Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (57)
37
72 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Thank you for posting this recipe. My child is allergic to both eggs and dairy, so finding a decent yet simple chocolate chip cookie recipe has been a challenge. We have tried many recipes and this one is by far a favourite with the entire family.

Also, The first time I made this I didn't have molasses on hand, so I used 3/4 caster sugar and 3/4 dark brown sugar, and the cookies turned out lovely and chewy.
Rating 
 
5.0
brittmarie Reviewed by brittmarie December 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Best kid/allergy friendly recipe

Thank you for posting this recipe. My child is allergic to both eggs and dairy, so finding a decent yet simple chocolate chip cookie recipe has been a challenge. We have tried many recipes and this one is by far a favourite with the entire family.

Also, The first time I made this I didn't have molasses on hand, so I used 3/4 caster sugar and 3/4 dark brown sugar, and the cookies turned out lovely and chewy.

Owner's reply

Thanks brittmarie! Brown sugar is just white sugar with molasses added so it probably gave you about 3/4 teaspoon molasses in the recipe. So glad the cookies worked out so well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are the best vegan cookies i've ever made. Thank you! I've always been disappointed with the lack of chewiness in the other recipes i've tried. These were delicious, and so, so satisfyingly chewy --you'd never know i'd nearly blown it completely, having A) misjudged the amount of baking soda and been forced to scoop out an indeterminate amount of excess from a mound of flour, and B) realized at the last minute that i was out of the most important ingredient contributing to chewiness: molasses! I replaced it with a 1/4 c of shredded coconut and crossed my fingers. The result was hands-down delicious and, thankfully, idiot-proof.
Rating 
 
5.0
SheraPoP Reviewed by SheraPoP December 07, 2013
Last updated: December 07, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Scrumptious!

These are the best vegan cookies i've ever made. Thank you! I've always been disappointed with the lack of chewiness in the other recipes i've tried. These were delicious, and so, so satisfyingly chewy --you'd never know i'd nearly blown it completely, having A) misjudged the amount of baking soda and been forced to scoop out an indeterminate amount of excess from a mound of flour, and B) realized at the last minute that i was out of the most important ingredient contributing to chewiness: molasses! I replaced it with a 1/4 c of shredded coconut and crossed my fingers. The result was hands-down delicious and, thankfully, idiot-proof.

Owner's reply

That's great that the cookies still turned out chewy for you even though you ran out of molasses SheraPop! Shredded coconut sounds like a great addition. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks Mattie! These cookies were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions except I baked them only about 13 minutes since I think my oven runs hot. They came out perfect. Since this recipe makes more than I could (or should!) eat, I froze them for over a week, defrosted them, and they still have a great chewy texture, almost like I had just bought them from a store or bakery. I am a new vegan and this was my first attempt at vegan baking and am so glad I found this site. I will be making the flaky vegan pie crust next, and can't wait to see how it comes out. Thank you again!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by veganlasvegas November 16, 2013

Amazing!!!

Thanks Mattie! These cookies were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions except I baked them only about 13 minutes since I think my oven runs hot. They came out perfect. Since this recipe makes more than I could (or should!) eat, I froze them for over a week, defrosted them, and they still have a great chewy texture, almost like I had just bought them from a store or bakery. I am a new vegan and this was my first attempt at vegan baking and am so glad I found this site. I will be making the flaky vegan pie crust next, and can't wait to see how it comes out. Thank you again!!!

Owner's reply

So glad the cookies worked out veganlasvegas! I frequently freeze cookies too to keep me from eating them all as soon as they come out of the oven;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are delicious! I baked them on Halloween to give to my friends' vegan daughter instead of candy, and she loved them! I do have a question, though. I've made them twice and they're very hard, very crunchy! Once you get past the crunch they're sort of chewy, but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left cinnamon out, and replaced the molasses with maple syrup (same amount). Would any of that affect the chewiness? Thanks!
Chelly Reviewed by Chelly November 10, 2013
Last updated: November 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

These cookies are delicious! I baked them on Halloween to give to my friends' vegan daughter instead of candy, and she loved them! I do have a question, though. I've made them twice and they're very hard, very crunchy! Once you get past the crunch they're sort of chewy, but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left cinnamon out, and replaced the molasses with maple syrup (same amount). Would any of that affect the chewiness? Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Chelly! Leaving the molasses out will definitely increase chewiness and dryness. The whole reason I use it in this recipe is for a more most, chewy interior and a tiny bit of flavor development in the background. I've found that lots of people leave it out when baking these cookies because they "don't like molasses" but it's not here for molasses flavor. Thick sweeteners like brown rice syrup, sorghum syrup and molasses have longer chains of sugar molecules that bind more aggressively to water which results in a more most and chewy dessert.

This is the same reason why some bakers call for brown sugar in their recipes. Brown sugar is just sugar with a little bit of molasses added.

So glad they worked out and thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These are so easy and yummy! I made them for a second time today and and covered a few Oreos in the dough and they came out so good.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Elizabeth November 03, 2013

These are so easy and yummy! I made them for a second time today and and covered a few Oreos in the dough and they came out so good.

Owner's reply

Pardon me Elizabeth but did you say you covered a few Oreos in the dough before baking?! That's genius! I can't wait to try that. Thanks for sharing and I'm so glad you like the cookies!

Was this review helpful to you? 
So far this is the best chocolate chip cookie we have made and its Vegan. I had a very happy family:) The only issue I have is they went to fast:) Using the kitchen aid mixer was a huge asset with the dough being thick:)
JFiquette Reviewed by JFiquette October 13, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Excellent cookie!!!!

So far this is the best chocolate chip cookie we have made and its Vegan. I had a very happy family:) The only issue I have is they went to fast:) Using the kitchen aid mixer was a huge asset with the dough being thick:)

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies turned out so well for you JFiquette! Good to know they worked so well with the mixer!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Best vegan Choc chip ever! Posted my pic! Hope it helps others see how it comes out!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Katy September 26, 2013

Best vegan Choc chip ever! Posted my pic! Hope it helps others see how it comes out!

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the cookies Katy! Thanks for the awesome pic!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Everyone that tried these loved them! They stayed fresh for three days until we finished them all. :) No one could believe they were vegan! I used half all purpose and half wheat flour, and added walnuts. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
AmyS Reviewed by AmyS September 08, 2013
Last updated: September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic!!!!!

Everyone that tried these loved them! They stayed fresh for three days until we finished them all. :) No one could believe they were vegan! I used half all purpose and half wheat flour, and added walnuts. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies worked out so well for you Amys! Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
OMG!! I stumbled onto your recipe because I have been in search for a really good chocolate chip cookie...this is it!!! Well, I have to admit, I did some variations because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but this cookie is boss! I used spelt flour, coconut oil, and maple syrup. These came out so good :-) We're scraping off the last remnants stuck to the parchment paper now. I never write reviews, but I had to for this recipe...absolutely terrific...great job Mattie.
Rating 
 
5.0
cerabear Reviewed by cerabear August 06, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The BEST cookie!!

OMG!! I stumbled onto your recipe because I have been in search for a really good chocolate chip cookie...this is it!!! Well, I have to admit, I did some variations because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but this cookie is boss! I used spelt flour, coconut oil, and maple syrup. These came out so good :-) We're scraping off the last remnants stuck to the parchment paper now. I never write reviews, but I had to for this recipe...absolutely terrific...great job Mattie.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much cerabear! So glad these chocolate chip cookies worked out for you and it's great to know you had such great luck with spelt flour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I folllowed this recipe exactly but my results were so much different from everyone else! The dough was so hard to combine near the end, it was SO thick. I ended up adding a little bit of water to help mix everything and that was a HUGE mistake- the dough turned into a paste that was impossible to mold into a ball or even get off my hand. Maybe I used too much butter?? I baked them anyway but I'm nervous to taste them...
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Ari July 24, 2013

I did something wrong...

I folllowed this recipe exactly but my results were so much different from everyone else! The dough was so hard to combine near the end, it was SO thick. I ended up adding a little bit of water to help mix everything and that was a HUGE mistake- the dough turned into a paste that was impossible to mold into a ball or even get off my hand. Maybe I used too much butter?? I baked them anyway but I'm nervous to taste them...

Owner's reply

Hi Ari! I'm so sorry you had issues with the cookies. I just added information to Step 4 to mention that the dough is going to be a little thicker than traditional non-vegan dough due to the absence of eggs. Thanks for bringing this to my attention and allowing me to improve this recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
So, I'm currently obsessed with Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip cookies. I'm not vegan and I'm no longer a vegetarian but I'm still into making either vegan or vegetarian at least 2 times a week. when I made them, I ended up using Truvia baking sugar, and I think that might have screwed me up, I didn't realize I had raw organic sugar in the cabinet till after I added the sugar. My cookies didn't flatten, so when I put the second batch in the oven, I flattened them myself. They were good, and I want to try to make them again with the correct sugar. I wonder if my blackstrap molasses gave it a weird flavor, because I feel like it is lingering in my mouth. So this recipe deserves 5 starts because it's perfect, I'm to one that probably messed it up. Haha I can't wait to make them again.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Michelle July 07, 2013

Really Good

So, I'm currently obsessed with Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip cookies. I'm not vegan and I'm no longer a vegetarian but I'm still into making either vegan or vegetarian at least 2 times a week. when I made them, I ended up using Truvia baking sugar, and I think that might have screwed me up, I didn't realize I had raw organic sugar in the cabinet till after I added the sugar. My cookies didn't flatten, so when I put the second batch in the oven, I flattened them myself. They were good, and I want to try to make them again with the correct sugar. I wonder if my blackstrap molasses gave it a weird flavor, because I feel like it is lingering in my mouth. So this recipe deserves 5 starts because it's perfect, I'm to one that probably messed it up. Haha I can't wait to make them again.

Owner's reply

Hi Michelle! Sugar type is actually a super important factor in the way cookies flatten. It sounds crazy but it's because cookie dough is extremely rich in sugar compared to other doughs. This sugar liquifies during baking and contributes to the water soluble water content of the cookie. The sugary dough is then hygroscopic which means that it really likes to hold onto water and not allow very much of it to be baked off. As you probably know, more water means more flattening, less water means less flattening.

Molasses also plays a role due to it containing polysaccharides (long chain sugars) that hold onto water more, preventing it from being baked off. Molasses also is acidic which can increase leavening, which also tends to decrease flattening in a cookie. So cookies are a balancing act in regards to flattening. I haven't worked with Truvia but I'd guess that it's probably different in the way it works with water compared to granulated sugar enough to cause of your lack of flattening. I use the molasses so you don't have to go out and buy brown sugar. Molasses or brown sugar increases chewiness and adds a flavor complexity that I don't find off base but who knows. Every one is different and it could have caused your flavor woes.

I just had the vegan Whole Foods cookies this weekend and they're awesome! So chewy! Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Delicious!! I did it with half wholemeal/half all-purpose flour and it worked fine!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Isadora May 01, 2013

Delicious!! I did it with half wholemeal/half all-purpose flour and it worked fine!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.
Rating 
 
5.0
elphabaalfafa Reviewed by elphabaalfafa April 19, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these elphabaalfalfa! The molasses is just there because I prefer to use it instead of brown sugar, which is just white sugar coated in molasses. It's there to increase chewiness and shouldn't be able to be detected on the palette. Looks like they still turned out great with the syrup wich is good to know. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!
Rating 
 
5.0
vegagenesis Reviewed by vegagenesis April 11, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

High Altitude

I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!

Owner's reply

Thanks vegagenesis! It's my impression that most cookies are not going to require major modifications, if any, to work at high altitudes. You might want to just give it a go and see how they turn out. Regarding general vegan baking high altitude tips, here's some tips I answered for someone recently on the Ask a Vegan Baker forum:
http://www.veganbaking.net/ask-a-vegan-baker/high-altitude-baking-tips#reply-22
Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Lindsay March 29, 2013

Cookie perfection!

Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Lindsay! It is a little odd that the dough comes together on the crumbly side but since there's no eggs to pull it all together during baking, it as to start out that way. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
72 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering