Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (138)
54
241 results - showing 196 - 210
« 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering 
 
This post is amazing, thank you so much! Packed with information and recipes, that's great! In Brazil where I'm from and here in the Oceania where I'm travelling we don't have any alternative for vegan butter apart from margarine. I'm sharing this post so many more sad vegan bakers can enjoy this!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Anderson Santos November 28, 2011

Amazing info

This post is amazing, thank you so much! Packed with information and recipes, that's great! In Brazil where I'm from and here in the Oceania where I'm travelling we don't have any alternative for vegan butter apart from margarine. I'm sharing this post so many more sad vegan bakers can enjoy this!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, these recipes are brilliant! Quick question: will guar gum work in place of xanthan gum?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Theo November 25, 2011

Guar gum

Mattie, these recipes are brilliant! Quick question: will guar gum work in place of xanthan gum?

Owner's reply

Thanks Theo! Guar gum should work unless you're planning on whipping the vegan butter like you would before adding it to some cake recipes. Guar gum doesn't facilitate the trapping of air bubbles as well as xanthan gum. Guar gum's emulsification properties should work just about as well as xanthan gum's though so if you're not whipping it you should be good to go. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
this recipe looks great! but i wonder, how do you think this would taste in mashed potatoes? would it still give it that same buttery taste that earth balance gives it?
Reviewed by nikki November 23, 2011

this recipe looks great! but i wonder, how do you think this would taste in mashed potatoes? would it still give it that same buttery taste that earth balance gives it?

Owner's reply

Hi nikki, Earth Balance uses a flavoring that likely contains the chemical diacetyl, which is actually what real butter flavor is made of. The vegan butter listed here doesn't use chemically derived diacetyl so it has a more subtle flavor. If you're pressed for time you may want to go the Earth Balance route. If you have a little extra time and want something truly homemade, I think the Regular or Three-herbed vegan butter would be fantastic in mashed potatoes. Let us know how it works if you end up going for it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is an excellent article. It is well thought out and presented in an excellent format. I also appreciate your concern about palm and habitat destruction.

I have food allergies and cannot have palm or coconut products, corn, and dairy (among other things). That means I no longer have any butter alternatives other than hydrogenated soybean shortening. Do you have any other suggestions for fats that will work to create a vegan butter? Other than the one using cocoa butter, that is. I am looking forward to making a batch to use for baking desserts, but there are some uses that really shouldn't have a chocolate flavor.

Thank you for any suggestions that you might be able to offer.
Rating 
 
5.0
Ktquilt Reviewed by Ktquilt November 21, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Anything without Coconut?

This is an excellent article. It is well thought out and presented in an excellent format. I also appreciate your concern about palm and habitat destruction.

I have food allergies and cannot have palm or coconut products, corn, and dairy (among other things). That means I no longer have any butter alternatives other than hydrogenated soybean shortening. Do you have any other suggestions for fats that will work to create a vegan butter? Other than the one using cocoa butter, that is. I am looking forward to making a batch to use for baking desserts, but there are some uses that really shouldn't have a chocolate flavor.

Thank you for any suggestions that you might be able to offer.

Owner's reply

Hi Ktquilt, The lauric fats, that is, saturated plant-based fats from tropical regions, consist of cocoa butter, coconut, palm kernel and palm oils. These oils are necessary in vegan butter so it stays solid at room temperature. As of now I don't have any other solutions to creating vegan butter without lauric fats but if I ever do, rest assured that I'll post it. Good luck and let me know if you find an alternative!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I hope you get a patent for your recipes! With all the scientific information, you sound like Alton Brown. Are you related? ;-) Thanks so much!
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Kelly November 18, 2011

Great Vegan Butter

I hope you get a patent for your recipes! With all the scientific information, you sound like Alton Brown. Are you related? ;-) Thanks so much!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the compliment Kelly! No relation but I would trounce Alton in an arm wrestling competition (due to my constant whisking of vegan butter) but that's all I've got. These recipes are not patented and free to flourish in the open world. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you for the fantastic recipe! I made the regular one, all my friends and me were amazed! I use it for my cookies and nut spreads as well! Works great!
Only one thing - I kept it in the plastic box and I noticed that water started condensing on the lid after a short time. I thought that could be a problem if I would like to keep my butter for a longer time - it could cause the mold. It actually happened to my first batch after 20 days :-(. Do you know how could we prevent this condensation?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ela November 15, 2011

Thank you for the fantastic recipe! I made the regular one, all my friends and me were amazed! I use it for my cookies and nut spreads as well! Works great!
Only one thing - I kept it in the plastic box and I noticed that water started condensing on the lid after a short time. I thought that could be a problem if I would like to keep my butter for a longer time - it could cause the mold. It actually happened to my first batch after 20 days :-(. Do you know how could we prevent this condensation?

