Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
43
166 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... » 
Ordering 
 
This is a 6 star recipe! I just made this (i'm actually eating a piece right now) and it's amazing. Fudgy inside and crispy outside. I don't think I ever enjoyed a homemade non-vegan brownie as much as this one. I followed the recipe to a tee (except used 5tbsp coconut oil + 1 tbsp nut milk in place of vegan butter) and they came out just the way they should. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bulut March 21, 2013

This is a 6 star recipe! I just made this (i'm actually eating a piece right now) and it's amazing. Fudgy inside and crispy outside. I don't think I ever enjoyed a homemade non-vegan brownie as much as this one. I followed the recipe to a tee (except used 5tbsp coconut oil + 1 tbsp nut milk in place of vegan butter) and they came out just the way they should. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

Owner's reply

I haven't tried these with a coconut oil/non-dairy milk substitution instead of vegan butter. It's nice to know it works. Thanks for sharing Bulut!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Oh god, this recipe is awesome. I made no subs and it turned out beautifully! Sticky, moist, gooey and crunchy on top..all the things a brownie should be! Thank you!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sammy March 16, 2013

Amaaazing!!!!!!!!

Oh god, this recipe is awesome. I made no subs and it turned out beautifully! Sticky, moist, gooey and crunchy on top..all the things a brownie should be! Thank you!!!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you Sammy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Aaagh! Wish I'd read the bit about the batter being "Very thick!" before over-panicking and nearly ruining my brownies :O Thought I'd misread the amounts for flour and hastily tried to "dilute" the mix by adding more hot water, melted choc etc. Luckily they still turned out ok but next time I will have to follow to a tee!
Rating 
 
4.0
zapplepie Reviewed by zapplepie March 13, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Aaagh! Wish I'd read the bit about the batter being "Very thick!" before over-panicking and nearly ruining my brownies :O Thought I'd misread the amounts for flour and hastily tried to "dilute" the mix by adding more hot water, melted choc etc. Luckily they still turned out ok but next time I will have to follow to a tee!

Owner's reply

Sorry zapplepie! I know- the batter thickness is strange. I could't believe it when the recipe evolved this way when I developed it. Non-vegan brownies use egg coagulation that is the primary structure builder. These brownies use primarily flour and flax for this which results in an unconventionally thick batter. Vegan batters and doughs tend to be thicker because of this factor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
These were the most delicious brownies I've ever baked (vegan and non vegan). Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Mattie!
I've just writed a new blog post about this recipe on my blog. Check it out and I hope you like how my vegan brownies came out! :-)
xo
Gemma.
http://www.cinnamongirldelights.blogspot.com.es/2013/03/the-best-vegan-brownies.html
Rating 
 
5.0
Cinnamongem Reviewed by Cinnamongem March 12, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Best brownies!

These were the most delicious brownies I've ever baked (vegan and non vegan). Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Mattie!
I've just writed a new blog post about this recipe on my blog. Check it out and I hope you like how my vegan brownies came out! :-)
xo
Gemma.
http://www.cinnamongirldelights.blogspot.com.es/2013/03/the-best-vegan-brownies.html

Owner's reply

That's so cool Cinnamongem! Thanks so much for writing about them! I'm so happy they worked out for you. I love your food photography- especially the one that's looking inside the oven where the brownies are baking. By the way, the boiling water is used to melt the chocolate, soften the cocoa powder and dissolve the espresso powder all in one fell swoop. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I made these last night! Thanks for the great recipe :)

Because I don't own a 20 cm x 20 cm baking dish, I used two long loaf tins (about 30 cm x 10 cm). Otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee. Because of this change, I suspect that I should have reduced the baking time a bit because the brownies came out a bit harder than expected. Next time - because there will be a next time! - I'll buy a new baking dish or I'll reduce the baking time.

Otherwise, they taste lovely. Well done on an awesome site - I really appreciate the thought that goes into your recipes and the scientific approach you have in breaking these things down!
Rating 
 
4.0
sameshnaidoo Reviewed by sameshnaidoo March 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Awesome Recipe

I made these last night! Thanks for the great recipe :)

Because I don't own a 20 cm x 20 cm baking dish, I used two long loaf tins (about 30 cm x 10 cm). Otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee. Because of this change, I suspect that I should have reduced the baking time a bit because the brownies came out a bit harder than expected. Next time - because there will be a next time! - I'll buy a new baking dish or I'll reduce the baking time.

Otherwise, they taste lovely. Well done on an awesome site - I really appreciate the thought that goes into your recipes and the scientific approach you have in breaking these things down!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for sharing sameshnaidoo! Yes, I suspect that since your rectangular baking dish had more surface area exposed, it probably caused the brownies to bake a little faster than normal and lose more moisture. These brownies are more sensitive to overbaking than regular brownies so there can even be slight variances between ovens and whether you use glass, ceramic or metal baking dishes. I developed these brownies with 8x8 inch glass and steel baking dishes. So glad you like Veganbaking.net!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was a little skeptical with the texture before cooking, but they turned out super great ! .
Definitely the best brownies i've made, vegan or not
The texture and the taste are perfect for me ! :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Carlos February 23, 2013

Yummy :)

I was a little skeptical with the texture before cooking, but they turned out super great ! .
Definitely the best brownies i've made, vegan or not
The texture and the taste are perfect for me ! :)

Owner's reply

I was skeptical when designing these brownies too when the recipe started to evolve into having a thicker and thicker batter. It turns out that since the batter doesn't have eggs to use up the water during coagulation like most traditional brownie recipes do, the batter ends up really thick. So glad they worked out for you Carlos!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This was my first brownie recipe that i made and all went great. I was using carob and dark chocolate. Thank you, greetings from Romania...
Rating 
 
5.0
abydeea Reviewed by abydeea February 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This was my first brownie recipe that i made and all went great. I was using carob and dark chocolate. Thank you, greetings from Romania...

Owner's reply

Congrats on your first batch of brownies abydeea! Glad they worked out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm not sure what went wrong. I have never followed a recipe so meticulously as I followed this one (except I used solid coconut oil instead of vegan butter, which sadly we still don't have here).
Reading the post and all the comments I had such high hopes.... but what came out of the oven was nowhere near soft and fudgey, more like chocolate bricks I could kill someone with.
What did I miss? where did I go wrong?? my old toaster-oven may be a bit off temperature, but not that much... Are you really sure about the 35 minutes baking? because I checked after 15 minutes and they looked quite baked to me, but then - I followed your instructions to the end...
I guess if it worked for so many people it must be me, but how? why?
Reviewed by Hilli February 21, 2013

I am sooo disspointed

I'm not sure what went wrong. I have never followed a recipe so meticulously as I followed this one (except I used solid coconut oil instead of vegan butter, which sadly we still don't have here).
Reading the post and all the comments I had such high hopes.... but what came out of the oven was nowhere near soft and fudgey, more like chocolate bricks I could kill someone with.
What did I miss? where did I go wrong?? my old toaster-oven may be a bit off temperature, but not that much... Are you really sure about the 35 minutes baking? because I checked after 15 minutes and they looked quite baked to me, but then - I followed your instructions to the end...
I guess if it worked for so many people it must be me, but how? why?

Owner's reply

I'm so sorry to hear that they didn't work for you Hilli! The coconut oil probably wasn't a factor. The only thing I can think of is that your toaster oven may be a little to hot. The brownie batter has much less moisture than traditional brownie batter so it's extra sensitive to over baking. If you do get a chance to try it again, I'd suggest using another oven as a test. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have been vegan for 13 years. I consider myself an expert vegan cook. My veggie and omni friends and family enjoy my cooking and I'm usually in charge of Thanksgiving dinner, my family will even go meat free. But good quality brownies have been elusive, I mean my Achilles if you will. I've searched hi and low, and I had given up hope, then you came along. With your beautifully written recipe. I know that I should have followed it to the T but I didn't have any vegan butter left and I would have to fly 700 miles in order to get some (I live in a very rural part of the world). But I did have extra virgin coconut oil/butter, and if you like chocolate a coconut then this is would be a dream. I also didn't have walnuts and used pecans instead, I shouldn't have because pecans are way too soft. I say all that to say this "Will you marry me"?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Dee February 12, 2013

Will you marry me?

I have been vegan for 13 years. I consider myself an expert vegan cook. My veggie and omni friends and family enjoy my cooking and I'm usually in charge of Thanksgiving dinner, my family will even go meat free. But good quality brownies have been elusive, I mean my Achilles if you will. I've searched hi and low, and I had given up hope, then you came along. With your beautifully written recipe. I know that I should have followed it to the T but I didn't have any vegan butter left and I would have to fly 700 miles in order to get some (I live in a very rural part of the world). But I did have extra virgin coconut oil/butter, and if you like chocolate a coconut then this is would be a dream. I also didn't have walnuts and used pecans instead, I shouldn't have because pecans are way too soft. I say all that to say this "Will you marry me"?

Owner's reply

Sure Dee! As long as I can depend on you to make Thanksgiving dinner. I'm thrilled you like them so much! I'll have to try making them with coconut oil- that sounds amazing. Oh and toasting the pecans before mixing them in would probably keep them from getting soft if you're in a pinch and can't get walnuts. I'll chalk up "marriage proposal" to be equivalent to a six star rating;) I'm so glad this recipe has worked out for so many people!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These brownies are incredible! The thickness of the batter did seem a bit strange to me, but they turned out just perfect. The balance of chocolate & sweet was right on. This is definitely the best vegan brownie I've ever made, and possibly one of the best brownies I've had overall. My next goal is to maintain this amazing goodness and just make them a bit healthier... I'll report if it works out!
Rating 
 
5.0
raqk8 Reviewed by raqk8 February 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic recipe!

These brownies are incredible! The thickness of the batter did seem a bit strange to me, but they turned out just perfect. The balance of chocolate & sweet was right on. This is definitely the best vegan brownie I've ever made, and possibly one of the best brownies I've had overall. My next goal is to maintain this amazing goodness and just make them a bit healthier... I'll report if it works out!

Owner's reply

So glad you like them raqk8! I have a funny feeling they taste the way they do because they're not the healthest brownies on earth;) But I guess compared to butter and egg laden brownies they fare pretty well. Let me know it goes!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These are without a doubt the best brownies I've ever had in my life... vegan or not. To change it up a little I made them with a rocky road topping. Just before they're done in the oven, top with chopped nuts and mini vegan marshmallows. When cool, drizzle melted chocolate on top. Will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Liz February 10, 2013

Best brownies ever....

These are without a doubt the best brownies I've ever had in my life... vegan or not. To change it up a little I made them with a rocky road topping. Just before they're done in the oven, top with chopped nuts and mini vegan marshmallows. When cool, drizzle melted chocolate on top. Will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites!

Owner's reply

I love your rendition Liz! I'll have to try that. So glad you like them!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just made these and did a nutritional analysis. If you split this recipe into 16 servings, it's about 161 delicious calories per brownie. I already ate two!! :) Thx for recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
superchargedRD Reviewed by superchargedRD February 04, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Yummm!!

I just made these and did a nutritional analysis. If you split this recipe into 16 servings, it's about 161 delicious calories per brownie. I already ate two!! :) Thx for recipe!!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for the analysis superchargedRD! I would think it would be many more calories but I'll take it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I used carob powder instead of espresso powder, so my 2 year old could eat them.
These are great!
Rating 
 
4.0
r mommy Reviewed by r mommy February 02, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

Yummy!

I used carob powder instead of espresso powder, so my 2 year old could eat them.
These are great!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Today is the best day ever. After going through countless vegan brownie recipes and being let down every time, this one hits the bullseye. My search is over! Thank you, Mattie, for sharing your talent with the rest of us.
Reviewed by Patrick January 27, 2013

thank you!

Today is the best day ever. After going through countless vegan brownie recipes and being let down every time, this one hits the bullseye. My search is over! Thank you, Mattie, for sharing your talent with the rest of us.

Owner's reply

Thanks Patrick! So glad these worked out for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I didn't have espresso powder or vegan butter, replaced them with fresh ground coffee beans and canola oil. I didn't use flax seed - I find that chick pea flour makes a much better egg replacer. I added some hot chili powder also. The only problem I had was with the texture, they were kind of cakey, I cooked them too long, next time I'll cut the cooking time by 10 minutes or so.
The end result was delicious, they barely had a chance to cool before being mostly consumed.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by gebuh January 13, 2013

I didn't have espresso powder or vegan butter, replaced them with fresh ground coffee beans and canola oil. I didn't use flax seed - I find that chick pea flour makes a much better egg replacer. I added some hot chili powder also. The only problem I had was with the texture, they were kind of cakey, I cooked them too long, next time I'll cut the cooking time by 10 minutes or so.
The end result was delicious, they barely had a chance to cool before being mostly consumed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
166 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... » 
Ordering