Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 » 
Ordering 
 
I tired this recipe for the first time today using coconut milk and sunflower lecithin and my hand held immersion blender and I am very happy with the results! Thank you for working on and sharing this recipe. I am going to play a little with reducing the salt and vinegar, trying other acids and maybe increasing the gum or mixing with coco butter but still very happy with the initial results. I was a vegan for 8 years but became soy and gluten intolerant in 2009 and went back to eating meat, eggs and dairy. I feel my health has suffered and am slowly going back to a vegan/vegetarian hybrid of something, lol. And I have been baking from scratch for almost 50 years and have to re-learn and try new gluten -free recipes. I have friends that have food allergies so I have been working on vegan baking, this is perfect! Thanks again
Rating 
 
4.0
VegasBev Reviewed by VegasBev November 16, 2013
Last updated: November 16, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Very Happy With My First Attempt!!

I tired this recipe for the first time today using coconut milk and sunflower lecithin and my hand held immersion blender and I am very happy with the results! Thank you for working on and sharing this recipe. I am going to play a little with reducing the salt and vinegar, trying other acids and maybe increasing the gum or mixing with coco butter but still very happy with the initial results. I was a vegan for 8 years but became soy and gluten intolerant in 2009 and went back to eating meat, eggs and dairy. I feel my health has suffered and am slowly going back to a vegan/vegetarian hybrid of something, lol. And I have been baking from scratch for almost 50 years and have to re-learn and try new gluten -free recipes. I have friends that have food allergies so I have been working on vegan baking, this is perfect! Thanks again

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter worked out VegasBev! Cheers to being open minded and figuring out what works for you. I've done some tests with vinegars and found that using 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar and 1/2 teaspoon coconut vinegar produces even better flavor. I'm probably going to update all of my Vegan Butter recipes to reflect this after I do a little more testing. I also have soy-free Vegan Butters here if you do a search in the upper right-hand-corner of this page.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! First of all, I wanted to thank you, Mattie, for this wonderful recipe. I love how you delved into the science of creating butter. That's how I approach my cooking/baking as well. I'm not vegan but I'm allergic to dairy so this recipe has been a godsend!

For those of you who don't like to use gums, I just wanted to share that I was able to successfully use psyllium husk powder in lieu of the xanthan! I ground up whole husk psyllium in my spice grinder to a fine powder and substituted 1:1 for the xanthan. Since the soluble fiber in psyllium husk is hydrophilic in nature, it worked very similarly to xanthan (it held bubbles when whipped and made the butter malleable). Since the psyllium is ground up into a fine powder, it doesn't make the butter grainy. It doesn't negatively contribute to the taste profile, either.
Cheers!
Rating 
 
5.0
irenelee Reviewed by irenelee November 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

substitute psyllium husk powder for xanthan gum!

Hi! First of all, I wanted to thank you, Mattie, for this wonderful recipe. I love how you delved into the science of creating butter. That's how I approach my cooking/baking as well. I'm not vegan but I'm allergic to dairy so this recipe has been a godsend!

For those of you who don't like to use gums, I just wanted to share that I was able to successfully use psyllium husk powder in lieu of the xanthan! I ground up whole husk psyllium in my spice grinder to a fine powder and substituted 1:1 for the xanthan. Since the soluble fiber in psyllium husk is hydrophilic in nature, it worked very similarly to xanthan (it held bubbles when whipped and made the butter malleable). Since the psyllium is ground up into a fine powder, it doesn't make the butter grainy. It doesn't negatively contribute to the taste profile, either.
Cheers!

Owner's reply

Thanks irenelee! I've been meaning to play around with psyllium husk powder. I knew there was a better use for it than mixing it with water and chugging it daily. Life is just too short for that;) I think flax gel would probably work too. The emulsification is being taken care of by the lecithin so anything that blocks ice crystals from getting too big (which gives it softness and elasticity) and that allows a tiny bit of air bubbles to be trapped should work as a substitute for xanthan. Once I get a chance to to a couple tests, I'll update the Vegan Butter recipes with xanthan options such as your great substitute. Nice work and thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I haven't made this yet. Rather I wanted to say thank you for posting it. Since learning about palm oil, I've thought that we just were not going to be eating desserts (or at least not most of them) anymore (not that that would be a bad thing for our health, but the holidays are coming up and nice to have a treat). This is very helpful.
Reviewed by Carolyn November 02, 2013

I haven't made this yet. Rather I wanted to say thank you for posting it. Since learning about palm oil, I've thought that we just were not going to be eating desserts (or at least not most of them) anymore (not that that would be a bad thing for our health, but the holidays are coming up and nice to have a treat). This is very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hello! I think this recipe is great. Here, we almost dont have vegan (or healthier) options. So I was wondering if i could replace the coconout oil for sunflower oil? or maybe for a coconout butter (that i made at home)! thank you so much for all the information!

Cheers,

Irina
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Irina October 31, 2013

a question from Argentina

Hello! I think this recipe is great. Here, we almost dont have vegan (or healthier) options. So I was wondering if i could replace the coconout oil for sunflower oil? or maybe for a coconout butter (that i made at home)! thank you so much for all the information!

Cheers,

Irina

Owner's reply

Hi Irina! Coconut oil is used in the recipe because it has a certain amount of firmness when chilled to the temperature of traditional dairy-based butter. Sunflower oil wouldn't work as a substitute for the coconut oil because the Vegan Butter wouldn't solidify when chilled. However, you could substitute the canola oil for sunflower oil in this recipe. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hi there,
I have got a bottle of organic soy lecithin powder. can that be in replacement for soy lecithin called in the recipe?
geeforgladys Reviewed by geeforgladys October 28, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

alternative for soy lecithin

Hi there,
I have got a bottle of organic soy lecithin powder. can that be in replacement for soy lecithin called in the recipe?

Owner's reply

Hi geeforgladys! soy lecithin powder, in the small amount called for in this recipe, should be able to be substituted in equal measurements to soy lecithin granules. So in this case it would be 2 1/4 teaspoons. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I actually came across this post doing a search to try to find Earth Balance sticks in bulk! I like to bake regularly and, accordingly, blow through a lot of Earth Balance (read: blow through a lot of money on vegan butter!).

I was thinking: I need to buy this stuff in bulk and just freeze some of it so I always have a supply.

But, this sounds intriguing.... my number one priority is that it works seamlessly in place of Earth Balance (which most vegan baking books call for), followed closely by taste and price.

Question: since I don't normally buy soy milk (quit using it when almond and coconut milks became readily available, based on taste), can you recommend a particular brand?

Do you want something unsweetened or do you want "plain"?

Back when I bought soy milk regularly, I used unsweetened Silk but maybe there is something better? I keep a canister of powdered (Better than Milk brand) soy milk (which I actually like MUCH better than the soy milk I used to buy but I think that is because the powdered stuff has more additives and is much sweeter) but that may not be the best choice for making vegan butter. Any thoughts?

I have also noticed, very recently, several cookbook authors recommending soy milk as the first choice for certain recipes (so maybe I need to start keeping some on hand?).
Reviewed by KHolzwart October 25, 2013

can't wait to try this

I actually came across this post doing a search to try to find Earth Balance sticks in bulk! I like to bake regularly and, accordingly, blow through a lot of Earth Balance (read: blow through a lot of money on vegan butter!).

I was thinking: I need to buy this stuff in bulk and just freeze some of it so I always have a supply.

But, this sounds intriguing.... my number one priority is that it works seamlessly in place of Earth Balance (which most vegan baking books call for), followed closely by taste and price.

Question: since I don't normally buy soy milk (quit using it when almond and coconut milks became readily available, based on taste), can you recommend a particular brand?

Do you want something unsweetened or do you want "plain"?

Back when I bought soy milk regularly, I used unsweetened Silk but maybe there is something better? I keep a canister of powdered (Better than Milk brand) soy milk (which I actually like MUCH better than the soy milk I used to buy but I think that is because the powdered stuff has more additives and is much sweeter) but that may not be the best choice for making vegan butter. Any thoughts?

I have also noticed, very recently, several cookbook authors recommending soy milk as the first choice for certain recipes (so maybe I need to start keeping some on hand?).

Owner's reply

Great questions KHolzwart! I prefer soy milk for baking because in my experience, its protein content (aka "solids") tends to increase the richness of baked items. Also, if you coagulate it slightly with an acid such as apple cider vinegar (as in this recipe), you get all sorts of bonus creamy, complex flavors that get produced as some of the proteins break down and amino acids break free. This barely happens with nut milk and doesn't happen at all in other non-dairy milks that lack protein, such as coconut milk and rice milk. This means that using good quality soy milk should actually make your Vegan Butter taste better.

The soy milk I prefer the most by far is EdenSoy because it contains the most protein and it's one of the only soy milks that doesn't contain thickeners like carageenan and other questionable or unnecessary additives. I don't recommend using powdered soy milk. Most of it is just starches with "natural flavors" added. The low protein content doesn't lie (although I do use the brand you referenced in some applications). Another reason I like EdenSoy is that it comes in those TetraPak containers so you can store a bunch of them in your fallout shelter for future use -or if you forget to go to the store;)

My second go-to brand is WestSoy because it's good quality and doesn't belong to one of the huge food companies that are trying to water down organic food standards (to my knowledge).

I prefer unsweetened soy milk but you can use regular in most baking applications, including my Vegan Butters and it'll work fine. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My husband became lactose intolerant three years ago and that put an end to many things I used to make. While we are not vegan, I have turned to many vegan items to substitute for what I used to use. We have recently come across a soy heavy cream! Worked wonders in mashed potatoes! I am wondering if you have experimented with this at all. We got it from Trader Joe's in St. Louis.
Reviewed by Melanie October 15, 2013

possible alternative

My husband became lactose intolerant three years ago and that put an end to many things I used to make. While we are not vegan, I have turned to many vegan items to substitute for what I used to use. We have recently come across a soy heavy cream! Worked wonders in mashed potatoes! I am wondering if you have experimented with this at all. We got it from Trader Joe's in St. Louis.

Owner's reply

Hi Melanie! I haven't tried the soy creamer from Trader Joes but I have had vegan soy creamer and it works pretty well for a cream substitute, even in ice creams. It would probably work great in vegan butter! instead of soy milk!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie,

Sometimes when I make your awesome butter, the consistency turns out to be a bit grainy.
Something closer to solid coconut oil texture. I'd like my butter to be creamier, of course, and closer to real butter in smoothness.
Can't put my finger on the reason, though, since minor changes in measurements can occur.

So from your experience, which ingredient in this recipe contributes the most to smoothness
Would you improve the grainy mouth feel, by decreasing the amount of coconut oil,
Or better add more lecithin to the mixture?
Also, do you think that the type of lecithin used, contributes to different results?

I could, of course, spend hours experimenting until I got it right.
But I was hoping that your understanding of raw materials could make it more efficient. :)
Reviewed by Anat October 15, 2013

Making the butter smoother

Hi Mattie,

Sometimes when I make your awesome butter, the consistency turns out to be a bit grainy.
Something closer to solid coconut oil texture. I'd like my butter to be creamier, of course, and closer to real butter in smoothness.
Can't put my finger on the reason, though, since minor changes in measurements can occur.

So from your experience, which ingredient in this recipe contributes the most to smoothness
Would you improve the grainy mouth feel, by decreasing the amount of coconut oil,
Or better add more lecithin to the mixture?
Also, do you think that the type of lecithin used, contributes to different results?

I could, of course, spend hours experimenting until I got it right.
But I was hoping that your understanding of raw materials could make it more efficient. :)

Owner's reply

Hi Anat! There's a couple issues that you could experiment with if it's turning out a little too grainy for you. First, if it's turning out a bit grainy and hard you could substitute with 1 less Tablespoon coconut oil for 1 more Tablespoon canola oil to make the vegan butter softer.

If hardness isn't an issue, the graininess could be caused by the mixture solidifying too slowly, resulting in larger crystalized solids. Making sure the mixture is as close to room temperature as possible and going right into a super cold freezer will ensure that the mixture hardens (aka crystalizes) quickly into microscopic crystals which will be perceived as smooth on your palate. If I had a vegan butter company, I'd quickly cool my mixture in super cold freezers. Super fast freezing is one of the ways commercial ice cream is made to be so smooth. Crystals actually "grow" the most, right before the solidification point. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have a question. My house stays warm and my coconut oil is always at room temperature and liquid. Would I still be able to use it in this recipe ? I am new to vegan cooking.
Thanks,
Jen
JFiquette Reviewed by JFiquette October 13, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

question

I have a question. My house stays warm and my coconut oil is always at room temperature and liquid. Would I still be able to use it in this recipe ? I am new to vegan cooking.
Thanks,
Jen

Owner's reply

Hi JFiquette! It's no problem if your coconut oil is melted at room temperature. You're going to just mix it with the other ingredients and put it in the freezer to solidify into cube form. If you leave your vegan butter out in a hot room for an extended period, it'll melt slightly faster than a stick of traditional dairy-based butter will due to coconut oil's slightly lower melt point.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am so glad that I found this site! As a recent vegan convert upon my return to the states (I'd been living in Japan for nine years. Japan is extremely unfriendly to vegetarians, let alone vegans!), I was looking for a recipe for vegan butter to spread on my toast.

This butter is amazing!! It's smooth and looks and smells more like buttery spreads than butter itself does, which is perfect for me! It is a little bit hard, so I suggest replacing more of the coconut oil with olive. I will be doing this next time to see if it works for me!

Amazing taste, though! Nice and salty!
Rating 
 
5.0
jamieism Reviewed by jamieism September 30, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUM!!`

I am so glad that I found this site! As a recent vegan convert upon my return to the states (I'd been living in Japan for nine years. Japan is extremely unfriendly to vegetarians, let alone vegans!), I was looking for a recipe for vegan butter to spread on my toast.

This butter is amazing!! It's smooth and looks and smells more like buttery spreads than butter itself does, which is perfect for me! It is a little bit hard, so I suggest replacing more of the coconut oil with olive. I will be doing this next time to see if it works for me!

Amazing taste, though! Nice and salty!

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you like the Vegan Butter jamieism!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hi -

I may have missed something, but when you say:

¼ cup + 2 teaspoons soy milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
¼ + 1/8 teaspoon salt...

a 1/4 Cup of What? Coconut Oil?

Thanks!
Nook Reviewed by Nook September 29, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A Question re: the Vegan Butter...

Hi -

I may have missed something, but when you say:

¼ cup + 2 teaspoons soy milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
¼ + 1/8 teaspoon salt...

a 1/4 Cup of What? Coconut Oil?

Thanks!

Owner's reply

Great question Nook! This is a really dumb way of me trying to be precise with the fundamentally flawed US volume measuring system;) When I say 1/4 cup + 2 teaspoons soy milk I actually mean for you to measure out 1/4 cup of soy milk, then measure out another 2 teaspoons of soy milk. It's the same for the salt. I could say measure out 14 teaspoons of soy milk but I wouldn't want to force everyone to measure out a whole 14 teaspoons of soy milk individually- that would be horrible! Eventually, I'll have the option of metric weight measurements with all my recipes too (for my friends outside of the US), but it's going to involve an incredible amount of work getting everything converted to metric.

