Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (141)
55
246 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... » 
Ordering 
 
As a former carnivore, the only 2 things that I've missed since making the change to a vegan diet are butter & bacon. While I've made peace with the fact that there will never be a satisfying substitute for bacon, I wasn't ready to give up on finding a better alternative than the hydrogenated frankenbutters on the market. I am absolutely over the moon for this amazing guilt-free vegan butter. The ingredients were easy to find, the recipe was simple to follow, and the result is delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, only adding a little extra salt (unrepentant saltaholic) The taste and texture is so much like "real" dairy butter. Thank you so much for sharing! Love, love, love it.
Rating 
 
5.0

I can't believe it's not dairy!

As a former carnivore, the only 2 things that I've missed since making the change to a vegan diet are butter & bacon. While I've made peace with the fact that there will never be a satisfying substitute for bacon, I wasn't ready to give up on finding a better alternative than the hydrogenated frankenbutters on the market. I am absolutely over the moon for this amazing guilt-free vegan butter. The ingredients were easy to find, the recipe was simple to follow, and the result is delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, only adding a little extra salt (unrepentant saltaholic) The taste and texture is so much like "real" dairy butter. Thank you so much for sharing! Love, love, love it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can you replace the soy milk with almond or rice milk?
Reviewed by Catherine March 06, 2014

Can you replace the soy milk with almond or rice milk?

Owner's reply

Hi Catherine! I go over the viability of using different non-dairy milks in the article. Almond or rice milk is not recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made your coconut vegan butter and it is the most delicious thing ever. In fact, I love it more than real butter. I was so surprised, it even has the sour notes of cow butter. I didn't have a silicone ice cube tray, but I did have some little foil muffin cups and I used those to mold the butter. I have a question...do you have a good source for refined/deodorized coconut oil? I'm having a hard time finding it anywhere as it seems to be frowned upon because it's processed. I really want to make a savory butter. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by nicole March 02, 2014

Loving your butters!

I made your coconut vegan butter and it is the most delicious thing ever. In fact, I love it more than real butter. I was so surprised, it even has the sour notes of cow butter. I didn't have a silicone ice cube tray, but I did have some little foil muffin cups and I used those to mold the butter. I have a question...do you have a good source for refined/deodorized coconut oil? I'm having a hard time finding it anywhere as it seems to be frowned upon because it's processed. I really want to make a savory butter. Thanks!

Owner's reply

So glad you're loving the vegan butters nicole! I use Spectrum brand refined coconut oil. It's hard to find so I always end up buying it whenever I see it at the health food store when I see it, whether I need it or not. Spectrum should distribute throughout the US. You can always order it online too.

I'm probably "preaching to the choir", but I don't believe refined, aka deodorized coconut is detrimental to health. I think many people have issues with anything that uses the word "refined". It's my understanding that the oil is passed through a filter to remove the flavor and aroma compounds. On the molecular level the oil is still intact and not degraded. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi, thanks so much for this wonderful recipe and your detailed explanations. I'm wondering will I be able to achieve the same outcome as the original recipe if certain were substituted? For example will Flax oil work instead of the oils you have listed, and instead of using lecithin will psyllium work to achieve the same consistency; as this too is an emulsifier?
Reviewed by Mariley_224 February 26, 2014

Substitutes?

Hi, thanks so much for this wonderful recipe and your detailed explanations. I'm wondering will I be able to achieve the same outcome as the original recipe if certain were substituted? For example will Flax oil work instead of the oils you have listed, and instead of using lecithin will psyllium work to achieve the same consistency; as this too is an emulsifier?

Owner's reply

Hi Mariley! Flax oil definitely won't work because it solidifies at a different temperature. It also has a considerable off-flavor that would likely clash with butter flavors. Other commenters have had luck with psyllium husks, although I don't believe it's an emulsifier. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Thanks for this recipe. I find the vegan margarine here in Norway revolting and also don't think it is a product that is very healthy to use (hydrogenated fat). I make a soft 'margarine' that is suitable for spreading but I wanted something I could bake with where oil wasn't suitable. My biscuits and shortbread were lovely using this 'butter'.
I had to tweak the recipe a bit as some of the ingredients are not readily available here. I used ground flax seeds instead of xantham gum and soy lecithin powder. I'm surprised something like this isn't produced commercially.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Josephine Austin February 19, 2014

Excellent!

Thanks for this recipe. I find the vegan margarine here in Norway revolting and also don't think it is a product that is very healthy to use (hydrogenated fat). I make a soft 'margarine' that is suitable for spreading but I wanted something I could bake with where oil wasn't suitable. My biscuits and shortbread were lovely using this 'butter'.
I had to tweak the recipe a bit as some of the ingredients are not readily available here. I used ground flax seeds instead of xantham gum and soy lecithin powder. I'm surprised something like this isn't produced commercially.

Owner's reply

So glad you're enjoying the Vegan Butter Josephine! Glad the ground flax seeds worked for you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love the idea of making my own butter. However, my son just recently tested as having an allergy to casein AND soy! What other lecithins, milks, etc can I use in place of all the soy?
Hdepaulo Reviewed by Hdepaulo February 16, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

What if you can't use soy?

I love the idea of making my own butter. However, my son just recently tested as having an allergy to casein AND soy! What other lecithins, milks, etc can I use in place of all the soy?

Owner's reply

No problem Hdepaulo! I have a Banana Vegan Butter here that's soy-free: http://www.veganbaking.net/recipes/fats/vegan-butters/banana-vegan-butter
You could also substitute the soy milk for another soy-free non-dairy milk in this Regular Vegan Butter. The flavor won't be as buttery but it'll still work. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow, this is great. I really appreciate this recipe for making home made vegan butter. I am interested in trying but have some concerns. First off Xantham Gum is derived from GMO crops, and it is impossible to find organic. Another reviewer recommended guar gum which is an interesting recommendation, but I have read that it is used in fracking. So ethically, I would prefer another alternative, although there is no actual health risk associated with guar gum (at least less of one than xanthan gum). Secondly, are there any alternatives to soy lecithin? As soy is predominantly a GMO crop, I do not want to consume any soy products that are not certified organic. I know you give an alternative of sunflower lecithin, but I have never used sunflower in cooking, and am not knowledgeable enough about it's effects on health or the environment to use this. Any safe alternatives?
Yume Reviewed by Yume February 13, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Soy lecithin

Wow, this is great. I really appreciate this recipe for making home made vegan butter. I am interested in trying but have some concerns. First off Xantham Gum is derived from GMO crops, and it is impossible to find organic. Another reviewer recommended guar gum which is an interesting recommendation, but I have read that it is used in fracking. So ethically, I would prefer another alternative, although there is no actual health risk associated with guar gum (at least less of one than xanthan gum). Secondly, are there any alternatives to soy lecithin? As soy is predominantly a GMO crop, I do not want to consume any soy products that are not certified organic. I know you give an alternative of sunflower lecithin, but I have never used sunflower in cooking, and am not knowledgeable enough about it's effects on health or the environment to use this. Any safe alternatives?

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is a baker's delight. My vegan, gluten free son has a bad reaction to Earth Balance. Although this doesn't have much taste at all (4/5 stars), it works well in recipes that call for butter ( Jules gluten free biscuits and cookies in particular). He uses it in potatoes as a spread. Yesterday, I quadrupled the recipe to have plenty on hand.
@Robyn, I also use the soy granules, and they are visible but don't seem to affect the texture at all. Yesterday, I ran them through a coffee grinder which did "powder" them, but still noticeable in the butter.
Rating 
 
4.0
AnneR Reviewed by AnneR February 10, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Great!

This is a baker's delight. My vegan, gluten free son has a bad reaction to Earth Balance. Although this doesn't have much taste at all (4/5 stars), it works well in recipes that call for butter ( Jules gluten free biscuits and cookies in particular). He uses it in potatoes as a spread. Yesterday, I quadrupled the recipe to have plenty on hand.
@Robyn, I also use the soy granules, and they are visible but don't seem to affect the texture at all. Yesterday, I ran them through a coffee grinder which did "powder" them, but still noticeable in the butter.

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter works well for you AnneR! I have some other varieties at http://www.veganbaking.net/recipes/fats/vegan-butters that have different flavor profiles. I recommend Cultured European Style Vegan Butter if you prefer an additional complex buttery kick. Thanks for the great tip on making the soy lecithin granules smaller for more effective dissolving!

Was this review helpful to you? 

The mixed ingredients (the prepared ingredients before putting into the freezer) actually tasted like sour cream. I had to use a less than half a cup (roughly 1/4 to 3/8 of a cup) of coconut oil as I just ran out in preparing this.

I could add some honey or stevia to make this more like sweet cream butter!

I substituted used psyllium seed husk for the soy lecithin and in the place of the xanthan gum, I used 1 tbsp chia seed and 1 tsbp flax meal with 2 tbsp boiling water

Rating 
 
5.0
justin-goldberg Reviewed by justin-goldberg February 08, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This recipe is great.


The mixed ingredients (the prepared ingredients before putting into the freezer) actually tasted like sour cream. I had to use a less than half a cup (roughly 1/4 to 3/8 of a cup) of coconut oil as I just ran out in preparing this.

I could add some honey or stevia to make this more like sweet cream butter!

I substituted used psyllium seed husk for the soy lecithin and in the place of the xanthan gum, I used 1 tbsp chia seed and 1 tsbp flax meal with 2 tbsp boiling water

Owner's reply

Psyllium husks and chia seeds sound like a great Vegan Butter variation Justin. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie!

I tried out this recipe today for the first time, I'm new to vegan baking and I am so stoked that there is a way to make your own vegan butter!

It worked brilliantly, the only thing that went wrong was that the soya lecithin granules didn't dissolve completely when processing in the food processor, so I ended up with little yellow specs in my butter...

Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I could try to avoid that problem? I don't think I can get hold of liquid soya lecithin here in South Africa...

Thanks in advance and thanks again for your awesome recipes! :)

Robyn xxx
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Robyn February 03, 2014

Soya Lecithin Granules

Hi Mattie!

I tried out this recipe today for the first time, I'm new to vegan baking and I am so stoked that there is a way to make your own vegan butter!

It worked brilliantly, the only thing that went wrong was that the soya lecithin granules didn't dissolve completely when processing in the food processor, so I ended up with little yellow specs in my butter...

Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I could try to avoid that problem? I don't think I can get hold of liquid soya lecithin here in South Africa...

Thanks in advance and thanks again for your awesome recipes! :)

Robyn xxx

Owner's reply

Hi Robyn! The soy lecithin granule flecks has been an issue with some of the other commenters here as well. I've tried to recreate the problem but I haven't been able to because I believe the soy lecithin granules I use, which are Bob's Red Mill, dissolve more easily.

Please try increasing the time the mixture mixes in the food processor. I would imagine that after a few minutes of processing they should be well dissolved. If not, try heating the mixture in a saucepan until very warm, but not hot. Then try processing as normal until the soy lecithin granules are dissolved. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hey Mattie
I was looking for a vegan palm-oil free margarine which cannot be found anywhere around here in Switzerland - and then I fell in love with your recipe.
As I was too lazy to get some xanthan I just tried it without this magical ingredient - and it woked so well already I'm now a frequent coconut-oil buyer in my shop around the corner.
So I think I should get a box full of the xanthanian wonder and go ahead in buttering =)
Thank you so much!
Do you think this can be used if something like melted butter is required, e.g. for cinnamon rolls?

Best from Switzerland!
Rating 
 
5.0
PeteTheBird Reviewed by PeteTheBird February 03, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I think I love you

Hey Mattie
I was looking for a vegan palm-oil free margarine which cannot be found anywhere around here in Switzerland - and then I fell in love with your recipe.
As I was too lazy to get some xanthan I just tried it without this magical ingredient - and it woked so well already I'm now a frequent coconut-oil buyer in my shop around the corner.
So I think I should get a box full of the xanthanian wonder and go ahead in buttering =)
Thank you so much!
Do you think this can be used if something like melted butter is required, e.g. for cinnamon rolls?

Best from Switzerland!

Owner's reply

So glad you like the Vegan Butter PeteTheBird! Yes, Vegan Butter is designed to be used almost exclusively as a drop-in replacement for traditional dairy butter in vegan baking applications. So it should work great in cinnamon rolls.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I LOVE this recipe the only thing that would make it even better is to have all the ingredients in ounces or grams rather than cups and spoons, is this possible? Many thanks!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ayesha January 28, 2014

ingrediants in weight measurements?

I LOVE this recipe the only thing that would make it even better is to have all the ingredients in ounces or grams rather than cups and spoons, is this possible? Many thanks!!!

Owner's reply

I feel your pain Ayesha! I'm planning to add gram weight equivalents to my recipes in the future. The only problem is that its an extremely time-intensive project!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks so much for this; I am really looking forward to trying! And was just about to order the mold you suggest, but I am wondering how to measure for baking? Does the size of the cubes compare well to standard butter molds? Thanks so much!
lilly38 Reviewed by lilly38 January 18, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Excited to try!

Thanks so much for this; I am really looking forward to trying! And was just about to order the mold you suggest, but I am wondering how to measure for baking? Does the size of the cubes compare well to standard butter molds? Thanks so much!

Owner's reply

Great Vegan Butter questions lilly38! This recipe makes 1 cup, which is about 215 grams, which is equivalent to 2 sticks of butter. When recipes call for butter by volume, I'll melt the butter and measure it in measuring spoons or measuring cups. When recipes call for, say, an unmelted stick, I'll weigh half of the 215 grams, which is about 108 grams.

I recommend buying a scale if you don't have one already. Weighing will make sure you hit your mark every time and don't waste time or precious ingredients. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
follow up comment on my previous question. i used soya lecethin granules which i bought from health store. i also found the xanthan gum in the same store. tried to do it again with all the ingredient posted above. but still oil and water separated every time i take it out from the fridge.
Reviewed by Don January 13, 2014

follow up comment on my previous question. i used soya lecethin granules which i bought from health store. i also found the xanthan gum in the same store. tried to do it again with all the ingredient posted above. but still oil and water separated every time i take it out from the fridge.

Owner's reply

Hi Don, don't forget to put the Vegan Butter in the freezer for solidification. Placing it in the refrigerator will cause the fats and water to separate before the whole thing gets a chance to solidify. It's extremely important that the mixture freezes as quickly as possible. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just tried making this and it is fairly easy, but the end result for me was too much cider vinegar and not enough salt. Next time I'll try reducing the cider and a tiny bit more salt.

Question - I'd like to try making an Olive Oil spread - do you think substituting the sunflower oil for Extra Virgin Olive Oil would work?

Thanks!
jonesian Reviewed by jonesian January 09, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Just tried making this and it is fairly easy, but the end result for me was too much cider vinegar and not enough salt. Next time I'll try reducing the cider and a tiny bit more salt.

Question - I'd like to try making an Olive Oil spread - do you think substituting the sunflower oil for Extra Virgin Olive Oil would work?

Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi jonesian, My taste isn't as sensitive to acid as other people's so I find the acid balance to be about right for me. Feel free to reduce it if it registers too strongly on your palate. Regarding the salt, this Vegan Butter is designed to be a replacement for traditional butter used for baking, hence the low salt. Adding more salt to this recipe would skew recipes with too much salt when used for a drop-in replacement for traditional dairy butter.

If you'd like something more suitable for non-baking applications, feel free to increase the salt to increase savoriness, and increase the liquid fat (canola oil, olive oil, etc) and decrease the coconut oil which will make it softer and more spreadable. You might want to try using 2 Tablespoons more liquid oil and 2 Tablespoons less coconut oil.

I'm actually going to start working on a dedicated soft, spreadable not-for-baking butter soon so stay tuned. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
246 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... » 
Ordering