Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (134)
53
235 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering 
 
Hi Mattie, here in the UK liquid lecithin is not available, except in 25 kgs lots. Im going to keep up the search and include Europe, meanwhile is there any alternative to the liquid lecithin?
Thanks for your recipe,
Most kind regards,
Prema.
Prema Reviewed by Prema September 29, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Hi Mattie, here in the UK liquid lecithin is not available, except in 25 kgs lots. Im going to keep up the search and include Europe, meanwhile is there any alternative to the liquid lecithin?
Thanks for your recipe,
Most kind regards,
Prema.

Owner's reply

Hi Prema,

There's really no substitute for the lecithin due to its ability to bind water-based ingredients with fats. I recommend buying it online. I've posted a link to where to get it online in the US but perhaps you can also find a suitable place in the UK. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm excited to try this recipe! I'm just curious on the fat content of this butter, I know Earth Balance's total fat content is 17% (11 g) for 1 tbsp. If you have an idea I'd love to know!
Reviewed by Frances Love September 26, 2011

Fats

I'm excited to try this recipe! I'm just curious on the fat content of this butter, I know Earth Balance's total fat content is 17% (11 g) for 1 tbsp. If you have an idea I'd love to know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This sounds fantastic:) I admire the scientific approach you've taken in order to produce something that appears to work - can't wait to try it. thank you:)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by christine September 23, 2011

wow!

This sounds fantastic:) I admire the scientific approach you've taken in order to produce something that appears to work - can't wait to try it. thank you:)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb September 22, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

Not Recipe

Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.
Rating 
 
5.0
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb September 21, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

OMG Mattie!!!

OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.

Owner's reply

Hi laurelvb,

Interesting changes you have there! I've been wanting to do a Lemon Vegan Butter version with lemon juice (and maybe lemon extract) so that's great that version worked out for you. I haven't made shortbread with this yet but I so wish I could have a piece of yours! And gluten-free too- awesome. You should submit the recipe to Veganbaking.net. I'd love to showcase it if you're down!

Was this review helpful to you? 

This looks great. I can't wait to try it! Thanks
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Life Currents September 20, 2011

How to Make Vegan Butter


This looks great. I can't wait to try it! Thanks

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is amazing Mattie! I love it, great job. I'll try it soon and write a detailed review for you.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Christine Dickson September 20, 2011

This is Amazing!

This is amazing Mattie! I love it, great job. I'll try it soon and write a detailed review for you.

Owner's reply

Thanks Christine!

Was this review helpful to you? 
does it have to be canola oil?
Reviewed by Fiona September 19, 2011

Canola Oil?

does it have to be canola oil?

Owner's reply

Hi Fiona, The canola oil portion can be substituted with any type of oil that flows freely at room temperature. This is so the vegan butter is soft and spreadable. I actually just updated the 3 Herbed Vegan Butter to use olive oil in place of canola for improved flavor. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Like I stated in my previous comment (Can't wait!), I knew this would be amazing and it is!! The directions were easy to follow, it froze beautifully and it looks like butter! The only thing is the "vinegary" taste that Liz mentioned, but I plan on trying the cream of tartar you suggested. I'm not so much looking for a butter taste, just something that can act like butter when I veganize my favorite recipes! Again, thank you for this and the other amazing recipes!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sara August 23, 2011

Awesome!

Like I stated in my previous comment (Can't wait!), I knew this would be amazing and it is!! The directions were easy to follow, it froze beautifully and it looks like butter! The only thing is the "vinegary" taste that Liz mentioned, but I plan on trying the cream of tartar you suggested. I'm not so much looking for a butter taste, just something that can act like butter when I veganize my favorite recipes! Again, thank you for this and the other amazing recipes!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
OH.MY.GOODNESS! Thou art a genius!! does the coconut flavour come through strongly on the coconut versions? is that a silly question?
Reviewed by Beth August 21, 2011

OH.MY.GOODNESS! Thou art a genius!! does the coconut flavour come through strongly on the coconut versions? is that a silly question?

Owner's reply

Thanks Beth! Coconut oil is pretty good at driving serious coconut flavor so I'm happy to say, yes! The Coconut Vegan Butter (that uses unrefined coconut oil) has a pretty substantial flavor. I really want to make a coconut shortbread with it. Let me know if you beat me to it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I signed up for an account here just to tell you that you MUST market this... I go out of my way to avoid all products using palm oil, which sadly means no vegan butter since they all have this. Now I will just have to not be lazy and make this myself until you market this! And thank you for putting the word out on the devastation that palm oil production causes-- extinction of the Orangutan :.( Unfortunately, not so many vegans are aware of this.
margaritadream Reviewed by margaritadream August 14, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I signed up for an account here just to tell you that you MUST market this... I go out of my way to avoid all products using palm oil, which sadly means no vegan butter since they all have this. Now I will just have to not be lazy and make this myself until you market this! And thank you for putting the word out on the devastation that palm oil production causes-- extinction of the Orangutan :.( Unfortunately, not so many vegans are aware of this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was just wondering what your personal preference for soymilk is (like, specific brand?). I've had trouble with curdling in the past, and it's making me a little scared to try this spread.
Thanks for the great recipes!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Well August 13, 2011

Re: type of non-dairy milk to use?

I was just wondering what your personal preference for soymilk is (like, specific brand?). I've had trouble with curdling in the past, and it's making me a little scared to try this spread.
Thanks for the great recipes!

Owner's reply

Hi Well,

Curdling power is directly proportional to protein content in a non-dairy milk. That means that Eden Soy will curdle the most because it tends to have the most protein per cup but any soy milk should do. I usually use unsweetened Westsoy exclusively in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, I tried this and I was quite pleased with my results, but I wanted to ask you how to get a more 'buttery' flavor, because my butter tasted a bit too cider vinegary.
Reviewed by liz July 31, 2011

vegan butter

Mattie, I tried this and I was quite pleased with my results, but I wanted to ask you how to get a more 'buttery' flavor, because my butter tasted a bit too cider vinegary.

Owner's reply

Glad you were please with it Liz! You might want to try substituting cream of tartar and see if it produces less vinegary results.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am in love with this recipe and I haven't even made it yet! I found this recipe a couple months ago, while looking for vegan margarine/butter replacements. I have tried Earth Balance and while it is good to saute mushrooms, not so good in my buttercream. I could taste the olive oil and the flax oil, both of which are not appealing in a sweet frosting. So finding this was my "AHHHH" moment! I ordered the lecithin online and it just came, so I am excited to get going on making what I imagine will be nothing short of amazing! Also, I was so impressed with this recipe, even with never trying it, I linked it on my blog! Thanks for this and all the other amazing recipes, truly glad I found this site!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sara July 22, 2011

Can't wait!

I am in love with this recipe and I haven't even made it yet! I found this recipe a couple months ago, while looking for vegan margarine/butter replacements. I have tried Earth Balance and while it is good to saute mushrooms, not so good in my buttercream. I could taste the olive oil and the flax oil, both of which are not appealing in a sweet frosting. So finding this was my "AHHHH" moment! I ordered the lecithin online and it just came, so I am excited to get going on making what I imagine will be nothing short of amazing! Also, I was so impressed with this recipe, even with never trying it, I linked it on my blog! Thanks for this and all the other amazing recipes, truly glad I found this site!!!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the kind works Sara! Hope you got a chance to make it and it turned out. Thanks for linking to it! I just made kimchi butter which I'll post shortly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I haven't even tried this yet but I have real faith in you. I am positive you really ARE a genius and should allow some company to throw scads of money at you.
I have two questions. The almond milk you used. Was it home made or retail. I'd bet I could make some homemade that would curdle or use my favorite MimicCreme since I absolutely cannot do soy.
The other question is why not sunflower lecithin? You can buy it in capsules at the health food store.
Seriously sell this invention. The worst thing about being vegan is the butter substitutes. Well, that and unfermented tofu. Please do not send a posse after me. :))
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Laurelvb July 12, 2011

Holy Crow!

I haven't even tried this yet but I have real faith in you. I am positive you really ARE a genius and should allow some company to throw scads of money at you.
I have two questions. The almond milk you used. Was it home made or retail. I'd bet I could make some homemade that would curdle or use my favorite MimicCreme since I absolutely cannot do soy.
The other question is why not sunflower lecithin? You can buy it in capsules at the health food store.
Seriously sell this invention. The worst thing about being vegan is the butter substitutes. Well, that and unfermented tofu. Please do not send a posse after me. :))

Owner's reply

Hi Laurelvb, Too late! I've already sent the unfermented tofu commercial butter mafia after you! (they wear really nice suits) Attempting to curdle home made almond milk is a brilliant idea. If you made it a little thicker it would likely have enough protein to curdle and might possibly work. Give it a shot and let me know if it curdles! I'll be testing this soon with cashews as well. Hopefully it will end up with a new vegan butter recipe on this post!

As for the lecithin, any type will work. Thanks for the kind words!

Was this review helpful to you? 
235 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering