Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (136)
54
238 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering 
 
where can i get liquid soy lecithin
Reviewed by andrea October 18, 2011

where can i get liquid soy lecithin

Owner's reply

Hi Andrea, I just updated the post with a link to where to get liquid soy lecithin online. Look at the soy lecithin hyperlink on the Regular Vegan Butter entry. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can't wait to try this. My husband is going vegan and if I can find tasty alternatives, I probably would too! One question...where do I find soy lethicin and xanthan gum??? Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cristy P October 05, 2011

Where do I find those ingredients?

Can't wait to try this. My husband is going vegan and if I can find tasty alternatives, I probably would too! One question...where do I find soy lethicin and xanthan gum??? Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am allergic to soy and all tree nuts. I could use sunflower lecithin instead of soy, but don't know what to substitute for the soy milk. Any suggestions?
Reviewed by BD October 04, 2011

I am allergic to soy and all tree nuts. I could use sunflower lecithin instead of soy, but don't know what to substitute for the soy milk. Any suggestions?

Owner's reply

Hi BD, Sunflower lecithin will work fine but for a soy substitute I'd recommend a nut milk with a substantial amount of protein. You may be able to get along fine with store-bought almond milk but perhaps homemade nut milk with a bit more solids would work better due to the higher protein content (for curdling and flavor development). I intend to test this with homemade nut milks shortly!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie, here in the UK liquid lecithin is not available, except in 25 kgs lots. Im going to keep up the search and include Europe, meanwhile is there any alternative to the liquid lecithin?
Thanks for your recipe,
Most kind regards,
Prema.
Prema Reviewed by Prema September 29, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Hi Mattie, here in the UK liquid lecithin is not available, except in 25 kgs lots. Im going to keep up the search and include Europe, meanwhile is there any alternative to the liquid lecithin?
Thanks for your recipe,
Most kind regards,
Prema.

Owner's reply

Hi Prema,

There's really no substitute for the lecithin due to its ability to bind water-based ingredients with fats. I recommend buying it online. I've posted a link to where to get it online in the US but perhaps you can also find a suitable place in the UK. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I'm excited to try this recipe! I'm just curious on the fat content of this butter, I know Earth Balance's total fat content is 17% (11 g) for 1 tbsp. If you have an idea I'd love to know!
Reviewed by Frances Love September 26, 2011

Fats

I'm excited to try this recipe! I'm just curious on the fat content of this butter, I know Earth Balance's total fat content is 17% (11 g) for 1 tbsp. If you have an idea I'd love to know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This sounds fantastic:) I admire the scientific approach you've taken in order to produce something that appears to work - can't wait to try it. thank you:)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by christine September 23, 2011

wow!

This sounds fantastic:) I admire the scientific approach you've taken in order to produce something that appears to work - can't wait to try it. thank you:)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb September 22, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

Not Recipe

Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.
Rating 
 
5.0
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb September 21, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

OMG Mattie!!!

OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.

Owner's reply

Hi laurelvb,

Interesting changes you have there! I've been wanting to do a Lemon Vegan Butter version with lemon juice (and maybe lemon extract) so that's great that version worked out for you. I haven't made shortbread with this yet but I so wish I could have a piece of yours! And gluten-free too- awesome. You should submit the recipe to Veganbaking.net. I'd love to showcase it if you're down!

Was this review helpful to you? 

This looks great. I can't wait to try it! Thanks
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Life Currents September 20, 2011

How to Make Vegan Butter


This looks great. I can't wait to try it! Thanks

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is amazing Mattie! I love it, great job. I'll try it soon and write a detailed review for you.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Christine Dickson September 20, 2011

This is Amazing!

This is amazing Mattie! I love it, great job. I'll try it soon and write a detailed review for you.

Owner's reply

Thanks Christine!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
does it have to be canola oil?
Reviewed by Fiona September 19, 2011

Canola Oil?

does it have to be canola oil?

Owner's reply

Hi Fiona, The canola oil portion can be substituted with any type of oil that flows freely at room temperature. This is so the vegan butter is soft and spreadable. I actually just updated the 3 Herbed Vegan Butter to use olive oil in place of canola for improved flavor. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Like I stated in my previous comment (Can't wait!), I knew this would be amazing and it is!! The directions were easy to follow, it froze beautifully and it looks like butter! The only thing is the "vinegary" taste that Liz mentioned, but I plan on trying the cream of tartar you suggested. I'm not so much looking for a butter taste, just something that can act like butter when I veganize my favorite recipes! Again, thank you for this and the other amazing recipes!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sara August 23, 2011

Awesome!

Like I stated in my previous comment (Can't wait!), I knew this would be amazing and it is!! The directions were easy to follow, it froze beautifully and it looks like butter! The only thing is the "vinegary" taste that Liz mentioned, but I plan on trying the cream of tartar you suggested. I'm not so much looking for a butter taste, just something that can act like butter when I veganize my favorite recipes! Again, thank you for this and the other amazing recipes!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
OH.MY.GOODNESS! Thou art a genius!! does the coconut flavour come through strongly on the coconut versions? is that a silly question?
Reviewed by Beth August 21, 2011

OH.MY.GOODNESS! Thou art a genius!! does the coconut flavour come through strongly on the coconut versions? is that a silly question?

Owner's reply

Thanks Beth! Coconut oil is pretty good at driving serious coconut flavor so I'm happy to say, yes! The Coconut Vegan Butter (that uses unrefined coconut oil) has a pretty substantial flavor. I really want to make a coconut shortbread with it. Let me know if you beat me to it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I signed up for an account here just to tell you that you MUST market this... I go out of my way to avoid all products using palm oil, which sadly means no vegan butter since they all have this. Now I will just have to not be lazy and make this myself until you market this! And thank you for putting the word out on the devastation that palm oil production causes-- extinction of the Orangutan :.( Unfortunately, not so many vegans are aware of this.
margaritadream Reviewed by margaritadream August 14, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I signed up for an account here just to tell you that you MUST market this... I go out of my way to avoid all products using palm oil, which sadly means no vegan butter since they all have this. Now I will just have to not be lazy and make this myself until you market this! And thank you for putting the word out on the devastation that palm oil production causes-- extinction of the Orangutan :.( Unfortunately, not so many vegans are aware of this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was just wondering what your personal preference for soymilk is (like, specific brand?). I've had trouble with curdling in the past, and it's making me a little scared to try this spread.
Thanks for the great recipes!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Well August 13, 2011

Re: type of non-dairy milk to use?

I was just wondering what your personal preference for soymilk is (like, specific brand?). I've had trouble with curdling in the past, and it's making me a little scared to try this spread.
Thanks for the great recipes!

Owner's reply

Hi Well,

Curdling power is directly proportional to protein content in a non-dairy milk. That means that Eden Soy will curdle the most because it tends to have the most protein per cup but any soy milk should do. I usually use unsweetened Westsoy exclusively in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
238 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering