Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (61)
39
77 results - showing 61 - 75
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
I'm new to vegan backing but I thought semi sweet chocolate chips have milk fat in them. At least my Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips do. So how are they vegan?
Reviewed by LRoberts February 19, 2012

Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips!?

I'm new to vegan backing but I thought semi sweet chocolate chips have milk fat in them. At least my Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips do. So how are they vegan?

Owner's reply

Hi LRoberts, Many health food stores have vegan chocolate chips and many major brand chocolate chips at large supermakrets are accidentally vegan. I usually never have too much trouble finding them. If you're really in a bind though, there's always the internet. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Love these! But you have to pay attention to the size of the cookies. My first batch, while good, were very, very crunchy. I had made them much too small and didn't think to adjust the time. This second batch I made them bigger and they are perfect!
Rating 
 
5.0
lojenn Reviewed by lojenn February 13, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Really good!

Love these! But you have to pay attention to the size of the cookies. My first batch, while good, were very, very crunchy. I had made them much too small and didn't think to adjust the time. This second batch I made them bigger and they are perfect!

Owner's reply

Glad you liked these lojenn! When I first designed these I wanted to make them smaller but I guess I got carried away when I make cookies and they always turn out bigger than planned. Glad you found a size and baking time that works for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can anyone PLEASE tell me what I'm doing wrong..... I did exactly what the recipe calls for but its NOT turning into dough.... it's just powder. It's like the f;ax wont mix with the dough...
Reviewed by McKenzie January 27, 2012

Can anyone PLEASE tell me what I'm doing wrong..... I did exactly what the recipe calls for but its NOT turning into dough.... it's just powder. It's like the f;ax wont mix with the dough...

Owner's reply

Hi McKenzie,

This dough is a little more thick than traditional cookie dough. Try using a spoon to mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and if it becomes too thick to mix with the spoon, use your hands to "knead" the mixture into a dough.

Was this review helpful to you? 
All the vegan cookies I've made have turned out too fluffy and cake-like. These were perfectly chewy and delicious. I subbed 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rachel January 08, 2012

Perfectly chewy!

All the vegan cookies I've made have turned out too fluffy and cake-like. These were perfectly chewy and delicious. I subbed 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These cookies are SO good! They taste just like the ones my mom used to make before we all became vegan. Thanks for the great recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by AJ December 21, 2011

OMG

These cookies are SO good! They taste just like the ones my mom used to make before we all became vegan. Thanks for the great recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This was my first time making vegan chocolate chip cookies and this recipe turned out so delicious! I didn't have molasses so I used brown rice syrup and it turned out fine.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Julie D. December 14, 2011

This was my first time making vegan chocolate chip cookies and this recipe turned out so delicious! I didn't have molasses so I used brown rice syrup and it turned out fine.

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Julie!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Do you think I could I sub honey for molasses in this recipe and produce desirable results? For science!! This is the only vegan cookie recipe I have ever seen that looks like it will pass the rigorous tests of my chocolate chip cookie snobbery :) Thanks a bunch, love and light
Reviewed by misfitscupcake November 15, 2011

Do you think I could I sub honey for molasses in this recipe and produce desirable results? For science!! This is the only vegan cookie recipe I have ever seen that looks like it will pass the rigorous tests of my chocolate chip cookie snobbery :) Thanks a bunch, love and light

Owner's reply

Hi misfitcupcake, the molasses are in the cookies to build on chewiness and add depth of flavor. I don't think honey would be as effective on both fronts but it is about 80% fructose which will hold onto moisture and increase chewiness by a moderate amount. Just not as much as molasses theoretically. They'll still probably turn out good with it though! -but obviously not be vegan.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe looks great! My husband prefers whole wheat flour. Do you know if I could sub all or part of the all purpose flour without messing up the recipe? Also, can I switch the molasses out for maple syrup?

Thanks!
Reviewed by Leen August 25, 2011

Looks delicious!

This recipe looks great! My husband prefers whole wheat flour. Do you know if I could sub all or part of the all purpose flour without messing up the recipe? Also, can I switch the molasses out for maple syrup?

Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I really loved how these cookies turned out! Very delicious! I was wondering tho, for future reference, could the white flour and margarine be replaced with spelt flour and olive oil?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kayla August 25, 2011

Question:

I really loved how these cookies turned out! Very delicious! I was wondering tho, for future reference, could the white flour and margarine be replaced with spelt flour and olive oil?

Was this review helpful to you? 
i've tried a few vegan choc. chip cookie recipes and these are BY FAR the best! i'll be making these from now on! i do have to admit that i lowered the amount of sugar to about 1 cup and they still tasted pretty sweet to me.

thanks so much for this recipe! :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by rabbitercute August 24, 2011

YUMMY!

i've tried a few vegan choc. chip cookie recipes and these are BY FAR the best! i'll be making these from now on! i do have to admit that i lowered the amount of sugar to about 1 cup and they still tasted pretty sweet to me.

thanks so much for this recipe! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I have to cut out dairy, eggs, and nuts for my son who has allergies and its been an adjustment to not have the things I'm used to for his sake. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I've tried many others from boxes or from scratch and this one is the first that has the perfect texture (slightly crunchy edges with gooey center) and tastes like the real deal. I did have to add some extra splashes of water because my batter was very crumbly but they still came out excellent. THANK YOU!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Momma O July 21, 2011

Perfect!

I have to cut out dairy, eggs, and nuts for my son who has allergies and its been an adjustment to not have the things I'm used to for his sake. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I've tried many others from boxes or from scratch and this one is the first that has the perfect texture (slightly crunchy edges with gooey center) and tastes like the real deal. I did have to add some extra splashes of water because my batter was very crumbly but they still came out excellent. THANK YOU!

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi,

I'm new to cookie baking. Can I replace Margarine and molasses with butter and honey? Pls advise.

Reviewed by Vidya June 24, 2011

Doubts

Hi,

I'm new to cookie baking. Can I replace Margarine and molasses with butter and honey? Pls advise.

Owner's reply

Hi Vidya, You should be able to do a 1 to 1 replacement of the margarine and molasses with butter and honey. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have a vegan cook book with many cookie recipes however, no matter how many times I try baking them they always turn out not so great. This recipe was amazing! The cookies turn out great every time I make them. I have given them to friends and family, they always seem so surprised that the cookies are vegan. For some reason they think vegan food is un-tastful and bland, they just have not had good vegan food and I always show them with my favorite recipes how amazing vegan food can be. This recipe is a great one.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kristi Lauren June 17, 2011

Amazing

I have a vegan cook book with many cookie recipes however, no matter how many times I try baking them they always turn out not so great. This recipe was amazing! The cookies turn out great every time I make them. I have given them to friends and family, they always seem so surprised that the cookies are vegan. For some reason they think vegan food is un-tastful and bland, they just have not had good vegan food and I always show them with my favorite recipes how amazing vegan food can be. This recipe is a great one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I really liked the texture of these cookies. They held up well and had a nice crunch and a good chewiness in the middle. However, the flax flavor was much too strong for me. I am new to vegan baking, so I wonder if I'm just not used to the taste of the flax meal, but next time I would use a different egg substitute. I would also double the molasses or switch to all brown sugar--I was looking for a deeper flavor.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Guest April 15, 2011

Pretty good.

I really liked the texture of these cookies. They held up well and had a nice crunch and a good chewiness in the middle. However, the flax flavor was much too strong for me. I am new to vegan baking, so I wonder if I'm just not used to the taste of the flax meal, but next time I would use a different egg substitute. I would also double the molasses or switch to all brown sugar--I was looking for a deeper flavor.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the input! I don't know the state of your flax seeds but the fats they contain are extremely susceptible to rancidity. It sounds like your flax seeds went a bit bad- it's pretty hard, if not impossible to taste flax in this recipe if your flax seeds are fresh. To make sure your flax sees don't go rancid, I recommend they be purchased whole, ground yourself and stored in the freezer for up to 6 months only. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are unbelievable!! I think they're better without the cinnamon - SOOOO good!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Catherine February 22, 2011

A-MAH-ZING

These are unbelievable!! I think they're better without the cinnamon - SOOOO good!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
77 results - showing 61 - 75
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering