Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Reviews written by laurelvb

16 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2  
 
Reviewed by laurelvb     March 06, 2012

Mmm... Sweet

2 of my friends and I made these recently as cupcakes. These little beauties rose up so nice and fluffy I honestly could NOT believe my eyes. We did not frost them and ended up sharing with the neighbor's kids because they are achingly sweet. When I make them again I'll cut back the sugar by 1/4. They're still the best cupcake I've had since going GF.
One caution, both my friends just reached for the Apple Cider Vinegar and called to tell me their didn't turn out like mine at all. The moral of this story being if the recipe says Lemon Juice, use it! Well done Sugar Momma.

Reviewed by laurelvb     March 03, 2012

PB Needs Kisses

My husband's favorite. He'd propose but he's already married and I'm jealous! He gets half and I get the other half with a mound of vegan chocolate on top. They look absolutely stunning.

Reviewed by laurelvb     March 03, 2012

Gosh

I am SO making this right away with light olive oil. You rock!

Reviewed by laurelvb     February 29, 2012

No Vinegar, No Problem

I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.

Vegan Sauce Recipes
Reviewed by laurelvb     February 29, 2012
Rating 
 
5.0

Oh my ears and whiskers! You never do cease to amaze.

Reviewed by laurelvb     November 06, 2011

Azure Standard has Sunflower Lecithin. 16 oz. is $5.05 but you can buy more if you want to. Cool.

Reviewed by laurelvb     October 29, 2011

Barley Malt Syrup

Hi Mattie: I notice you use Barley Malt Syrup often. Is it used for flavor or texture or both? Do you think Rice Syrup would have the same effect if one were Gluten Free?
Thanks and Happy Halloween!

Reviewed by laurelvb     October 29, 2011

Link to a Gluten Free Version

I don't mean to steal your thunder because these look AMAZING as always. I just wanted to let the Gluten Free folks know that Annalise Roberts posted a GF pumpkin bread on her website and there's a Vegan version noted in the comments.
http://mygluten-freetable.com/2011/10/gluten-free-pumpkin-bars/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MyGluten-FreeTable+%28My+Gluten-Free+Table%29&utm_content=My+Yahoo

Other Vegan Baking Recipes
Reviewed by laurelvb     October 20, 2011
Rating 
 
5.0

This Is THE Answer

Mattie: You just gave me the answer to tasteless gluten free pie shells. Do your friends call you Saint Mattie or are we supposed to keep that part quiet?

Vegan Pastry Recipes
Reviewed by laurelvb     October 20, 2011

Barbara: The Better Batter Flour website has a recipe using the product to make Croissants, since it's essentially the same process that may work. I also like your idea of GF bread flours. I need to get my hands on some of King Arthur's.

Vegan Baking Guides
Commented by laurelvb     October 20, 2011

I'm Much Too Lazy

Mattie: I can tell you used to own a bakery. You're so perfect. I, on the other hand am incredibly lazy. I roast my small, sweet pumpkins in one of two ways. Cut off the top as you suggested and put one or two in a crockpot with a couple of inches of water and walk away for a few hours. Remove, cut in half, scoop out the innerds, then scoop the meat from the shell. This is a bit messy and the pumpkin is moist and not caramelized.
A better way is to take a baking dish, line with parchment paper and two inches of water. Remove, or not, I don't the stem. Lightly grease with coconut oil, punch a couple of holes in the top third with a knife and bake at 350 until soft. It takes longer but it's sooo much easier. They scoop out easier than the crock pot method, the flesh is firmer and has a better flavor.
You can do this at night when doing other things and refrigerate until you're ready for them. Besides I don't trust myself with a sharp knife!

Vegan Bar and Square Recipes
Reviewed by laurelvb     September 22, 2011

Chocolate Goes With Everything

I may not have dried cherries but I've got lots and lots of cranberries. Perfect for fall. But then I started thinking how about raspberries and framboise if I didn't have my cranberry stash.
This recipe is beautiful, naturally gluten free and so versatile.
I just hope your server doesn't crash after the 'Heidi bump.'
I've been awful about commenting but I'll try to do better because you're my hero.

Reviewed by laurelvb     September 22, 2011

Not Recipe

Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.

Reviewed by laurelvb     September 21, 2011
Rating 
 
5.0

OMG Mattie!!!

OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.

Reviewed by laurelvb     August 21, 2010
Rating 
 
5.0

Condensed Milk Options

I was just wondering if one might achieve the same effects by placing the ingredients in a crockpot overnight or is it really necessary to cook it over the stove? I am so looking forward to all those recipes calling for condensed milk that I'd do this even if does require all that time. Thanks for the recipe AND the inspiration.

16 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2