Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 106 - 120
« 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 » 
Ordering 
 
great recipe! i often use coconut oil directly in baking and the result is, well, too oily! i can't wait to give this a try.

for those interested in a xanthan gum substitute, too bad you didn't read through the comments. this has been discussed and people found success with chia seeds.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cee January 05, 2013

chia seeds for xanthan gum

great recipe! i often use coconut oil directly in baking and the result is, well, too oily! i can't wait to give this a try.

for those interested in a xanthan gum substitute, too bad you didn't read through the comments. this has been discussed and people found success with chia seeds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I would like to try this recipe, but I don't use microwave, can I melt coconut oil on stove?
Reviewed by Grazina December 27, 2012

no microwave

I would like to try this recipe, but I don't use microwave, can I melt coconut oil on stove?

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is better than butter in every way!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by A. Magpie December 26, 2012

This is better than butter in every way!

Was this review helpful to you? 
We have severe tree nut allergies and since our allergist feels that coconut is a tree nut (as does the FDA now) that we cannot do this, but we really need some soy margarine desperately! Cannot do commercial brands due to the corn flavorings (corn allergy too!). Is there anything else that can be used in place of coconut oil?
Reviewed by Suzanne December 25, 2012

Substitute for Coconut Oil?

We have severe tree nut allergies and since our allergist feels that coconut is a tree nut (as does the FDA now) that we cannot do this, but we really need some soy margarine desperately! Cannot do commercial brands due to the corn flavorings (corn allergy too!). Is there anything else that can be used in place of coconut oil?

Owner's reply

Hi Suzanne, To make a coconut oil-free version try using deodorized cocoa butter (available online) and swap out about 1 Teaspoon of it for an additional teaspoon of vegetable oil so it solidifies to the proper texture. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This recipe has brought the joy of vegemite toast back to my hubs. Excellent taste / texture!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Pamela December 23, 2012

Thank you!

This recipe has brought the joy of vegemite toast back to my hubs. Excellent taste / texture!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just commenting - i made a second batch, since the thanksgiving batch is gone. I still used hemp milk. but this time i left it out on the counter for a few hours, and then nuked it slightly warm before adding the lemon juice (and used only the required amount), let it sit a few more hours - and it COMPLETELY separated in to whey and . . well, thicker stuff lol. I have problems w vinegar so thats why i used lemon juice. last time instead of being patient i added twice as much lemon plus some vinegar. It curdled, but the vinegar smell (sensitive to it due to allergies) really bothered me. this version is much creamier and tastier than the last one i did

ok, sorry if thats too much detail, but just to say, I DID get satisfactory results using hemp milk.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cara December 21, 2012

Hemp milk

Just commenting - i made a second batch, since the thanksgiving batch is gone. I still used hemp milk. but this time i left it out on the counter for a few hours, and then nuked it slightly warm before adding the lemon juice (and used only the required amount), let it sit a few more hours - and it COMPLETELY separated in to whey and . . well, thicker stuff lol. I have problems w vinegar so thats why i used lemon juice. last time instead of being patient i added twice as much lemon plus some vinegar. It curdled, but the vinegar smell (sensitive to it due to allergies) really bothered me. this version is much creamier and tastier than the last one i did

ok, sorry if thats too much detail, but just to say, I DID get satisfactory results using hemp milk.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the hemp milk update Cara!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe is really great -- I love the experimental basis of your work, and the opportunities for vegan baking this affords. One question for you: all of your quantities are in volume, and it would seem to me that using mass (in grams) would be more precise. Did you happen to weigh out your ingredients as you were recording this recipe? If so would you care to share them for those of us with fine scales in our kitchens?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Drew December 19, 2012

Measurements

This recipe is really great -- I love the experimental basis of your work, and the opportunities for vegan baking this affords. One question for you: all of your quantities are in volume, and it would seem to me that using mass (in grams) would be more precise. Did you happen to weigh out your ingredients as you were recording this recipe? If so would you care to share them for those of us with fine scales in our kitchens?

Owner's reply

Weight measurements is a great idea Drew! I have 'seen the light' and use weight measurements in most of the recipe development I do nowadays. I'm planning on updating every recipe on Veganbaking.net with the addition of weight measurements, starting with the Vegan Butter Recipes when I can find the time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm living in Asia and have not been able to find lecithin as of yet. Can anyone recommend a replacement emulsifier?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by loofa December 15, 2012

replacement for lecithin?

I'm living in Asia and have not been able to find lecithin as of yet. Can anyone recommend a replacement emulsifier?

