Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Vegan No Knead Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (34)
32
53 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
This was my first time making sandwich bread. Prior to this I've only made banana bread. Though it is a recipe that require quite a bit of time at home (though much of the time is hands off time just waiting until it's time to stir again), this is a simple recipe to make. I love that it did not require bread flour, since I already had whole wheat in my pantry and wanted to use as much whole wheat as possible. I've since made this recipe several times. It's great if you're on a budget and want good whole wheat bread. I also love that I know that there are no added preservatives or unnecessary ingredients. I usually make two loaves on the weekend, slice them, and then freeze one loaf to use once the first loaf runs out.
Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rachael April 20, 2014

Great recipe that even a beginner can handle!

This was my first time making sandwich bread. Prior to this I've only made banana bread. Though it is a recipe that require quite a bit of time at home (though much of the time is hands off time just waiting until it's time to stir again), this is a simple recipe to make. I love that it did not require bread flour, since I already had whole wheat in my pantry and wanted to use as much whole wheat as possible. I've since made this recipe several times. It's great if you're on a budget and want good whole wheat bread. I also love that I know that there are no added preservatives or unnecessary ingredients. I usually make two loaves on the weekend, slice them, and then freeze one loaf to use once the first loaf runs out.
Thanks for sharing this recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
can I use honey instead of agave syrup or maple syrup?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by kayah March 28, 2014

zion

can I use honey instead of agave syrup or maple syrup?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Turned out beautifully! I've been on a search for an easy, delicious bread and I've finally found it. Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by K March 25, 2014

The best!

Turned out beautifully! I've been on a search for an easy, delicious bread and I've finally found it. Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! I have just made this recipe! I have added some flex, sunflower and sesame seeds. Everything seemed to work perfectly, but once in the oven it didn't raise at all. I was wondering if I was suppose to cook with the fan on. Because I cooked the loaf with fan forced off, is that the problem?
Thank you!
Reviewed by Roby March 20, 2014

Hi! I have just made this recipe! I have added some flex, sunflower and sesame seeds. Everything seemed to work perfectly, but once in the oven it didn't raise at all. I was wondering if I was suppose to cook with the fan on. Because I cooked the loaf with fan forced off, is that the problem?
Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
It is nomtastic as confirmed by guinea pigs (bf, flatmates and folks at work eyeing up my bread with envy). I used 3 different flours chucked in whole load of nigella seeds ( which were bought because of their name and accidentally proved to be delicious) and whatever else I had at hand spice wise. Great. The only bad thing is- whole damn loaf disappeared in less than 24 hrs. Making another one already :) I really like no knead no bother approach, I'm dead busy during the week and this is something easy to throw together and than even if i ll forget about it it will still turn out great.
Rating 
 
5.0
MadInGlasvegas Reviewed by MadInGlasvegas March 10, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

excellent recipe

It is nomtastic as confirmed by guinea pigs (bf, flatmates and folks at work eyeing up my bread with envy). I used 3 different flours chucked in whole load of nigella seeds ( which were bought because of their name and accidentally proved to be delicious) and whatever else I had at hand spice wise. Great. The only bad thing is- whole damn loaf disappeared in less than 24 hrs. Making another one already :) I really like no knead no bother approach, I'm dead busy during the week and this is something easy to throw together and than even if i ll forget about it it will still turn out great.

Owner's reply

That's great that the bread worked out well for you MadinGlasvegas! Wow nigella seeds- had to look that one up. I bet they were interesting in the bread. I love buying random ingredients, throwing them into recipes and seeing what happens. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, you are a freakin' GENIUS!! Best bread I've ever had in my life, hands down. I used white whole wheat flour (my favorite flour). I have a rather small loaf pan, so it ended up spilling over in the oven (good thing I placed it on a baking sheet). But that's okay...it made for excellent pull-apart pieces of bread lol. Thank you so much for this recipe, I'll make it again and again and again!
Reviewed by Christine March 09, 2014

Mattie, you are a freakin' GENIUS!! Best bread I've ever had in my life, hands down. I used white whole wheat flour (my favorite flour). I have a rather small loaf pan, so it ended up spilling over in the oven (good thing I placed it on a baking sheet). But that's okay...it made for excellent pull-apart pieces of bread lol. Thank you so much for this recipe, I'll make it again and again and again!

Owner's reply

So happy you enjoyed the bread Christine! Glad you were able to make it work with the smaller loaf pan!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe produced a huge loaf of delicious, fluffy bread. I used half bread flour and half white whole wheat, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bex February 18, 2014

Huge loaf!

This recipe produced a huge loaf of delicious, fluffy bread. I used half bread flour and half white whole wheat, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)

Owner's reply

That's great that this bread worked wonderfully for you Bex! I'm a huge fan of the half whole wheat, half bread flour ratio too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
hi there. i'm in the process of making this recipe now, so am writing in the hopes that maybe, just maybe, i'll get a quick response. my dough seems awfully wet. i'm about 20 minutes into the first rise and...nothing is happening. i fear that the water/dough ratio is off. i used locally milled soft 100% whole wheat flour. thanks!
Reviewed by jataylor February 15, 2014

how wet should the dough be?

hi there. i'm in the process of making this recipe now, so am writing in the hopes that maybe, just maybe, i'll get a quick response. my dough seems awfully wet. i'm about 20 minutes into the first rise and...nothing is happening. i fear that the water/dough ratio is off. i used locally milled soft 100% whole wheat flour. thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi jataylor! Since this bread is a no knead recipe, it uses an especially wet dough. There usually won't be a noticeable rise within the first 20 minutes. You can get away with a wide range of water/flour ratios in bread doughs; rising is more dependent on gluten development and yeast health.

That's great that you used a locally milled whole wheat flour. I hope it worked out for you! If not, feel free to private message me for troubleshooting/post-mortem analysis;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made this loaf for the first time today, and I had no trouble with it rising. It rose beautifully, and came out soft and chewy, I loved it.. I love the fact that it is Oil-Free, which is hard to find with those grocery store whole wheat loaves!
Thanks for the recipe
Rating 
 
5.0
Mamadreads Reviewed by Mamadreads January 29, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

So Easy and So Good

Made this loaf for the first time today, and I had no trouble with it rising. It rose beautifully, and came out soft and chewy, I loved it.. I love the fact that it is Oil-Free, which is hard to find with those grocery store whole wheat loaves!
Thanks for the recipe

Owner's reply

So happy that this bread worked out so well for you Mamadreads!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love this recipe! Although I ran into an issue with my first attempt where the bread did not rise at all (I'll be using that loaf for hummus or bread crumbs). For my second attempt, I used a whole tablespoon of yeast, and kept the bowl on a pan over a warm stove. It rose beautifully!

I added in thyme, rosemary and garlic cloves. Really delicious, and my husband couldn't believe it was vegan.

Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!
sheheardme Reviewed by sheheardme January 28, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

My 2nd attempt was MUCH better

I love this recipe! Although I ran into an issue with my first attempt where the bread did not rise at all (I'll be using that loaf for hummus or bread crumbs). For my second attempt, I used a whole tablespoon of yeast, and kept the bowl on a pan over a warm stove. It rose beautifully!

I added in thyme, rosemary and garlic cloves. Really delicious, and my husband couldn't believe it was vegan.

Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!

Owner's reply

So glad this bread worked so well for you sheheardme. That's great that the extra yeast solved your rising problem!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This bread is amazing, we use everday for sandwiches. So good and doughy, soft inside, crispy crust. I have also used this recipe with white flour and rolled jalapenos and garlic cloves in the dough too. This is a staple in our vegan home. Keeps well & not too hard wrapped in a tea towel for up to 3 days (although a loaf rarely lasts that long).
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by foodphile January 16, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Soft, doughy and amazing

This bread is amazing, we use everday for sandwiches. So good and doughy, soft inside, crispy crust. I have also used this recipe with white flour and rolled jalapenos and garlic cloves in the dough too. This is a staple in our vegan home. Keeps well & not too hard wrapped in a tea towel for up to 3 days (although a loaf rarely lasts that long).

Owner's reply

I'm thrilled that this bread is a staple in your home foodphile! I can't wait to try it with jalapenos and garlic cloves. Great idea!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I haven't made bread in quite some time so I was a little nervous before making this recipe, especially after reading some of the comments about have trouble getting the bread dough to rise. I also had trouble getting the dough to rise. I put it on top of a stove under overhead lights think that this would be a warm enough spot for the dough to rise. But I was wrong! I remembered an old trick that a bread baker showed me. I turned on my oven to 200 degrees. Then when it reached this temperature; I turned off the oven and placed the dough inside the oven and covered the bowl with a slightly dampened, clean dish towel. Voila! The bread dough rose beautifully within the hour and a half time frame. The rest of the process went smoothly but I forgot that making bread is a commitment of several hours. The bread turned out beautifully, however, and my husband and I loved it! I think that our son who has the vegan diet, will also enjoy it.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Laurie Rokakis January 05, 2014

Great texture and flavor

I haven't made bread in quite some time so I was a little nervous before making this recipe, especially after reading some of the comments about have trouble getting the bread dough to rise. I also had trouble getting the dough to rise. I put it on top of a stove under overhead lights think that this would be a warm enough spot for the dough to rise. But I was wrong! I remembered an old trick that a bread baker showed me. I turned on my oven to 200 degrees. Then when it reached this temperature; I turned off the oven and placed the dough inside the oven and covered the bowl with a slightly dampened, clean dish towel. Voila! The bread dough rose beautifully within the hour and a half time frame. The rest of the process went smoothly but I forgot that making bread is a commitment of several hours. The bread turned out beautifully, however, and my husband and I loved it! I think that our son who has the vegan diet, will also enjoy it.

Owner's reply

So glad the bread worked out so well for you Laurie! I'm going to be experimenting with increasing the yeast a tiny bit in the future so it rises more consistently. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is an amazing recipe. It turns out perfectly every time. Imagine an easy bread with no oil that makes a perfect sandwich (or toast) bread. I've done it both with the short rising and the 24 hour one and they are both great. Nice and light. No negatives at all.
Rating 
 
5.0
csvchambers Reviewed by csvchambers January 01, 2014
Last updated: January 01, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Wonderful!

This is an amazing recipe. It turns out perfectly every time. Imagine an easy bread with no oil that makes a perfect sandwich (or toast) bread. I've done it both with the short rising and the 24 hour one and they are both great. Nice and light. No negatives at all.

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you like this bread csvchambers!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't know what happened. I followed the directions exactly and it was looking beautiful in the bowl, but once I dumped it in the loaf pan I couldn't get it to rise above the rim. I finally decided to bake it, hoping it would rise more in the oven but it actually sank a little - about 1/2-1 inch below the rim. It came out so dense, my kids won't even eat it and I don't blame them - it's going to be hard enough for me to try and finish the loaf. Is there something I could have done wrong? I've never made a no knead bread before, so I don't know if it was supposed to be as wet as it was - it did look pretty similar to the picture though. I tried another bread recipe, the kind you knead, and it also ended up very dense and not at all like the pictures or all the great reviews. Am I doing something wrong? My yeast is brand new, so I know that's not the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reviewed by Becca November 27, 2013

So dense

I don't know what happened. I followed the directions exactly and it was looking beautiful in the bowl, but once I dumped it in the loaf pan I couldn't get it to rise above the rim. I finally decided to bake it, hoping it would rise more in the oven but it actually sank a little - about 1/2-1 inch below the rim. It came out so dense, my kids won't even eat it and I don't blame them - it's going to be hard enough for me to try and finish the loaf. Is there something I could have done wrong? I've never made a no knead bread before, so I don't know if it was supposed to be as wet as it was - it did look pretty similar to the picture though. I tried another bread recipe, the kind you knead, and it also ended up very dense and not at all like the pictures or all the great reviews. Am I doing something wrong? My yeast is brand new, so I know that's not the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Owner's reply

Sorry the bread didn't rise enough Becca! It's interesting that you have newly purchased yeast, followed both recipes exactly and had the same issue with a kneaded bread recipe too. It's difficult to tell what went wrong but it could be that even though your yeast is new, it has somehow been compromised, perhaps by being stored in a hot environment before you purchased it. You might want to get another yeast packet from the store just to be sure.

Failing that, I'd recommend overshooting the yeast next time and adding about 50% more to ensure you get the proper rise. Typically, you only want to use the amount of yeast that is necessary; too much can impart excessively yeasty flavors but it would be a good way to get a handle on what's going on, and get some edible bread along the way. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't know how something so simple could be so delicious. I just finished a Master Cleanse and I was happy to find something very tasty with whole ingredients. I used whole wheat pastry flour. I also used rapid rise yeast, and because of that I didn't do all the rising and mixing process. My bread did cave in in the middle a little bit.
Rating 
 
5.0
AlannaPie Reviewed by AlannaPie August 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Tasty!

I don't know how something so simple could be so delicious. I just finished a Master Cleanse and I was happy to find something very tasty with whole ingredients. I used whole wheat pastry flour. I also used rapid rise yeast, and because of that I didn't do all the rising and mixing process. My bread did cave in in the middle a little bit.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the bread AlannaPie! Cave ins usually happen because the yeast has consumed all of the nutrients it can then the gas bubbles that allowed the bread to rise prematurely escape before the bread gets a chance to bake through fully. Glad it was still a keeper!

Was this review helpful to you? 
53 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4  
Ordering