Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
42
161 results - showing 151 - 161
« 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 » 
Ordering 
 
This recipe is awesome! My husband, who is not a vegan OR a big fan of chocolate, almost burned the roof of his mouth eating these out of the pan...

I accidentally added a whole stick of margarine, and they turned out wonderfully. I also omitted the walnuts and pressed pecans into the top of the batter (in half of the pan, for those who enjoy nuts) before baking and they were spectacular.

THANK YOU!
Reviewed by Renata February 11, 2011

Wowza!

This recipe is awesome! My husband, who is not a vegan OR a big fan of chocolate, almost burned the roof of his mouth eating these out of the pan...

I accidentally added a whole stick of margarine, and they turned out wonderfully. I also omitted the walnuts and pressed pecans into the top of the batter (in half of the pan, for those who enjoy nuts) before baking and they were spectacular.

THANK YOU!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Oh lordy!!! I'm in love! These brownies were absolutely divine...
Thanks Mattie for another fantasmic recipe
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by jacqui December 15, 2010

in love...

Oh lordy!!! I'm in love! These brownies were absolutely divine...
Thanks Mattie for another fantasmic recipe

Was this review helpful to you? 
These rock! They turned out so amazing I couldn't help tasting them again and again, though being on a diet *god help me now*. Thank you a LOT. This's the best recipe I've ever tried, beyond all comparison with non-vegan brownies I made once before and whatever else. Everybody thinking of giving them a try, you really have to!
Reviewed by Nika December 11, 2010

brownies

These rock! They turned out so amazing I couldn't help tasting them again and again, though being on a diet *god help me now*. Thank you a LOT. This's the best recipe I've ever tried, beyond all comparison with non-vegan brownies I made once before and whatever else. Everybody thinking of giving them a try, you really have to!

Was this review helpful to you? 
THANKSS! I just made them and they turned out amazing!

I didn't have margarine so I used 6 tbsp butter + 1 tsp of canola oil. My old recipe turned out like chocolate cake not brownies.

I love the crusty top. You can't tell that it's vegan!

I HIGHLY recommend it!! = D
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by love2bake November 25, 2010

LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!

THANKSS! I just made them and they turned out amazing!

I didn't have margarine so I used 6 tbsp butter + 1 tsp of canola oil. My old recipe turned out like chocolate cake not brownies.

I love the crusty top. You can't tell that it's vegan!

I HIGHLY recommend it!! = D

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These were delicious, really gooey and chewy the way I like them. I had to add a little extra water as the mixture was too dry but that was only change I made. Any suggestion for preventing the sides from getting to crusty? Do you think baking them covered with tinfoil would help?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Megan November 15, 2010

Yum!

These were delicious, really gooey and chewy the way I like them. I had to add a little extra water as the mixture was too dry but that was only change I made. Any suggestion for preventing the sides from getting to crusty? Do you think baking them covered with tinfoil would help?

Owner's reply

Hey Megan,

Glad you liked these! I know, the mixture seems really dry but that's how it's designed for optimum moisture after they're baked. I actually love the crusty sides of brownies- it's pretty hard to bake brownies and not have them.

Baking them covered with tinfoil would definitely hold in moisture and make them more gooey. I'm unsure if it would resolve the side crust issue. I recommend poking some holes in the tin foil if you give this a shot. Let us know how it works out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hej,

I haven't try them yet but they look delicious
Can you use no-egg replacer (like no-egg orgran) instead of golden flax meal because i have know idea where i can buy that or if we even sell that in Belgium ?

Thanks
Reviewed by Chana November 13, 2010

golden flax meal

Hej,

I haven't try them yet but they look delicious
Can you use no-egg replacer (like no-egg orgran) instead of golden flax meal because i have know idea where i can buy that or if we even sell that in Belgium ?

Thanks

Owner's reply

Hi Chana,

It should theoretically be possible to substitute the flax meal with Orgran No Egg. I would recommend substituting the 2 Tablespoons flax with 1 Tablespoon No Egg. Good luck and let me know how it works out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I found your recipe through Ashley at (never)homemaker. I love it. It is perfect, and I didn't change a thing :-) Okay, I did use tub margarine because in Australia we don't have stick margarine, but it worked out just dandy. I didn't use the bottom rack either because my oven burns everything on the bottom rack. But that just requires knowing your oven! Your recipe, as is, is great! I've always been disappointed with previous vegan brownie attempts, so I am smiling ear to ear.
Reviewed by Sarah November 06, 2010

Perfect

I found your recipe through Ashley at (never)homemaker. I love it. It is perfect, and I didn't change a thing :-) Okay, I did use tub margarine because in Australia we don't have stick margarine, but it worked out just dandy. I didn't use the bottom rack either because my oven burns everything on the bottom rack. But that just requires knowing your oven! Your recipe, as is, is great! I've always been disappointed with previous vegan brownie attempts, so I am smiling ear to ear.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow. I just made these. Followed the recipe exactly. And they are the best vegan brownies EVER. Thank you. Before today, I've never been fully satisfied with vegan brownies, including many of my own recipes. I can't wait to tell everyone I know about these! :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ashley M. [at] (never hom October 27, 2010

AMAZING -- Thank you!

Wow. I just made these. Followed the recipe exactly. And they are the best vegan brownies EVER. Thank you. Before today, I've never been fully satisfied with vegan brownies, including many of my own recipes. I can't wait to tell everyone I know about these! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Really delicious, time to replace my usual brownie recipe!

I used 7T of tub margarine, as recommended, and reduced the cooking time by 5 minutes or so.

I don't usually have instant coffee, so instead of the boiling water and instant, I made a fresh espresso and used 1/4C of that.

Instead of the nuts I added chocolate chips, which melted slightly when cooked.. for extra texture and richness. I'll try it with nuts next time.

I was worried about how flax seedy they smelled when just out of the oven, but it isn't actually very prominent in the taste.

They were crisp on top (not dry!) and gooey in the middle, just the way I like them, thank you. :)
Rating 
 
4.0
fire it up Reviewed by fire it up September 10, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Mmmmmminor changes :)

Really delicious, time to replace my usual brownie recipe!

I used 7T of tub margarine, as recommended, and reduced the cooking time by 5 minutes or so.

I don't usually have instant coffee, so instead of the boiling water and instant, I made a fresh espresso and used 1/4C of that.

Instead of the nuts I added chocolate chips, which melted slightly when cooked.. for extra texture and richness. I'll try it with nuts next time.

I was worried about how flax seedy they smelled when just out of the oven, but it isn't actually very prominent in the taste.

They were crisp on top (not dry!) and gooey in the middle, just the way I like them, thank you. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
I too have been searching for great vegan brownies. And Thank you!!! This is totally it.
I have a question though. I live in Thailand and margarine here only comes in a tub. I tried it and it always come out a tad dry.
Is it because of the margarine or something else like baked too long?
Do you think adding some oil may help?
Thank you!! this is an awesome recipe!!!

Rating 
 
5.0
veggieyogi Reviewed by veggieyogi August 10, 2010
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Totally deserve the name "ultimate"

I too have been searching for great vegan brownies. And Thank you!!! This is totally it.
I have a question though. I live in Thailand and margarine here only comes in a tub. I tried it and it always come out a tad dry.
Is it because of the margarine or something else like baked too long?
Do you think adding some oil may help?
Thank you!! this is an awesome recipe!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Veggieyogi,

Tub margarine contains more water than stick margarine so it's possible that this water is evaporating, causing the brownies to become drier. I recommend adding 1 more Tablespoon of tub margarine in this case to bring it to a total of 7.

Due to the reports of this recipe tending to be on the dry side on the top, I'm going to experiment with reducing baking time to 325 and baking about 5 minutes or so longer. I'll let you all know how it works out and update the recipe accordingly if I need to. Thanks for the input!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These brownies were pretty good. Nice and chewy but I think the cooking time is a little long. I took mine out after 30 mins (and I have an over thermometer) and they were already too crusty for my liking.

I have a couple of questions:

What is the reason for cooking on 350 but on the lowest shelf? Can't you just cook the brownies for less time but on a higher shelf? This is the first brownie recipe I've tried that's used this method, so I'm curious to know why it's recommended.

Similarly, my arms got quite sore trying to work the cocoa etc into a paste and then forming the actual dough. Would the end result be affected if the 'paste' part was left out and the wet ingredients were just mixed into the dry in one step?

One other thing I realised about making this recipe - leaving the flaxseed to gel with the water for a few minutes makes all the difference! In previous recipes I've used, there's been no mention of leaving the mixture but I will start doing that from now on because it takes on a totally different, more egg-like consistency.

I'm going to make these brownies again, maybe cooking for 25 mins next time, but I'd love a response to my questions about the preparation/cooking method - thanks!
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Julianne July 09, 2010

Pretty good but watch your timings

These brownies were pretty good. Nice and chewy but I think the cooking time is a little long. I took mine out after 30 mins (and I have an over thermometer) and they were already too crusty for my liking.

I have a couple of questions:

What is the reason for cooking on 350 but on the lowest shelf? Can't you just cook the brownies for less time but on a higher shelf? This is the first brownie recipe I've tried that's used this method, so I'm curious to know why it's recommended.

Similarly, my arms got quite sore trying to work the cocoa etc into a paste and then forming the actual dough. Would the end result be affected if the 'paste' part was left out and the wet ingredients were just mixed into the dry in one step?

One other thing I realised about making this recipe - leaving the flaxseed to gel with the water for a few minutes makes all the difference! In previous recipes I've used, there's been no mention of leaving the mixture but I will start doing that from now on because it takes on a totally different, more egg-like consistency.

I'm going to make these brownies again, maybe cooking for 25 mins next time, but I'd love a response to my questions about the preparation/cooking method - thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Julianne,

Thanks for the feedback! The brownies are baked on the lower rack so the top doesn't get too dry. In testing, it was all about baking the brownies to the point of where they were as dense as possible but not burned so the lower oven rack allowed me to reach this goal. Cooking for less time resulted in a brownie that was too soft for me. I didn't test this recipe with baking at 325F because lately I haven't been convinced that there's a huge benefit from baking lower for longer (but I used to swear by it). Please test this if you'd like- I'd love to hear about your results!

Eggs really suck themselves together and harden while baking in a brownie so the way I get around this with vegan brownies is to use an extremely stiff dough. I've found this approach to work very well in dense and chewy cookies as well.

The reason the boiling water has to be mixed with the chocolate separately is because we want to allow the water to melt the cocoa powder and the chocolate so it dissolves completely. This is so the brownies have the smoothest mouthfeel possible and don't feel grainy. Alternatively, you may be able to place all the chocolate, espresso powder, sugar and wet ingredients into a saucepan and whisk constantly on low heat until melted (then whisk in the flax meal mixture) but I used the two part approach because I thought it was a little more simple. I had no trouble making the chocolate paste and mixing the dough during testing but if more people comment on it's difficulty I may want to look into a possible workaround.

Thanks again for the feedback and let me know how your next batch works out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
161 results - showing 151 - 161
« 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 » 
Ordering