Owner's reply

Hi loofa! You may be able to take flax seed puree and strain off the gel in a water solution but I haven't tested this yet. I probably will soon due to the issues people are having obtaining lecithin and xanthan gum. If/when I do, I'll be sure to update the recipe. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Forgive me if I've got this wrong, I'm trying to understand this. Coconut oil is solid at room temperature. This recipe is an emulsion of barely warm oil with a few other ingredients. This isn't making a liquid oil into a solid like other margarines. It's making a solid into a tastier solid. Do all emulsions introduce hydrogenated fats into the end result?
Reviewed by DeeG December 14, 2012

confused

Forgive me if I've got this wrong, I'm trying to understand this. Coconut oil is solid at room temperature. This recipe is an emulsion of barely warm oil with a few other ingredients. This isn't making a liquid oil into a solid like other margarines. It's making a solid into a tastier solid. Do all emulsions introduce hydrogenated fats into the end result?

Owner's reply

Hi DeeG!

You are correct. This Vegan Butter recipe is just a blend of fats, water, flavorings and emulsifiers to get it all to play nice together. Hydrogenated oils are liquid fats that have hydrogen passed through them that changes the chemical structure of the fat, causing it to behave like a saturated (solid) fat, resulting in bad things like trans fats. My Vegan Butter recipe avoids all that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I really like the recipe for making vegan butter, but I would stress that you are essentially doing the same thing chemically to the fat in your recipe as the people who make Crisco (and Earth Balance for that matter). Whenever someone makes any fat (plant, animal) more stable at room temperature (i.e. solid) the fats go through a hydrogenation process to add hydrogen to the lipid structure. This process increases the melting point of the fat. Commercial companies that make Crisco use an extrusion machine to accomplish this task. Earth Balance's process is the exact same, they just market their product differently. Butter churning breaks down the fats in cream and chemically changes them into a solid. Your process is using the speed of the food processor blades to break down the liquid fats into a structure that stays solid at room temperature. All of these processes share one thing in common; they all produce trans fats (triglycerides).

All that being said, I do really like your process and recipe. I would just caution making any claims that this process is somehow healthier than any other hydrogenation process commercial companies use. But as a DIY vegan butter recipe, I don't think there's a better one on the web.
I've included some good reading on the extrusion process and how commercial manufactures http://www.aseanfood.info/Articles/11024149.pdf
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Jon December 11, 2012

Process is Still Likely to Create Triglicerides

I really like the recipe for making vegan butter, but I would stress that you are essentially doing the same thing chemically to the fat in your recipe as the people who make Crisco (and Earth Balance for that matter). Whenever someone makes any fat (plant, animal) more stable at room temperature (i.e. solid) the fats go through a hydrogenation process to add hydrogen to the lipid structure. This process increases the melting point of the fat. Commercial companies that make Crisco use an extrusion machine to accomplish this task. Earth Balance's process is the exact same, they just market their product differently. Butter churning breaks down the fats in cream and chemically changes them into a solid. Your process is using the speed of the food processor blades to break down the liquid fats into a structure that stays solid at room temperature. All of these processes share one thing in common; they all produce trans fats (triglycerides).

All that being said, I do really like your process and recipe. I would just caution making any claims that this process is somehow healthier than any other hydrogenation process commercial companies use. But as a DIY vegan butter recipe, I don't think there's a better one on the web.
I've included some good reading on the extrusion process and how commercial manufactures http://www.aseanfood.info/Articles/11024149.pdf

Owner's reply

Hi Jon, Thanks for your input. I think you're getting the food production procedure known as "extrusion" confused with butter production as well as vegan butter production. Food extrusion is not used for the processing of fats in the food industry as far as I'm aware. Food extrusion is used to squeeze, cook and press out products like pastas, dog food, veggie jerky, etc in a corkscrew-like configuration.

Crisco is a hydrogenated fat which is produced when hydrogen is passed through a fat (typically monounsaturated) that is liquid at room temperature. This hydrogenation process chemically alters the fat to act like a saturated fat, producing trans fats in the process. On the molecular level, the carbon chains that make up the fats are modified so they pack together more tightly, making the fat crystalize (get solid) at a lower temperature. Margarine manufacturers do this because they can take a affordable oil such as soy oil and turn it into a solid fat at a very low cost.

Fats coming from tropical regions are known as lauric fats and usually contain enough saturated fats to not need any chemical processing to make them more solid. On the molecular level, their carbon chains are also packed tightly like hydrogenated fats, but they don't contain trans fats like hydrogenated oils do.

Both Earth Balance and my method of Vegan Butter uses lauric fats blended with monounsaturated fats get the fat to a desired consistency. Mixing these fats via whisk, food processor or even by bare hand has no chemical effect and will not produce any hydrogenation related compounds. Furthermore, butter production is completely different- it involves churning which strip liquid surrounding dispersed fat globules which allows the globules to congeal into a solid mass.

There is a debate on the health aspects of plant-based saturated fats though. It depends on who you talk to in regards to whether it's more or less healthy than animal-based saturated fat. Thanks for the article link. It was a fascinating read on how extrusion effects nutrient content in foods. I'd love to get one of these but I'm about $80,000 short!
Thanks again for your input!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This is BY FAR the best vegan butter I have ever tasted. The flavor is complex yet simple and delicious. And yes, it doesn't leave an unwelcome oily finish in the mouth. Color is appetizing, and NO PALM OIL... YAY!!!

Thank you, I made the recipe exactly as written, using the liquid lecithin.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Andrea December 08, 2012

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!

This is BY FAR the best vegan butter I have ever tasted. The flavor is complex yet simple and delicious. And yes, it doesn't leave an unwelcome oily finish in the mouth. Color is appetizing, and NO PALM OIL... YAY!!!

Thank you, I made the recipe exactly as written, using the liquid lecithin.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This sounds really great! We have pretty extreme allergies in my house and can't have things like soy or gluten. I see I can use sunflower lecithin (great sub, thanks for that!) and was wondering if anyone knows if i could use hemp milk rather than soy. I don't think rice milk would work and almond or coconut milk would taste terrible. Thanks for any feed back!
Reviewed by Stephanie December 08, 2012

Can I make this allergy free?

This sounds really great! We have pretty extreme allergies in my house and can't have things like soy or gluten. I see I can use sunflower lecithin (great sub, thanks for that!) and was wondering if anyone knows if i could use hemp milk rather than soy. I don't think rice milk would work and almond or coconut milk would taste terrible. Thanks for any feed back!

Owner's reply

Hi Stephanie, although hemp milk won't coagulate as much as soy milk and won't produce as much buttery flavors, it should still work. Let me know how it works if you get a chance to try it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This turned out really well and was very easy. This opens up all kinds of possible variations. I think you hit the nail on the head with the addition of ACV. It's much closer to dairy butter than EB.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by DeeG December 07, 2012

Really good butter taste

This turned out really well and was very easy. This opens up all kinds of possible variations. I think you hit the nail on the head with the addition of ACV. It's much closer to dairy butter than EB.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Ok did a quick search. I am seeing people post that rice milk curdles in tea but their soy milk didn't do that.

I checked and tea is usually alkaline. IF this is correct it confirms what I thought. To curdle rice milk you need an alkaline to reach its isoelectric point.

The way you need an acid to make soy milk(an alkaline) to reach its isoelectric point.

I have not looked at almond and the other milks listed above but have a feeling they would be the same.

I will try this tomorrow when I make some rice milk.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mike December 06, 2012

Yes rice milk is acidic so it curdles in tea

Ok did a quick search. I am seeing people post that rice milk curdles in tea but their soy milk didn't do that.

I checked and tea is usually alkaline. IF this is correct it confirms what I thought. To curdle rice milk you need an alkaline to reach its isoelectric point.

The way you need an acid to make soy milk(an alkaline) to reach its isoelectric point.

I have not looked at almond and the other milks listed above but have a feeling they would be the same.

I will try this tomorrow when I make some rice milk.

Owner's reply

Thanks for your input Mike! I refer to rice milk as one of the "white water milks" meaning that it really doesn't have any concrete substance to it to really do much of anything in a recipe. The curdling is most likely little rice particles separating out of suspension because there's not nearly enough protein to curdle.

This is also why protein is directly proportional to how much non-diary milks curdle. It's my understanding that alkaline solutions won't have this same effect but haven't tried it in-depth. Let me know if it works for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie,

Thank you for such a DETAILED recipe and info!

My understanding is that vinegar makes the soy milk curdle (it is a neutral acidity the same as regular milk) because it took it to PH of 4.6 which happens to be the isoelectric point of soy milk as well as regular milk.

Rice milk is already acidic and an acid forming food. Perhaps this is why it didn't curdle.

I wonder if adding an alkaline would make it curdle?

Off to see what the isoelectric point is of rice milk and to find an liquid alkaline which will take it to that PH.

Thank you again!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mike December 06, 2012

GREAT info thank you!

Mattie,

Thank you for such a DETAILED recipe and info!

My understanding is that vinegar makes the soy milk curdle (it is a neutral acidity the same as regular milk) because it took it to PH of 4.6 which happens to be the isoelectric point of soy milk as well as regular milk.

Rice milk is already acidic and an acid forming food. Perhaps this is why it didn't curdle.

I wonder if adding an alkaline would make it curdle?

Off to see what the isoelectric point is of rice milk and to find an liquid alkaline which will take it to that PH.

Thank you again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 106 - 120
« 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 » 
Ordering