Reviews written by Nanerl
Is it Vegan
Hi, this is my first time posting to this site and the response to the comment below is upsetting to me. I am vegan and not able to eat dairy. I wondered about Ghiardhelli chips and the mix recommended, too. It does say on the box (and in link below) that it is produced on equipment that handles milk, eggs and tree nuts--so cakeswithaconscience was not totally wrong about that. Anyway I wrote to the company since many of my friends insisted that these were vegan and here is the company's response:
"Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli Chocolate. In response to your
inquiry, Ghirardelli does not consider any of our chocolate products to
be vegan. Our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips do not contain a dairy
ingredient; however they do share a line with chocolate products which
do contain either whole milk powder or a milk fat. Some of our brownie
mixes are also processed on equipment that handle milk, eggs, and tree
nuts. Our lines are cleaned and flushed between the changing of one
flavor to the next."
It sounds like cakeswithaconscience is new to vegan baking but was trying to be helpful. I think this is a buyer beware (and if it sounds too good to be true it probably is situation). I personally feel better making all my stuff from scratch so I know what's in it and have control over where it comes from. Even if something doesn't say it includes things like milk and eggs, there isn't really a way to know if a company does or not.