Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
55
243 results - showing 106 - 120
« 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 » 
Ordering 
 
I'm newbie vegan and I love it! However, I really missed the butter. Have tried various recipes and bought vegan butter in the store, but nothing has worked for me. Searched a few days ago on Google, something like that; "vegan butter tastes like real butter". Then I found the recipe here. I did not believe it could be possible. But when I read all the ecstatic comments here, I just had to try.
And yes, IT REALLY TASTE LIKE BUTTER! I'm so overwhelmed! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe. Of course I have written about it on my blog (and of course linked to the page here)! Skandinavian readers can read it here; http://livsmagasinet.no/vegansk-smor-som-virkelig-smaker-som-mejerismor - and the rest of you can see the pictures. :-D
Rating 
 
5.0
Eva Reviewed by Eva February 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I can't believe it!

I'm newbie vegan and I love it! However, I really missed the butter. Have tried various recipes and bought vegan butter in the store, but nothing has worked for me. Searched a few days ago on Google, something like that; "vegan butter tastes like real butter". Then I found the recipe here. I did not believe it could be possible. But when I read all the ecstatic comments here, I just had to try.
And yes, IT REALLY TASTE LIKE BUTTER! I'm so overwhelmed! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe. Of course I have written about it on my blog (and of course linked to the page here)! Skandinavian readers can read it here; http://livsmagasinet.no/vegansk-smor-som-virkelig-smaker-som-mejerismor - and the rest of you can see the pictures. :-D

Other Info

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you like it Eva! I just read your blog entry with Google Translate;) Well done and thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My family loves this butter. I found the best milk to use is Blue Diamond Coconut Almond...curdels nice and makes the butter have a wonderful creamy taste.
Reviewed by Chris February 02, 2013

My family loves this butter. I found the best milk to use is Blue Diamond Coconut Almond...curdels nice and makes the butter have a wonderful creamy taste.

Owner's reply

Glad you like it Chris! I'll have to try it with the non-dairy milk you recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mike, I made this recipe today and due to the fact that I was not able to obtain yet Xantham here in Swittzerland and the Lecithine only in granulated form, I experimented with the Chia in one batch, the AgarAgar in another, with store brand Soy and homemade one (with the wonderful veganstar).

My experiences:

1. Mixing the soy, vinegar and the AgarAgar or Chia from the beginning limited the soy from curdeling as the Chia and AgarAgar emulgated the soy, the chia more than the Agaragar.

2. Curdeling was slightly better with the homemade soydrink (most probably because it had more protein)

3. The soy lecithine granulates did not disolve well (how did the others here managed?) in my Thermomix mixer; only when transferred to the Vitamix did the get grinded well enough. I wonder, if this isn't essential for doing the job in the butter, plus: The butter looks strange with the dots inside. Any idea how to "work" the granulates so that they are more similar to the liquid lecithine?

4. The chia remained such a dark, grey mess (grinded in the Vitamix), that I did not feel like mixing it with the coconut oil. I wonder though what it looks like in the end and if people "liked" the colour of it.

5. Tomorrow, I will sure check around here to see if I can't get my hand on Xantham, so that the experimenting can go on. ;-))))

THANKS for sharing all your wonderful experiences with us here. BR from Zurich!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Isabelle January 28, 2013

Avoinding Palm Oil thanks to you

Hi Mike, I made this recipe today and due to the fact that I was not able to obtain yet Xantham here in Swittzerland and the Lecithine only in granulated form, I experimented with the Chia in one batch, the AgarAgar in another, with store brand Soy and homemade one (with the wonderful veganstar).

My experiences:

1. Mixing the soy, vinegar and the AgarAgar or Chia from the beginning limited the soy from curdeling as the Chia and AgarAgar emulgated the soy, the chia more than the Agaragar.

2. Curdeling was slightly better with the homemade soydrink (most probably because it had more protein)

3. The soy lecithine granulates did not disolve well (how did the others here managed?) in my Thermomix mixer; only when transferred to the Vitamix did the get grinded well enough. I wonder, if this isn't essential for doing the job in the butter, plus: The butter looks strange with the dots inside. Any idea how to "work" the granulates so that they are more similar to the liquid lecithine?

4. The chia remained such a dark, grey mess (grinded in the Vitamix), that I did not feel like mixing it with the coconut oil. I wonder though what it looks like in the end and if people "liked" the colour of it.

5. Tomorrow, I will sure check around here to see if I can't get my hand on Xantham, so that the experimenting can go on. ;-))))

THANKS for sharing all your wonderful experiences with us here. BR from Zurich!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the detailed analysis Isabelle! It would seem that adding things like chia and agar to the soy milk/acid mix would in fact inhibit curdling and, hence flavor development because the starches in the chia/agar would coat the proteins, keeping the acids from affecting them as thoroughly.

In regards to #2 in your comment, you're most likely correct. This is why I don't use rice or coconut milk for Vegan Butter. Regarding #3, I usually food process the mixture with the lecithin granules until they disappear which usually takes a few minutes in a slightly warm liquid. Perhaps the solubility of lecithin granules varies from brand to brand? I tested the recipe with Kalustyan's brand (from NYC) but I exclusively use liquid lecithin now because I have a TON of it. The lecithin is necessary to make the butter melt with 'placticity' which is important for spreading and things like puff pastry.

Regarding #4, I haven't tested Vegan Butter with chia seeds yet because I know they're going to make the consistency grainy and I just don't want that. But, you should be able to take 1/3 cup chia or flax seeds, 1 1/2 cup water, boil them in a small saucepan for about 20 minutes and strain off the seeds from the 'mucilage'. What you'll be left with is just the liquid mucilage which you can add to the vegan butter (exact amount still to be determined, but probably 1 teaspoon) in place of xanthan gum. I'm in early testing phases with this but it looks promising. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
thank you so much
it was pretty nice.
i love this recipe!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by sinja January 27, 2013

thanks

thank you so much
it was pretty nice.
i love this recipe!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This recipe is glorious. Easy and tastes amazing. I wanted a spreadable butter so I swapped 1 tbsp of coconut oil for 1 tbsp of vegetable oil, just as the recipe suggests. I love it!! 5 stars, EASY. Next time I make pie crust I'll make it again and stick to the original recipe that makes the harder butter.
Rating 
 
5.0
applatt Reviewed by applatt January 18, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delicious and easy!

This recipe is glorious. Easy and tastes amazing. I wanted a spreadable butter so I swapped 1 tbsp of coconut oil for 1 tbsp of vegetable oil, just as the recipe suggests. I love it!! 5 stars, EASY. Next time I make pie crust I'll make it again and stick to the original recipe that makes the harder butter.

Owner's reply

So glad this worked out for you applatt!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could you use unsweetened coconut milk in place of the soy milk?
Reviewed by Allison January 10, 2013

Wondering

Could you use unsweetened coconut milk in place of the soy milk?

Was this review helpful to you? 
hi
i was wondering if i could use rice milk instead of soy milk as i cannot buy rice milk where i live
Reviewed by bethany January 09, 2013

hi
i was wondering if i could use rice milk instead of soy milk as i cannot buy rice milk where i live

Was this review helpful to you? 
great recipe! i often use coconut oil directly in baking and the result is, well, too oily! i can't wait to give this a try.

for those interested in a xanthan gum substitute, too bad you didn't read through the comments. this has been discussed and people found success with chia seeds.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cee January 05, 2013

chia seeds for xanthan gum

great recipe! i often use coconut oil directly in baking and the result is, well, too oily! i can't wait to give this a try.

for those interested in a xanthan gum substitute, too bad you didn't read through the comments. this has been discussed and people found success with chia seeds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I would like to try this recipe, but I don't use microwave, can I melt coconut oil on stove?
Reviewed by Grazina December 27, 2012

no microwave

I would like to try this recipe, but I don't use microwave, can I melt coconut oil on stove?

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is better than butter in every way!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by A. Magpie December 26, 2012

This is better than butter in every way!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
We have severe tree nut allergies and since our allergist feels that coconut is a tree nut (as does the FDA now) that we cannot do this, but we really need some soy margarine desperately! Cannot do commercial brands due to the corn flavorings (corn allergy too!). Is there anything else that can be used in place of coconut oil?
Reviewed by Suzanne December 25, 2012

Substitute for Coconut Oil?

We have severe tree nut allergies and since our allergist feels that coconut is a tree nut (as does the FDA now) that we cannot do this, but we really need some soy margarine desperately! Cannot do commercial brands due to the corn flavorings (corn allergy too!). Is there anything else that can be used in place of coconut oil?

Owner's reply

Hi Suzanne, To make a coconut oil-free version try using deodorized cocoa butter (available online) and swap out about 1 Teaspoon of it for an additional teaspoon of vegetable oil so it solidifies to the proper texture. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe has brought the joy of vegemite toast back to my hubs. Excellent taste / texture!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Pamela December 23, 2012

Thank you!

This recipe has brought the joy of vegemite toast back to my hubs. Excellent taste / texture!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just commenting - i made a second batch, since the thanksgiving batch is gone. I still used hemp milk. but this time i left it out on the counter for a few hours, and then nuked it slightly warm before adding the lemon juice (and used only the required amount), let it sit a few more hours - and it COMPLETELY separated in to whey and . . well, thicker stuff lol. I have problems w vinegar so thats why i used lemon juice. last time instead of being patient i added twice as much lemon plus some vinegar. It curdled, but the vinegar smell (sensitive to it due to allergies) really bothered me. this version is much creamier and tastier than the last one i did

ok, sorry if thats too much detail, but just to say, I DID get satisfactory results using hemp milk.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cara December 21, 2012

Hemp milk

Just commenting - i made a second batch, since the thanksgiving batch is gone. I still used hemp milk. but this time i left it out on the counter for a few hours, and then nuked it slightly warm before adding the lemon juice (and used only the required amount), let it sit a few more hours - and it COMPLETELY separated in to whey and . . well, thicker stuff lol. I have problems w vinegar so thats why i used lemon juice. last time instead of being patient i added twice as much lemon plus some vinegar. It curdled, but the vinegar smell (sensitive to it due to allergies) really bothered me. this version is much creamier and tastier than the last one i did

ok, sorry if thats too much detail, but just to say, I DID get satisfactory results using hemp milk.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the hemp milk update Cara!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe is really great -- I love the experimental basis of your work, and the opportunities for vegan baking this affords. One question for you: all of your quantities are in volume, and it would seem to me that using mass (in grams) would be more precise. Did you happen to weigh out your ingredients as you were recording this recipe? If so would you care to share them for those of us with fine scales in our kitchens?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Drew December 19, 2012

Measurements

This recipe is really great -- I love the experimental basis of your work, and the opportunities for vegan baking this affords. One question for you: all of your quantities are in volume, and it would seem to me that using mass (in grams) would be more precise. Did you happen to weigh out your ingredients as you were recording this recipe? If so would you care to share them for those of us with fine scales in our kitchens?

Owner's reply

Weight measurements is a great idea Drew! I have 'seen the light' and use weight measurements in most of the recipe development I do nowadays. I'm planning on updating every recipe on Veganbaking.net with the addition of weight measurements, starting with the Vegan Butter Recipes when I can find the time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm living in Asia and have not been able to find lecithin as of yet. Can anyone recommend a replacement emulsifier?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by loofa December 15, 2012

replacement for lecithin?

I'm living in Asia and have not been able to find lecithin as of yet. Can anyone recommend a replacement emulsifier?

Owner's reply

Hi loofa! You may be able to take flax seed puree and strain off the gel in a water solution but I haven't tested this yet. I probably will soon due to the issues people are having obtaining lecithin and xanthan gum. If/when I do, I'll be sure to update the recipe. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
243 results - showing 106 - 120
« 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 » 
Ordering