Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (123)
52
220 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 » 
Ordering 
 
All in all I was very impressed. And I think this is an inspired and sophisticated recipe! However, there was simply too much vinegar. The end result had a deep flavour, great texture and everything, but the taste of the apple cider vinegar cut through too much.

Next time, I am going to reduce the vinegar content and compensate by allowing more time for the milk to curdle.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by James Pike September 07, 2013

All in all I was very impressed. And I think this is an inspired and sophisticated recipe! However, there was simply too much vinegar. The end result had a deep flavour, great texture and everything, but the taste of the apple cider vinegar cut through too much.

Next time, I am going to reduce the vinegar content and compensate by allowing more time for the milk to curdle.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the feedback James! I've noticed that people have varying sensitivities to acid in foods. I find the acid level in this recipe to be to my liking but I have talked with other people that find it a little too much. Someday it would be cool if there was a test like there is with the bitterness test to differentiate super tasters, normal tasters and non-tasters, but with acidic ingredients (Google PTC strips if you want to know more about the bitterness test). That way, we'd have more insight on the nuances of our particular palates. In the meantime, if you're using soy milk, it should still curdle with slightly less acid. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was just wondering if almond milk would work in place of soy milk. I can't have soy, but really want to try this recipe!
Breewarrior Reviewed by Breewarrior August 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Almond milk?

I was just wondering if almond milk would work in place of soy milk. I can't have soy, but really want to try this recipe!

Owner's reply

Hi Breewarrior,

You can use almond milk in this Vegan Butter recipe but it won't taste as buttery due to almond milk containing less protein. The section on Non-dairy Milk Curdling explains the food science of this. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made only a few changes....
1/4 cup of freshly made virgin coconut oil(I made it in the kitchen) and 1/4 cup of virgin olive oil. It makes a lovely medium/soft spread. I`ve made two batches so far without problems.
Rating 
 
5.0
bogey Reviewed by bogey August 23, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic

I made only a few changes....
1/4 cup of freshly made virgin coconut oil(I made it in the kitchen) and 1/4 cup of virgin olive oil. It makes a lovely medium/soft spread. I`ve made two batches so far without problems.

Owner's reply

That Vegan Butter variation sounds great bogey! I bet the combination of virgin coconut oil and olive oil makes for a great flavor profile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My soy milk didn't appear curdle after letting it sit for about 15 minutes. Any ideas as to why I might be having this problem? Should I have left it longer? Unfortunately, I had to go somewhere and had all of the other ingredients ready to go, so I couldn't wait to see if more time would make it curdle and just blended it together anyway. It seemed to still make a good finished product, despite the lack of curdling.

Also, does anyone know if this works well in candy, like peanut brittle and toffee?
Reviewed by Meghan August 20, 2013

My soy milk didn't appear curdle after letting it sit for about 15 minutes. Any ideas as to why I might be having this problem? Should I have left it longer? Unfortunately, I had to go somewhere and had all of the other ingredients ready to go, so I couldn't wait to see if more time would make it curdle and just blended it together anyway. It seemed to still make a good finished product, despite the lack of curdling.

Also, does anyone know if this works well in candy, like peanut brittle and toffee?

Owner's reply

Hi Meghan! The soy milk only barely thickens- it's not a super obvious curdle so I'm sure it was normal. Glad it worked out in the end! Vegan Butter works great in brittles. Here I use it in my Pistachio Cardamom Brittle: http://www.veganbaking.net/confections/brittles-and-barks/485-pistachio-cardamom-brittle

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Here are some tips to make vegan butter healthier:

¼ + 1/8 teaspoon sea salt or Himalaayan salt (Such salt is richer in mineral enzymes.)

½ cup + 2 Tablespoons + 1 teaspoon cold-treated coconut oil (more nutritious) instead of refined oil (melted)

Ditch the Canola oil - it's genetically modified.

Ditch the soy lecithin (it has potential to cause heart disease...google for this info)

¼ teaspoon xanthan gum

Additionally, microwaving will kill many of the nutrients you want in your vegan butter.
Rating 
 
4.0
kelly kc Reviewed by kelly kc August 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

How to Make Vegan Butter

Here are some tips to make vegan butter healthier:

¼ + 1/8 teaspoon sea salt or Himalaayan salt (Such salt is richer in mineral enzymes.)

½ cup + 2 Tablespoons + 1 teaspoon cold-treated coconut oil (more nutritious) instead of refined oil (melted)

Ditch the Canola oil - it's genetically modified.

Ditch the soy lecithin (it has potential to cause heart disease...google for this info)

¼ teaspoon xanthan gum

Additionally, microwaving will kill many of the nutrients you want in your vegan butter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
hello,
i tried to make the butter using lecithin granules. they didn't melt so i got my self a butter with little orange dotts.
why? what can i do?

thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by yael August 06, 2013

lecithin granules that don't melt

hello,
i tried to make the butter using lecithin granules. they didn't melt so i got my self a butter with little orange dotts.
why? what can i do?

thanks!

Owner's reply

Sorry the lecithin granules didn't dissolve in the Vegan Butter yael! Go ahead and remelt it, place it in your food processor and process it for about 5 minutes. If you don't have one, transfer the melted Vegan Butter to a bowl and whisk it until the granules dissolve. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
this recipe is so great, thanks for sharing it!
i would love to make this as a large batch so i can freeze enough butter to always have some on hand. i know with other recipes i struggle with double and tripling recipes, but maybe this one will be fine? i guess what i'm saying is: do you think i'll need to adjust anything, or just multiply?
Rating 
 
5.0
tacoma narrows Reviewed by tacoma narrows July 28, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

doubling, tripling, quadrupling....

this recipe is so great, thanks for sharing it!
i would love to make this as a large batch so i can freeze enough butter to always have some on hand. i know with other recipes i struggle with double and tripling recipes, but maybe this one will be fine? i guess what i'm saying is: do you think i'll need to adjust anything, or just multiply?

Owner's reply

Thanks so much tacoma narrows! Since this recipe is mostly liquid based (as opposed to volume based), you should have no trouble doubling or tripling, it. The issue that's going to come up the more the recipe is scaled up is going to be relating to the amount of xanthan gum differing due to it being measured by volume. A quick search online (I don't have my "drug" scale with me at the moment) indicates that 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum weighs .75 gram. If you really wanted to scale this recipe up by a factor of four or more and guarantee the recipe be totally consistent, I'd recommend acquiring one of these scales (search for Jeweler Scale on Amazon) and measure out .75 grams xanthan gum with it instead of measuring the 1/4 teaspoon. The bottom line is: When scaling up, always convert a recipe from volume to weight. Eventually, when I have 3 billion years of spare time, I'll update all the recipes here to have both volume and weight measurements. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Compliments of: Mattie
at Veganbaking.net
http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/735-vegan-butter#.UfTxu-AkOxI

Vegan Butter (June's version)
(Mattie's original recipe with a few changes)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 t. fresh lemon juice
1 t. sea salt
1 t. agar agar powder
1 cup "refined" coconut oil
("Spectrum" is best if available)
1 T. organic walnut, sunflower or safflower oil
1 t. liquid sunflower or soy lecithin
or (2 t. sunflower or soy lecithin granules)

Directions:

Place the soy milk, lemon juice, agar agar and salt in the food processor and mix to emulsify.
Let mixture set to thicken for about 2 minutes.

Add the "refined" coconut oil, choice of organic oil and lecithin. Process for 3 minutes, scraping down the sides to thoroughly mix. Pour the mixture into a covered dish and place it in the refrigerator to solidify (about 10 minutes). Store the butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 months or freezer for up to one year.
(Equivalent: 2 cups of delicious vegan butter).
Rating 
 
5.0
June Reviewed by June July 28, 2013
Last updated: September 02, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Vegan Butter

Compliments of: Mattie
at Veganbaking.net
http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/735-vegan-butter#.UfTxu-AkOxI

Vegan Butter (June's version)
(Mattie's original recipe with a few changes)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 t. fresh lemon juice
1 t. sea salt
1 t. agar agar powder
1 cup "refined" coconut oil
("Spectrum" is best if available)
1 T. organic walnut, sunflower or safflower oil
1 t. liquid sunflower or soy lecithin
or (2 t. sunflower or soy lecithin granules)

Directions:

Place the soy milk, lemon juice, agar agar and salt in the food processor and mix to emulsify.
Let mixture set to thicken for about 2 minutes.

Add the "refined" coconut oil, choice of organic oil and lecithin. Process for 3 minutes, scraping down the sides to thoroughly mix. Pour the mixture into a covered dish and place it in the refrigerator to solidify (about 10 minutes). Store the butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 months or freezer for up to one year.
(Equivalent: 2 cups of delicious vegan butter).

Was this review helpful to you? 
"This hydrogenation process alters the fat structure which also happens to create compounds called triglycerides that are highly toxic to the body. Toxic to the point of where finding local, sustainably raised real butter would ironically probably be a better pseudo-vegan alternative in the grand scheme of things."

Somebody has probably brought this up by now, but your story about triglycerides is total bull****. 'Triglyceride' is just another name for all kinds of fat and/or oil; which is a glycerol molecule which has three fatty acid groups attached to it via ester bonds. These fatty acids can be saturated ('solid' fat), unsaturated (oil) or hydrogenated (oily stuff that's been altered to become solid through a simple process).
Reviewed by WW July 23, 2013

"This hydrogenation process alters the fat structure which also happens to create compounds called triglycerides that are highly toxic to the body. Toxic to the point of where finding local, sustainably raised real butter would ironically probably be a better pseudo-vegan alternative in the grand scheme of things."

Somebody has probably brought this up by now, but your story about triglycerides is total bull****. 'Triglyceride' is just another name for all kinds of fat and/or oil; which is a glycerol molecule which has three fatty acid groups attached to it via ester bonds. These fatty acids can be saturated ('solid' fat), unsaturated (oil) or hydrogenated (oily stuff that's been altered to become solid through a simple process).

Owner's reply

Thanks for catching this WW! I meant to say "trans fatty acids" instead of triglycerides. Triglyceride is just a fancy name for fat and they're totally natural and essential to have in the body in normal amounts. I've corrected the article. Thanks again for helping me be as accurate as possible!

Was this review helpful to you? 
About one year ago, I posted a review on your fantastic recipe for Vegan Butter. I would like to post your Vegan Butter recipe again with my alternative method as I finally have tried everything possible to make it perfect for all my taste testers (family and friends), and this is the one vegan butter recipe all agree is fantastic! Blessings...

Vegan Butter
(Mattie's original recipe with a few changes)

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoons agar agar powder
1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons "refined" coconut oil
("Spectrum" is best if available)
1 Tablespoon organic sunflower or safflower oil
2 teaspoons sunflower or soy lecithin granules
(or liquid sunflower or soy lecithin)

1) Place the soy milk, lemon juice, agar agar and salt in the food processor and mix to emulsify. Let mixture set to thicken for about
2 minutes.

2) Add the "refined" coconut oil, sunflower oil and lecithin. Process for 3 minutes, scraping down the sides to thoroughly mix. Pour the mixture into a covered mold and place it in the freezer for 15 minutes to solidify. Store butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 months or freeze in airtight container for up to one year. (Equivalent: 1 cup of vegan butter)
Reviewed by June Taylor July 16, 2013

Vegan Butter

About one year ago, I posted a review on your fantastic recipe for Vegan Butter. I would like to post your Vegan Butter recipe again with my alternative method as I finally have tried everything possible to make it perfect for all my taste testers (family and friends), and this is the one vegan butter recipe all agree is fantastic! Blessings...

Vegan Butter
(Mattie's original recipe with a few changes)

1/2 cup organic unsweetened soy milk
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoons agar agar powder
1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons "refined" coconut oil
("Spectrum" is best if available)
1 Tablespoon organic sunflower or safflower oil
2 teaspoons sunflower or soy lecithin granules
(or liquid sunflower or soy lecithin)

1) Place the soy milk, lemon juice, agar agar and salt in the food processor and mix to emulsify. Let mixture set to thicken for about
2 minutes.

2) Add the "refined" coconut oil, sunflower oil and lecithin. Process for 3 minutes, scraping down the sides to thoroughly mix. Pour the mixture into a covered mold and place it in the freezer for 15 minutes to solidify. Store butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 months or freeze in airtight container for up to one year. (Equivalent: 1 cup of vegan butter)

Owner's reply

Great recipe June! Do you have a picture of it? If you can get one then I'd love it if you could submit it and we could make this into your own recipe listing on Veganbaking.net. I love the use of agar and lemon juice. I can't wait to try this. Well done and thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
(Please delete my previous comment which wrongly lumps coconut oil with other vegetable oils.)

Since 2007 it has become common knowledge that omega-6 oils are the principle cause in the US of exploding obesity, heart disease, arthritis and some cancers. In 1900 people ate omega-6 oils in the relationship to omega-3 oils of 2:1. Today it is 16:1.

Coconut oil is about the safest of the vegetable oils. Here is a table from the NIH showing
the omega-6 content for 1 tbs of oil:

coconut 245 mg/tbs
sunflower 505-2957 (depending on type)
safflower 616
palm 1238
soybean 5465
cottonseed 7004
corn 7888
poppy seed 8486

It appears from NIH data that coconut oil is the safest of all the vegetable oils, except for an oil called perilla oil, which is not in common use here, which means coconut oil is the oil of choice.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by oldtech July 09, 2013

Coconut Oil Safest of All Oils

(Please delete my previous comment which wrongly lumps coconut oil with other vegetable oils.)

Since 2007 it has become common knowledge that omega-6 oils are the principle cause in the US of exploding obesity, heart disease, arthritis and some cancers. In 1900 people ate omega-6 oils in the relationship to omega-3 oils of 2:1. Today it is 16:1.

Coconut oil is about the safest of the vegetable oils. Here is a table from the NIH showing
the omega-6 content for 1 tbs of oil:

coconut 245 mg/tbs
sunflower 505-2957 (depending on type)
safflower 616
palm 1238
soybean 5465
cottonseed 7004
corn 7888
poppy seed 8486

It appears from NIH data that coconut oil is the safest of all the vegetable oils, except for an oil called perilla oil, which is not in common use here, which means coconut oil is the oil of choice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is the OLNY butter recipe we make or use and I can't sing it's praises loud enough! There is no reason to look further once you try this one.
Rating 
 
5.0
svmartin Reviewed by svmartin July 06, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Regular Vegan Butter

This is the OLNY butter recipe we make or use and I can't sing it's praises loud enough! There is no reason to look further once you try this one.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much svmartin! I'm so happy the Vegan Butter worked out for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you so much for this recipe! My sister and I made it last night after researching all the problems with palm oil. Not only is this a great substitute for Earth Balance, in my opinion it tastes ten times better! Your scientific research and culinary creativity constructed a masterpiece!
Rating 
 
5.0
Tessa A-A Reviewed by Tessa A-A June 23, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Revolutionary Butter!

Thank you so much for this recipe! My sister and I made it last night after researching all the problems with palm oil. Not only is this a great substitute for Earth Balance, in my opinion it tastes ten times better! Your scientific research and culinary creativity constructed a masterpiece!

Owner's reply

Thanks and so glad the Vegan Butter worked out for you TessaA-A!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Ah-MAH-zing
Rating 
 
5.0
mrscalhoun Reviewed by mrscalhoun June 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Ah-MAH-zing

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've never made my own vegan butter before but I like how much cheaper and easily customizable it seems to be. I'm trying not to consume too much soy and was wondering if you could possibly tell me if you think this sunflower lecithin would work for this recipe. I've never used any lecithin before and I want to make sure I get the right thing.
http://www.mysunflowerlecithin.com/all-natural-liquid-sunflower-lecithin/
Reviewed by Melissa June 14, 2013

I've never made my own vegan butter before but I like how much cheaper and easily customizable it seems to be. I'm trying not to consume too much soy and was wondering if you could possibly tell me if you think this sunflower lecithin would work for this recipe. I've never used any lecithin before and I want to make sure I get the right thing.
http://www.mysunflowerlecithin.com/all-natural-liquid-sunflower-lecithin/

Owner's reply

Hi Melissa! That and any other sunflower lecithin should work fine in this recipe. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
220 results - showing 46 - 60
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 » 
Ordering