Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (124)
52
221 results - showing 211 - 221
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 » 
Ordering 
 
I haven't even tried this yet but I have real faith in you. I am positive you really ARE a genius and should allow some company to throw scads of money at you.
I have two questions. The almond milk you used. Was it home made or retail. I'd bet I could make some homemade that would curdle or use my favorite MimicCreme since I absolutely cannot do soy.
The other question is why not sunflower lecithin? You can buy it in capsules at the health food store.
Seriously sell this invention. The worst thing about being vegan is the butter substitutes. Well, that and unfermented tofu. Please do not send a posse after me. :))
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Laurelvb July 12, 2011

Holy Crow!

I haven't even tried this yet but I have real faith in you. I am positive you really ARE a genius and should allow some company to throw scads of money at you.
I have two questions. The almond milk you used. Was it home made or retail. I'd bet I could make some homemade that would curdle or use my favorite MimicCreme since I absolutely cannot do soy.
The other question is why not sunflower lecithin? You can buy it in capsules at the health food store.
Seriously sell this invention. The worst thing about being vegan is the butter substitutes. Well, that and unfermented tofu. Please do not send a posse after me. :))

Owner's reply

Hi Laurelvb, Too late! I've already sent the unfermented tofu commercial butter mafia after you! (they wear really nice suits) Attempting to curdle home made almond milk is a brilliant idea. If you made it a little thicker it would likely have enough protein to curdle and might possibly work. Give it a shot and let me know if it curdles! I'll be testing this soon with cashews as well. Hopefully it will end up with a new vegan butter recipe on this post!

As for the lecithin, any type will work. Thanks for the kind words!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi, I stumbled onto this site looking for a vegan buttercream for a wedding cake I'm doing at the end of this month. The idea of making your own vegan butter is amazing! These recipes look way better than the margarines currently offered. I might actually try making a buttercream out of the cocoa butter version, but even if I don't I just wanted to say thank you for developing and sharing something so cool. I'm not a vegan and I want to make this butter!
Reviewed by evilcakelady July 11, 2011

Hi, I stumbled onto this site looking for a vegan buttercream for a wedding cake I'm doing at the end of this month. The idea of making your own vegan butter is amazing! These recipes look way better than the margarines currently offered. I might actually try making a buttercream out of the cocoa butter version, but even if I don't I just wanted to say thank you for developing and sharing something so cool. I'm not a vegan and I want to make this butter!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the compliment evilcakelady! I've been wanting to make the cocoa butter one lately and use it for something like croissants. Buttercream is a great idea. I have a recipe for White Chocolate Frosting on this site that I'm pretty proud of. Cocoa butter has a very sharp melting range so it's pretty hard to work with in a frosting. One second it's solid, the next it's runny- doh! Emulsifiers to the rescue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi

Have you ever done frosting using this butter? I am wondering whether it will melt easily as I live in a hot climate. Coconut oil here do not solidify unless I put in fridge. Always liquid.
Reviewed by Pim July 06, 2011

Hi

Have you ever done frosting using this butter? I am wondering whether it will melt easily as I live in a hot climate. Coconut oil here do not solidify unless I put in fridge. Always liquid.

Owner's reply

HI Pim, Since the melting temperature of coconut oil is 73-79F (23-26C), vegan butter and frosting using coconut oil will also melt at this temperature. This is why I recommend keeping it in the fridge.

Cocoa butter has a higher melting point of 93-100 °F (34-38C) so you may want to look into it instead. I recommend the deodorized or refined version if you won't want everything you make to taste like white chocolate, which might not be a bad thing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is pretty amazing! Cheers to you. Once I finish my tub of Earth Balance I will totally have to make this! Thanks a bunch!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Noelle July 06, 2011

Amazing

This is pretty amazing! Cheers to you. Once I finish my tub of Earth Balance I will totally have to make this! Thanks a bunch!

Owner's reply

Thanks Noelle! I'm not buying commercial vegan butter anymore. My girlfriend keeps bugging me to make kimchi butter which I think would be pretty awesome. You could also make avocado butter by tweaking this a bit. I'll update this post as I develop more.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I had made something similar to the vegan butter recipe, but I used coconut milk and lemon juice and no soy lecithin. I didn't consider it good enough to share. I also didn't measure as precisely as you did. Or at all. :)

I was trying to work soy free. Now I am thinking I need to try the lecithin.

Also.... Did you make frosting with it?
Reviewed by GonePie July 06, 2011

Bravo!!!!

I had made something similar to the vegan butter recipe, but I used coconut milk and lemon juice and no soy lecithin. I didn't consider it good enough to share. I also didn't measure as precisely as you did. Or at all. :)

I was trying to work soy free. Now I am thinking I need to try the lecithin.

Also.... Did you make frosting with it?

Other Info

Owner's reply

The buttery flavors in this butter are extremely reliant on the flavor compounds created by the coagulation of the proteins in the soy milk with the acid in the apple cider vinegar. When done right, a buttery flavor results. I've done lots of testing with different non-dairy milks and non-dairy milks curdle effectively in this order: soy, almond- that's it. Other non-dairy milks lack the protein and hence, won't curdle and produce complex flavor compounds. This is why I don't bake with any other non-dairy milks other than soy or almond. That's also why I highly recommend soy in my vegan butter recipes.

Soy lecithin and xanthan gum are also crucial in emulsifying the water based ingredients with the oil based ingredients so the mixture softens and spreads like butter. I'm itching to use this in all sorts of vegan baking applications as soon as I have some time (white chocolate croissants!) I'll be sure to post my results. Let me know if you make it and how it works out for you. Thanks for the interest!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Who are you Mattie? A genius! So, why are not you making this butter and selling it. It freezes. I just stumbled on this site. I am building The Yummy Nation, a place to buy Gourmet Gluten Free, Vegetarian, Vegan and Limited Eating Plan foods that are made fresh, flash frozen to be sold online and in health food stores and groceries who want to handle them. Please get in touch with me.

I did not like putting in all that information about myself. But now I don't care. But I am not a Twitter or Facebook person. Too much silliness and waste of time with both of them. However, I have been told I will have to get over my allergy to Twitter, that so much money is being made there.

Mitche Leigh Hunt
mlhunt102@gmail.com


Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mitche Leigh Hunt June 13, 2011

Butter making

Who are you Mattie? A genius! So, why are not you making this butter and selling it. It freezes. I just stumbled on this site. I am building The Yummy Nation, a place to buy Gourmet Gluten Free, Vegetarian, Vegan and Limited Eating Plan foods that are made fresh, flash frozen to be sold online and in health food stores and groceries who want to handle them. Please get in touch with me.

I did not like putting in all that information about myself. But now I don't care. But I am not a Twitter or Facebook person. Too much silliness and waste of time with both of them. However, I have been told I will have to get over my allergy to Twitter, that so much money is being made there.

Mitche Leigh Hunt
mlhunt102@gmail.com


Owner's reply

Thanks for the kind words Mitche! I put this recipe online so somebody else out there could market it and make billions of $$$. Just kidding, sorta. I already did the food thing several years ago and this website is Plan B.

So someone please market something like this so we don't have to all bow in the direction of the Earth Balance factory every day just so we can bake good stuff;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie, I was so excited to find this page. I tried the recipe twice but using sunflower oil instead. Both failed (probably due to sunflower oil? I use soy lecithin granules and find it hard to dissolve. Also I used an electric beater instead of food processor as I do not have one at the moment.

Anyway, the first time after combining all ingredients, after beating for 2 mintues, the mixture was fluffy with some lecithin remain undissolved. When i pour into container, shortly after I noticed that the oil and bean curd started to separate. And after overnight freezing, the mixture did not solidify at all.

2nd trial on the next day, I use 5ml of oil lesser. I melted the lecithin in 10ml of hot water first and set aside while preparing other ingredients. After adding in the lecithin mixture with 1/2 teaspoon (instead of 1/4) xanthan gum, I notice that the separation is lesser. But again, the mixture did not solidify.

I am not sure if there is something wrong with the ingredients e.g. chinese process soymilk (with stronger bean smell and heavier soy content) vs western process soymilk, the difference in oil used or granules lecithin should be more to strengthen the emulsion?

Wonder if you have any experience to share Mattie?

Appreciate your answer as there is no vegan butter in this whole country! Many thanks!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gina June 02, 2011

Cant solidified during freezing

Hi Mattie, I was so excited to find this page. I tried the recipe twice but using sunflower oil instead. Both failed (probably due to sunflower oil? I use soy lecithin granules and find it hard to dissolve. Also I used an electric beater instead of food processor as I do not have one at the moment.

Anyway, the first time after combining all ingredients, after beating for 2 mintues, the mixture was fluffy with some lecithin remain undissolved. When i pour into container, shortly after I noticed that the oil and bean curd started to separate. And after overnight freezing, the mixture did not solidify at all.

2nd trial on the next day, I use 5ml of oil lesser. I melted the lecithin in 10ml of hot water first and set aside while preparing other ingredients. After adding in the lecithin mixture with 1/2 teaspoon (instead of 1/4) xanthan gum, I notice that the separation is lesser. But again, the mixture did not solidify.

I am not sure if there is something wrong with the ingredients e.g. chinese process soymilk (with stronger bean smell and heavier soy content) vs western process soymilk, the difference in oil used or granules lecithin should be more to strengthen the emulsion?

Wonder if you have any experience to share Mattie?

Appreciate your answer as there is no vegan butter in this whole country! Many thanks!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Gina, your recipe didn't work because you have to use 'lauric' fats- tropical fats like coconut and cocoa butter that are solid at room temperature. After you curdle the soy milk it then is beat or blended before the mixture goes into the freezer as soon as possible so it solidifies before the water and fats get a chance to separate.

It may sound crazy but you may want to look to the internet to get the proper ingredients online. I live in NYC and I still order ingredients for this recipe online in order to make it. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! The recipe looks and sounds absolutely delightful and I can't wait to try it. I'm totally new to vegan baking, so forgive me if my question is silly, but I was wondering about soy lecithin. I'm buying it online and wondering what the difference between granules and powder is, and which you use. Thank you so much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kate May 31, 2011

Hi! The recipe looks and sounds absolutely delightful and I can't wait to try it. I'm totally new to vegan baking, so forgive me if my question is silly, but I was wondering about soy lecithin. I'm buying it online and wondering what the difference between granules and powder is, and which you use. Thank you so much!

Owner's reply

Hi Kate, This recipe is for liquid lecithin. Thanks for asking this- I now know that I should specify liquid vs granules in future recipes. I'll update the recipe asap!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, you are amazing! Thank you for sharing this.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jen April 23, 2011

Hells yeah!

Mattie, you are amazing! Thank you for sharing this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Where do you get soy lecithin and xanthum gum?
Reviewed by Sara A. April 18, 2011

Where do you get soy lecithin and xanthum gum?

Owner's reply

Hi Sara A. Lecithin and xanthan gum can be found on the internet if you can't find it in your local health food store.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
can't wait to try this out. just want to say that I'm completely stunned and vegans are SO lucky that you're a dedicated creative genius that generously shares your recipes!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ange April 17, 2011

totally in awe!

can't wait to try this out. just want to say that I'm completely stunned and vegans are SO lucky that you're a dedicated creative genius that generously shares your recipes!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the kind words Ange!

Was this review helpful to you? 
221 results - showing 211 - 221
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 » 
Ordering