Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (59)
37
75 results - showing 31 - 45
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.
Rating 
 
5.0
elphabaalfafa Reviewed by elphabaalfafa April 19, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these elphabaalfalfa! The molasses is just there because I prefer to use it instead of brown sugar, which is just white sugar coated in molasses. It's there to increase chewiness and shouldn't be able to be detected on the palette. Looks like they still turned out great with the syrup wich is good to know. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!
Rating 
 
5.0
vegagenesis Reviewed by vegagenesis April 11, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

High Altitude

I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!

Owner's reply

Thanks vegagenesis! It's my impression that most cookies are not going to require major modifications, if any, to work at high altitudes. You might want to just give it a go and see how they turn out. Regarding general vegan baking high altitude tips, here's some tips I answered for someone recently on the Ask a Vegan Baker forum:
http://www.veganbaking.net/ask-a-vegan-baker/high-altitude-baking-tips#reply-22
Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Lindsay March 29, 2013

Cookie perfection!

Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Lindsay! It is a little odd that the dough comes together on the crumbly side but since there's no eggs to pull it all together during baking, it as to start out that way. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just came across this recipe and I can't wait to try it! Is it possible to use oil in place of the margarine, though? I don't have vegan margarine where I live. Also is there a special reason why only 3 tbsp water is used with the 2 tbsp of flax? I thought the usual ratio was 1tbsp flax + 3tbsp water. (I'm only asking to determine if my previous cookie flops were due to the flax+water ratio I used) Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bulut March 18, 2013

I just came across this recipe and I can't wait to try it! Is it possible to use oil in place of the margarine, though? I don't have vegan margarine where I live. Also is there a special reason why only 3 tbsp water is used with the 2 tbsp of flax? I thought the usual ratio was 1tbsp flax + 3tbsp water. (I'm only asking to determine if my previous cookie flops were due to the flax+water ratio I used) Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Bulut! You should be able to use oil in place of margarine but keep in mind that margarine and butter has a roughly 80/20 fat to water ratio. This means that since there is about 14 Tablespoons of Vegan Butter in this recipe, you should aim to compensate with about 11 Tablespoons vegetable oil and 3 extra Tablespoons water or non-dairy milk. Also, you should add about 1/8 teaspoon salt to make up for the lack of margarine/Vegan Butter. Normally the usual ratio to replace one egg is 1 Tablespoon flax meal to 3 Tablespoons water. However, I needed more binding power in this recipe without the extra liquid so I specifically designed it to use 2 Tablespoons of flax meal with 3 Tablespoons water. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I'm not able to use all purpose as I have wheat/gluten allergies; I cannot use the vegan margarine you've suggested as I have soy/canola,dairy allergies. I was wondering what type of flour would be comparible other than grain flours? Would coconut oil be okay to use? I would really like to try this recipe but I want to know what substitutes I can use before trying it.

Thanks,

Kelly
Reviewed by Kelly March 04, 2013

I'm not able to use all purpose as I have wheat/gluten allergies; I cannot use the vegan margarine you've suggested as I have soy/canola,dairy allergies. I was wondering what type of flour would be comparible other than grain flours? Would coconut oil be okay to use? I would really like to try this recipe but I want to know what substitutes I can use before trying it.

Thanks,

Kelly

Owner's reply

Hi Kelly! I've been working on a gluten-free flour to use for cup for cup substitutions but it's not ready yet. I recommend just finding a chocolate chip cookie recipe that's just designed from the ground-up to be gluten-free. I'm almost certain you'll have to wrestle with this recipe awhile to get it to work. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I brought two plates of these to a dessert party last night. I was the only vegan in the group, and didn't mention ahead of time that the cookies were vegan. The first plate was gone like THAT! When I mentioned the cookies were vegan no one could believe it! The party hosts asked if they could keep (what little remained of) the second plate. Thanks for making recipes like these that help spread the word about how great vegan cuisine and baking can be!
skinnyvegan Reviewed by skinnyvegan February 26, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Non-vegans agree these are excellent!!

I brought two plates of these to a dessert party last night. I was the only vegan in the group, and didn't mention ahead of time that the cookies were vegan. The first plate was gone like THAT! When I mentioned the cookies were vegan no one could believe it! The party hosts asked if they could keep (what little remained of) the second plate. Thanks for making recipes like these that help spread the word about how great vegan cuisine and baking can be!

Owner's reply

That's the ultimate compliment skinnyvegan! Thanks! I love it when a vegan dish is enjoyed by people of all diets just for being a good dish. That's the main reason why I do this stuff;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
There is nothing wrong with these! Perfect chocolate chip cookie. Cannot tell its vegan! Delicious.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bridgette February 18, 2013

Perfect!

There is nothing wrong with these! Perfect chocolate chip cookie. Cannot tell its vegan! Delicious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My cookies never flatted either half way through. I used Earth Balance shortening and turbinado sugar, as that's all I had and I had to press them down half way through baking to work. They just stayed in balls. I even baked them at 360 F just in case... Sad.
Rating 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Veronica February 16, 2013

Didn't flatten

My cookies never flatted either half way through. I used Earth Balance shortening and turbinado sugar, as that's all I had and I had to press them down half way through baking to work. They just stayed in balls. I even baked them at 360 F just in case... Sad.

Owner's reply

Hi Veronica,

The cookies probably didn't flatten because you used shortening instead of vegan butter. Shortening is 100% fat while vegan butter is around 60% fat, 40% water. Hopefully they were still somewhat tasty though!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Due to a new egg and milk allergy I don't have to miss my chocolate chip cookies. I used the coarse cane sugar and it gave it a grainy texture but they tasted really great. Next time I will use standard sugar. They did brown on the edges and were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Nicole February 06, 2013

The Best So Far

Due to a new egg and milk allergy I don't have to miss my chocolate chip cookies. I used the coarse cane sugar and it gave it a grainy texture but they tasted really great. Next time I will use standard sugar. They did brown on the edges and were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've baked these cookies again and again, I couldn't be more satisfied!! They're awesome. My non vegan friends ate them and loved them, they couldn't believe they were vegan!!
A friend of mine asked me the recipe but would like to substitute the flax meal with eggs, because where she lives flax seeds are hard to find and she doesn't have a grinder, so how many eggs should be put in the recipe instead of the mixture water + flax meal?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kirsten February 02, 2013

.

I've baked these cookies again and again, I couldn't be more satisfied!! They're awesome. My non vegan friends ate them and loved them, they couldn't believe they were vegan!!
A friend of mine asked me the recipe but would like to substitute the flax meal with eggs, because where she lives flax seeds are hard to find and she doesn't have a grinder, so how many eggs should be put in the recipe instead of the mixture water + flax meal?

Owner's reply

So glad you like them Kirsten! For an egg substitution, replacing the flax/water mixture with one egg should work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
these cookies are GREAT! it's my 3rd attempt for a vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe and this one is by far the best! when i did my shopping i didn't realize i needed to get flax meal and ended up getting the golden flax seeds. i just threw a handful in the food processor for a while until it was all ground up. it was fun watching the seeds fly around in there! i only have 1 cookie sheet. the first round i made the cookies kind of on the bigger side (about 3 1/2-4inches diameter after cooked) and baked them for 15 minutes as the recipe suggests, also turning it half way through. they came out SOOOO good. i made them around 11:30am and they are still soft and it's 8:30pm now! the 2nd round i made the cookie dough smaller (about 2 inches diameter after cooked) and baked for the full 15 minutes, turning half way through. and those came out VERRRRRY crunchy! still tastes great and good for dunking though!!

Thanks for such a good recipe :-D
Rating 
 
4.0
JackieT.Esp. Reviewed by JackieT.Esp. January 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

timing is everything!

these cookies are GREAT! it's my 3rd attempt for a vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe and this one is by far the best! when i did my shopping i didn't realize i needed to get flax meal and ended up getting the golden flax seeds. i just threw a handful in the food processor for a while until it was all ground up. it was fun watching the seeds fly around in there! i only have 1 cookie sheet. the first round i made the cookies kind of on the bigger side (about 3 1/2-4inches diameter after cooked) and baked them for 15 minutes as the recipe suggests, also turning it half way through. they came out SOOOO good. i made them around 11:30am and they are still soft and it's 8:30pm now! the 2nd round i made the cookie dough smaller (about 2 inches diameter after cooked) and baked for the full 15 minutes, turning half way through. and those came out VERRRRRY crunchy! still tastes great and good for dunking though!!

Thanks for such a good recipe :-D

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these JackieT!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am new to the healthy eating scene and was craving cookies, so I decided to try healthy chocolate chip cookies. While kneading the dough, I noticed it was crumbly and pretty dry. The dough smelled great (as well as my kitchen) but when I checked the cookies 8-minutes into baking, they had not started flattening. Help anyone??? I'd really like some cookies without a side of guilt :)
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by S Sutton January 12, 2013

Help...!!!

I am new to the healthy eating scene and was craving cookies, so I decided to try healthy chocolate chip cookies. While kneading the dough, I noticed it was crumbly and pretty dry. The dough smelled great (as well as my kitchen) but when I checked the cookies 8-minutes into baking, they had not started flattening. Help anyone??? I'd really like some cookies without a side of guilt :)

Owner's reply

Hi S Sutton, That's interesting that these cookies didn't flatten for you. I haven't modified the recipe and make it often with consistently flat results. Have you had your oven temperature verified with a third party oven thermometer? I also haven't tested this recipe with other margarine manufacturers so perhaps this can make a difference in dough consistency too. Feel free to reach out to me if you'd like to troubleshoot this further.

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are very good. I've never been able to get the flax seed.water combo just right before - thanks for that ;) My cookies didn't spread out they stayed almost in a ball! I'm wondering if it's the sugar. I use vegan cane sugar and it's a lot thicker than regular refined sugar. Do you have any ideas on where to find vegan sugar that is more refined?
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by r mommy January 06, 2013

Good but,...

These cookies are very good. I've never been able to get the flax seed.water combo just right before - thanks for that ;) My cookies didn't spread out they stayed almost in a ball! I'm wondering if it's the sugar. I use vegan cane sugar and it's a lot thicker than regular refined sugar. Do you have any ideas on where to find vegan sugar that is more refined?

Owner's reply

Hi rmommy,

I'm sorry these cookies didn't spread for you. It's most likely not your sugar that caused the issue. The only thing I can think of is that perhaps your oven was at a different temperature or you were using a brand of margarine that is different to what this recipe was designed with. I tested it with Earth Balance and my Vegan Butter so it should provide consistent results. Feel free to reach out to me if you'd like to troubleshoot this further.

Was this review helpful to you? 
just recently started following a vegan diet in our household and i am trying to incorporate "familiar" non-vegan recipes. chocolate chip cookies are a necessity in this home. this recipe is not only easy to follow and quick, but tasty too! the only snag i ran into was the cookies coming out extra crunchy. with my first batch i followed the directions to a t...7.5 min then rotate the sheet then 7.5 min more. too crunchy for my liking. the second batch i shaved off one min per rotation. still crunchy. my third batch i let them bake for 5 min then rotated then 5 min more and they were chewy. :) win. just watch and adjust times as to your liking. thank you!
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by lynblanton January 04, 2013

delicious!

just recently started following a vegan diet in our household and i am trying to incorporate "familiar" non-vegan recipes. chocolate chip cookies are a necessity in this home. this recipe is not only easy to follow and quick, but tasty too! the only snag i ran into was the cookies coming out extra crunchy. with my first batch i followed the directions to a t...7.5 min then rotate the sheet then 7.5 min more. too crunchy for my liking. the second batch i shaved off one min per rotation. still crunchy. my third batch i let them bake for 5 min then rotated then 5 min more and they were chewy. :) win. just watch and adjust times as to your liking. thank you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My 10 year old egg-allergic son declares this the best cookie of his life! I made some slight adjustments to the recipe based on our needs, tastes, and what was in the house (used butter, brown sugar only and no molasses, no cinnamon) but I feel it was still close enough to the original to judge that this is a fantastic cookie with both a soft chewy texture and great chocolate chip cookie flavor.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Laura R December 24, 2012

Great egg-free cookie!

My 10 year old egg-allergic son declares this the best cookie of his life! I made some slight adjustments to the recipe based on our needs, tastes, and what was in the house (used butter, brown sugar only and no molasses, no cinnamon) but I feel it was still close enough to the original to judge that this is a fantastic cookie with both a soft chewy texture and great chocolate chip cookie flavor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
75 results - showing 31 - 45
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering