it so the glass would warm up gradually as the oven warmed up. It did take them an hour to rise after being refrigerated all night. I took them out when I preheated the oven, and baked them according to your directions.

They were absolutely delicious. I can't believe how well they worked, so thank you, Mattie!
Reviewed by Mishou December 26, 2011

Excellent, even with my modifications!

Wow, Mattie. My hat is off to you! This cinnamon roll recipe is amazing, despite my changes to it. I'm not vegan (I'm married to a Frenchman and getting a Frenchman to give up cheese is a sacrilege, so we eat dairy) but my son is allergic to eggs, and I wanted a special cinnamon roll breakfast for my guys on Christmas morning.

I followed your recipe but used regular butter because that's what we have at our house. I also cheated and used the dough cycle on my bread machine.

Additionally, I put them together on Christmas Eve, then refrigerated them in the glass baking dish overnight. The next morning, I put the cold dish in my oven on the warming setting and then started it so the glass would warm up gradually as the oven warmed up. It did take them an hour to rise after being refrigerated all night. I took them out when I preheated the oven, and baked them according to your directions.

They were absolutely delicious. I can't believe how well they worked, so thank you, Mattie!

Owner's reply

I'm so glad these worked out for you Mishou! That's awesome that they worked so well despite being in your bread machine and being refrigerated overnight. That's a nice little test that I'll have to keep in mind for Christmas next year!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these for brunch for my non-vegan friends and they were amazed on how fabulous they were! My new favorite brunch treat!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jocelyn December 21, 2011

Amazing!

I made these for brunch for my non-vegan friends and they were amazed on how fabulous they were! My new favorite brunch treat!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't think I have ever posted a question about a recipe on a blog before but I am excited about trying them for Christmas morning and want to get it right! I usually use whole wheat pastry flour for most baking. Any thoughts on if wwpf would work here? Also, I'd love to make these the night before, put them in the fridge unbaked and bake them in the morning. Thoughts on this? Many thanks!
Reviewed by Jessica December 21, 2011

Question

I don't think I have ever posted a question about a recipe on a blog before but I am excited about trying them for Christmas morning and want to get it right! I usually use whole wheat pastry flour for most baking. Any thoughts on if wwpf would work here? Also, I'd love to make these the night before, put them in the fridge unbaked and bake them in the morning. Thoughts on this? Many thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Jessica,

So awesome you're planning on making these for Christmas morning! I haven't tested these with whole wheat pastry flour so just to be safe I recommend that if you do use it, don't use it for more than 50% of the total flour in the recipe and use all-purpose flour for the remainder.

I also haven't tried making these after being in the refrigerator overnight but it should work. Try placing them in the refrigerator, loosely wrapped in plastic wrap immediately after forming. On Christmas morning, take them out of the refrigerator and allow them to reach room temperature before baking. You may have to let them sit for up to an additional half hour before baking. Let us know how it works out and good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Really incredible. These were perfect. I made them in a cast-iron skillet in the oven, so I lowered the baking temperature and cooked them about twice as long.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sean December 21, 2011

so good

Really incredible. These were perfect. I made them in a cast-iron skillet in the oven, so I lowered the baking temperature and cooked them about twice as long.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just can't get these to turn out bad! I made them according to the recipe - super. I made them with honey in the dough instead of sugar - great! I made them without the margerine (by accident) - great! I left them on the counter after they were baked, all pulled apart and setting randomly uncovered for eigth hours, and they were still soft and delicious! I fail at most ciinamon roll recipes, but I have not failed at these after 4 different times.
Reviewed by Becky December 18, 2011

I just can't get these to turn out bad! I made them according to the recipe - super. I made them with honey in the dough instead of sugar - great! I made them without the margerine (by accident) - great! I left them on the counter after they were baked, all pulled apart and setting randomly uncovered for eigth hours, and they were still soft and delicious! I fail at most ciinamon roll recipes, but I have not failed at these after 4 different times.

Owner's reply

Wow! So glad these have worked out in so many interesting configurations Becky!

Was this review helpful to you? 
57 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4  
Ordering