Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
54
242 results - showing 181 - 195
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering 
 
Is it possible to refine coconut oil at home ? I do not quite like the idea of using an oil refined through industrial processes where the possibility of chemical additives being added to it are mighty high. Though freshly extracted coconut oil has a nice smell.
gemini16381 Reviewed by gemini16381 March 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Is it possible to refine coconut oil at home ? I do not quite like the idea of using an oil refined through industrial processes where the possibility of chemical additives being added to it are mighty high. Though freshly extracted coconut oil has a nice smell.

Owner's reply

Hi Gemini! To my knowledge it's not possible to refine coconut oil at home because the deodorization process, the process that removes most of the flavor and aroma, involves specialized machinery. I'd recommend just sticking with unrefined coconut oil if you don't mind the taste- I sure don't!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Is it possible to omit the salt so as to produce unsalted vegan butter? I try not to use salted fats in baking.
Reviewed by gatoscuro February 29, 2012

Is it possible to omit the salt so as to produce unsalted vegan butter? I try not to use salted fats in baking.

Owner's reply

Hi gatoscuro, It's totally possible to omit the salt. The salt does play a minor role in curdling the protein (along with the acetic acid) in the soy milk but you should still be able to produce a quality butter. I designed these Vegan Butter recipes to be pretty low salt because I wanted it to taste like butter as opposed to the over salted margarine monstrosities that clutter the market. I also wanted this to be as close to a salted regular butter as much as possible, which doesn't have mush salt. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb February 29, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

No Vinegar, No Problem

I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.

Owner's reply

That's so cool laurelvb! I've been wanting to make a homemade almond milk with a higher protein content for vegan butter experimentation but you beat me to it! The date and lemon addition is so innovative! I'm going to eventually break up the Vegan Butters into its own separate section so I can expand the genre more. That would be great if you could submit this as a recipe for the section. I'd love to showcase it if you have a picture! Get in touch with my via my profile if you're interested.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is SEW good! Can't believe it taste BETTER than real butter! Thanks SEW much for all your work!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sew Round February 17, 2012

Excellent taste!

This is SEW good! Can't believe it taste BETTER than real butter! Thanks SEW much for all your work!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Thanks for this - I've long wondered how I can get around the palm oil issue as I've found it pretty hard to get away from using the Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for most of my baking.

One interesting thing I've found about the coconut oils I've used in cooking is that extra virgin coconut oil usually has a more pronounced coconut flavour than more refined coconut oil (even if both types are organic). I'm thinking that when I try the regular butter recipe I'll use refined coconut oil to get a more neutral taste.
Reviewed by Nicole February 16, 2012

Thanks for this - I've long wondered how I can get around the palm oil issue as I've found it pretty hard to get away from using the Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for most of my baking.

One interesting thing I've found about the coconut oils I've used in cooking is that extra virgin coconut oil usually has a more pronounced coconut flavour than more refined coconut oil (even if both types are organic). I'm thinking that when I try the regular butter recipe I'll use refined coconut oil to get a more neutral taste.

Owner's reply

Hi Nicole, There is definitely a difference between refined and unrefined coconut oil and I use the two specific types differently according to what I'm making. Refined means they've run it through a filtering process to remove most of the odor and flavor. This works well when you want to make something that doesn't impart coconut flavors- like Regular Vegan Butter.

I go for unrefined coconut oil (that is more in its natural state) when I want to showcase coconut flavor- as I do in Coconut Vegan Butter. I use both types extensively in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Awesome work man! I have been thinking about this same thing, but did not think of the curdling of the milk for flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kelly February 12, 2012

Awesome work man! I have been thinking about this same thing, but did not think of the curdling of the milk for flavor. Thanks for sharing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I greatly admire all research and work you have done to create these butters! Thank you for the information. I have a quick question for you. I have an allergy to coconut; is there another oil that I can substitute that will give the right consistency and butter flavor?
Reviewed by Ellie February 05, 2012

I greatly admire all research and work you have done to create these butters! Thank you for the information. I have a quick question for you. I have an allergy to coconut; is there another oil that I can substitute that will give the right consistency and butter flavor?

Owner's reply

Hi Ellie,

The White Chocolate Vegan Butter uses cocoa butter instead of coconut but it's going to add a subtle chocolate flavor to the butter unless you can find a deodorized version. I don't recommend palm kernel oil due to the environmental issues associated with it. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This looks great! How much cream of tartar should be substituted for the vinegar?
Reviewed by Janille Wood February 04, 2012

This looks great! How much cream of tartar should be substituted for the vinegar?

Owner's reply

Hi Janille, I don't recommend substituting cream of tartar for the apple cider vinegar because the vinegar adds complex, fruity notes that are similar to butter. Cream of tartar adds more singular 'tart' notes that don't make the butter as tasty.

But if you're still set on using cream of tartar I'd recommend something in the neighborhood of 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
You have mentioned that coconut oil requires to be melted before adding it to the butter. But in Goa coconut oil is always in the liquid state, Goa's climate being tropical, except for the very brief period of winter (November-January end).

We use home made unrefined coconut oil (from coconut trees in our garden) for cooking too. Can I use home made oil? Is it ok to use it directly as melting it is not possible, unless I freeze/refrigerate it and then melt it?
gemini16381 Reviewed by gemini16381 January 13, 2012
Last updated: January 13, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

You have mentioned that coconut oil requires to be melted before adding it to the butter. But in Goa coconut oil is always in the liquid state, Goa's climate being tropical, except for the very brief period of winter (November-January end).

We use home made unrefined coconut oil (from coconut trees in our garden) for cooking too. Can I use home made oil? Is it ok to use it directly as melting it is not possible, unless I freeze/refrigerate it and then melt it?

Owner's reply

HI Gemini,

That's so cool that you can just grab coconuts from your back yard! As long as you can extract 100% coconut oil from the coconuts you can use it in your vegan butter. Just be advised that since it's unrefined it will make your Vegan Butter taste more like coconut than butter.

It doesn't matter if it's pre-melted or not; once the recipe is prepped it'll need to be solidified in the refrigerator. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Oh My God! Your recipes are amazing. I have been wondering about vegan butter for a long time and as you said they practically don't exist. Margarine and other substitutes just do not taste the same and do not do the job well. I am dying to try out these recipes for vegan butter starting with the basic one. I'll get back with a report.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Dee December 31, 2011

How to make vegan butter

Oh My God! Your recipes are amazing. I have been wondering about vegan butter for a long time and as you said they practically don't exist. Margarine and other substitutes just do not taste the same and do not do the job well. I am dying to try out these recipes for vegan butter starting with the basic one. I'll get back with a report.

Owner's reply

Thanks Dee! A couple days ago my girlfriend made chocolate chip cookies with the White Chocolate Vegan Butter and they were insane- It was really cool to get white chocolate background notes in the cookie. Good luck with your experiments!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Can you replace lemon juice for Apple cider vinegar? It curdles the milk better.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Suneah December 30, 2011

question

Can you replace lemon juice for Apple cider vinegar? It curdles the milk better.

Owner's reply

Hi Suneah, the apple cider is used in Vegan Butter for optimal flavor development. You can use lemon juice if you prefer but it won't taste as buttery. However, I have plans to use lemon juice in a future version of Vegan Butter that puts lemon and cream at the forefront.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was disheartened to see canola oil listed as an ingredient in this recipe.

A variety developed in 1998 is considered to be the most disease- and drought-resistant Canola variety of rapeseed to date. This and other recent varieties have been produced by using genetic engineering. Currently, 82% of the rapeseed crops planted in Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan are GM (genetically modified) herbicide-tolerant canola varieties.

From the Wikipedia.

Canola oil is not good for humans at all.
Reviewed by Cindy December 24, 2011

Canola Oil?

I was disheartened to see canola oil listed as an ingredient in this recipe.

A variety developed in 1998 is considered to be the most disease- and drought-resistant Canola variety of rapeseed to date. This and other recent varieties have been produced by using genetic engineering. Currently, 82% of the rapeseed crops planted in Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan are GM (genetically modified) herbicide-tolerant canola varieties.

From the Wikipedia.

Canola oil is not good for humans at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am SEW making this immediately! Finally vegan butter! Can't wait to try it! Thanks SEW much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sewround December 09, 2011

Vegan Butter

I am SEW making this immediately! Finally vegan butter! Can't wait to try it! Thanks SEW much!

Was this review helpful to you? 
are the 'lauric' fats such as coconut oil turning to hydrogenated fats becuase you are melting them and then freezing them? i am on the swank diet for multiple sclerosis and can not have coconut, palm or cocoa butter is there another way to make this butter? sounds so yummy!
Reviewed by Caroline December 07, 2011

are the 'lauric' fats such as coconut oil turning

are the 'lauric' fats such as coconut oil turning to hydrogenated fats becuase you are melting them and then freezing them? i am on the swank diet for multiple sclerosis and can not have coconut, palm or cocoa butter is there another way to make this butter? sounds so yummy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
You write "Real butter consists of about 18% fat, 78% water and 4% milk solids." In Ireland butter has 80% minimum fat, the rest being water and milk solids I imagine. (and usually max 2% salt)

Is butter in the US that different? or are fat and water content switched above?
Reviewed by Irmhild December 05, 2011

You write "Real butter consists of about 18% fat, 78% water and 4% milk solids." In Ireland butter has 80% minimum fat, the rest being water and milk solids I imagine. (and usually max 2% salt)

Is butter in the US that different? or are fat and water content switched above?

Owner's reply

Good eye Irmhild! That was a typo and I just switched it to reflect that Butter is roughly 80% fat and 20% water and often higher in European countries. Thanks for bringing this to my attention!

Was this review helpful to you? 
242 results - showing 181 - 195
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering