Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 196 - 210
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering 
 
Thank you for the fantastic recipe! I made the regular one, all my friends and me were amazed! I use it for my cookies and nut spreads as well! Works great!
Only one thing - I kept it in the plastic box and I noticed that water started condensing on the lid after a short time. I thought that could be a problem if I would like to keep my butter for a longer time - it could cause the mold. It actually happened to my first batch after 20 days :-(. Do you know how could we prevent this condensation?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ela November 15, 2011

Thank you for the fantastic recipe! I made the regular one, all my friends and me were amazed! I use it for my cookies and nut spreads as well! Works great!
Only one thing - I kept it in the plastic box and I noticed that water started condensing on the lid after a short time. I thought that could be a problem if I would like to keep my butter for a longer time - it could cause the mold. It actually happened to my first batch after 20 days :-(. Do you know how could we prevent this condensation?

Owner's reply

Hi Ela, Unfortunately the vegan butter does tend to show some surface mold after about 20 days or so like you've found. This is because this vegan butter doesn't have preservatives. I'm currently doing testing with ascorbic acid (in place of apple cider vinegar) to see if I can still get desirable flavors while increasing shelf life. I'll definitely update the recipe with my results!

Was this review helpful to you? 
What inspiration! I love all the different flavors you came up with too. I started reading this article and thought that making vegan butter would be difficult, but it seems fairly easy. I really appreciate the great detail too, it will help me when I make this tonight! Thanks again!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Vegan Bakerista November 08, 2011

Inspired!

What inspiration! I love all the different flavors you came up with too. I started reading this article and thought that making vegan butter would be difficult, but it seems fairly easy. I really appreciate the great detail too, it will help me when I make this tonight! Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Azure Standard has Sunflower Lecithin. 16 oz. is $5.05 but you can buy more if you want to. Cool.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb November 06, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

Azure Standard has Sunflower Lecithin. 16 oz. is $5.05 but you can buy more if you want to. Cool.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the sunflower lecithin info laurelvb! I just updated the recipe for sunflower lecithin and a powdered lecithin substitution amount to make things easier for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow -- thanks for all the experiments you've done -- and for sharing these in such an organized format. (Being a non-scientific person, I found your explanations very understandable, phew!)

I've been using your fantastic post as my primary resource for developing non-dairy butters using the Thermomix kitchen appliance. I'm excited to try these, and variations there of, and will let you know now it goes. Many thanks :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by ThermomixBlogger Helene November 03, 2011

Fantastic resource, thank you!

Wow -- thanks for all the experiments you've done -- and for sharing these in such an organized format. (Being a non-scientific person, I found your explanations very understandable, phew!)

I've been using your fantastic post as my primary resource for developing non-dairy butters using the Thermomix kitchen appliance. I'm excited to try these, and variations there of, and will let you know now it goes. Many thanks :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Can u help me make cheese
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ebony October 30, 2011

Can u help me make cheese

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just wanted to follow up - thank you for responding to my question about the lecithin. I doubled the xanthan and it worked out great! I'm so happy for this recipe as it has saved my allergic family's Christmas! I'll for sure be using this in my Xmas baking and in buttercream - thank you SO much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sarah October 27, 2011

Thank you!

Just wanted to follow up - thank you for responding to my question about the lecithin. I doubled the xanthan and it worked out great! I'm so happy for this recipe as it has saved my allergic family's Christmas! I'll for sure be using this in my Xmas baking and in buttercream - thank you SO much!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Howdy.
I made the butter and am very proud. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I didn't find it to be "vinegary" I think that more so happens if one is not a normally a vinegar user. Also, I told my grandmother about it and she mentioned maybe adding turmeric if you want it yellow. Just an idea...anyways I look forward to trying other recipes on your site. Keep with the science experiments!

Ari
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ari October 26, 2011

"I can't believe it's not butter!"

Howdy.
I made the butter and am very proud. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I didn't find it to be "vinegary" I think that more so happens if one is not a normally a vinegar user. Also, I told my grandmother about it and she mentioned maybe adding turmeric if you want it yellow. Just an idea...anyways I look forward to trying other recipes on your site. Keep with the science experiments!

Ari

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie, Thankyou for your reply, *Liquid* lecithin is not available in the UK, *powdered* lecithin is available, can I use powdered lecithin to make the butter, and if so, how do I use it in your recipe? Thanks in advance. Prema
Prema Reviewed by Prema October 25, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Hi Mattie, Thankyou for your reply, *Liquid* lecithin is not available in the UK, *powdered* lecithin is available, can I use powdered lecithin to make the butter, and if so, how do I use it in your recipe? Thanks in advance. Prema

Owner's reply

Hi Prema, I just conducted some testing and found that 1 teaspoon liquid lecithin is equivalent to 2 1/4 teaspoons powdered lecithin (aka lecithin granules). They are both used the same way in this recipe, just in different amounts. Thanks for your feedback! I just updated the recipe to reflect this substitution.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi - I'm dying to try the white choc butter - I'm vegan and nursing my highly allergic toddler so we also have to avoid all nuts, soy, sunflower, coconut, legumes, safflower and flax - so I guess I'm stuck using hemp milk but since I can't use either lecithin, can I add extra xanthan gum? I'm praying something will work. Thanks!
Reviewed by Sarah October 21, 2011

Can't wait to try this!

Hi - I'm dying to try the white choc butter - I'm vegan and nursing my highly allergic toddler so we also have to avoid all nuts, soy, sunflower, coconut, legumes, safflower and flax - so I guess I'm stuck using hemp milk but since I can't use either lecithin, can I add extra xanthan gum? I'm praying something will work. Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah, hemp milk does curdle with acids (although not as much) so it should work in place of soy. You should be able to double the xanthan gum and still get good results. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My family is vegan...no egg, no dairy, no meat. We also try to stay away from extracted oils. I am just curious how much better this butter is since it has a lot of coconut oil and some canola oil? It seems like alot of vegan recipes may be egg or dairy free but contain a lot of oil or refined sugar. Help?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by LKelley October 19, 2011

Great Recipes

My family is vegan...no egg, no dairy, no meat. We also try to stay away from extracted oils. I am just curious how much better this butter is since it has a lot of coconut oil and some canola oil? It seems like alot of vegan recipes may be egg or dairy free but contain a lot of oil or refined sugar. Help?

Owner's reply

Hi LKelley, This vegan butter is a replacement for regular butter and also palm oil-based commercial vegan butters which are linked to rainforest destruction. It also gives you the option of customizing your vegan butter with different flavors which are currently not offered on the market. If you're interested in limiting your fat intake, I would advise staying away from this;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I made the regular one about three weeks ago, and loved it so made the herbed and white chocolate flavours a week later too. Amazing! However, a few days ago I noticed that the regular one had grown mold! I have stored it in the fridge obviously, and it wasn't contaminated with anything to my knowledge - the mold is growing on the surface parts rather than where the knife has been. Any ideas on how to prevent this? I am worried the others will turn moldy too soon.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Melanie October 19, 2011

I made the regular one about three weeks ago, and loved it so made the herbed and white chocolate flavours a week later too. Amazing! However, a few days ago I noticed that the regular one had grown mold! I have stored it in the fridge obviously, and it wasn't contaminated with anything to my knowledge - the mold is growing on the surface parts rather than where the knife has been. Any ideas on how to prevent this? I am worried the others will turn moldy too soon.

Owner's reply

Hi Melanie, Yes, this is an issue with vegan butter that is stored in the refrigerator for a few weeks or more. I'm currently experimenting with curdling with citric acid (derived from citrus fruits) that would do the curdling as well as provide vitamin C to preserve the vegan butter longer (apple cider vinegar contains acetic acid which doesn't have as much C). I'll post an update when I'm done testing. Thanks for your concern!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Vegan magic! I could not believe how easy and awesome this is! Magic I tell you! Magic! I've made the regular butter a couple of times now and it tastes fantastic! I am looking forward to trying to bake with it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It really has opened my eyes to what can be accomplished in my kitchen! Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gina October 18, 2011

Vegan magic! I could not believe how easy and awesome this is! Magic I tell you! Magic! I've made the regular butter a couple of times now and it tastes fantastic! I am looking forward to trying to bake with it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It really has opened my eyes to what can be accomplished in my kitchen! Thank you!

Owner's reply

So glad you've found Vegan Butter useful Gina!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Fantastic, as soon as I get the soy lecithin I am going to try all these butters. Wow! this is a very easy process.
Thank You
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johnny De Vivo October 18, 2011

Cef De Cuisine

Fantastic, as soon as I get the soy lecithin I am going to try all these butters. Wow! this is a very easy process.
Thank You

Was this review helpful to you? 
where can i get liquid soy lecithin
Reviewed by andrea October 18, 2011

where can i get liquid soy lecithin

Owner's reply

Hi Andrea, I just updated the post with a link to where to get liquid soy lecithin online. Look at the soy lecithin hyperlink on the Regular Vegan Butter entry. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can't wait to try this. My husband is going vegan and if I can find tasty alternatives, I probably would too! One question...where do I find soy lethicin and xanthan gum??? Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cristy P October 05, 2011

Where do I find those ingredients?

Can't wait to try this. My husband is going vegan and if I can find tasty alternatives, I probably would too! One question...where do I find soy lethicin and xanthan gum??? Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 196 - 210
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 » 
Ordering