Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (64)
40
81 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
Awesome recipe! Instead of flax, I used standard oats that I ground with a coffee grinder. Came out better than any other vegan cookie recipe I have tried to date. Thank you very much
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jake W May 07, 2014

Amazing

Awesome recipe! Instead of flax, I used standard oats that I ground with a coffee grinder. Came out better than any other vegan cookie recipe I have tried to date. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful to you? 
Too much flour!?!! Both times I've made them they aren't soft and chewy :(
Rating 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Aisha April 27, 2014

Too much flour!?!! Both times I've made them they aren't soft and chewy :(

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love these! Will definitely be adding to the recipe box! I love the addition of the cinnamon and molasses....makes a tasty, chewy cookie. And thanks fie the previous comment on using coconut butter/oil...I used Earth Balance and a little grape seed oil, and a mix of organic spelt, rice and white flour and they turned out wonderful. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Erin at IOGoods April 04, 2014

a keeper

I love these! Will definitely be adding to the recipe box! I love the addition of the cinnamon and molasses....makes a tasty, chewy cookie. And thanks fie the previous comment on using coconut butter/oil...I used Earth Balance and a little grape seed oil, and a mix of organic spelt, rice and white flour and they turned out wonderful. Thanks!

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies have an incredible flavour! I love the little bit of cinnamon - they're not "cinnamony" per se, but it does give the flavour added depth without being in-your-face.

I usually bake with coconut oil and coconut palm sugar, so those were the only modifications I made to suit my dietary preferences. The first time, I hadn't read any comments so I just substituted solid coconut oil for the vegan butter, and the dough was super crumbly and dry. I managed to make it work with a bit of water added but it wasn't perfect (but they tasted SO GOOD that I had to try again). This time, I used melted coconut oil, and went by your suggestion (in the comments somewhere) of using 11 tablespoons of oil + 3 tablespoons of water. The dough was a completely different story! It held together beautifully like "normal" cookie dough, and flattened a little in the baking process (though I ended up helping the dough balls a bit by flattening them with a fork).

Thanks so much for this recipe, I know it's going to be a standby in our house!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Allene March 27, 2014

Delicious!

These cookies have an incredible flavour! I love the little bit of cinnamon - they're not "cinnamony" per se, but it does give the flavour added depth without being in-your-face.

I usually bake with coconut oil and coconut palm sugar, so those were the only modifications I made to suit my dietary preferences. The first time, I hadn't read any comments so I just substituted solid coconut oil for the vegan butter, and the dough was super crumbly and dry. I managed to make it work with a bit of water added but it wasn't perfect (but they tasted SO GOOD that I had to try again). This time, I used melted coconut oil, and went by your suggestion (in the comments somewhere) of using 11 tablespoons of oil + 3 tablespoons of water. The dough was a completely different story! It held together beautifully like "normal" cookie dough, and flattened a little in the baking process (though I ended up helping the dough balls a bit by flattening them with a fork).

Thanks so much for this recipe, I know it's going to be a standby in our house!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hi! This recipe looks absolutely delicious and I'm so excited to try it. I just have one question about the sugar and molasses. I have brown sugar on hand but no molasses, so I was wondering if I could just use the same amount of sugar called for in the recipe, substituting with brown sugar and leaving out the molasses? If I use brown sugar instead should I still add some molasses? Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Felise1999 Reviewed by Felise1999 March 07, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Question about the sugar

Hi! This recipe looks absolutely delicious and I'm so excited to try it. I just have one question about the sugar and molasses. I have brown sugar on hand but no molasses, so I was wondering if I could just use the same amount of sugar called for in the recipe, substituting with brown sugar and leaving out the molasses? If I use brown sugar instead should I still add some molasses? Thank you!

Owner's reply

Great question Felise! I actually have this grand plan to not have any brown sugar in my kitchen, and to use granulated white sugar with molasses so I can dial in exactly the right amount of chewiness and/for flavor complexity I need according to the task-at-hand. You should theoretically be able to do it the other way around: with brown sugar and no molasses, but since I don't know the exact amount of molasses in 1 1/2 cups sugar, it would be difficult to see if it would work exactly the same.

The long answer: Basically, molasses is extremely important in chocolate chip cookies (and some other cookie varieties) because it determines the chewiness of the cookie and lends background flavor notes, not necessarily perceived as "molasses like". Molasses consists of long, sticky sugars that hold onto water, hence the gooeyness, so this would also effect the way your cookies spread during baking too. This is because as molasses holds onto the water, it's less likely to evaporate during baking, thus making your cookies remain in a liquid state longer. The longer your cookies remain in a liquid state during baking, the more they'll spread flat. So molasses is used to "tune" many cookie recipes for optimum flavor, texture and shape.

The short answer: you could probably get away with brown sugar but the cookies wouldn't turn out exactly as designed. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are the best. My husband begs me to make them, he even offers to help!! That should speak for itself!! I have a question though. What adjustments would I need to make to do cookie bars instead?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jenna March 06, 2014

Amazing flavor!!

These cookies are the best. My husband begs me to make them, he even offers to help!! That should speak for itself!! I have a question though. What adjustments would I need to make to do cookie bars instead?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the cookies Jenna! And if the husband offers to help, that's a good sign. I don't even offer to help my wife when she makes these (although I should). Great question about the bars. I don't think the dough would need to be altered, just the baking time. You might want to also bake at 325F for a little longer to make sure they bake evenly. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
As one who is doing a trail of vegetarian/Vegan diet, it intrigues me that the ingredients used focus on vegan but are not using organic flour but flour denoting ingredients such as aluminum phosphate, bad stuff if you have Alzheimer's as a risk in your family. I think it prudent to not only eat the proper diet but ensure the ingredients are equally proper!
Reviewed by Jennifer January 25, 2014

Ingredients

As one who is doing a trail of vegetarian/Vegan diet, it intrigues me that the ingredients used focus on vegan but are not using organic flour but flour denoting ingredients such as aluminum phosphate, bad stuff if you have Alzheimer's as a risk in your family. I think it prudent to not only eat the proper diet but ensure the ingredients are equally proper!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've fooled so many people by making these. People do not know they are vegan because they are so good!! Pair this with some nondairy ice cream or just by themselves, freshly out of the oven...omg droooool. So good!! Such a great find and I'm never searching again for another chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
theyummybunny Reviewed by theyummybunny January 20, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Seriously...the best chocolate chip cookies!

I've fooled so many people by making these. People do not know they are vegan because they are so good!! Pair this with some nondairy ice cream or just by themselves, freshly out of the oven...omg droooool. So good!! Such a great find and I'm never searching again for another chocolate chip cookie recipe!

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies worked out so well for you theyummybunny! Out of all my recipes, these get made the most in my house. Glad they're fooling people in your neck of the woods!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love the sound of this recipe but was wondering if it would turn out the same when using whole wheat pastry flour? I sometimes do a recipe with 1/3 soy flour and 2/3 pastry flour. should I try this or do you think pastry flour alone would be ok?
newly vegan Reviewed by newly vegan January 07, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love the sound of this recipe but was wondering if it would turn out the same when using whole wheat pastry flour? I sometimes do a recipe with 1/3 soy flour and 2/3 pastry flour. should I try this or do you think pastry flour alone would be ok?

Owner's reply

Great question newly vegan! It's difficult to say if these cookies would work perfectly with pastry flour on the first try. I recommend just going for it, seeing how they come out and making adjustments as necessary in future batches. It'll probably be close enough to the point of where you'll still be able to enjoy the outcome. Same goes for the soy flour. I would think that the soy flour would be a little less absorbent of the water and fats than wheat flour so it might require a little less liquid. This is one of those cases where you're just going to need to give it a shot. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you for posting this recipe. My child is allergic to both eggs and dairy, so finding a decent yet simple chocolate chip cookie recipe has been a challenge. We have tried many recipes and this one is by far a favourite with the entire family.

Also, The first time I made this I didn't have molasses on hand, so I used 3/4 caster sugar and 3/4 dark brown sugar, and the cookies turned out lovely and chewy.
Rating 
 
5.0
brittmarie Reviewed by brittmarie December 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Best kid/allergy friendly recipe

Thank you for posting this recipe. My child is allergic to both eggs and dairy, so finding a decent yet simple chocolate chip cookie recipe has been a challenge. We have tried many recipes and this one is by far a favourite with the entire family.

Also, The first time I made this I didn't have molasses on hand, so I used 3/4 caster sugar and 3/4 dark brown sugar, and the cookies turned out lovely and chewy.

Owner's reply

Thanks brittmarie! Brown sugar is just white sugar with molasses added so it probably gave you about 3/4 teaspoon molasses in the recipe. So glad the cookies worked out so well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These are the best vegan cookies i've ever made. Thank you! I've always been disappointed with the lack of chewiness in the other recipes i've tried. These were delicious, and so, so satisfyingly chewy --you'd never know i'd nearly blown it completely, having A) misjudged the amount of baking soda and been forced to scoop out an indeterminate amount of excess from a mound of flour, and B) realized at the last minute that i was out of the most important ingredient contributing to chewiness: molasses! I replaced it with a 1/4 c of shredded coconut and crossed my fingers. The result was hands-down delicious and, thankfully, idiot-proof.
Rating 
 
5.0
SheraPoP Reviewed by SheraPoP December 07, 2013
Last updated: December 07, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Scrumptious!

These are the best vegan cookies i've ever made. Thank you! I've always been disappointed with the lack of chewiness in the other recipes i've tried. These were delicious, and so, so satisfyingly chewy --you'd never know i'd nearly blown it completely, having A) misjudged the amount of baking soda and been forced to scoop out an indeterminate amount of excess from a mound of flour, and B) realized at the last minute that i was out of the most important ingredient contributing to chewiness: molasses! I replaced it with a 1/4 c of shredded coconut and crossed my fingers. The result was hands-down delicious and, thankfully, idiot-proof.

Owner's reply

That's great that the cookies still turned out chewy for you even though you ran out of molasses SheraPop! Shredded coconut sounds like a great addition. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks Mattie! These cookies were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions except I baked them only about 13 minutes since I think my oven runs hot. They came out perfect. Since this recipe makes more than I could (or should!) eat, I froze them for over a week, defrosted them, and they still have a great chewy texture, almost like I had just bought them from a store or bakery. I am a new vegan and this was my first attempt at vegan baking and am so glad I found this site. I will be making the flaky vegan pie crust next, and can't wait to see how it comes out. Thank you again!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by veganlasvegas November 16, 2013

Amazing!!!

Thanks Mattie! These cookies were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions except I baked them only about 13 minutes since I think my oven runs hot. They came out perfect. Since this recipe makes more than I could (or should!) eat, I froze them for over a week, defrosted them, and they still have a great chewy texture, almost like I had just bought them from a store or bakery. I am a new vegan and this was my first attempt at vegan baking and am so glad I found this site. I will be making the flaky vegan pie crust next, and can't wait to see how it comes out. Thank you again!!!

Owner's reply

So glad the cookies worked out veganlasvegas! I frequently freeze cookies too to keep me from eating them all as soon as they come out of the oven;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are delicious! I baked them on Halloween to give to my friends' vegan daughter instead of candy, and she loved them! I do have a question, though. I've made them twice and they're very hard, very crunchy! Once you get past the crunch they're sort of chewy, but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left cinnamon out, and replaced the molasses with maple syrup (same amount). Would any of that affect the chewiness? Thanks!
Chelly Reviewed by Chelly November 10, 2013
Last updated: November 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

These cookies are delicious! I baked them on Halloween to give to my friends' vegan daughter instead of candy, and she loved them! I do have a question, though. I've made them twice and they're very hard, very crunchy! Once you get past the crunch they're sort of chewy, but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left cinnamon out, and replaced the molasses with maple syrup (same amount). Would any of that affect the chewiness? Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Chelly! Leaving the molasses out will definitely increase chewiness and dryness. The whole reason I use it in this recipe is for a more most, chewy interior and a tiny bit of flavor development in the background. I've found that lots of people leave it out when baking these cookies because they "don't like molasses" but it's not here for molasses flavor. Thick sweeteners like brown rice syrup, sorghum syrup and molasses have longer chains of sugar molecules that bind more aggressively to water which results in a more most and chewy dessert.

This is the same reason why some bakers call for brown sugar in their recipes. Brown sugar is just sugar with a little bit of molasses added.

So glad they worked out and thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are so easy and yummy! I made them for a second time today and and covered a few Oreos in the dough and they came out so good.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Elizabeth November 03, 2013

These are so easy and yummy! I made them for a second time today and and covered a few Oreos in the dough and they came out so good.

Owner's reply

Pardon me Elizabeth but did you say you covered a few Oreos in the dough before baking?! That's genius! I can't wait to try that. Thanks for sharing and I'm so glad you like the cookies!

Was this review helpful to you? 
So far this is the best chocolate chip cookie we have made and its Vegan. I had a very happy family:) The only issue I have is they went to fast:) Using the kitchen aid mixer was a huge asset with the dough being thick:)
JFiquette Reviewed by JFiquette October 13, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Excellent cookie!!!!

So far this is the best chocolate chip cookie we have made and its Vegan. I had a very happy family:) The only issue I have is they went to fast:) Using the kitchen aid mixer was a huge asset with the dough being thick:)

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies turned out so well for you JFiquette! Good to know they worked so well with the mixer!

Was this review helpful to you? 
81 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering