Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (64)
40
81 results - showing 31 - 45
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
Best vegan Choc chip ever! Posted my pic! Hope it helps others see how it comes out!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Katy September 26, 2013

Best vegan Choc chip ever! Posted my pic! Hope it helps others see how it comes out!

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the cookies Katy! Thanks for the awesome pic!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Everyone that tried these loved them! They stayed fresh for three days until we finished them all. :) No one could believe they were vegan! I used half all purpose and half wheat flour, and added walnuts. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
AmyS Reviewed by AmyS September 08, 2013
Last updated: September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic!!!!!

Everyone that tried these loved them! They stayed fresh for three days until we finished them all. :) No one could believe they were vegan! I used half all purpose and half wheat flour, and added walnuts. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies worked out so well for you Amys! Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
OMG!! I stumbled onto your recipe because I have been in search for a really good chocolate chip cookie...this is it!!! Well, I have to admit, I did some variations because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but this cookie is boss! I used spelt flour, coconut oil, and maple syrup. These came out so good :-) We're scraping off the last remnants stuck to the parchment paper now. I never write reviews, but I had to for this recipe...absolutely terrific...great job Mattie.
Rating 
 
5.0
cerabear Reviewed by cerabear August 06, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The BEST cookie!!

OMG!! I stumbled onto your recipe because I have been in search for a really good chocolate chip cookie...this is it!!! Well, I have to admit, I did some variations because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but this cookie is boss! I used spelt flour, coconut oil, and maple syrup. These came out so good :-) We're scraping off the last remnants stuck to the parchment paper now. I never write reviews, but I had to for this recipe...absolutely terrific...great job Mattie.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much cerabear! So glad these chocolate chip cookies worked out for you and it's great to know you had such great luck with spelt flour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I folllowed this recipe exactly but my results were so much different from everyone else! The dough was so hard to combine near the end, it was SO thick. I ended up adding a little bit of water to help mix everything and that was a HUGE mistake- the dough turned into a paste that was impossible to mold into a ball or even get off my hand. Maybe I used too much butter?? I baked them anyway but I'm nervous to taste them...
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Ari July 24, 2013

I did something wrong...

I folllowed this recipe exactly but my results were so much different from everyone else! The dough was so hard to combine near the end, it was SO thick. I ended up adding a little bit of water to help mix everything and that was a HUGE mistake- the dough turned into a paste that was impossible to mold into a ball or even get off my hand. Maybe I used too much butter?? I baked them anyway but I'm nervous to taste them...

Owner's reply

Hi Ari! I'm so sorry you had issues with the cookies. I just added information to Step 4 to mention that the dough is going to be a little thicker than traditional non-vegan dough due to the absence of eggs. Thanks for bringing this to my attention and allowing me to improve this recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
So, I'm currently obsessed with Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip cookies. I'm not vegan and I'm no longer a vegetarian but I'm still into making either vegan or vegetarian at least 2 times a week. when I made them, I ended up using Truvia baking sugar, and I think that might have screwed me up, I didn't realize I had raw organic sugar in the cabinet till after I added the sugar. My cookies didn't flatten, so when I put the second batch in the oven, I flattened them myself. They were good, and I want to try to make them again with the correct sugar. I wonder if my blackstrap molasses gave it a weird flavor, because I feel like it is lingering in my mouth. So this recipe deserves 5 starts because it's perfect, I'm to one that probably messed it up. Haha I can't wait to make them again.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Michelle July 07, 2013

Really Good

So, I'm currently obsessed with Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip cookies. I'm not vegan and I'm no longer a vegetarian but I'm still into making either vegan or vegetarian at least 2 times a week. when I made them, I ended up using Truvia baking sugar, and I think that might have screwed me up, I didn't realize I had raw organic sugar in the cabinet till after I added the sugar. My cookies didn't flatten, so when I put the second batch in the oven, I flattened them myself. They were good, and I want to try to make them again with the correct sugar. I wonder if my blackstrap molasses gave it a weird flavor, because I feel like it is lingering in my mouth. So this recipe deserves 5 starts because it's perfect, I'm to one that probably messed it up. Haha I can't wait to make them again.

Owner's reply

Hi Michelle! Sugar type is actually a super important factor in the way cookies flatten. It sounds crazy but it's because cookie dough is extremely rich in sugar compared to other doughs. This sugar liquifies during baking and contributes to the water soluble water content of the cookie. The sugary dough is then hygroscopic which means that it really likes to hold onto water and not allow very much of it to be baked off. As you probably know, more water means more flattening, less water means less flattening.

Molasses also plays a role due to it containing polysaccharides (long chain sugars) that hold onto water more, preventing it from being baked off. Molasses also is acidic which can increase leavening, which also tends to decrease flattening in a cookie. So cookies are a balancing act in regards to flattening. I haven't worked with Truvia but I'd guess that it's probably different in the way it works with water compared to granulated sugar enough to cause of your lack of flattening. I use the molasses so you don't have to go out and buy brown sugar. Molasses or brown sugar increases chewiness and adds a flavor complexity that I don't find off base but who knows. Every one is different and it could have caused your flavor woes.

I just had the vegan Whole Foods cookies this weekend and they're awesome! So chewy! Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Delicious!! I did it with half wholemeal/half all-purpose flour and it worked fine!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Isadora May 01, 2013

Delicious!! I did it with half wholemeal/half all-purpose flour and it worked fine!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.
Rating 
 
5.0
elphabaalfafa Reviewed by elphabaalfafa April 19, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these elphabaalfalfa! The molasses is just there because I prefer to use it instead of brown sugar, which is just white sugar coated in molasses. It's there to increase chewiness and shouldn't be able to be detected on the palette. Looks like they still turned out great with the syrup wich is good to know. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!
Rating 
 
5.0
vegagenesis Reviewed by vegagenesis April 11, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

High Altitude

I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!

Owner's reply

Thanks vegagenesis! It's my impression that most cookies are not going to require major modifications, if any, to work at high altitudes. You might want to just give it a go and see how they turn out. Regarding general vegan baking high altitude tips, here's some tips I answered for someone recently on the Ask a Vegan Baker forum:
http://www.veganbaking.net/ask-a-vegan-baker/high-altitude-baking-tips#reply-22
Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Lindsay March 29, 2013

Cookie perfection!

Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Lindsay! It is a little odd that the dough comes together on the crumbly side but since there's no eggs to pull it all together during baking, it as to start out that way. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just came across this recipe and I can't wait to try it! Is it possible to use oil in place of the margarine, though? I don't have vegan margarine where I live. Also is there a special reason why only 3 tbsp water is used with the 2 tbsp of flax? I thought the usual ratio was 1tbsp flax + 3tbsp water. (I'm only asking to determine if my previous cookie flops were due to the flax+water ratio I used) Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bulut March 18, 2013

I just came across this recipe and I can't wait to try it! Is it possible to use oil in place of the margarine, though? I don't have vegan margarine where I live. Also is there a special reason why only 3 tbsp water is used with the 2 tbsp of flax? I thought the usual ratio was 1tbsp flax + 3tbsp water. (I'm only asking to determine if my previous cookie flops were due to the flax+water ratio I used) Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Bulut! You should be able to use oil in place of margarine but keep in mind that margarine and butter has a roughly 80/20 fat to water ratio. This means that since there is about 14 Tablespoons of Vegan Butter in this recipe, you should aim to compensate with about 11 Tablespoons vegetable oil and 3 extra Tablespoons water or non-dairy milk. Also, you should add about 1/8 teaspoon salt to make up for the lack of margarine/Vegan Butter. Normally the usual ratio to replace one egg is 1 Tablespoon flax meal to 3 Tablespoons water. However, I needed more binding power in this recipe without the extra liquid so I specifically designed it to use 2 Tablespoons of flax meal with 3 Tablespoons water. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I'm not able to use all purpose as I have wheat/gluten allergies; I cannot use the vegan margarine you've suggested as I have soy/canola,dairy allergies. I was wondering what type of flour would be comparible other than grain flours? Would coconut oil be okay to use? I would really like to try this recipe but I want to know what substitutes I can use before trying it.

Thanks,

Kelly
Reviewed by Kelly March 04, 2013

I'm not able to use all purpose as I have wheat/gluten allergies; I cannot use the vegan margarine you've suggested as I have soy/canola,dairy allergies. I was wondering what type of flour would be comparible other than grain flours? Would coconut oil be okay to use? I would really like to try this recipe but I want to know what substitutes I can use before trying it.

Thanks,

Kelly

Owner's reply

Hi Kelly! I've been working on a gluten-free flour to use for cup for cup substitutions but it's not ready yet. I recommend just finding a chocolate chip cookie recipe that's just designed from the ground-up to be gluten-free. I'm almost certain you'll have to wrestle with this recipe awhile to get it to work. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I brought two plates of these to a dessert party last night. I was the only vegan in the group, and didn't mention ahead of time that the cookies were vegan. The first plate was gone like THAT! When I mentioned the cookies were vegan no one could believe it! The party hosts asked if they could keep (what little remained of) the second plate. Thanks for making recipes like these that help spread the word about how great vegan cuisine and baking can be!
skinnyvegan Reviewed by skinnyvegan February 26, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Non-vegans agree these are excellent!!

I brought two plates of these to a dessert party last night. I was the only vegan in the group, and didn't mention ahead of time that the cookies were vegan. The first plate was gone like THAT! When I mentioned the cookies were vegan no one could believe it! The party hosts asked if they could keep (what little remained of) the second plate. Thanks for making recipes like these that help spread the word about how great vegan cuisine and baking can be!

Owner's reply

That's the ultimate compliment skinnyvegan! Thanks! I love it when a vegan dish is enjoyed by people of all diets just for being a good dish. That's the main reason why I do this stuff;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
There is nothing wrong with these! Perfect chocolate chip cookie. Cannot tell its vegan! Delicious.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bridgette February 18, 2013

Perfect!

There is nothing wrong with these! Perfect chocolate chip cookie. Cannot tell its vegan! Delicious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My cookies never flatted either half way through. I used Earth Balance shortening and turbinado sugar, as that's all I had and I had to press them down half way through baking to work. They just stayed in balls. I even baked them at 360 F just in case... Sad.
Rating 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Veronica February 16, 2013

Didn't flatten

My cookies never flatted either half way through. I used Earth Balance shortening and turbinado sugar, as that's all I had and I had to press them down half way through baking to work. They just stayed in balls. I even baked them at 360 F just in case... Sad.

Owner's reply

Hi Veronica,

The cookies probably didn't flatten because you used shortening instead of vegan butter. Shortening is 100% fat while vegan butter is around 60% fat, 40% water. Hopefully they were still somewhat tasty though!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Due to a new egg and milk allergy I don't have to miss my chocolate chip cookies. I used the coarse cane sugar and it gave it a grainy texture but they tasted really great. Next time I will use standard sugar. They did brown on the edges and were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Nicole February 06, 2013

The Best So Far

Due to a new egg and milk allergy I don't have to miss my chocolate chip cookies. I used the coarse cane sugar and it gave it a grainy texture but they tasted really great. Next time I will use standard sugar. They did brown on the edges and were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Was this review helpful to you? 
81 results - showing 31 - 45
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering