Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
54
242 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 » 
Ordering 
 
Thanks for this recipe. I find the vegan margarine here in Norway revolting and also don't think it is a product that is very healthy to use (hydrogenated fat). I make a soft 'margarine' that is suitable for spreading but I wanted something I could bake with where oil wasn't suitable. My biscuits and shortbread were lovely using this 'butter'.
I had to tweak the recipe a bit as some of the ingredients are not readily available here. I used ground flax seeds instead of xantham gum and soy lecithin powder. I'm surprised something like this isn't produced commercially.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Josephine Austin February 19, 2014

Excellent!

Thanks for this recipe. I find the vegan margarine here in Norway revolting and also don't think it is a product that is very healthy to use (hydrogenated fat). I make a soft 'margarine' that is suitable for spreading but I wanted something I could bake with where oil wasn't suitable. My biscuits and shortbread were lovely using this 'butter'.
I had to tweak the recipe a bit as some of the ingredients are not readily available here. I used ground flax seeds instead of xantham gum and soy lecithin powder. I'm surprised something like this isn't produced commercially.

Owner's reply

So glad you're enjoying the Vegan Butter Josephine! Glad the ground flax seeds worked for you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love the idea of making my own butter. However, my son just recently tested as having an allergy to casein AND soy! What other lecithins, milks, etc can I use in place of all the soy?
Hdepaulo Reviewed by Hdepaulo February 16, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

What if you can't use soy?

I love the idea of making my own butter. However, my son just recently tested as having an allergy to casein AND soy! What other lecithins, milks, etc can I use in place of all the soy?

Owner's reply

No problem Hdepaulo! I have a Banana Vegan Butter here that's soy-free: http://www.veganbaking.net/recipes/fats/vegan-butters/banana-vegan-butter
You could also substitute the soy milk for another soy-free non-dairy milk in this Regular Vegan Butter. The flavor won't be as buttery but it'll still work. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow, this is great. I really appreciate this recipe for making home made vegan butter. I am interested in trying but have some concerns. First off Xantham Gum is derived from GMO crops, and it is impossible to find organic. Another reviewer recommended guar gum which is an interesting recommendation, but I have read that it is used in fracking. So ethically, I would prefer another alternative, although there is no actual health risk associated with guar gum (at least less of one than xanthan gum). Secondly, are there any alternatives to soy lecithin? As soy is predominantly a GMO crop, I do not want to consume any soy products that are not certified organic. I know you give an alternative of sunflower lecithin, but I have never used sunflower in cooking, and am not knowledgeable enough about it's effects on health or the environment to use this. Any safe alternatives?
Yume Reviewed by Yume February 13, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Soy lecithin

Wow, this is great. I really appreciate this recipe for making home made vegan butter. I am interested in trying but have some concerns. First off Xantham Gum is derived from GMO crops, and it is impossible to find organic. Another reviewer recommended guar gum which is an interesting recommendation, but I have read that it is used in fracking. So ethically, I would prefer another alternative, although there is no actual health risk associated with guar gum (at least less of one than xanthan gum). Secondly, are there any alternatives to soy lecithin? As soy is predominantly a GMO crop, I do not want to consume any soy products that are not certified organic. I know you give an alternative of sunflower lecithin, but I have never used sunflower in cooking, and am not knowledgeable enough about it's effects on health or the environment to use this. Any safe alternatives?

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is a baker's delight. My vegan, gluten free son has a bad reaction to Earth Balance. Although this doesn't have much taste at all (4/5 stars), it works well in recipes that call for butter ( Jules gluten free biscuits and cookies in particular). He uses it in potatoes as a spread. Yesterday, I quadrupled the recipe to have plenty on hand.
@Robyn, I also use the soy granules, and they are visible but don't seem to affect the texture at all. Yesterday, I ran them through a coffee grinder which did "powder" them, but still noticeable in the butter.
Rating 
 
4.0
AnneR Reviewed by AnneR February 10, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Great!

This is a baker's delight. My vegan, gluten free son has a bad reaction to Earth Balance. Although this doesn't have much taste at all (4/5 stars), it works well in recipes that call for butter ( Jules gluten free biscuits and cookies in particular). He uses it in potatoes as a spread. Yesterday, I quadrupled the recipe to have plenty on hand.
@Robyn, I also use the soy granules, and they are visible but don't seem to affect the texture at all. Yesterday, I ran them through a coffee grinder which did "powder" them, but still noticeable in the butter.

Owner's reply

So glad the Vegan Butter works well for you AnneR! I have some other varieties at http://www.veganbaking.net/recipes/fats/vegan-butters that have different flavor profiles. I recommend Cultured European Style Vegan Butter if you prefer an additional complex buttery kick. Thanks for the great tip on making the soy lecithin granules smaller for more effective dissolving!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}

The mixed ingredients (the prepared ingredients before putting into the freezer) actually tasted like sour cream. I had to use a less than half a cup (roughly 1/4 to 3/8 of a cup) of coconut oil as I just ran out in preparing this.

I could add some honey or stevia to make this more like sweet cream butter!

I substituted used psyllium seed husk for the soy lecithin and in the place of the xanthan gum, I used 1 tbsp chia seed and 1 tsbp flax meal with 2 tbsp boiling water

Rating 
 
5.0
justin-goldberg Reviewed by justin-goldberg February 08, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

This recipe is great.


The mixed ingredients (the prepared ingredients before putting into the freezer) actually tasted like sour cream. I had to use a less than half a cup (roughly 1/4 to 3/8 of a cup) of coconut oil as I just ran out in preparing this.

I could add some honey or stevia to make this more like sweet cream butter!

I substituted used psyllium seed husk for the soy lecithin and in the place of the xanthan gum, I used 1 tbsp chia seed and 1 tsbp flax meal with 2 tbsp boiling water

Owner's reply

Psyllium husks and chia seeds sound like a great Vegan Butter variation Justin. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie!

I tried out this recipe today for the first time, I'm new to vegan baking and I am so stoked that there is a way to make your own vegan butter!

It worked brilliantly, the only thing that went wrong was that the soya lecithin granules didn't dissolve completely when processing in the food processor, so I ended up with little yellow specs in my butter...

Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I could try to avoid that problem? I don't think I can get hold of liquid soya lecithin here in South Africa...

Thanks in advance and thanks again for your awesome recipes! :)

Robyn xxx
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Robyn February 03, 2014

Soya Lecithin Granules

Hi Mattie!

I tried out this recipe today for the first time, I'm new to vegan baking and I am so stoked that there is a way to make your own vegan butter!

It worked brilliantly, the only thing that went wrong was that the soya lecithin granules didn't dissolve completely when processing in the food processor, so I ended up with little yellow specs in my butter...

Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I could try to avoid that problem? I don't think I can get hold of liquid soya lecithin here in South Africa...

Thanks in advance and thanks again for your awesome recipes! :)

Robyn xxx

Owner's reply

Hi Robyn! The soy lecithin granule flecks has been an issue with some of the other commenters here as well. I've tried to recreate the problem but I haven't been able to because I believe the soy lecithin granules I use, which are Bob's Red Mill, dissolve more easily.

Please try increasing the time the mixture mixes in the food processor. I would imagine that after a few minutes of processing they should be well dissolved. If not, try heating the mixture in a saucepan until very warm, but not hot. Then try processing as normal until the soy lecithin granules are dissolved. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hey Mattie
I was looking for a vegan palm-oil free margarine which cannot be found anywhere around here in Switzerland - and then I fell in love with your recipe.
As I was too lazy to get some xanthan I just tried it without this magical ingredient - and it woked so well already I'm now a frequent coconut-oil buyer in my shop around the corner.
So I think I should get a box full of the xanthanian wonder and go ahead in buttering =)
Thank you so much!
Do you think this can be used if something like melted butter is required, e.g. for cinnamon rolls?

Best from Switzerland!
Rating 
 
5.0
PeteTheBird Reviewed by PeteTheBird February 03, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I think I love you

Hey Mattie
I was looking for a vegan palm-oil free margarine which cannot be found anywhere around here in Switzerland - and then I fell in love with your recipe.
As I was too lazy to get some xanthan I just tried it without this magical ingredient - and it woked so well already I'm now a frequent coconut-oil buyer in my shop around the corner.
So I think I should get a box full of the xanthanian wonder and go ahead in buttering =)
Thank you so much!
Do you think this can be used if something like melted butter is required, e.g. for cinnamon rolls?

Best from Switzerland!

Owner's reply

So glad you like the Vegan Butter PeteTheBird! Yes, Vegan Butter is designed to be used almost exclusively as a drop-in replacement for traditional dairy butter in vegan baking applications. So it should work great in cinnamon rolls.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I LOVE this recipe the only thing that would make it even better is to have all the ingredients in ounces or grams rather than cups and spoons, is this possible? Many thanks!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ayesha January 28, 2014

ingrediants in weight measurements?

I LOVE this recipe the only thing that would make it even better is to have all the ingredients in ounces or grams rather than cups and spoons, is this possible? Many thanks!!!

Owner's reply

I feel your pain Ayesha! I'm planning to add gram weight equivalents to my recipes in the future. The only problem is that its an extremely time-intensive project!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks so much for this; I am really looking forward to trying! And was just about to order the mold you suggest, but I am wondering how to measure for baking? Does the size of the cubes compare well to standard butter molds? Thanks so much!
lilly38 Reviewed by lilly38 January 18, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Excited to try!

Thanks so much for this; I am really looking forward to trying! And was just about to order the mold you suggest, but I am wondering how to measure for baking? Does the size of the cubes compare well to standard butter molds? Thanks so much!

Owner's reply

Great Vegan Butter questions lilly38! This recipe makes 1 cup, which is about 215 grams, which is equivalent to 2 sticks of butter. When recipes call for butter by volume, I'll melt the butter and measure it in measuring spoons or measuring cups. When recipes call for, say, an unmelted stick, I'll weigh half of the 215 grams, which is about 108 grams.

I recommend buying a scale if you don't have one already. Weighing will make sure you hit your mark every time and don't waste time or precious ingredients. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
follow up comment on my previous question. i used soya lecethin granules which i bought from health store. i also found the xanthan gum in the same store. tried to do it again with all the ingredient posted above. but still oil and water separated every time i take it out from the fridge.
Reviewed by Don January 13, 2014

follow up comment on my previous question. i used soya lecethin granules which i bought from health store. i also found the xanthan gum in the same store. tried to do it again with all the ingredient posted above. but still oil and water separated every time i take it out from the fridge.

Owner's reply

Hi Don, don't forget to put the Vegan Butter in the freezer for solidification. Placing it in the refrigerator will cause the fats and water to separate before the whole thing gets a chance to solidify. It's extremely important that the mixture freezes as quickly as possible. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Just tried making this and it is fairly easy, but the end result for me was too much cider vinegar and not enough salt. Next time I'll try reducing the cider and a tiny bit more salt.

Question - I'd like to try making an Olive Oil spread - do you think substituting the sunflower oil for Extra Virgin Olive Oil would work?

Thanks!
jonesian Reviewed by jonesian January 09, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Just tried making this and it is fairly easy, but the end result for me was too much cider vinegar and not enough salt. Next time I'll try reducing the cider and a tiny bit more salt.

Question - I'd like to try making an Olive Oil spread - do you think substituting the sunflower oil for Extra Virgin Olive Oil would work?

Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi jonesian, My taste isn't as sensitive to acid as other people's so I find the acid balance to be about right for me. Feel free to reduce it if it registers too strongly on your palate. Regarding the salt, this Vegan Butter is designed to be a replacement for traditional butter used for baking, hence the low salt. Adding more salt to this recipe would skew recipes with too much salt when used for a drop-in replacement for traditional dairy butter.

If you'd like something more suitable for non-baking applications, feel free to increase the salt to increase savoriness, and increase the liquid fat (canola oil, olive oil, etc) and decrease the coconut oil which will make it softer and more spreadable. You might want to try using 2 Tablespoons more liquid oil and 2 Tablespoons less coconut oil.

I'm actually going to start working on a dedicated soft, spreadable not-for-baking butter soon so stay tuned. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hello,
I have been searching and searching the shops and online for a vegan butter (and shortening) that doesn't contain palm oil, all the while getting more and more hopeless.

I want to bake cookies for animal rescue charities, but I just can't see how morally I can do it, unless all the ingredients in the cookies don't cause harm to animals. Palm oil does directly cause harm to animals. And there's my conundrum!

I've contacted all the major companies in the UK, and they all tell me the same thing. That the palm oil they use is RSPO certified. But the system seems to be flawed, and I don't think what's on offer is good enough.

So I was very happy to come across you recipes for vegan butter and shortening! :)

I've got a couple of questions though, hope you can answer!

1. I've got access to soy milk (6% soy beans, water, apple juice concentrate, and salt) but also soy cream (Water,Sunflower Oil (8.4%) ,Hulled Soya Beans (3.8%) ,Modified Tapioca Starch ,Fructose-Glucose Syrup ,Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids) ,Thickeners (Locust Bean Gum, Carrageenan) ,Flavouring ,Sea Salt ,Antioxidant (Tocopherol-Rich Extract)
Which do you think would yield a more buttery flavour?

2. I noticed you mentioned a few months ago that coconut vinegar gives a more buttery flavour, would you think it is worth purchasing for baking cookies (as it's quite expensive)?

3. Also bit of a silly one, would the fact that the butter/shortening has a short shelf life, effect the shelf life of the end product do you think? I want to make sure I can send the cookies out and not worry about them going moldy too quickly.

And finally. You should definitely start up a vegan butter/shortening company!!! I would be your first overseas customer! :D
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Laura January 07, 2014

So glad to have found this!

Hello,
I have been searching and searching the shops and online for a vegan butter (and shortening) that doesn't contain palm oil, all the while getting more and more hopeless.

I want to bake cookies for animal rescue charities, but I just can't see how morally I can do it, unless all the ingredients in the cookies don't cause harm to animals. Palm oil does directly cause harm to animals. And there's my conundrum!

I've contacted all the major companies in the UK, and they all tell me the same thing. That the palm oil they use is RSPO certified. But the system seems to be flawed, and I don't think what's on offer is good enough.

So I was very happy to come across you recipes for vegan butter and shortening! :)

I've got a couple of questions though, hope you can answer!

1. I've got access to soy milk (6% soy beans, water, apple juice concentrate, and salt) but also soy cream (Water,Sunflower Oil (8.4%) ,Hulled Soya Beans (3.8%) ,Modified Tapioca Starch ,Fructose-Glucose Syrup ,Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids) ,Thickeners (Locust Bean Gum, Carrageenan) ,Flavouring ,Sea Salt ,Antioxidant (Tocopherol-Rich Extract)
Which do you think would yield a more buttery flavour?

2. I noticed you mentioned a few months ago that coconut vinegar gives a more buttery flavour, would you think it is worth purchasing for baking cookies (as it's quite expensive)?

3. Also bit of a silly one, would the fact that the butter/shortening has a short shelf life, effect the shelf life of the end product do you think? I want to make sure I can send the cookies out and not worry about them going moldy too quickly.

And finally. You should definitely start up a vegan butter/shortening company!!! I would be your first overseas customer! :D

Owner's reply

Great Vegan Butter questions Laura! I understand your concern regarding wanting animal friendly ingredients. Here's hoping that coconut oil remains an animal safe ingredient! I'd think that the soy milk would result in tastier vegan butter than the soy cream due to it having more protein that can be denatured by the acid. But who knows! I recommend doing your own test by trying both and seeing which one yields tastier butter. The soy cream might have stuff hidden in that "Flavoring" designation that would make a tastier end product and lead to better butter.

Substituting half coconut vinegar for the apple cider vinegar does yield a slightly better flavor for me, but I don't think it would be worth the extra cost in vegan cookies, unless you were entering a baking competition or something;) Or, say if the coconut vinegar truck broke down near your house and you were able to get a few gallons for free.

The shorter shelf life of the Vegan Butter wouldn't be an issue in a baked product like a cookie because it has enough sugar to deactivate the microbes that cause mold, unless your cookies were ridiculously moist. Cookies usually dry out as they age instead of getting moldy.

I remember seeing someone on the internet a year or so ago marketing an artisanal vegan butter and I was so happy. I'm hoping someone takes it and runs with it! I think it's doable. I need to stay here and run this website though and hopefully come up with other tasty things to help vegan bakers. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm very excited to try this recipe! What type of coconut oil do you use?
DairyfreeBaker Reviewed by DairyfreeBaker January 03, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Coconut Oil

I'm very excited to try this recipe! What type of coconut oil do you use?

Owner's reply

Hi DairyfreeBaker! I usually use Spectrum or Cadia refined coconut oil in my Vegan Butters but so far, I haven't met a coconut oil I didn't like. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Looking forward to trying this.

Some ideas on the mold:
- Might try adding vitamin E to the oil.
- might try using a stainless steel butter enclosure (stainless kills bacteria)
- might spray or dip just the outside with a full-strength Vit C solution saturated with lecithin (so the solution will bond to the outside of the butter). This shouldn't affect the taste of each butter slice.
Rating 
 
5.0
davea0511 Reviewed by davea0511 December 18, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

great article - about the moldy problem

Looking forward to trying this.

Some ideas on the mold:
- Might try adding vitamin E to the oil.
- might try using a stainless steel butter enclosure (stainless kills bacteria)
- might spray or dip just the outside with a full-strength Vit C solution saturated with lecithin (so the solution will bond to the outside of the butter). This shouldn't affect the taste of each butter slice.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the Vegan Butter mold issue ideas davea0511! I'll have to give them a shot. Right now I store my larger batches in the freezer and use one cube at a time in the refrigerator. Good to know that there's some other ideas. I was hoping that ascorbic acid would work in place of the acid but wow does that stuff taste sharply acidic. It's amazing how bluntly the acid jolts you on the tongue. No wonder microbes don't like it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi, Mattie, and thank you for your amazing vegan recipes. I want to make your Vegan Butter but would prefer using homemade soy milk due to GMO issues. Do you make your own or use packaged? I'm asking because packaged non-dairy milks usually contain xanthum gum or some other emulsifier. If you're using packaged and I'm using home made should I add extra xanthum gum or soy lecithin? Your advice is greatly appreciated.
Rating 
 
5.0
shireen Reviewed by shireen December 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Question

Hi, Mattie, and thank you for your amazing vegan recipes. I want to make your Vegan Butter but would prefer using homemade soy milk due to GMO issues. Do you make your own or use packaged? I'm asking because packaged non-dairy milks usually contain xanthum gum or some other emulsifier. If you're using packaged and I'm using home made should I add extra xanthum gum or soy lecithin? Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Owner's reply

Great question shireen! After switching to Edensoy Unsweetened soy milk a few years ago, I can't even think of going back to other brands laced with things like carrageenan, sugar, "natural flavoring" and other weird stuff. I'll just have soy beans and water thanks. I've also been making my own soy milk lately and use it in Vegan Butter often.

I do all of my recipe development with Edensoy Unsweetened but I make sure that when I call for "soy milk" any type of soy milk can be used. The key here is to use soy milk because it contains proteins that denature from the acids, allowing for extra tasty, buttery flavors to be generated. More protein = more denaturing = more buttery goodness. So the short answer is, yes, your Vegan Butter will be even awesomerer with homemade soy milk!

Was this review helpful to you? 
242 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 » 
Ordering