Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (140)
44
167 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... » 
Ordering 
 

Thanks for this recipe and the clear instructions. I strayed from the recipe in a few ways:
- Used a flax / almond LSA mix instead of the golden flax meal, and baking powder instead of baking soda as this is what I had
- I used half plain flour and half wholemeal
- I used a 100g bar of ordinary dark chocolate as didn't have semi-sweet.
- I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as I always reduce this and the sweetness was great - probably also thanks to the sweetness of the chocolate that I used.

Also, I found I didn't need to use a hand blender to mix the chocolate + cocoa powder + margarine + sugar; it all mixed in really smoothly with the boiling water.

With the above, they've come out with a great flavour and the exterior has a good bite to it, but unfortunately they're pretty dry in the middle, and hard to eat without large gulps of tea. This is probably due to one or more of my variations above! Next time I might add a mashed banana to the chocolate mixture (using a blender this time) as I love the taste and have found it adds great gooey-ness in baking.

As I was making the chocolate mixture, I wasn't too sure if tablespoons of cocoa and margarine should be heaped or not as I don't have proper measuring spoons, but I erred on the side of level. Perhaps more margarine would be good next time. I did use heaped tbsps of the flax mix though, because it wasn't 100% flax (it's partly almond meal and ground sunflower).

Thanks again :) I'll definitely revisit this recipe and make little tweaks till I perfect it.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Cat November 04, 2013

Yummy but dry - I must have made one too many alte


Thanks for this recipe and the clear instructions. I strayed from the recipe in a few ways:
- Used a flax / almond LSA mix instead of the golden flax meal, and baking powder instead of baking soda as this is what I had
- I used half plain flour and half wholemeal
- I used a 100g bar of ordinary dark chocolate as didn't have semi-sweet.
- I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as I always reduce this and the sweetness was great - probably also thanks to the sweetness of the chocolate that I used.

Also, I found I didn't need to use a hand blender to mix the chocolate + cocoa powder + margarine + sugar; it all mixed in really smoothly with the boiling water.

With the above, they've come out with a great flavour and the exterior has a good bite to it, but unfortunately they're pretty dry in the middle, and hard to eat without large gulps of tea. This is probably due to one or more of my variations above! Next time I might add a mashed banana to the chocolate mixture (using a blender this time) as I love the taste and have found it adds great gooey-ness in baking.

As I was making the chocolate mixture, I wasn't too sure if tablespoons of cocoa and margarine should be heaped or not as I don't have proper measuring spoons, but I erred on the side of level. Perhaps more margarine would be good next time. I did use heaped tbsps of the flax mix though, because it wasn't 100% flax (it's partly almond meal and ground sunflower).

Thanks again :) I'll definitely revisit this recipe and make little tweaks till I perfect it.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the feedback Cat! The only alteration that could have made a difference in having them come out excessively dry is reducing the sugar. Nowadays I feel that I favor dessert complexity over sweetness in vegan desserts so I don't try to overdo it with the sugar. sugar is hygroscopic which means it binds to water. Reducing it by half will definitely result in a drier end product as the water-based ingredients in the recipe are less bound to sugar and more apt to evaporate during baking.

Having said that, there have been reports lately of these brownies turning out on the dry side (which is peculiar because I haven't changed the recipe- global warming perhaps?) but I plan to do a few tests in the near future to make sure everything is on par. I'll be sure to update the recipe with my findings to make sure it remains as good as it can possibly be. Thanks for sharing your results!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hello Mattie!

your recipe and the way you explain every step is perfect. Only the baking time/temperature does not seem to work properly. They came out overbaked with a slighty black (=burnt) base.
I placed the tray on the lowest postition, like you recommend/say in the recipe.

I put the brownies in a air tight container overnight, hoping they migh develop some softness. The next day they were even harder, like very old bread. Fail.

My oven is a basic oven, electricity, constant accurate temperature, no convection, no circulating air or similar.
Could it be that your 350 F aren't "true" 350 F, but more like 330-340F?
My old oven used to be cooler than the number on the knob promised.

I will give it another try, bake only for 25 Min at 330 and see how they turn out.

I still give this recipe three stars, mainly because I don't want to ruin your good overall rating and secondly because I really enjoy your writing. Only the outcome was a disappointment.

Maybe I should mention I did not substitute or replace any of your ingredients. This can't be the reason for the failure either.

warm regards,
Paula
Rating 
 
3.0
Paula Reviewed by Paula November 03, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Overbaked :-(

Hello Mattie!

your recipe and the way you explain every step is perfect. Only the baking time/temperature does not seem to work properly. They came out overbaked with a slighty black (=burnt) base.
I placed the tray on the lowest postition, like you recommend/say in the recipe.

I put the brownies in a air tight container overnight, hoping they migh develop some softness. The next day they were even harder, like very old bread. Fail.

My oven is a basic oven, electricity, constant accurate temperature, no convection, no circulating air or similar.
Could it be that your 350 F aren't "true" 350 F, but more like 330-340F?
My old oven used to be cooler than the number on the knob promised.

I will give it another try, bake only for 25 Min at 330 and see how they turn out.

I still give this recipe three stars, mainly because I don't want to ruin your good overall rating and secondly because I really enjoy your writing. Only the outcome was a disappointment.

Maybe I should mention I did not substitute or replace any of your ingredients. This can't be the reason for the failure either.

warm regards,
Paula

Owner's reply

Thanks for the feedback Paula! I'm going to make these brownies again due to more reports of them turning out a bit dry. I just moved to another place with a completely different oven and I'll be sure to use a second thermometer in the oven to make sure my baking temperatures are as legit as possible. I'll be sure to update the recipe if I find that temperature needs to be reduced or a tiny bit of water needs to be added to reduce dryness. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these last night and HAD to sample them before taking them to a BBQ later today. Absolutely delicious. I omitted the espresso powder, as I didn't have any and they were still great! Highly recommend. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Rhi Reviewed by Rhi November 02, 2013
Last updated: November 02, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delish

I made these last night and HAD to sample them before taking them to a BBQ later today. Absolutely delicious. I omitted the espresso powder, as I didn't have any and they were still great! Highly recommend. Thanks!

Owner's reply

So glad you enjoyed the brownies Rhi!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Dear Mattie,

We had high expectations of these brownies given the high recommendations and clear instructions. We used the same ingredients and followed the instructions but to our disappointment ours turned dry and pretty tasteless. Would you have any idea why this might be?
Rating 
 
1.0
Paivi Reviewed by Paivi November 02, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Where did we go wrong.

Dear Mattie,

We had high expectations of these brownies given the high recommendations and clear instructions. We used the same ingredients and followed the instructions but to our disappointment ours turned dry and pretty tasteless. Would you have any idea why this might be?

Owner's reply

Sorry they didn't work out Paivi! Due to the involvement of this recipe, it's possible that I didn't make something clear enough which may have caused you to add too little of one ingredient or two much of another. Or, your oven is running a little on the hot side and it dried them out. These brownies are pretty sensitive to over baking.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Thank you for this great recipe!!
I changed a few things to make it healthier (whole wheat flour, black bean pure instead of margarine and date pure and agave syrup instead of suger) - and they were so delicious.
Also I used chickpeas flour instead of flax seed and macadamia nuts.
I have to say - these are the best brownies I've ever made, better than all vegan and non-vegan ones, really fudgy and rich. Thank you so much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Leni October 25, 2013

Wow!!

Thank you for this great recipe!!
I changed a few things to make it healthier (whole wheat flour, black bean pure instead of margarine and date pure and agave syrup instead of suger) - and they were so delicious.
Also I used chickpeas flour instead of flax seed and macadamia nuts.
I have to say - these are the best brownies I've ever made, better than all vegan and non-vegan ones, really fudgy and rich. Thank you so much!

Owner's reply

Wow Leni! That's quite a customization! So glad the brownies turned out so well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have unsweetened 100% cacao Ghirardelli baking bars. Should I add a little extra sugar or just try it as is?
Reviewed by AlyCat October 24, 2013

Question

I have unsweetened 100% cacao Ghirardelli baking bars. Should I add a little extra sugar or just try it as is?

Owner's reply

Hi AlyCat! In this case I recommend using about half the 100% unsweetened baking chocolate and adding a little bit of sugar, say 1 Tablespoon. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made these for a cat shelter fundraiser and they were a huge hit (especially among my family). I omitted the espresso and used vegan chocolate chips for the semi sweet chocolate. I melted half of the chips in with the batter and left the rest whole. This was the first time I've used golden flax. I can see why it is preferred over regular flax. Even on its own it is so much nicer, no bitter taste. I've been putting it on my soy yogurt too. I love it. The amount suggested for walnuts seemed right, but I might add even more next time. The brownies were nice and chewy inside and crispy outside. They were as good if not better than the ones I get at my favorite vegan restaurant. Thanks so much for this recipe, Mattie. I can't wait to try some of your other recipes!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Maria October 21, 2013

Never Had a Better Brownie!

Made these for a cat shelter fundraiser and they were a huge hit (especially among my family). I omitted the espresso and used vegan chocolate chips for the semi sweet chocolate. I melted half of the chips in with the batter and left the rest whole. This was the first time I've used golden flax. I can see why it is preferred over regular flax. Even on its own it is so much nicer, no bitter taste. I've been putting it on my soy yogurt too. I love it. The amount suggested for walnuts seemed right, but I might add even more next time. The brownies were nice and chewy inside and crispy outside. They were as good if not better than the ones I get at my favorite vegan restaurant. Thanks so much for this recipe, Mattie. I can't wait to try some of your other recipes!

Other Info

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out so well for you Maria! That's interesting that you used half melted chocolate chips for the batter and half unmelted. Great idea!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These turned out absolutely perfect. Like many on this page, I've been vegan for about a year and the brownies were just never the same. But this recipe was even better than egg brownies! All of my friends think so too. I subbed 1/2 C crushed up Oreos for the nuts and I didn't have espresso powder so I didn't use it. Oh my god. So amazing. Perfect texture, perfect taste. Mmmm.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Marina October 15, 2013

Amazing...especially with Oreos!!!

These turned out absolutely perfect. Like many on this page, I've been vegan for about a year and the brownies were just never the same. But this recipe was even better than egg brownies! All of my friends think so too. I subbed 1/2 C crushed up Oreos for the nuts and I didn't have espresso powder so I didn't use it. Oh my god. So amazing. Perfect texture, perfect taste. Mmmm.

Owner's reply

You made these brownies with Oreos instead of nuts?! That's brilliant! I wouldn't have thought of that in a thousand years. So happy they worked out for you. Thanks Marina!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm not really a brownie person, but these were absolutely scrumptious! Just the right chewyness and chocolatelyness...do I have to share?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Nancy September 25, 2013

Absolutely scrumptious!

I'm not really a brownie person, but these were absolutely scrumptious! Just the right chewyness and chocolatelyness...do I have to share?

Owner's reply

So glad the brownies worked out for you Nancy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks for the vegan recipe! Made the following changes for a bit of a healthier version:

- 3 Tbsp. applesauce + 3 Tbsp. mashed avocado instead of butter
- coconut sugar instead of regular white
- whole spelt flour instead of white wheat (wheat allergy)
- omitted espresso

Final product... delicious! Thanks again!
Rating 
 
5.0
mj Reviewed by mj September 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delicious!

Thanks for the vegan recipe! Made the following changes for a bit of a healthier version:

- 3 Tbsp. applesauce + 3 Tbsp. mashed avocado instead of butter
- coconut sugar instead of regular white
- whole spelt flour instead of white wheat (wheat allergy)
- omitted espresso

Final product... delicious! Thanks again!

Owner's reply

Wow that's a very interesting adaptation on the brownies mj! So glad it worked out well!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
All I can say is wow! I am eating one now and it is delicious. I added 2 tablespoons Brewers Yeast to it for an extra nutritional punch and because I am a breastfeeding mom and add it where I can to help boost my milk supply. I left out the coffee and I was conservative on the sugar. I replaced the nuts with a few extra vegan chocolate chips left whole due to a nut allergy in my house. Even with these small changes they were still incredible. The dough was very thick and I used my hands to mix it and press it in the pan and it created the perfect texture! Not only is it chocolate yummy with the flax and brewers yeast this is also a healthy treat. Thanks so much it is my new go to brownie.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sandy September 12, 2013

Wow!!!

All I can say is wow! I am eating one now and it is delicious. I added 2 tablespoons Brewers Yeast to it for an extra nutritional punch and because I am a breastfeeding mom and add it where I can to help boost my milk supply. I left out the coffee and I was conservative on the sugar. I replaced the nuts with a few extra vegan chocolate chips left whole due to a nut allergy in my house. Even with these small changes they were still incredible. The dough was very thick and I used my hands to mix it and press it in the pan and it created the perfect texture! Not only is it chocolate yummy with the flax and brewers yeast this is also a healthy treat. Thanks so much it is my new go to brownie.

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked so well for you Sandy! I'm fascinated that you added brewers yeast to them and they still came out awesome. Good to know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
never had such a good brownies of course i added a 1/2 of rice milk came out ohhhh amaizing
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by lyuda September 09, 2013

best ever brownies

never had such a good brownies of course i added a 1/2 of rice milk came out ohhhh amaizing

Was this review helpful to you? 
In the 2 years since we went vegan, a decent brownie has eluded me - and I'm a good cook! These were just perfect! I made two batches, one with nuts and one without, and everyone in my family loved them. The only changes I made were to leave out the espresso (not coffee drinkers) and subbing pecans because I discovered I was out of walnuts. I will make these often!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by worldmom September 01, 2013

This is the one!

In the 2 years since we went vegan, a decent brownie has eluded me - and I'm a good cook! These were just perfect! I made two batches, one with nuts and one without, and everyone in my family loved them. The only changes I made were to leave out the espresso (not coffee drinkers) and subbing pecans because I discovered I was out of walnuts. I will make these often!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you worldmom! The espresso powder is to increase chocolate complexity and I agree- you'd have to be crazy to drink coffee made from it! I just use it when I bake with chocolate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mine are currently in the oven.

Just wanted to check the quantity of boiling water, really 1/4 cup?

It wasn't enough to melt my chocolate, so I used a bain-marie.

Also, I ended up with a soft dough, that needed about 1/4 cup soya milk to slacken down to a thick batter? Thanks!!!
Reviewed by Treaclemine August 08, 2013

Mine are currently in the oven.

Just wanted to check the quantity of boiling water, really 1/4 cup?

It wasn't enough to melt my chocolate, so I used a bain-marie.

Also, I ended up with a soft dough, that needed about 1/4 cup soya milk to slacken down to a thick batter? Thanks!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Treaclemine! Hopefully your brownies worked out. The 1/4 cup boiling water is usually able to melt my chocolate if I work fast and whisk like mad. If other people comment on that being an issue I'll consider updating the recipe. Glad you were able to get it all melted with a bain marie. The batter is actually supposed to be a dough- extremely thick due to the absence of eggs to pull it all together. This ensures that the brownies are the appropriate texture after baking. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these for my daughter in law and her boyfriend. I am not vegan but these were so good I will probably use this recipe from now on. I did not have espresso powder but used coffee beans and ground them and the flax seeds together, worked fine. I had no problem with over/under doneness, they came out perfect.
Rating 
 
5.0
Gigi2009 Reviewed by Gigi2009 July 27, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Very Surprised!

I made these for my daughter in law and her boyfriend. I am not vegan but these were so good I will probably use this recipe from now on. I did not have espresso powder but used coffee beans and ground them and the flax seeds together, worked fine. I had no problem with over/under doneness, they came out perfect.

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out well for you Gigi2009! Great idea on using coffee beans and grinding them with the flax seeds. I should look into utilizing ground coffee beans in baking more. I think it could be more effective in building flavor than using crappy store bought dehydrated espresso;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
167 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... » 
Ordering