Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
54
242 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 » 
Ordering 
 
I am so glad that I found this site! As a recent vegan convert upon my return to the states (I'd been living in Japan for nine years. Japan is extremely unfriendly to vegetarians, let alone vegans!), I was looking for a recipe for vegan butter to spread on my toast.

This butter is amazing!! It's smooth and looks and smells more like buttery spreads than butter itself does, which is perfect for me! It is a little bit hard, so I suggest replacing more of the coconut oil with olive. I will be doing this next time to see if it works for me!

Amazing taste, though! Nice and salty!
Rating 
 
5.0
jamieism Reviewed by jamieism September 30, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUM!!`

I am so glad that I found this site! As a recent vegan convert upon my return to the states (I'd been living in Japan for nine years. Japan is extremely unfriendly to vegetarians, let alone vegans!), I was looking for a recipe for vegan butter to spread on my toast.

This butter is amazing!! It's smooth and looks and smells more like buttery spreads than butter itself does, which is perfect for me! It is a little bit hard, so I suggest replacing more of the coconut oil with olive. I will be doing this next time to see if it works for me!

Amazing taste, though! Nice and salty!

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you like the Vegan Butter jamieism!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi -

I may have missed something, but when you say:

¼ cup + 2 teaspoons soy milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
¼ + 1/8 teaspoon salt...

a 1/4 Cup of What? Coconut Oil?

Thanks!
Nook Reviewed by Nook September 29, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A Question re: the Vegan Butter...

Hi -

I may have missed something, but when you say:

¼ cup + 2 teaspoons soy milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
¼ + 1/8 teaspoon salt...

a 1/4 Cup of What? Coconut Oil?

Thanks!

Owner's reply

Great question Nook! This is a really dumb way of me trying to be precise with the fundamentally flawed US volume measuring system;) When I say 1/4 cup + 2 teaspoons soy milk I actually mean for you to measure out 1/4 cup of soy milk, then measure out another 2 teaspoons of soy milk. It's the same for the salt. I could say measure out 14 teaspoons of soy milk but I wouldn't want to force everyone to measure out a whole 14 teaspoons of soy milk individually- that would be horrible! Eventually, I'll have the option of metric weight measurements with all my recipes too (for my friends outside of the US), but it's going to involve an incredible amount of work getting everything converted to metric.

I would have loved to just round down or up but in my recipes, taste comes first, ease of measurements come second. Hope this clarifies things for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could I still make this only with the soy milk, apple cider vinegar and salt? I would prefer not to have to add the other ingredients...please let me know because this sounds like an awesome recipe!
shelbij Reviewed by shelbij September 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Could I still make this only with the soy milk, apple cider vinegar and salt? I would prefer not to have to add the other ingredients...please let me know because this sounds like an awesome recipe!

Owner's reply

Hi Shelbij! The other ingredients are required to enable the consistency and flavor of butter. For instance, the soy lecithin is to allow the water-based ingredients to mix adequately with the oil-based ingredients. The fat is required for meltability and mouthfeel. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
For the majority of my adult life I have been interested in plant based diet, yet could never find the ultimate motivation, well cholesterol of 264 was my final motivator. While looking for alternatives to some of my 'fridge and pantry staples I stumbled upon your website. Just made my first batch of vegan butter and I'll I can say is YUM!!!!! Spread it on raisin toast and was delish! I have read several of your recipes and am very much looking forward to testing them out. Now with my butter I'm good to go! Thanks for your care and devotion : )
Rating 
 
5.0
Heller Reviewed by Heller September 18, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUM!!

For the majority of my adult life I have been interested in plant based diet, yet could never find the ultimate motivation, well cholesterol of 264 was my final motivator. While looking for alternatives to some of my 'fridge and pantry staples I stumbled upon your website. Just made my first batch of vegan butter and I'll I can say is YUM!!!!! Spread it on raisin toast and was delish! I have read several of your recipes and am very much looking forward to testing them out. Now with my butter I'm good to go! Thanks for your care and devotion : )

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter is working out for you Heller!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I was looking for recipes for vegan dough enhancers when I found your website and I am so glad. There is a wealth of information here that I will be utilizing starting with this wonderful recipe. Time to sign off and go raid my kitchen to see if I have all the ingredients, if not then off to Whole Foods... here I come so I can make your Vegan Butter recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Rating 
 
5.0
tmoore56 Reviewed by tmoore56 September 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

So glad I found you!

I was looking for recipes for vegan dough enhancers when I found your website and I am so glad. There is a wealth of information here that I will be utilizing starting with this wonderful recipe. Time to sign off and go raid my kitchen to see if I have all the ingredients, if not then off to Whole Foods... here I come so I can make your Vegan Butter recipe. Thank you for sharing.

Owner's reply

So glad Veganbaking.net is helping you in your food adventures tmoore56! Good luck with the Vegan Butter!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this with two variations, one deliberate one less so. I used the granulated lecithin as that's all my local Green Shop had on the shelf and it left a slightly grainy finish to the butter but as the texture and consistency were perfect I deem that not to be a problem.
I didn't write down the ingredients I needed when I went shopping and so forgot that the coconut oil needed to be refined. I bought raw unrefined and entirely predictably this produced a coconut flavoured butter. However I didn't mind the taste even on toast with Marmite and in baking or frying for some recipes it was a real plus. My next batch will be with refined coconut oil so I'll be intrigued to see if there is any difference.
All in all I thoroughly recommend this recipe.
Rating 
 
5.0
Sewblack Reviewed by Sewblack September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Perfect recipe imperfect chef!

I made this with two variations, one deliberate one less so. I used the granulated lecithin as that's all my local Green Shop had on the shelf and it left a slightly grainy finish to the butter but as the texture and consistency were perfect I deem that not to be a problem.
I didn't write down the ingredients I needed when I went shopping and so forgot that the coconut oil needed to be refined. I bought raw unrefined and entirely predictably this produced a coconut flavoured butter. However I didn't mind the taste even on toast with Marmite and in baking or frying for some recipes it was a real plus. My next batch will be with refined coconut oil so I'll be intrigued to see if there is any difference.
All in all I thoroughly recommend this recipe.

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter worked out for you sewblack! I hear you on the unrefined coconut oil. I sometimes use it in my Vegan Butter because I love the taste of coconut so much. Good to know it goes well with Marmite!

Was this review helpful to you? 
While I am not a strict vegan, I am allergic to dairy so I was anxious to try this recipe baking. I made a pound cake yesterday and the results were great. The interior texture was nice and the was a nice crust. The lecithin may have also helped the texture.
I did not get a full cup from the recipe and don't know if I processed longer it would have incorporated more air. Overall great work!
Rating 
 
5.0
Brownabd Reviewed by Brownabd September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Great for baking

While I am not a strict vegan, I am allergic to dairy so I was anxious to try this recipe baking. I made a pound cake yesterday and the results were great. The interior texture was nice and the was a nice crust. The lecithin may have also helped the texture.
I did not get a full cup from the recipe and don't know if I processed longer it would have incorporated more air. Overall great work!

Owner's reply

Hi Brownabd! This recipe should yield pretty close to 1 cup, with an extremely minimal amount (if any) air incorporated into it. I'll make it again soon and make sure this is correct if it's not. So glad it worked out for you! I'm dying to make a poundcake with it so thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
All in all I was very impressed. And I think this is an inspired and sophisticated recipe! However, there was simply too much vinegar. The end result had a deep flavour, great texture and everything, but the taste of the apple cider vinegar cut through too much.

Next time, I am going to reduce the vinegar content and compensate by allowing more time for the milk to curdle.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by James Pike September 07, 2013

All in all I was very impressed. And I think this is an inspired and sophisticated recipe! However, there was simply too much vinegar. The end result had a deep flavour, great texture and everything, but the taste of the apple cider vinegar cut through too much.

Next time, I am going to reduce the vinegar content and compensate by allowing more time for the milk to curdle.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the feedback James! I've noticed that people have varying sensitivities to acid in foods. I find the acid level in this recipe to be to my liking but I have talked with other people that find it a little too much. Someday it would be cool if there was a test like there is with the bitterness test to differentiate super tasters, normal tasters and non-tasters, but with acidic ingredients (Google PTC strips if you want to know more about the bitterness test). That way, we'd have more insight on the nuances of our particular palates. In the meantime, if you're using soy milk, it should still curdle with slightly less acid. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was just wondering if almond milk would work in place of soy milk. I can't have soy, but really want to try this recipe!
Breewarrior Reviewed by Breewarrior August 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Almond milk?

I was just wondering if almond milk would work in place of soy milk. I can't have soy, but really want to try this recipe!

Owner's reply

Hi Breewarrior,

You can use almond milk in this Vegan Butter recipe but it won't taste as buttery due to almond milk containing less protein. The section on Non-dairy Milk Curdling explains the food science of this. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made only a few changes....
1/4 cup of freshly made virgin coconut oil(I made it in the kitchen) and 1/4 cup of virgin olive oil. It makes a lovely medium/soft spread. I`ve made two batches so far without problems.
Rating 
 
5.0
bogey Reviewed by bogey August 23, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic

I made only a few changes....
1/4 cup of freshly made virgin coconut oil(I made it in the kitchen) and 1/4 cup of virgin olive oil. It makes a lovely medium/soft spread. I`ve made two batches so far without problems.

Owner's reply

That Vegan Butter variation sounds great bogey! I bet the combination of virgin coconut oil and olive oil makes for a great flavor profile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
My soy milk didn't appear curdle after letting it sit for about 15 minutes. Any ideas as to why I might be having this problem? Should I have left it longer? Unfortunately, I had to go somewhere and had all of the other ingredients ready to go, so I couldn't wait to see if more time would make it curdle and just blended it together anyway. It seemed to still make a good finished product, despite the lack of curdling.

Also, does anyone know if this works well in candy, like peanut brittle and toffee?
Reviewed by Meghan August 20, 2013

My soy milk didn't appear curdle after letting it sit for about 15 minutes. Any ideas as to why I might be having this problem? Should I have left it longer? Unfortunately, I had to go somewhere and had all of the other ingredients ready to go, so I couldn't wait to see if more time would make it curdle and just blended it together anyway. It seemed to still make a good finished product, despite the lack of curdling.

Also, does anyone know if this works well in candy, like peanut brittle and toffee?

Owner's reply

Hi Meghan! The soy milk only barely thickens- it's not a super obvious curdle so I'm sure it was normal. Glad it worked out in the end! Vegan Butter works great in brittles. Here I use it in my Pistachio Cardamom Brittle: http://www.veganbaking.net/confections/brittles-and-barks/485-pistachio-cardamom-brittle

Was this review helpful to you? 
Here are some tips to make vegan butter healthier:

¼ + 1/8 teaspoon sea salt or Himalaayan salt (Such salt is richer in mineral enzymes.)

½ cup + 2 Tablespoons + 1 teaspoon cold-treated coconut oil (more nutritious) instead of refined oil (melted)

Ditch the Canola oil - it's genetically modified.

Ditch the soy lecithin (it has potential to cause heart disease...google for this info)

¼ teaspoon xanthan gum

Additionally, microwaving will kill many of the nutrients you want in your vegan butter.
Rating 
 
4.0
kelly kc Reviewed by kelly kc August 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

How to Make Vegan Butter

Here are some tips to make vegan butter healthier:

¼ + 1/8 teaspoon sea salt or Himalaayan salt (Such salt is richer in mineral enzymes.)

½ cup + 2 Tablespoons + 1 teaspoon cold-treated coconut oil (more nutritious) instead of refined oil (melted)

Ditch the Canola oil - it's genetically modified.

Ditch the soy lecithin (it has potential to cause heart disease...google for this info)

¼ teaspoon xanthan gum

Additionally, microwaving will kill many of the nutrients you want in your vegan butter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
hello,
i tried to make the butter using lecithin granules. they didn't melt so i got my self a butter with little orange dotts.
why? what can i do?

thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by yael August 06, 2013

lecithin granules that don't melt

hello,
i tried to make the butter using lecithin granules. they didn't melt so i got my self a butter with little orange dotts.
why? what can i do?

thanks!

Owner's reply

Sorry the lecithin granules didn't dissolve in the Vegan Butter yael! Go ahead and remelt it, place it in your food processor and process it for about 5 minutes. If you don't have one, transfer the melted Vegan Butter to a bowl and whisk it until the granules dissolve. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
this recipe is so great, thanks for sharing it!
i would love to make this as a large batch so i can freeze enough butter to always have some on hand. i know with other recipes i struggle with double and tripling recipes, but maybe this one will be fine? i guess what i'm saying is: do you think i'll need to adjust anything, or just multiply?
Rating 
 
5.0
tacoma narrows Reviewed by tacoma narrows July 28, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

doubling, tripling, quadrupling....

this recipe is so great, thanks for sharing it!
i would love to make this as a large batch so i can freeze enough butter to always have some on hand. i know with other recipes i struggle with double and tripling recipes, but maybe this one will be fine? i guess what i'm saying is: do you think i'll need to adjust anything, or just multiply?

Owner's reply

Thanks so much tacoma narrows! Since this recipe is mostly liquid based (as opposed to volume based), you should have no trouble doubling or tripling, it. The issue that's going to come up the more the recipe is scaled up is going to be relating to the amount of xanthan gum differing due to it being measured by volume. A quick search online (I don't have my "drug" scale with me at the moment) indicates that 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum weighs .75 gram. If you really wanted to scale this recipe up by a factor of four or more and guarantee the recipe be totally consistent, I'd recommend acquiring one of these scales (search for Jeweler Scale on Amazon) and measure out .75 grams xanthan gum with it instead of measuring the 1/4 teaspoon. The bottom line is: When scaling up, always convert a recipe from volume to weight. Eventually, when I have 3 billion years of spare time, I'll update all the recipes here to have both volume and weight measurements. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Compliments of: Mattie
at Veganbaking.net
http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/735-vegan-butter#.UfTxu-AkOxI

Vegan Butter (June's version)
(Mattie's original recipe with a few changes)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 t. fresh lemon juice
1 t. sea salt
1 t. agar agar powder
1 cup "refined" coconut oil
("Spectrum" is best if available)
1 T. organic walnut, sunflower or safflower oil
1 t. liquid sunflower or soy lecithin
or (2 t. sunflower or soy lecithin granules)

Directions:

Place the soy milk, lemon juice, agar agar and salt in the food processor and mix to emulsify.
Let mixture set to thicken for about 2 minutes.

Add the "refined" coconut oil, choice of organic oil and lecithin. Process for 3 minutes, scraping down the sides to thoroughly mix. Pour the mixture into a covered dish and place it in the refrigerator to solidify (about 10 minutes). Store the butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 months or freezer for up to one year.
(Equivalent: 2 cups of delicious vegan butter).
Rating 
 
5.0
June Reviewed by June July 28, 2013
Last updated: September 02, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Vegan Butter

Compliments of: Mattie
at Veganbaking.net
http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/735-vegan-butter#.UfTxu-AkOxI

Vegan Butter (June's version)
(Mattie's original recipe with a few changes)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 t. fresh lemon juice
1 t. sea salt
1 t. agar agar powder
1 cup "refined" coconut oil
("Spectrum" is best if available)
1 T. organic walnut, sunflower or safflower oil
1 t. liquid sunflower or soy lecithin
or (2 t. sunflower or soy lecithin granules)

Directions:

Place the soy milk, lemon juice, agar agar and salt in the food processor and mix to emulsify.
Let mixture set to thicken for about 2 minutes.

Add the "refined" coconut oil, choice of organic oil and lecithin. Process for 3 minutes, scraping down the sides to thoroughly mix. Pour the mixture into a covered dish and place it in the refrigerator to solidify (about 10 minutes). Store the butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 months or freezer for up to one year.
(Equivalent: 2 cups of delicious vegan butter).

Was this review helpful to you? 
242 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 » 
Ordering