Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Vegan No Knead Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (41)
33
63 results - showing 31 - 45
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
I was wondering if spelt flour would work as wheat flour does in this recipe. I don't eat wheat but my kids are serious sandwich lovers. Searching for a simple bread recipe for the whole family. Has anyone tried this recipe with spelt flour? Do you know if spelt flour still contains enough gluten to get the same rise that your wheat bread would achieve? After asking all these questions I am planning to experiment with this recipe using spelt flour and will let you know. :)
Reviewed by Ruth July 11, 2013

Ruth

I was wondering if spelt flour would work as wheat flour does in this recipe. I don't eat wheat but my kids are serious sandwich lovers. Searching for a simple bread recipe for the whole family. Has anyone tried this recipe with spelt flour? Do you know if spelt flour still contains enough gluten to get the same rise that your wheat bread would achieve? After asking all these questions I am planning to experiment with this recipe using spelt flour and will let you know. :)

Owner's reply

Hi Ruth! Great question. Unfortunately, spelt flour won't work in this recipe if it's used as 100% of the flour due to it not containing enough gluten to trap rising gas and contribute to structure. I'm working on some serious gluten-free flour blends to hopefully get around this issue but it's going to be a few more months before they're ready to share. Good luck in your quest to find a gluten-free loaf!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This bread was so easy to make, and it turned out great. I didn't have any regular whole wheat flour, so I used whole wheat pastry flour instead. It turned out really nice. I am excited to try other variations with seeds, oat bran, etc. mixed in. I will be making a couple loaves of this bread every week. No more expensive, non-vegan, store-bought bread for us!

My only problem was that I couldn't seem to remove the bread from the pan, and I ended up ruining the sides of the loaf when I was jabbing a knife down the edge of the pan to free it. I guess I will have to grease it a little more carefully next time.

I also ended up removing the plastic bag midway through the rising time after putting it in the bread pan because there was not enough room, and the dough was sticking to the plastic bag. This didn't seem to cause a problem for me though.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sara July 05, 2013

Wonderful and Easy, Even for a Beginner!

This bread was so easy to make, and it turned out great. I didn't have any regular whole wheat flour, so I used whole wheat pastry flour instead. It turned out really nice. I am excited to try other variations with seeds, oat bran, etc. mixed in. I will be making a couple loaves of this bread every week. No more expensive, non-vegan, store-bought bread for us!

My only problem was that I couldn't seem to remove the bread from the pan, and I ended up ruining the sides of the loaf when I was jabbing a knife down the edge of the pan to free it. I guess I will have to grease it a little more carefully next time.

I also ended up removing the plastic bag midway through the rising time after putting it in the bread pan because there was not enough room, and the dough was sticking to the plastic bag. This didn't seem to cause a problem for me though.

Owner's reply

That's great to know this bread works well with whole wheat pastry flour! Regarding removing the bread from the pan, this is sometimes an issue due to the excessively wet dough making it easier for the starches and proteins to bind to the metal of the loaf pan during baking. To reduce it, you can try these two things:

1) Try sprinkling some flour over the lightly oiled loaf pan then shake off the excess. The flour will help prevent the batter from sticking to the metal during baking.
2) Allow the loaf to cool completely before removing from the loaf pan. I do this frequently and I might consider updating the recipe to call for this in the near future. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this for the first time today. I had to keep a good eye on it because it is very warm today. That worked to my advantage because I only had to let it rise for an hour each time. I baked it as directed and it came out perfect. I also whipped up a batch of homemade hummus today and it was delicious on this bread.

Anytime I can make something myself rather than purchasing it at a store I'm thrilled. It saves me money and I know exactly what is in it. I also feel more connected to the earth and feel like i am working with it, rather than against by purchasing something with questionable ingredients that might be harmful to the planet. There is also the added benefit of having the house smell like a bakery!
Rating 
 
4.0
JulieJules41 Reviewed by JulieJules41 July 03, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Wonderful recipe

I made this for the first time today. I had to keep a good eye on it because it is very warm today. That worked to my advantage because I only had to let it rise for an hour each time. I baked it as directed and it came out perfect. I also whipped up a batch of homemade hummus today and it was delicious on this bread.

Anytime I can make something myself rather than purchasing it at a store I'm thrilled. It saves me money and I know exactly what is in it. I also feel more connected to the earth and feel like i am working with it, rather than against by purchasing something with questionable ingredients that might be harmful to the planet. There is also the added benefit of having the house smell like a bakery!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked out for you JulieJules41!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I make this bread about twice a week and really enjoy it's simplicity and versatility (adding molasses for a bump in iron or changing the combination of meals on top). I have been experiencing difficulty with tracking the rise periods since I am constantly monitoring a toddler and notice that as the weather warms the rise time really needs to be reduced. My loaves continue to fall in the oven. Any tips on adjusting the rise time in conjunction with the temperature?
Rating 
 
4.0
Sinmadre Reviewed by Sinmadre April 28, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Love this but I have a minor problem

I make this bread about twice a week and really enjoy it's simplicity and versatility (adding molasses for a bump in iron or changing the combination of meals on top). I have been experiencing difficulty with tracking the rise periods since I am constantly monitoring a toddler and notice that as the weather warms the rise time really needs to be reduced. My loaves continue to fall in the oven. Any tips on adjusting the rise time in conjunction with the temperature?

Owner's reply

Glad you love the bread Sinmadre! I usually go by the first rise being done when the dough doubles in size. In a very hot kitchen this can happen in as little as one hour. For the second rise or proof I usually allow enough time to pass where the dough is about one full inch domed over the loaf pan. If you're having issues with the loaf falling I'd recommend reducing rise times a little to the poing of where the falling subsides. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This is the second Vegan bread recipe I have made this month. This one was far better than the first...which required oil and kneading, and contianed 1 TB of yeast for one loaf! Very yeasty bread. This one came together fast, and baked beautifully. This bread has a far better taste and texture than my first attempt. I made one small adjustment, I replaced on 1 TB of Maple Syrup with Molasses, I love the flavor molasses gives a whole wheat bread, so deep and enhances the nuttiness. This is now my go to bread recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
veggiegirl Reviewed by veggiegirl April 09, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

So Yummy

This is the second Vegan bread recipe I have made this month. This one was far better than the first...which required oil and kneading, and contianed 1 TB of yeast for one loaf! Very yeasty bread. This one came together fast, and baked beautifully. This bread has a far better taste and texture than my first attempt. I made one small adjustment, I replaced on 1 TB of Maple Syrup with Molasses, I love the flavor molasses gives a whole wheat bread, so deep and enhances the nuttiness. This is now my go to bread recipe!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked out for you veggiegirl! I've been doing lots of bread baking lately and I can't wait to try using molasses instead of the maple or agave syrup I normally use. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
The first time I made this it was gone in one meal. My second attempt is in the oven now. It doesn't look like it's getting much oven spring action, but appears to still be setting up light and fluffy. Through all my years of bread making, this is the best and easiest! This morning I taught my two younger children, ages 11 and 13, to make this bread. Now they can be in charge of the bread baking for the family!
theenglishrider Reviewed by theenglishrider March 17, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Perfect

The first time I made this it was gone in one meal. My second attempt is in the oven now. It doesn't look like it's getting much oven spring action, but appears to still be setting up light and fluffy. Through all my years of bread making, this is the best and easiest! This morning I taught my two younger children, ages 11 and 13, to make this bread. Now they can be in charge of the bread baking for the family!

Owner's reply

So happy this bread has been the best and easiest bread for you theenglishrider! Great idea teaching the kids how to bake bread for the family. Now if only I could get my girlfriend to bake this bread so I don't have to, it would be even easier to bake!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow! This bread was so easy to make! I substituted honey for the maple syrup and it was delicious. Great texture. My hubby and kids say this one's a winner :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Loria March 09, 2013

Wow! This bread was so easy to make! I substituted honey for the maple syrup and it was delicious. Great texture. My hubby and kids say this one's a winner :)

Owner's reply

Thanks for sharing Loria! Glad it worked out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made this yesterday and it came out PERFECT! Followed recipe exactly! Thank You!
Rating 
 
5.0
keanu Reviewed by keanu March 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Perfection

Made this yesterday and it came out PERFECT! Followed recipe exactly! Thank You!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked out for you keanu!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've made bread for years, but tried this no knead recipe. Although the flavor is ok, it came out dense and sank a little in the middle of baking. It doubled in size ok, I stirred it to de-gas (as directed), I placed it into the pan to rise again fine, it rose above the sides, I stretched the dough to the middle as directed, I placed it in the preheated oven, it started rising (oven spring), but half way through the center of the loaf deflated a little..then stayed there til the end. I took the loaf out at 195 deg, let it cool, etc. It was so dense, but tasted ok.

Have any idea why it was so dense, but tasted ok? Please help because I want this recipe to work.
Reviewed by Ed March 08, 2013

What did I do wrong?

I've made bread for years, but tried this no knead recipe. Although the flavor is ok, it came out dense and sank a little in the middle of baking. It doubled in size ok, I stirred it to de-gas (as directed), I placed it into the pan to rise again fine, it rose above the sides, I stretched the dough to the middle as directed, I placed it in the preheated oven, it started rising (oven spring), but half way through the center of the loaf deflated a little..then stayed there til the end. I took the loaf out at 195 deg, let it cool, etc. It was so dense, but tasted ok.

Have any idea why it was so dense, but tasted ok? Please help because I want this recipe to work.

Owner's reply

Hi Ed,

I'm so sorry your bread didn't work out. It's really difficult to tell what caused the deflation. This is just a theory but it sounds like there could have been an issue with the gluten not bonding properly which resulted in the deflation during baking. This could be caused by a particularly course grind of whole wheat flour in where the tiny bran flecks actually block and cut the developing gluten strands. You might want to try it again with a different brand of whole wheat flour. Other than that, sorry and good luck in the future!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love making bread, and as much as I hate to admit it, I will choose white bread over wheat bread the majority of the time. (: That being said, this recipe has really got me excited to start experimenting with more wheat bread recipes! I made this recipe on Sunday and was so pleased with how it turned out! I thought it tasted even better the next day. You will not be disappointed with this one! Excellent recipe.
Rating 
 
5.0
skinnyvegan Reviewed by skinnyvegan February 26, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

The BEST!

I love making bread, and as much as I hate to admit it, I will choose white bread over wheat bread the majority of the time. (: That being said, this recipe has really got me excited to start experimenting with more wheat bread recipes! I made this recipe on Sunday and was so pleased with how it turned out! I thought it tasted even better the next day. You will not be disappointed with this one! Excellent recipe.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much skinnyvegan! Glad it worked out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This is the most delicious bread EVER! I substituted molasses for the honey and baked the most perfect loaf of bread! I've been used to using a bread machine that my daughter gave me but the organic wheat flour proved too much for the machine and it walked itself off of the counter, crashing to the floor...lol. I was forced to find a bread recipe that could possibly turn out successful for a novice. This recipe is it! Even if you've never made a loaf of bread in your life, if you follow the directions, this bread will turn out perfect for you! So happy I found this recipe and many thanks for posting it!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Denise February 16, 2013

AMAZING!

This is the most delicious bread EVER! I substituted molasses for the honey and baked the most perfect loaf of bread! I've been used to using a bread machine that my daughter gave me but the organic wheat flour proved too much for the machine and it walked itself off of the counter, crashing to the floor...lol. I was forced to find a bread recipe that could possibly turn out successful for a novice. This recipe is it! Even if you've never made a loaf of bread in your life, if you follow the directions, this bread will turn out perfect for you! So happy I found this recipe and many thanks for posting it!

Owner's reply

That's a crazy bread machine story Denise! I guess that was your bread machine's way of saying "I quit!" So glad you found this recipe great and easy to follow. I'll try it with molasses next time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Your bread is absolutely beautiful! I have made all types of bread personally & professionally with normal methods & also the "wet method. This is my first vegan bread. I added 1/4 cup each organic oatmeal, sunflower seeds & pumpkin seeds because we like some "tooth" to our bread.
This is actually Day 6 of my daughter (17) and I eating vegan after watching Forks Over Knives and a few others of the same type. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I am having fun & looking forward to learning to cook & bake this way!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Tammy February 02, 2013

Beautiful!

Your bread is absolutely beautiful! I have made all types of bread personally & professionally with normal methods & also the "wet method. This is my first vegan bread. I added 1/4 cup each organic oatmeal, sunflower seeds & pumpkin seeds because we like some "tooth" to our bread.
This is actually Day 6 of my daughter (17) and I eating vegan after watching Forks Over Knives and a few others of the same type. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I am having fun & looking forward to learning to cook & bake this way!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked out for you Tammy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
SO you dont need to let the yeast activate and foam in a bowl of warm water first?????
Reviewed by sharrice January 22, 2013

SO you dont need to let the yeast activate and foam in a bowl of warm water first?????

Was this review helpful to you? 
My whole family loves this bread! It is so yummy! My son is pretty picky about his bread and he loves it! Thanks so much for sharing! It turned out moist and perfect for sandwiches!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Janise January 22, 2013

So good

My whole family loves this bread! It is so yummy! My son is pretty picky about his bread and he loves it! Thanks so much for sharing! It turned out moist and perfect for sandwiches!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can whole wheat bread flour be used, instead of regular whole wheat flour? I'm also afraid of using yeast without proofing it first in warm water! :)
Reviewed by Marilou Garon December 26, 2012

Marilou Garon

Can whole wheat bread flour be used, instead of regular whole wheat flour? I'm also afraid of using yeast without proofing it first in warm water! :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
63 results - showing 31 - 45
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering