Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Vegan No Knead Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (40)
33
62 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
This recipe produced a huge loaf of delicious, fluffy bread. I used half bread flour and half white whole wheat, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bex February 18, 2014

Huge loaf!

This recipe produced a huge loaf of delicious, fluffy bread. I used half bread flour and half white whole wheat, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)

Owner's reply

That's great that this bread worked wonderfully for you Bex! I'm a huge fan of the half whole wheat, half bread flour ratio too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
hi there. i'm in the process of making this recipe now, so am writing in the hopes that maybe, just maybe, i'll get a quick response. my dough seems awfully wet. i'm about 20 minutes into the first rise and...nothing is happening. i fear that the water/dough ratio is off. i used locally milled soft 100% whole wheat flour. thanks!
Reviewed by jataylor February 15, 2014

how wet should the dough be?

hi there. i'm in the process of making this recipe now, so am writing in the hopes that maybe, just maybe, i'll get a quick response. my dough seems awfully wet. i'm about 20 minutes into the first rise and...nothing is happening. i fear that the water/dough ratio is off. i used locally milled soft 100% whole wheat flour. thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi jataylor! Since this bread is a no knead recipe, it uses an especially wet dough. There usually won't be a noticeable rise within the first 20 minutes. You can get away with a wide range of water/flour ratios in bread doughs; rising is more dependent on gluten development and yeast health.

That's great that you used a locally milled whole wheat flour. I hope it worked out for you! If not, feel free to private message me for troubleshooting/post-mortem analysis;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made this loaf for the first time today, and I had no trouble with it rising. It rose beautifully, and came out soft and chewy, I loved it.. I love the fact that it is Oil-Free, which is hard to find with those grocery store whole wheat loaves!
Thanks for the recipe
Rating 
 
5.0
Mamadreads Reviewed by Mamadreads January 29, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

So Easy and So Good

Made this loaf for the first time today, and I had no trouble with it rising. It rose beautifully, and came out soft and chewy, I loved it.. I love the fact that it is Oil-Free, which is hard to find with those grocery store whole wheat loaves!
Thanks for the recipe

Owner's reply

So happy that this bread worked out so well for you Mamadreads!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love this recipe! Although I ran into an issue with my first attempt where the bread did not rise at all (I'll be using that loaf for hummus or bread crumbs). For my second attempt, I used a whole tablespoon of yeast, and kept the bowl on a pan over a warm stove. It rose beautifully!

I added in thyme, rosemary and garlic cloves. Really delicious, and my husband couldn't believe it was vegan.

Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!
sheheardme Reviewed by sheheardme January 28, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

My 2nd attempt was MUCH better

I love this recipe! Although I ran into an issue with my first attempt where the bread did not rise at all (I'll be using that loaf for hummus or bread crumbs). For my second attempt, I used a whole tablespoon of yeast, and kept the bowl on a pan over a warm stove. It rose beautifully!

I added in thyme, rosemary and garlic cloves. Really delicious, and my husband couldn't believe it was vegan.

Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked so well for you sheheardme. That's great that the extra yeast solved your rising problem!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This bread is amazing, we use everday for sandwiches. So good and doughy, soft inside, crispy crust. I have also used this recipe with white flour and rolled jalapenos and garlic cloves in the dough too. This is a staple in our vegan home. Keeps well & not too hard wrapped in a tea towel for up to 3 days (although a loaf rarely lasts that long).
Rating 
 
5.0
foodphile Reviewed by foodphile January 16, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Soft, doughy and amazing

This bread is amazing, we use everday for sandwiches. So good and doughy, soft inside, crispy crust. I have also used this recipe with white flour and rolled jalapenos and garlic cloves in the dough too. This is a staple in our vegan home. Keeps well & not too hard wrapped in a tea towel for up to 3 days (although a loaf rarely lasts that long).

Owner's reply

I'm thrilled that this bread is a staple in your home foodphile! I can't wait to try it with jalapenos and garlic cloves. Great idea!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I haven't made bread in quite some time so I was a little nervous before making this recipe, especially after reading some of the comments about have trouble getting the bread dough to rise. I also had trouble getting the dough to rise. I put it on top of a stove under overhead lights think that this would be a warm enough spot for the dough to rise. But I was wrong! I remembered an old trick that a bread baker showed me. I turned on my oven to 200 degrees. Then when it reached this temperature; I turned off the oven and placed the dough inside the oven and covered the bowl with a slightly dampened, clean dish towel. Voila! The bread dough rose beautifully within the hour and a half time frame. The rest of the process went smoothly but I forgot that making bread is a commitment of several hours. The bread turned out beautifully, however, and my husband and I loved it! I think that our son who has the vegan diet, will also enjoy it.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Laurie Rokakis January 05, 2014

Great texture and flavor

I haven't made bread in quite some time so I was a little nervous before making this recipe, especially after reading some of the comments about have trouble getting the bread dough to rise. I also had trouble getting the dough to rise. I put it on top of a stove under overhead lights think that this would be a warm enough spot for the dough to rise. But I was wrong! I remembered an old trick that a bread baker showed me. I turned on my oven to 200 degrees. Then when it reached this temperature; I turned off the oven and placed the dough inside the oven and covered the bowl with a slightly dampened, clean dish towel. Voila! The bread dough rose beautifully within the hour and a half time frame. The rest of the process went smoothly but I forgot that making bread is a commitment of several hours. The bread turned out beautifully, however, and my husband and I loved it! I think that our son who has the vegan diet, will also enjoy it.

Owner's reply

So glad the bread worked out so well for you Laurie! I'm going to be experimenting with increasing the yeast a tiny bit in the future so it rises more consistently. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is an amazing recipe. It turns out perfectly every time. Imagine an easy bread with no oil that makes a perfect sandwich (or toast) bread. I've done it both with the short rising and the 24 hour one and they are both great. Nice and light. No negatives at all.
Rating 
 
5.0
csvchambers Reviewed by csvchambers January 01, 2014
Last updated: January 01, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Wonderful!

This is an amazing recipe. It turns out perfectly every time. Imagine an easy bread with no oil that makes a perfect sandwich (or toast) bread. I've done it both with the short rising and the 24 hour one and they are both great. Nice and light. No negatives at all.

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you like this bread csvchambers!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't know what happened. I followed the directions exactly and it was looking beautiful in the bowl, but once I dumped it in the loaf pan I couldn't get it to rise above the rim. I finally decided to bake it, hoping it would rise more in the oven but it actually sank a little - about 1/2-1 inch below the rim. It came out so dense, my kids won't even eat it and I don't blame them - it's going to be hard enough for me to try and finish the loaf. Is there something I could have done wrong? I've never made a no knead bread before, so I don't know if it was supposed to be as wet as it was - it did look pretty similar to the picture though. I tried another bread recipe, the kind you knead, and it also ended up very dense and not at all like the pictures or all the great reviews. Am I doing something wrong? My yeast is brand new, so I know that's not the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reviewed by Becca November 27, 2013

So dense

I don't know what happened. I followed the directions exactly and it was looking beautiful in the bowl, but once I dumped it in the loaf pan I couldn't get it to rise above the rim. I finally decided to bake it, hoping it would rise more in the oven but it actually sank a little - about 1/2-1 inch below the rim. It came out so dense, my kids won't even eat it and I don't blame them - it's going to be hard enough for me to try and finish the loaf. Is there something I could have done wrong? I've never made a no knead bread before, so I don't know if it was supposed to be as wet as it was - it did look pretty similar to the picture though. I tried another bread recipe, the kind you knead, and it also ended up very dense and not at all like the pictures or all the great reviews. Am I doing something wrong? My yeast is brand new, so I know that's not the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Owner's reply

Sorry the bread didn't rise enough Becca! It's interesting that you have newly purchased yeast, followed both recipes exactly and had the same issue with a kneaded bread recipe too. It's difficult to tell what went wrong but it could be that even though your yeast is new, it has somehow been compromised, perhaps by being stored in a hot environment before you purchased it. You might want to get another yeast packet from the store just to be sure.

Failing that, I'd recommend overshooting the yeast next time and adding about 50% more to ensure you get the proper rise. Typically, you only want to use the amount of yeast that is necessary; too much can impart excessively yeasty flavors but it would be a good way to get a handle on what's going on, and get some edible bread along the way. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't know how something so simple could be so delicious. I just finished a Master Cleanse and I was happy to find something very tasty with whole ingredients. I used whole wheat pastry flour. I also used rapid rise yeast, and because of that I didn't do all the rising and mixing process. My bread did cave in in the middle a little bit.
Rating 
 
5.0
AlannaPie Reviewed by AlannaPie August 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Tasty!

I don't know how something so simple could be so delicious. I just finished a Master Cleanse and I was happy to find something very tasty with whole ingredients. I used whole wheat pastry flour. I also used rapid rise yeast, and because of that I didn't do all the rising and mixing process. My bread did cave in in the middle a little bit.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the bread AlannaPie! Cave ins usually happen because the yeast has consumed all of the nutrients it can then the gas bubbles that allowed the bread to rise prematurely escape before the bread gets a chance to bake through fully. Glad it was still a keeper!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this recipe for the first time last night. In fact, it's the very first time I've ever really made bread at all. It was so super easy and it made me look like I'm a pro at making breads. I've wowed my friends and family. And they couldn't believe it was vegan and it was no-knead. I love your recipe and thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing it.

By the way, do you have any simple and easy recipe for kneaded bread? I'd like to try something that has a more elastic crumb structure and chewy texture like usual sandwich breads. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by JT August 12, 2013

Wow

I made this recipe for the first time last night. In fact, it's the very first time I've ever really made bread at all. It was so super easy and it made me look like I'm a pro at making breads. I've wowed my friends and family. And they couldn't believe it was vegan and it was no-knead. I love your recipe and thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing it.

By the way, do you have any simple and easy recipe for kneaded bread? I'd like to try something that has a more elastic crumb structure and chewy texture like usual sandwich breads. Thanks!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much JT! I'm so happy the bread worked out so well for you. Whole wheat flour plays a huge part in inhibiting a lot of the sponginess of breads. This is because the bran husks can get in the way of the gluten strands and actually cut them to make the bread less soft. Also, the bran husks don't soften as easily as other components of the flour so baked items with whole wheat flour tend to be a little more stiff and mealy than things baked flours like all-purpose flour.

Your best bet to increase sponginess is to substitute half of the whole wheat flour with all-purpose flour or bread flour. You could also try it with a kneaded bread recipe here: http://www.veganbaking.net/breads/enriched-breads/yeasted-enriched-breads/486-easy-wheat-bread

Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I made this today and ate it with my ratatouille supper, I was so delicious. It didn't even need butter or any kind of spread. I did get a pretty good over spill during the proofing stage but I just pulled it over to the other side like the instructions said and it was all good. I am wondering thought, because it has such a large rise would one still get the same delicious results if the doe was divided in two after the 1st or second rise to make two smaller loaves? I think I will try this next time. I am not a very experienced bread maker. I have only ever tried it 2 or 3 times, this is the only time that a recipe has worked for me. So now that I have found one that works for me I will defiantly make it often. Thank you so much. My day in the kitchen has never been so rewarding as it has been today!
Rating 
 
5.0
Blayney Reviewed by Blayney August 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Excellent!

I made this today and ate it with my ratatouille supper, I was so delicious. It didn't even need butter or any kind of spread. I did get a pretty good over spill during the proofing stage but I just pulled it over to the other side like the instructions said and it was all good. I am wondering thought, because it has such a large rise would one still get the same delicious results if the doe was divided in two after the 1st or second rise to make two smaller loaves? I think I will try this next time. I am not a very experienced bread maker. I have only ever tried it 2 or 3 times, this is the only time that a recipe has worked for me. So now that I have found one that works for me I will defiantly make it often. Thank you so much. My day in the kitchen has never been so rewarding as it has been today!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked out for you Blayney! You should totally be able to divide this dough and make it smaller in two separate loaf pans. As long as the dough rises adequately in some sort of loaf pan, you should be able to split it up as much as you'd like. Thanks for sharing and I'm so glad you had such a great baking day!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I attempted this recipe for the third time tonight. I love the simplicity of it and how moist and tasty it is but I'm not getting the rise you describe. I am using King Arthur whole wheat flour. I bought a new jar of yeast after the first attempt, thinking my yeast was old. Really no change. Tonight the first and second rise were better but the final proofing in the pan was...well, it barely reached the top of the pan ( also bought the pan from Amazon you recommended thinking it might have been my glass loaf pan). It didn't really oven spring either. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Again, love the texture and the taste...just want it to be a little more like your picture.
Rating 
 
5.0
Bonitapita Reviewed by Bonitapita July 26, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Tips to help with rise?

I attempted this recipe for the third time tonight. I love the simplicity of it and how moist and tasty it is but I'm not getting the rise you describe. I am using King Arthur whole wheat flour. I bought a new jar of yeast after the first attempt, thinking my yeast was old. Really no change. Tonight the first and second rise were better but the final proofing in the pan was...well, it barely reached the top of the pan ( also bought the pan from Amazon you recommended thinking it might have been my glass loaf pan). It didn't really oven spring either. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Again, love the texture and the taste...just want it to be a little more like your picture.

Owner's reply

Hi Bonitapita! Sorry you're having leavening issues. I hate it when that happens! Ok, so after baking a few more test loaves of this bread, I realized that it rises better and more consistently with 1 ½ teaspoons of active dry yeast instead of 1 teaspoon. So I updated the recipe to reflect that. Thanks so much for your feedback and for helping me improve this recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I had never made bread and researched various no knead wheat bread recipes before settling on this. Made it per the recipe except for substituting honey for the maple syrup. I left it in the refrigerator to rise and the dough didn't look any different than it did when I put it in. Let it rise at room temp after that and that didn't seem to make any difference. I thought the bread turned out really tasty and moist but it didn't make a tall enough loaf to use for sandwiches nor toast, Would you recommend using a bit more yeast?
Rating 
 
4.0
hawkeyemark Reviewed by hawkeyemark July 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Dough didn't rise

I had never made bread and researched various no knead wheat bread recipes before settling on this. Made it per the recipe except for substituting honey for the maple syrup. I left it in the refrigerator to rise and the dough didn't look any different than it did when I put it in. Let it rise at room temp after that and that didn't seem to make any difference. I thought the bread turned out really tasty and moist but it didn't make a tall enough loaf to use for sandwiches nor toast, Would you recommend using a bit more yeast?

Owner's reply

Hi hawkeyemark! I apologize because I don't think I was clear enough in Step 3 where I explained what's called a "cold rest". I just completely re-wrote Step 3 to explain it more clearly and included how and why the cold rest method is an advantage. The main detail I originally left out is that after doing a cold rest, it can take as much as four hours at room temperature for your dough to double in size which is crucial. If you don't allow enough time, the yeast won't have enough time to "wake up" and become active to rise the dough. This is most likely what negatively affected your loaf.

Thanks so much for letting me know about this and I'm sorry your loaf didn't work out. Your feedback helps me improve my recipes so I can make them the best they can be. Thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this bread today and I couldn't be any more pleased. It's really easy and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jeanne July 18, 2013

Awesome!

I made this bread today and I couldn't be any more pleased. It's really easy and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!

Owner's reply

So happy this bread recipe worked out so well for you Jeanne!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was wondering if spelt flour would work as wheat flour does in this recipe. I don't eat wheat but my kids are serious sandwich lovers. Searching for a simple bread recipe for the whole family. Has anyone tried this recipe with spelt flour? Do you know if spelt flour still contains enough gluten to get the same rise that your wheat bread would achieve? After asking all these questions I am planning to experiment with this recipe using spelt flour and will let you know. :)
Reviewed by Ruth July 11, 2013

Ruth

I was wondering if spelt flour would work as wheat flour does in this recipe. I don't eat wheat but my kids are serious sandwich lovers. Searching for a simple bread recipe for the whole family. Has anyone tried this recipe with spelt flour? Do you know if spelt flour still contains enough gluten to get the same rise that your wheat bread would achieve? After asking all these questions I am planning to experiment with this recipe using spelt flour and will let you know. :)

Owner's reply

Hi Ruth! Great question. Unfortunately, spelt flour won't work in this recipe if it's used as 100% of the flour due to it not containing enough gluten to trap rising gas and contribute to structure. I'm working on some serious gluten-free flour blends to hopefully get around this issue but it's going to be a few more months before they're ready to share. Good luck in your quest to find a gluten-free loaf!

Was this review helpful to you? 
62 results - showing 16 - 30
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering