Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 166 - 180
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering 
 
Hi there!

So I goofed up and bought soy lecithin oil online rather than granules. Is there any way to substitute, so should I head back to Amazon?
Reviewed by Katie March 31, 2012

Lecithin oil?

Hi there!

So I goofed up and bought soy lecithin oil online rather than granules. Is there any way to substitute, so should I head back to Amazon?

Owner's reply

Hi Katie! The package is most likely mislabeled. Lecithin is a lipid which sort of places it in the fat family but not completely since it's an emulsifier. The manufacturer probably stated 'oil' because they were misinformed. It should work fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just finished making this this morning. I was so shocked as to how easy it is to make. I spent a lot of time checking and rechecking instructions to make sure I didn't skip any steps because it seemed to go together so quickly. Not only is it fast and easy, this is is fantastic. I like the taste so much more than the store-bought substitutes I've been buying. the mouth feel is so much better too. I have found that the one I was buying had such an odd plastic/greasy/odd feel to it. I love this! I can't wait to try all the other versions. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

One questions. The soy milk that you use, do you recommend unsweetened? does it matter? I had both but used just plain regular soy milk.

Thank you!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Lesley Reviewed by Lesley March 31, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

excellent!!

I just finished making this this morning. I was so shocked as to how easy it is to make. I spent a lot of time checking and rechecking instructions to make sure I didn't skip any steps because it seemed to go together so quickly. Not only is it fast and easy, this is is fantastic. I like the taste so much more than the store-bought substitutes I've been buying. the mouth feel is so much better too. I have found that the one I was buying had such an odd plastic/greasy/odd feel to it. I love this! I can't wait to try all the other versions. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

One questions. The soy milk that you use, do you recommend unsweetened? does it matter? I had both but used just plain regular soy milk.

Thank you!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Lesley! So glad you like the vegan butter! You can use either sweetened or unsweetened soy milk. I have this habit of not wanting excess sugar in my food unless I add it specifically so I can control the flavor as much as possible. I use unsweetened soy milk exclusively at my house. Regular soy milk will work just fine though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have been so hoping to find something like this - my little girl is not yet 2 and she's recently been dubbed officially "allergic" to milk itself. Not lactose intollerant - but ALLERGIC. I bake constantly, love it - it's my passion, but I've been trying to figure out substitutes so the flavors weren't going out. No kid likes cardboard when all the others are eatting the good stuff (that she's allergic to) so THANK YOU!!! You've given a mom a piece of mind, and many more ways of experimenting in the kitchen for her little girl. :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rebeccah March 29, 2012

Thank you!!!!!

I have been so hoping to find something like this - my little girl is not yet 2 and she's recently been dubbed officially "allergic" to milk itself. Not lactose intollerant - but ALLERGIC. I bake constantly, love it - it's my passion, but I've been trying to figure out substitutes so the flavors weren't going out. No kid likes cardboard when all the others are eatting the good stuff (that she's allergic to) so THANK YOU!!! You've given a mom a piece of mind, and many more ways of experimenting in the kitchen for her little girl. :)

Owner's reply

So glad this has worked out so well for you and your family Rebeccah!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was wondering, where you use canola oil, can another oil such as sunflower oil be used instead?
Reviewed by M March 28, 2012

I was wondering, where you use canola oil, can another oil such as sunflower oil be used instead?

Owner's reply

Hi M! You can totally use other oils like safflower or sunflower oil in place of the canola oil. I've actually updated the recipe to reflect this because many people don't prefer canola oil due to non-organic versions having a high probability of being GMO. I also think there is lots of misinformation out there that's causing people to avoid canola oil.

I happen to love GMO-free canola oil due to its high heat performance, neutral flavor and superior fat profile- canola oil has a high amount of monounsaturated fats and a low amount of saturated fat. It also has a fair amount of omega 3 fatty acids for a general use cooking oil. These are the reasons I use it frequently in my baking.

Since safflower and sunflower oils have similar levels of saturated fats as canola oil, they will offer a similar consistency in the stiffness of the vegan butter. The more saturated fat, the firmer the fat will be when it's cold. If you choose to use a different oil in place of canola oil, just make sure it has a similar amount of saturated fat- too much will make the vegan butter too stiff. Light olive oil would work too but I don't prefer the flavor it adds in most of the vegan butter flavors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This stuff is awesome! I can taste vinegar, no matter the amount, in anything, so I substituted, citric acid granules that I ground to a fine powder, for vinegar. I used 1/4 the amount and let the soy milk mixture sit a little longer.I am not a vegan or vegetarian for that matter, but I dabble in both every so often. And this stuff is equivalent to butter in taste, texture and application, Vegan Sweet Potato Pie here I come!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bythepound March 25, 2012

Great Stuff!!!!!

This stuff is awesome! I can taste vinegar, no matter the amount, in anything, so I substituted, citric acid granules that I ground to a fine powder, for vinegar. I used 1/4 the amount and let the soy milk mixture sit a little longer.I am not a vegan or vegetarian for that matter, but I dabble in both every so often. And this stuff is equivalent to butter in taste, texture and application, Vegan Sweet Potato Pie here I come!

Owner's reply

So glad you like this Bythepound and thanks for sharing your citric acid version! I'm planning on making a lemon olive oil one next and it's nice to know the citric acid can still enhance flavor. I tried using a small amount of ascorbic acid to improve shelf life but the tartness didn't develop buttery flavors to my liking. Can't wait to see how citric acid fares.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! I checked out purchasing the Tovolo ice cube trays and found some concerns regarding this product. When you've used these molds have you had any problem with residual tainted flavor or smell? Some that bought these reported that. Thank you! I can't wait to try this!!
Lesley Reviewed by Lesley March 25, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

vegan butter

Hi! I checked out purchasing the Tovolo ice cube trays and found some concerns regarding this product. When you've used these molds have you had any problem with residual tainted flavor or smell? Some that bought these reported that. Thank you! I can't wait to try this!!

Owner's reply

Hi Lesley! I too was originally concerned about the online reviews reporting of off-flavors associated with the Tovolo ice molds. I decided to purchase them anyway and see for myself due to the uniqueness of their product. Fortunately I haven't experienced any of the off-flavors. I suspect they've reformulated their silicone compound.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Is paragraph 1 the method to caramelize garlic? Or is there another method to caramelize garlic? I am so pleased that this is one vegan butter variant that does not require xanthan gum. Will try it right away.
Reviewed by Gemini March 10, 2012

Is paragraph 1 the method to caramelize garlic? Or is there another method to caramelize garlic? I am so pleased that this is one vegan butter variant that does not require xanthan gum. Will try it right away.

Owner's reply

Hi Gemini! Yes, Step 1 is to caramelize the garlic. I just added a few words to make that more clear. Good luck with it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.
Gilly Reviewed by Gilly March 07, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

I'm big enuff (and getting bigger) to admit I was

Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.

Owner's reply

Glad it worked out Gilly! If you want to scale back on toast eating I'd advise you to never make the Garlic Vegan Butter and use Fleur de Sel instead of regular salt. That would be a really bad idea;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, just tried this an it's unbelievable. I'm going to tweak it just a titch as it's slightly too vinegary for me, but I may have sploshed in slightly more than a teaspoon anyway. The texture is out of this world. Very creamy and melts beautifully on toast. Who'd have thunk it! With cheap coconut oil from the Indian grocery shop I think it even works out cheaper than most margarines. I used fleur du sel in it too just to be posh. I might add a little more of that too as I love salty butter. Another superb recipe
Reviewed by Gilly March 05, 2012

Fantastic! I can't believe it's not butter

Mattie, just tried this an it's unbelievable. I'm going to tweak it just a titch as it's slightly too vinegary for me, but I may have sploshed in slightly more than a teaspoon anyway. The texture is out of this world. Very creamy and melts beautifully on toast. Who'd have thunk it! With cheap coconut oil from the Indian grocery shop I think it even works out cheaper than most margarines. I used fleur du sel in it too just to be posh. I might add a little more of that too as I love salty butter. Another superb recipe

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Gilly! I prefer more salt too (salt makes everything taste better!) but I was aiming for something that was an absolute drop-in replacement for butter. I use more salt when I'm making it for toast.

Great idea on going to the Indian store to get a better deal on coconut butter! I've been getting ripped off at the health food store this entire time;) And don't even get me started on how good of an idea the Fleur de Sel is!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Is it possible to refine coconut oil at home ? I do not quite like the idea of using an oil refined through industrial processes where the possibility of chemical additives being added to it are mighty high. Though freshly extracted coconut oil has a nice smell.
gemini16381 Reviewed by gemini16381 March 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Is it possible to refine coconut oil at home ? I do not quite like the idea of using an oil refined through industrial processes where the possibility of chemical additives being added to it are mighty high. Though freshly extracted coconut oil has a nice smell.

Owner's reply

Hi Gemini! To my knowledge it's not possible to refine coconut oil at home because the deodorization process, the process that removes most of the flavor and aroma, involves specialized machinery. I'd recommend just sticking with unrefined coconut oil if you don't mind the taste- I sure don't!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Is it possible to omit the salt so as to produce unsalted vegan butter? I try not to use salted fats in baking.
Reviewed by gatoscuro February 29, 2012

Is it possible to omit the salt so as to produce unsalted vegan butter? I try not to use salted fats in baking.

Owner's reply

Hi gatoscuro, It's totally possible to omit the salt. The salt does play a minor role in curdling the protein (along with the acetic acid) in the soy milk but you should still be able to produce a quality butter. I designed these Vegan Butter recipes to be pretty low salt because I wanted it to taste like butter as opposed to the over salted margarine monstrosities that clutter the market. I also wanted this to be as close to a salted regular butter as much as possible, which doesn't have mush salt. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb February 29, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

No Vinegar, No Problem

I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.

Owner's reply

That's so cool laurelvb! I've been wanting to make a homemade almond milk with a higher protein content for vegan butter experimentation but you beat me to it! The date and lemon addition is so innovative! I'm going to eventually break up the Vegan Butters into its own separate section so I can expand the genre more. That would be great if you could submit this as a recipe for the section. I'd love to showcase it if you have a picture! Get in touch with my via my profile if you're interested.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is SEW good! Can't believe it taste BETTER than real butter! Thanks SEW much for all your work!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sew Round February 17, 2012

Excellent taste!

This is SEW good! Can't believe it taste BETTER than real butter! Thanks SEW much for all your work!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks for this - I've long wondered how I can get around the palm oil issue as I've found it pretty hard to get away from using the Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for most of my baking.

One interesting thing I've found about the coconut oils I've used in cooking is that extra virgin coconut oil usually has a more pronounced coconut flavour than more refined coconut oil (even if both types are organic). I'm thinking that when I try the regular butter recipe I'll use refined coconut oil to get a more neutral taste.
Reviewed by Nicole February 16, 2012

Thanks for this - I've long wondered how I can get around the palm oil issue as I've found it pretty hard to get away from using the Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for most of my baking.

One interesting thing I've found about the coconut oils I've used in cooking is that extra virgin coconut oil usually has a more pronounced coconut flavour than more refined coconut oil (even if both types are organic). I'm thinking that when I try the regular butter recipe I'll use refined coconut oil to get a more neutral taste.

Owner's reply

Hi Nicole, There is definitely a difference between refined and unrefined coconut oil and I use the two specific types differently according to what I'm making. Refined means they've run it through a filtering process to remove most of the odor and flavor. This works well when you want to make something that doesn't impart coconut flavors- like Regular Vegan Butter.

I go for unrefined coconut oil (that is more in its natural state) when I want to showcase coconut flavor- as I do in Coconut Vegan Butter. I use both types extensively in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Awesome work man! I have been thinking about this same thing, but did not think of the curdling of the milk for flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kelly February 12, 2012

Awesome work man! I have been thinking about this same thing, but did not think of the curdling of the milk for flavor. Thanks for sharing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 166 - 180
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering