Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (57)
37
72 results - showing 46 - 60
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
These were really yummy. I love the chewy texture and the cinnamon and molasses really added something extra to the flavor. This has become my new favorite cookie recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bailey November 05, 2012

These were really yummy. I love the chewy texture and the cinnamon and molasses really added something extra to the flavor. This has become my new favorite cookie recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These were so good! They were both slight crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Britt October 20, 2012

These were so good! They were both slight crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Best vegan cookie texture ever! Other recipes I've tried come out too cakey but this cookie was a dynamic dream. Nice and crispy on the edges with a chewy center. I wish I could comment on how chewy they were the next day, but sadly, they were gone shortly after cooling. So good! The only change I made was not adding cinnamon since I've had in it other chocolate chip recipes and didn't love for it.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Emily September 14, 2012

Awesome recipe!

Best vegan cookie texture ever! Other recipes I've tried come out too cakey but this cookie was a dynamic dream. Nice and crispy on the edges with a chewy center. I wish I could comment on how chewy they were the next day, but sadly, they were gone shortly after cooling. So good! The only change I made was not adding cinnamon since I've had in it other chocolate chip recipes and didn't love for it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are the most delicious cookies ever! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly. Even my non-vegan boyfriend was impressed (he usually hates vegan baked goods). The golden flax seeds add a subtle nutty flavor and the cinnamon level was perfect. I will be making these as gifts! Definitely be sure to spread the cookies far enough apart for baking, though, as mine spread more than I expected.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Katherine August 31, 2012

These are the most delicious cookies ever! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly. Even my non-vegan boyfriend was impressed (he usually hates vegan baked goods). The golden flax seeds add a subtle nutty flavor and the cinnamon level was perfect. I will be making these as gifts! Definitely be sure to spread the cookies far enough apart for baking, though, as mine spread more than I expected.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
i loved these cookies. i like the idea of using flax instead of egg replacer. thanks for the recipe.
when i made these cookies i did half earth balance and half coconut oil.
Reviewed by adriana June 27, 2012

loved them

i loved these cookies. i like the idea of using flax instead of egg replacer. thanks for the recipe.
when i made these cookies i did half earth balance and half coconut oil.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these last night and they are great! I substituted spelt flour for all purpose, and used brown flax seeds. They are still chewy today too...I stored them in a tightly sealed plastic container. The addition of cinnamon really took them to a new level!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by guest June 03, 2012

Excellent

I made these last night and they are great! I substituted spelt flour for all purpose, and used brown flax seeds. They are still chewy today too...I stored them in a tightly sealed plastic container. The addition of cinnamon really took them to a new level!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These were easy to make and I loved them immediately out of the oven, however the next day they were harder than a brick bat, as my Grandmother used to say! Still edible but ultra crunchy. I baked them for the indicated time at 25 degrees lower, because my oven's a bit hot. I think I should shorten the cook time and see if they would be softer the next day. Are they usually soft the next day? Oh, the only thing I did differently was I used Flax Meal not Golden Flax meal. I used Earth Balance Buttery Sticks. Thanks.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Beth June 01, 2012

Harder than desired the next day

These were easy to make and I loved them immediately out of the oven, however the next day they were harder than a brick bat, as my Grandmother used to say! Still edible but ultra crunchy. I baked them for the indicated time at 25 degrees lower, because my oven's a bit hot. I think I should shorten the cook time and see if they would be softer the next day. Are they usually soft the next day? Oh, the only thing I did differently was I used Flax Meal not Golden Flax meal. I used Earth Balance Buttery Sticks. Thanks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made theses cookies today abd they were AMAZING! I am not a vegan but am working on eliminating animal fats from my diet for cholestoral reasons. These cookies are chewy, dense, and delicious. I used bittersweet chocolate and added walnuts and the flavor is decadent. I made the vegan butter with a macadamia cream to insure a rich outcome. The butter was very successful but there is a coconut overtone that I think would be difficult to remove. I should have used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts for that reason and will do so next time, No matter what these were delicious with a bit of a crunch on the outside but a soft chewy and gooey center. Thanks for this Mattie
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by AndyB May 03, 2012

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Made theses cookies today abd they were AMAZING! I am not a vegan but am working on eliminating animal fats from my diet for cholestoral reasons. These cookies are chewy, dense, and delicious. I used bittersweet chocolate and added walnuts and the flavor is decadent. I made the vegan butter with a macadamia cream to insure a rich outcome. The butter was very successful but there is a coconut overtone that I think would be difficult to remove. I should have used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts for that reason and will do so next time, No matter what these were delicious with a bit of a crunch on the outside but a soft chewy and gooey center. Thanks for this Mattie

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these AndyB! My girlfriend makes these cookies more than anything else on Veganbaking.net and every time she does, I realize that I'm going to have to help her eat them;) I recommend using refined coconut oil in the Regular Vegan Butter recipe. refined coconut oil is deodorized so it won't impart coconut flavors that can distract from the overall flavor. I can't wait to make a coconut cream to use in Vegan Butter- great idea!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi, I see in the pictures that the cookie dough is in clumps on the cookie sheet, but after baking, they are flattened like regular cookies.
Do they become like that while baking or do you flatten the little balls before baking them?
Also, somebody mentioned tearing the dough and reshaping.... I didn't find the description that was referring to. What was that about?
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I'll have to try it!
Daniela
Reviewed by Daniela March 08, 2012

questions about shaping the cookies

Hi, I see in the pictures that the cookie dough is in clumps on the cookie sheet, but after baking, they are flattened like regular cookies.
Do they become like that while baking or do you flatten the little balls before baking them?
Also, somebody mentioned tearing the dough and reshaping.... I didn't find the description that was referring to. What was that about?
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I'll have to try it!
Daniela

Owner's reply

Hi Daniela! Great questions. The cookies don't call to be flattened because they'll melt in place during baking. They're intended to be placed on the sheet in ball form.

An earlier version of this recipe called for tearing the balls in half and rejoining for a desirable uneven top. After experimenting with this method I determined it to be completely unnecessary- the cookies flatten into perfectly acceptable rounds regardless so I updated the recipe accordingly. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi there--

Am I correct in assuming that this recipe calls for 'regular' molasses instead of 'blackstrap'? I look forward to trying this...sounds yummy!
Reviewed by StaceyF March 02, 2012

Question about molasses

Hi there--

Am I correct in assuming that this recipe calls for 'regular' molasses instead of 'blackstrap'? I look forward to trying this...sounds yummy!

Owner's reply

Hi StaceyF,

This recipe calls for such a small amount of molasses- basically just to make it so that the sugar has about the same amount of molasses as brown sugar. Since the amount is so small it doesn't really matter which type you use. Happy baking!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I'm new to vegan backing but I thought semi sweet chocolate chips have milk fat in them. At least my Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips do. So how are they vegan?
Reviewed by LRoberts February 19, 2012

Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips!?

I'm new to vegan backing but I thought semi sweet chocolate chips have milk fat in them. At least my Nestle semi sweet chocolate chips do. So how are they vegan?

Owner's reply

Hi LRoberts, Many health food stores have vegan chocolate chips and many major brand chocolate chips at large supermakrets are accidentally vegan. I usually never have too much trouble finding them. If you're really in a bind though, there's always the internet. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Love these! But you have to pay attention to the size of the cookies. My first batch, while good, were very, very crunchy. I had made them much too small and didn't think to adjust the time. This second batch I made them bigger and they are perfect!
Rating 
 
5.0
lojenn Reviewed by lojenn February 13, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Really good!

Love these! But you have to pay attention to the size of the cookies. My first batch, while good, were very, very crunchy. I had made them much too small and didn't think to adjust the time. This second batch I made them bigger and they are perfect!

Owner's reply

Glad you liked these lojenn! When I first designed these I wanted to make them smaller but I guess I got carried away when I make cookies and they always turn out bigger than planned. Glad you found a size and baking time that works for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can anyone PLEASE tell me what I'm doing wrong..... I did exactly what the recipe calls for but its NOT turning into dough.... it's just powder. It's like the f;ax wont mix with the dough...
Reviewed by McKenzie January 27, 2012

Can anyone PLEASE tell me what I'm doing wrong..... I did exactly what the recipe calls for but its NOT turning into dough.... it's just powder. It's like the f;ax wont mix with the dough...

Owner's reply

Hi McKenzie,

This dough is a little more thick than traditional cookie dough. Try using a spoon to mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and if it becomes too thick to mix with the spoon, use your hands to "knead" the mixture into a dough.

Was this review helpful to you? 
All the vegan cookies I've made have turned out too fluffy and cake-like. These were perfectly chewy and delicious. I subbed 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rachel January 08, 2012

Perfectly chewy!

All the vegan cookies I've made have turned out too fluffy and cake-like. These were perfectly chewy and delicious. I subbed 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are SO good! They taste just like the ones my mom used to make before we all became vegan. Thanks for the great recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by AJ December 21, 2011

OMG

These cookies are SO good! They taste just like the ones my mom used to make before we all became vegan. Thanks for the great recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
72 results - showing 46 - 60
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering