Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 151 - 165
« 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 16 » 
Ordering 
 
OH how fun was that!! :) I used unrefined coconut oil so it does taste a little too much like coconut for me (even though I like coconut) but I will still eat it. And for $1.25 at the dollar store I found little silicone baking pans that look like a stick of butter and the recipe filled two of them right to the top!! Sweet! I am so excited to try this butter (its currently chilling) and looking SO forward to never having to pay for Earth Balance again.. especially knowing it is not that good for me!! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Reviewed by Karyn June 30, 2012

OH how fun was that!! :) I used unrefined coconut oil so it does taste a little too much like coconut for me (even though I like coconut) but I will still eat it. And for $1.25 at the dollar store I found little silicone baking pans that look like a stick of butter and the recipe filled two of them right to the top!! Sweet! I am so excited to try this butter (its currently chilling) and looking SO forward to never having to pay for Earth Balance again.. especially knowing it is not that good for me!! Thank you so much for this recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Matt,
its a little late to ask (i'm going to try make this and then the croissant soon) but is omitting the zanthum gum in the butter going to very badly effect the croissant? Its so unbelievably expense here (New Zealand) and I'm leaving here soon anyway.. Can I add a bit more oil instead of coconut oil to make it malleable?
Reviewed by Mithuna June 21, 2012

A question!

Hi Matt,
its a little late to ask (i'm going to try make this and then the croissant soon) but is omitting the zanthum gum in the butter going to very badly effect the croissant? Its so unbelievably expense here (New Zealand) and I'm leaving here soon anyway.. Can I add a bit more oil instead of coconut oil to make it malleable?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Cool! I've never thought of making my own VB, thanks! :)
Reviewed by Ally June 21, 2012

Cool! I've never thought of making my own VB, thanks! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Like the previous comment by Cat, I'm also hesitant to use Xanthan Gum. The only one we have here in Australia is made in China and who knows what from and what chemicals are in it! Wish I could get organic Xanthan Gum...
Reviewed by Roni June 17, 2012

Like the previous comment by Cat, I'm also hesitant to use Xanthan Gum. The only one we have here in Australia is made in China and who knows what from and what chemicals are in it! Wish I could get organic Xanthan Gum...

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hi Cat, I'm interested: why are you hesitant to use xantham gum?
Reviewed by Hayley June 17, 2012

Hi Cat, I'm interested: why are you hesitant to use xantham gum?

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am very hesitant to use xanthan gum. I generally avoid foods at the grocery store that have it listed as an additive. I know you said the recipe can do without, though the structure of the butter changes. Can you or anyone else recommend some possible alternatives? Finely ground flax meal, for example? Would the structural results be the same?
Reviewed by Cat June 15, 2012

Alternatives to Xanthan Gum

I am very hesitant to use xanthan gum. I generally avoid foods at the grocery store that have it listed as an additive. I know you said the recipe can do without, though the structure of the butter changes. Can you or anyone else recommend some possible alternatives? Finely ground flax meal, for example? Would the structural results be the same?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi,
I was told there was absolutely no replacement for margarine when it came to baking - especially the puffs & rolls, because they need layers and layers of flour to be separated from each other during baking.
However, its wonderful to read this and know that the only reason margarine is required is because of its consistency at room temperature.
Here in Indian households we have had an age-old tradition of fermenting and curdling fat from full-fat milk. After reading your article I am sure that the butter we get from that will work fine.
I will try one of the puff recipes today itself and post another comment as soon as its done !
Thanks in advance !
Reviewed by Ojas June 03, 2012

Home made Vegan Butter in India

Hi,
I was told there was absolutely no replacement for margarine when it came to baking - especially the puffs & rolls, because they need layers and layers of flour to be separated from each other during baking.
However, its wonderful to read this and know that the only reason margarine is required is because of its consistency at room temperature.
Here in Indian households we have had an age-old tradition of fermenting and curdling fat from full-fat milk. After reading your article I am sure that the butter we get from that will work fine.
I will try one of the puff recipes today itself and post another comment as soon as its done !
Thanks in advance !

Was this review helpful to you? 
This butter tastes so much better than any vegan margarine that I've tried! Even though mine tastes like coconut because I couldn't find refined coconut oil...
And I can't believe how easy it is to make! I made the regular butter to spread on my toast and add to my morning oatmeal.
Rating 
 
5.0
cactus Reviewed by cactus May 25, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (8)

way better than Earth Balance!

This butter tastes so much better than any vegan margarine that I've tried! Even though mine tastes like coconut because I couldn't find refined coconut oil...
And I can't believe how easy it is to make! I made the regular butter to spread on my toast and add to my morning oatmeal.

Owner's reply

Hi cactus! I often make this with regular coconut oil because I love coconut flavor so much. Life could be worse right? ;) So glad you like it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Doubled the recipe because my food processor is larger than normal. Worked fine-great instructions. This has such great flavor! Last night I melted a little and drizzled it on some popcorn. It was the closest to butter I've tasted since going dairy-free. Delish! Thanks again!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Angie May 22, 2012

Sooo much better than any vegan margarine on the m

Doubled the recipe because my food processor is larger than normal. Worked fine-great instructions. This has such great flavor! Last night I melted a little and drizzled it on some popcorn. It was the closest to butter I've tasted since going dairy-free. Delish! Thanks again!!

Owner's reply

I haven't tried this on popcorn yet Angie but it sounds awesome. So glad it worked well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie,
Can you use regular vegan butter in a "butter cream" frosting? I don't like the taste of Earth Balance spreads or sticks in my frostings and spectrum organic shortening makes the frosting too soft. Also, have you experimented yet with citric acid granules? Looks like you were thinking about this last year, but the recipe still calls for vinegar. Looking forward to trying the recipe, especially if I can sub regular vegan butter for Earth Balance spreads. Thanks!
Reviewed by Beverly May 13, 2012

vegan butter and cake frosting

Hi Mattie,
Can you use regular vegan butter in a "butter cream" frosting? I don't like the taste of Earth Balance spreads or sticks in my frostings and spectrum organic shortening makes the frosting too soft. Also, have you experimented yet with citric acid granules? Looks like you were thinking about this last year, but the recipe still calls for vinegar. Looking forward to trying the recipe, especially if I can sub regular vegan butter for Earth Balance spreads. Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Beverly! You should have no problems using Vegan Butter in frostings. Just keep in mind that since the melting temperature of coconut oil is about 76F, if you take this cake out somewhere where it's hotter, the frosting will slide off! Palm oil and cocoa butter has higher melting points if you need to get around this.

I did experiment with citric acid and ascorbic acid and found that while the ascorbic acid preserves the butter nicely, it makes the Vegan Butter taste like metal, even in the smallest amounts. Icky! So now I've just ordered grape seed extract which is also supposed to be a powerful natural preservative. I haven't put it in vegan butter yet but the powder tastes extremely sour and astringent so it's not looking good. I'll post if it works out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
this recipe is awesome. i run a vegan baking stall and am trying to kick out the margarine because of the palm oil problem. i just tried my first batch and the texture and mouth feel is spot-on. only problem was a bit of an unpleasant apple cider vinegar aftertaste, but as i was measuring the vinegar, it did go over a teaspoon a bit, so i imagine if i minimize the cider vinegar to what the recipe calls for (and or even reduce it a bit more?) it will come out great (?). im not an acv fan so the vinegary taste puts me off a bit but its to use for baking anyway so i think i can still use this batch. i love how there is a flavor reminiscent of butter (even though ive been vegan for years). now, i just need to eliminate the ACV aftertaste.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by kaybee May 09, 2012

awesome

this recipe is awesome. i run a vegan baking stall and am trying to kick out the margarine because of the palm oil problem. i just tried my first batch and the texture and mouth feel is spot-on. only problem was a bit of an unpleasant apple cider vinegar aftertaste, but as i was measuring the vinegar, it did go over a teaspoon a bit, so i imagine if i minimize the cider vinegar to what the recipe calls for (and or even reduce it a bit more?) it will come out great (?). im not an acv fan so the vinegary taste puts me off a bit but its to use for baking anyway so i think i can still use this batch. i love how there is a flavor reminiscent of butter (even though ive been vegan for years). now, i just need to eliminate the ACV aftertaste.

Owner's reply

Thanks kaybee! Feel free to reduce the apple cider vinegar to your liking. Acid is needed in order to coagulate the proteins and thorough testing found that for me, apple cider vinegar works the best due to its flavor profile. Let me know if you make any additional discoveries!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I found one source for ORGANIC soy lechithan - mountainroseherbs.com. I'm ordering it and will try it out. Thought readers might like to know.
Reviewed by Emma Wynn May 09, 2012

Source for Organic Soy Lechithan

I found one source for ORGANIC soy lechithan - mountainroseherbs.com. I'm ordering it and will try it out. Thought readers might like to know.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I eat tofu and tempeh, but I buy the soy-free Earth Balance these days to just cut out unnecessary soy. May I use other alt milk?
Reviewed by Johanna May 09, 2012

alt milk

I eat tofu and tempeh, but I buy the soy-free Earth Balance these days to just cut out unnecessary soy. May I use other alt milk?

Owner's reply

Hi Johanna! Soy milk is his highly recommended due to it containing a higher amount of protein, which curdles more effectively and offers superior flavor development. I've done curdle/flavor tests with all other non-dairy milks and nothing performs as well as soy milk. If you absolutely can't use soy milk, you can use almond milk. There is such a small amount of soy milk in this vegan butter that I recommend using soy milk unless you have a soy allergy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie - I came accross you site recently and it is fantastic. Thank you for all the valuable information. I made your vegan butter yesterday and used it today to make the Chewey Chocolate Chip Cookies. I am not a vegan but am looking to eliminate as many animal fats from my diet as possible for cholestoral reasons. I have been looking for a butter substitute because I find that most vegan butters have a flat taste. I have used Earth Balance in other recipes but find it has a bland or oily taste in baked goods. I made a macadamic nut cream and used it as the base and it worked great. The end product does have strong coconut overtones though and that did come through in the cookies. It was not a problem but I would prefer a butter without that flavor. It was also a very expensive butter as coconut oil is fairly pricy these days.I will try the white chocolate version next but I am afraid of the fats in that. If you come across an idea that omits the coconut oil please post it as I think a more neutral flavor would be preferable. No matter what though it was a gret find and the cookies are exceptional and no one with ever know that they are not slathered in butter!!!
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by AndyB May 03, 2012

Vegan Butter recipe

Mattie - I came accross you site recently and it is fantastic. Thank you for all the valuable information. I made your vegan butter yesterday and used it today to make the Chewey Chocolate Chip Cookies. I am not a vegan but am looking to eliminate as many animal fats from my diet as possible for cholestoral reasons. I have been looking for a butter substitute because I find that most vegan butters have a flat taste. I have used Earth Balance in other recipes but find it has a bland or oily taste in baked goods. I made a macadamic nut cream and used it as the base and it worked great. The end product does have strong coconut overtones though and that did come through in the cookies. It was not a problem but I would prefer a butter without that flavor. It was also a very expensive butter as coconut oil is fairly pricy these days.I will try the white chocolate version next but I am afraid of the fats in that. If you come across an idea that omits the coconut oil please post it as I think a more neutral flavor would be preferable. No matter what though it was a gret find and the cookies are exceptional and no one with ever know that they are not slathered in butter!!!

Owner's reply

Hi AndyB! As I mentioned in my other comment, feel free to use refined coconut oil in order to avoid the coconut flavors. Spectrum makes a refined coconut oil that's pretty easy to find in US health food stores. Coconut oil is expensive isn't it?! I just found that if I go to an Indian food store, coconut oil is about half the price as the health food store! But refined, aka deodorized coconut oil without the coconut flavor was nowhere to be found.

Cocoa butter has slightly less saturated fats than coconut oil (plant-based saturated fats are either good or bad, depending on the food scientist you talk to or the studies you choose to follow at the moment) but it's also rather expensive. You may want to try to find something in bulk on the internet in the long-term.

At any rate, I have a White Chocolate Vegan Butter recipe if you choose to go the cocoa butter route. You can buy deodorized cocoa butter on the internet and it'll work perfectly in the recipe below.
http://veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/783-white-chocolate-vegan-butter

Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could i use lemon juice in place of the vinegar?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Luther.c April 24, 2012

Vinegar

Could i use lemon juice in place of the vinegar?

Owner's reply

Hi Luther.c! You could definitely use lemon juice and it would curdle soy milk adequately but it wouldn't provide the same buttery flavor profile that the apple cider vinegar provides.

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 151 - 165
« 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 16 » 
Ordering