Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (21)
7
38 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Ok - if I could truly rate this recipe on a scale of 1 - 5, I'd have to give it a 12. It is the best homemade vegan ice cream I've ever tasted and it gives some of the best soy and non-soy based vegan store brands an honest run for their money!  I doubled this recipe to make two quarts. I also followed another poster's advice to boil the tofu about 3 min to reduce its nutty flavor (I boiled the silken tofu inside of a nut milk bag). The texture, color, flavor, and mouth feel were simply superb! I tried it on my family and they LOVED it! I got comments like "I can't believe how real this tastes!", "I can eat this without stomach issue worries, yet this is sooo good!" and "Bye-Bye Soy Delicious!" I will DEFINITELY be making this again and again! This will be my base for
butter pecan, maple and black walnut, turtle tracks, and many other "vanilla family" based ice creams.

Now my questions. Do you, or will you have a catalog or book of homemade non-dairy ice cream,  sherbert, sorbet, and frozen yogurt recipes? If so, where when can I find it/them? Lastly, if I change out the cocoa butter for a "tasteless" oil and remove the vanilla, is this an excellent base for endless fruit and non fruit ice creams? I want to understand how to build many flavors. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and recipe.
Rating 
 
5.0
ttyme09 Reviewed by ttyme09 September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Not Missing The "Real" Thing!

Ok - if I could truly rate this recipe on a scale of 1 - 5, I'd have to give it a 12. It is the best homemade vegan ice cream I've ever tasted and it gives some of the best soy and non-soy based vegan store brands an honest run for their money!  I doubled this recipe to make two quarts. I also followed another poster's advice to boil the tofu about 3 min to reduce its nutty flavor (I boiled the silken tofu inside of a nut milk bag). The texture, color, flavor, and mouth feel were simply superb! I tried it on my family and they LOVED it! I got comments like "I can't believe how real this tastes!", "I can eat this without stomach issue worries, yet this is sooo good!" and "Bye-Bye Soy Delicious!" I will DEFINITELY be making this again and again! This will be my base for
butter pecan, maple and black walnut, turtle tracks, and many other "vanilla family" based ice creams.

Now my questions. Do you, or will you have a catalog or book of homemade non-dairy ice cream,  sherbert, sorbet, and frozen yogurt recipes? If so, where when can I find it/them? Lastly, if I change out the cocoa butter for a "tasteless" oil and remove the vanilla, is this an excellent base for endless fruit and non fruit ice creams? I want to understand how to build many flavors. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and recipe.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much ttyme09! I'm so glad this ice cream worked so well for you! This recipe is meant for me to be a starting point for me to eventually to redo all my vegan ice creams from. I've been really wanting to embark on this journey lately and eventually post a book's worth of frozen dessert recipes on Veganbaking.net based on this recipe.

Someday I'll write a book but for now I prefer putting everything I do on Veganbaking.net and Veganfoodcraft.com (my other blog) so they can be shared and easily accessed by anyone for free, without them needing to buy a book.

Regarding your second question, the short answer is yes. You could use deodorized cocoa butter (or deodorized coconut oil should also work for a substitute), hold the vanilla and this recipe would definitely work as a base for any ice cream recipe. But you might want to experiment with leaving the cocoa butter as-is so you get the flavor-depth similar to a dairy based ice cream. It's worth experimenting with to see which option works. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you so much for this detailed recipe. It's a great formula base.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sara July 17, 2013

thank you :-)

Thank you so much for this detailed recipe. It's a great formula base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Your information is so profound...so valuable! So glad I found you. :) Would a food processor work as well as a blender?
Rating 
 
5.0
Zia Reviewed by Zia July 15, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Blender vs Food Processor

Your information is so profound...so valuable! So glad I found you. :) Would a food processor work as well as a blender?

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Zia! I prefer a blender for breaking up the tofu because it will liquefy it more effectively than a food processor will, resulting in a smoother, creamier mixture. In a pinch, I'd use a food processor but there might be tiny bits of tofu in your ice cream depending on what kind of tofu you're using. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Forgot to add: For any UK-ers, I used Golden Syrup in place of the Corn Syrup the recipe calls for, with no issues at all (save the slight flavour change). All I've gathered is that it works, but I'm not sure how! Is this because both glucose (in CS) and inverted sucrose (in GS) inhibit sugar crystallization in the same way? I'm very curious to find out :)
luinecu Reviewed by luinecu July 13, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Golden vs corn syrup

Forgot to add: For any UK-ers, I used Golden Syrup in place of the Corn Syrup the recipe calls for, with no issues at all (save the slight flavour change). All I've gathered is that it works, but I'm not sure how! Is this because both glucose (in CS) and inverted sucrose (in GS) inhibit sugar crystallization in the same way? I'm very curious to find out :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I used the cashew version of the recipe, and since I used vanilla paste (sugar-based), I added a teaspoon of alcohol (white rum, it's what I had to hand), to keep things from getting solid. And it worked, it came out perfectly soft and not icy. My only issue is that I still have some mouth-feely issues with using soaked cashews as the base, there's definitely a grainy feel in there. I'm putting that down to my blender more then anything, and may experiment with putting the mixture through a cheesecloth next time, though I don't know what size particles I'm dealing with here! Maybe blend cashews in advance after a 1st soak, and then continue to soak and reblend before using? I think I might prefer to use the cashew base with a stronger flavour then vanilla (chocolate or coffee?) as I found the nuttiness overpowered the vanilla, but it's definitely a base I'll be trying again :) Thank you!!
Rating 
 
4.0
luinecu Reviewed by luinecu July 13, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Pretty good, needs more experimentation!

I used the cashew version of the recipe, and since I used vanilla paste (sugar-based), I added a teaspoon of alcohol (white rum, it's what I had to hand), to keep things from getting solid. And it worked, it came out perfectly soft and not icy. My only issue is that I still have some mouth-feely issues with using soaked cashews as the base, there's definitely a grainy feel in there. I'm putting that down to my blender more then anything, and may experiment with putting the mixture through a cheesecloth next time, though I don't know what size particles I'm dealing with here! Maybe blend cashews in advance after a 1st soak, and then continue to soak and reblend before using? I think I might prefer to use the cashew base with a stronger flavour then vanilla (chocolate or coffee?) as I found the nuttiness overpowered the vanilla, but it's definitely a base I'll be trying again :) Thank you!!

Owner's reply

Thanks for sharing your findings luinecu! I use a Vitamix so I didn't experience graininess issues so I'll have to revisit that in a future recipe update. I think that soaking the cashews, blending then continuing to soak them before blending again may be the way to go.

Regarding the sugar, liquid sugars such as golden syrup, glucose, agave, corn syrup, brown rice syrup, invert sugar, etc all contain longer chains of sugars that inhibit ice crystal formation. You can think of them as nets that surround the ice crystals and keep them from growing too big. So you can include any one of these liquid sugars in an ice cream and the result will be less hardening and more creaminess. Different liquid sugars have different sweetness levels so I chose to use corn syrup because it's readily available (at least in the US), cheap, flavor neutral and effective. Golden syrup is a great choice too! By the way, I'm a huge fan of English Black Treacle for baking and beer brewing and I order it from the UK just to get it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could you offer me any advice on how to make this ice cream without the use of an ice cream maker? With regular stirring do you think I could still achieve a good consistency? I've recently come across some praline spread that I am really eager to incorporate into an ice cream recipe. It will be my first try since becoming vegan sometime ago so I would really like it to stand a good chance of turning out ok!
Thanks for all the great recipes!
Reviewed by Helen July 11, 2013

No ice cream maker

Could you offer me any advice on how to make this ice cream without the use of an ice cream maker? With regular stirring do you think I could still achieve a good consistency? I've recently come across some praline spread that I am really eager to incorporate into an ice cream recipe. It will be my first try since becoming vegan sometime ago so I would really like it to stand a good chance of turning out ok!
Thanks for all the great recipes!

Owner's reply

Great question Helen! I really should write an article on this! An ice ream maker is hard to replicate because it whips air into the mixture as it freezes but you can still get by without one if you need to. You can start by placing your ice cream in a durable mixing bowl in the freezer for about 45 minutes. Using a mixing spoon, stir the ice cream like crazy every 30 minutes. Continue doing this for 2 to 3 hours until your ice cream has developed to your desired creamy consistency. Place the ice cream in the refrigerator for an additional 3 to 4 hours to it can attain its full harden. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I paused over the corn syrup, but this is really the best vegan ice cream I have had (homemade or store bought). I used the cashew base - flavor was great, but also AMAZING texture right out of ice cream maker and the next day. So good paired with the Ultimate Brownie recipe! Thank you for perfecting this and sharing!!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Lilew Reviewed by Lilew July 06, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

GREAT recipe

I paused over the corn syrup, but this is really the best vegan ice cream I have had (homemade or store bought). I used the cashew base - flavor was great, but also AMAZING texture right out of ice cream maker and the next day. So good paired with the Ultimate Brownie recipe! Thank you for perfecting this and sharing!!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Lilew! This recipe is constantly evolving over the years as I continue to learn and experiment. So glad it worked well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't give it 5* because I've had better store-bought vegan vanilla ice cream, but do give 4* because it's the best homemade version. I've tried many other recipes, none of them worth making again, but this one is a keeper. I used Silk Coconut milk. Next time, I'll try the cocoa butter and vanilla beans, hopefully to have a richer vanilla flavor. Since most tofu packages are 12 oz, I made 1.5 times the recipe. I following the recipe exactly. The hardness came out the same level as those in the supermarket (not rock-solid). I think that the key is to blend the xanthan gum enough, up to 3 min as the author says. I have a high quality blender (Vita-Mix), and could still tell that the thickness wasn't allowing it to mix well by itself, so I manually mixed it too while the blender was going. This is my first time using xanthan gum in ice-cream, and also my first time where my ice-cream didn't come out rock-solid, or decent hardness but with the nasty alcohol flavor. I'm looking forward to trying out the cashew version someday and experimenting with other flavors (cocoa and coffee).
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by bandita April 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Best Homemade Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream

I don't give it 5* because I've had better store-bought vegan vanilla ice cream, but do give 4* because it's the best homemade version. I've tried many other recipes, none of them worth making again, but this one is a keeper. I used Silk Coconut milk. Next time, I'll try the cocoa butter and vanilla beans, hopefully to have a richer vanilla flavor. Since most tofu packages are 12 oz, I made 1.5 times the recipe. I following the recipe exactly. The hardness came out the same level as those in the supermarket (not rock-solid). I think that the key is to blend the xanthan gum enough, up to 3 min as the author says. I have a high quality blender (Vita-Mix), and could still tell that the thickness wasn't allowing it to mix well by itself, so I manually mixed it too while the blender was going. This is my first time using xanthan gum in ice-cream, and also my first time where my ice-cream didn't come out rock-solid, or decent hardness but with the nasty alcohol flavor. I'm looking forward to trying out the cashew version someday and experimenting with other flavors (cocoa and coffee).

Owner's reply

Great that this worked out for you bandita! Thanks for sharing your experiences on the xanthan gum.

Was this review helpful to you? 
If you use tofu for the base, boil it gently for 2-3 minutes and then use in recipe. it removes the "beany" taste.
Reviewed by Trinka February 26, 2013

Enhance Tofu Flavor

If you use tofu for the base, boil it gently for 2-3 minutes and then use in recipe. it removes the "beany" taste.

Owner's reply

This is a great tip Trinka. Thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I tried this recipe and yes, it did freeze rock solid, albeit soo delicious! So I tried it again, this time adding 2 tbs of Alcohol (any type will do), I used chambord with chocolate, and it kept the ice cream soft enough to scoop freely. Mix it in just before freezing. The alcohol doesn't allow the ice cream to freeze solid. Not sure how to do this for those who do not partake in alcohol, but I hope this helps anyone who's willing to try it.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Trinka February 21, 2013

How to keep it soft

I tried this recipe and yes, it did freeze rock solid, albeit soo delicious! So I tried it again, this time adding 2 tbs of Alcohol (any type will do), I used chambord with chocolate, and it kept the ice cream soft enough to scoop freely. Mix it in just before freezing. The alcohol doesn't allow the ice cream to freeze solid. Not sure how to do this for those who do not partake in alcohol, but I hope this helps anyone who's willing to try it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Made your ice cream - it was perfect when finished in the Ice cream maker but went rock hard after putting in the freezer. Pls can you advise...?
Reviewed by Anna December 25, 2012

Ice Cream softness

Made your ice cream - it was perfect when finished in the Ice cream maker but went rock hard after putting in the freezer. Pls can you advise...?

Was this review helpful to you? 
I tried the tofu variation just now and I'm rather disappointed. Mine definitely has a very noticeable raw tofu taste to it. I'm hoping maybe the flavors will come together a bit more once it's been in the freezer for a while, but for now it's not very yummy to me. I'm going to hold off on rating it though, because I would still like to give the cashew version a shot. The texture of the final result was lovely, so if I could just get it to taste better and not like plain tofu it would be perfect.
Reviewed by Lily October 09, 2012

I tried the tofu variation just now and I'm rather disappointed. Mine definitely has a very noticeable raw tofu taste to it. I'm hoping maybe the flavors will come together a bit more once it's been in the freezer for a while, but for now it's not very yummy to me. I'm going to hold off on rating it though, because I would still like to give the cashew version a shot. The texture of the final result was lovely, so if I could just get it to taste better and not like plain tofu it would be perfect.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi, Just wondering if making the vanilla ice cream with the cashews if it still has that "cashew" taste, or is masked with the addition of the other ingredients?
Reviewed by Joelle September 03, 2012

Hi, Just wondering if making the vanilla ice cream with the cashews if it still has that "cashew" taste, or is masked with the addition of the other ingredients?

Was this review helpful to you? 
First... the rating from the chocolate should have been . Made the coffee today. Used almond milk for the nondairy milk. Made expresso for coffee. And used the tofu. Can we rate a 6?ATHKH
Reviewed by Diane August 31, 2012

coffee

First... the rating from the chocolate should have been . Made the coffee today. Used almond milk for the nondairy milk. Made expresso for coffee. And used the tofu. Can we rate a 6?ATHKH

Was this review helpful to you? 
First time making used the cashew version and added dark cocoa for a really yummy chocolate cashew flavor. Tomorrow soy version for coffee. Nice to have creamy ice cream again.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Diane August 30, 2012

Made into chocolate

First time making used the cashew version and added dark cocoa for a really yummy chocolate cashew flavor. Tomorrow soy version for coffee. Nice to have creamy ice cream again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
38 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3  
Ordering