I would have loved to just round down or up but in my recipes, taste comes first, ease of measurements come second. Hope this clarifies things for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could I still make this only with the soy milk, apple cider vinegar and salt? I would prefer not to have to add the other ingredients...please let me know because this sounds like an awesome recipe!
shelbij Reviewed by shelbij September 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Could I still make this only with the soy milk, apple cider vinegar and salt? I would prefer not to have to add the other ingredients...please let me know because this sounds like an awesome recipe!

Owner's reply

Hi Shelbij! The other ingredients are required to enable the consistency and flavor of butter. For instance, the soy lecithin is to allow the water-based ingredients to mix adequately with the oil-based ingredients. The fat is required for meltability and mouthfeel. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
For the majority of my adult life I have been interested in plant based diet, yet could never find the ultimate motivation, well cholesterol of 264 was my final motivator. While looking for alternatives to some of my 'fridge and pantry staples I stumbled upon your website. Just made my first batch of vegan butter and I'll I can say is YUM!!!!! Spread it on raisin toast and was delish! I have read several of your recipes and am very much looking forward to testing them out. Now with my butter I'm good to go! Thanks for your care and devotion : )
Rating 
 
5.0
Heller Reviewed by Heller September 18, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUM!!

For the majority of my adult life I have been interested in plant based diet, yet could never find the ultimate motivation, well cholesterol of 264 was my final motivator. While looking for alternatives to some of my 'fridge and pantry staples I stumbled upon your website. Just made my first batch of vegan butter and I'll I can say is YUM!!!!! Spread it on raisin toast and was delish! I have read several of your recipes and am very much looking forward to testing them out. Now with my butter I'm good to go! Thanks for your care and devotion : )

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter is working out for you Heller!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was looking for recipes for vegan dough enhancers when I found your website and I am so glad. There is a wealth of information here that I will be utilizing starting with this wonderful recipe. Time to sign off and go raid my kitchen to see if I have all the ingredients, if not then off to Whole Foods... here I come so I can make your Vegan Butter recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Rating 
 
5.0
tmoore56 Reviewed by tmoore56 September 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

So glad I found you!

I was looking for recipes for vegan dough enhancers when I found your website and I am so glad. There is a wealth of information here that I will be utilizing starting with this wonderful recipe. Time to sign off and go raid my kitchen to see if I have all the ingredients, if not then off to Whole Foods... here I come so I can make your Vegan Butter recipe. Thank you for sharing.

Owner's reply

So glad Veganbaking.net is helping you in your food adventures tmoore56! Good luck with the Vegan Butter!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this with two variations, one deliberate one less so. I used the granulated lecithin as that's all my local Green Shop had on the shelf and it left a slightly grainy finish to the butter but as the texture and consistency were perfect I deem that not to be a problem.
I didn't write down the ingredients I needed when I went shopping and so forgot that the coconut oil needed to be refined. I bought raw unrefined and entirely predictably this produced a coconut flavoured butter. However I didn't mind the taste even on toast with Marmite and in baking or frying for some recipes it was a real plus. My next batch will be with refined coconut oil so I'll be intrigued to see if there is any difference.
All in all I thoroughly recommend this recipe.
Rating 
 
5.0
Sewblack Reviewed by Sewblack September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Perfect recipe imperfect chef!

I made this with two variations, one deliberate one less so. I used the granulated lecithin as that's all my local Green Shop had on the shelf and it left a slightly grainy finish to the butter but as the texture and consistency were perfect I deem that not to be a problem.
I didn't write down the ingredients I needed when I went shopping and so forgot that the coconut oil needed to be refined. I bought raw unrefined and entirely predictably this produced a coconut flavoured butter. However I didn't mind the taste even on toast with Marmite and in baking or frying for some recipes it was a real plus. My next batch will be with refined coconut oil so I'll be intrigued to see if there is any difference.
All in all I thoroughly recommend this recipe.

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter worked out for you sewblack! I hear you on the unrefined coconut oil. I sometimes use it in my Vegan Butter because I love the taste of coconut so much. Good to know it goes well with Marmite!

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 » 
Ordering