Owner's reply

Hi Ela, Unfortunately the vegan butter does tend to show some surface mold after about 20 days or so like you've found. This is because this vegan butter doesn't have preservatives. I'm currently doing testing with ascorbic acid (in place of apple cider vinegar) to see if I can still get desirable flavors while increasing shelf life. I'll definitely update the recipe with my results!

Was this review helpful to you? 
What inspiration! I love all the different flavors you came up with too. I started reading this article and thought that making vegan butter would be difficult, but it seems fairly easy. I really appreciate the great detail too, it will help me when I make this tonight! Thanks again!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Vegan Bakerista November 08, 2011

Inspired!

What inspiration! I love all the different flavors you came up with too. I started reading this article and thought that making vegan butter would be difficult, but it seems fairly easy. I really appreciate the great detail too, it will help me when I make this tonight! Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Azure Standard has Sunflower Lecithin. 16 oz. is $5.05 but you can buy more if you want to. Cool.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb November 06, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

Azure Standard has Sunflower Lecithin. 16 oz. is $5.05 but you can buy more if you want to. Cool.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the sunflower lecithin info laurelvb! I just updated the recipe for sunflower lecithin and a powdered lecithin substitution amount to make things easier for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow -- thanks for all the experiments you've done -- and for sharing these in such an organized format. (Being a non-scientific person, I found your explanations very understandable, phew!)

I've been using your fantastic post as my primary resource for developing non-dairy butters using the Thermomix kitchen appliance. I'm excited to try these, and variations there of, and will let you know now it goes. Many thanks :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by ThermomixBlogger Helene November 03, 2011

Fantastic resource, thank you!

Wow -- thanks for all the experiments you've done -- and for sharing these in such an organized format. (Being a non-scientific person, I found your explanations very understandable, phew!)

I've been using your fantastic post as my primary resource for developing non-dairy butters using the Thermomix kitchen appliance. I'm excited to try these, and variations there of, and will let you know now it goes. Many thanks :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can u help me make cheese
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ebony October 30, 2011

Can u help me make cheese

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Just wanted to follow up - thank you for responding to my question about the lecithin. I doubled the xanthan and it worked out great! I'm so happy for this recipe as it has saved my allergic family's Christmas! I'll for sure be using this in my Xmas baking and in buttercream - thank you SO much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sarah October 27, 2011

Thank you!

Just wanted to follow up - thank you for responding to my question about the lecithin. I doubled the xanthan and it worked out great! I'm so happy for this recipe as it has saved my allergic family's Christmas! I'll for sure be using this in my Xmas baking and in buttercream - thank you SO much!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Howdy.
I made the butter and am very proud. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I didn't find it to be "vinegary" I think that more so happens if one is not a normally a vinegar user. Also, I told my grandmother about it and she mentioned maybe adding turmeric if you want it yellow. Just an idea...anyways I look forward to trying other recipes on your site. Keep with the science experiments!

Ari
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ari October 26, 2011

"I can't believe it's not butter!"

Howdy.
I made the butter and am very proud. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I didn't find it to be "vinegary" I think that more so happens if one is not a normally a vinegar user. Also, I told my grandmother about it and she mentioned maybe adding turmeric if you want it yellow. Just an idea...anyways I look forward to trying other recipes on your site. Keep with the science experiments!

Ari

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie, Thankyou for your reply, *Liquid* lecithin is not available in the UK, *powdered* lecithin is available, can I use powdered lecithin to make the butter, and if so, how do I use it in your recipe? Thanks in advance. Prema
Prema Reviewed by Prema October 25, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Hi Mattie, Thankyou for your reply, *Liquid* lecithin is not available in the UK, *powdered* lecithin is available, can I use powdered lecithin to make the butter, and if so, how do I use it in your recipe? Thanks in advance. Prema

Owner's reply

Hi Prema, I just conducted some testing and found that 1 teaspoon liquid lecithin is equivalent to 2 1/4 teaspoons powdered lecithin (aka lecithin granules). They are both used the same way in this recipe, just in different amounts. Thanks for your feedback! I just updated the recipe to reflect this substitution.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi - I'm dying to try the white choc butter - I'm vegan and nursing my highly allergic toddler so we also have to avoid all nuts, soy, sunflower, coconut, legumes, safflower and flax - so I guess I'm stuck using hemp milk but since I can't use either lecithin, can I add extra xanthan gum? I'm praying something will work. Thanks!
Reviewed by Sarah October 21, 2011

Can't wait to try this!

Hi - I'm dying to try the white choc butter - I'm vegan and nursing my highly allergic toddler so we also have to avoid all nuts, soy, sunflower, coconut, legumes, safflower and flax - so I guess I'm stuck using hemp milk but since I can't use either lecithin, can I add extra xanthan gum? I'm praying something will work. Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah, hemp milk does curdle with acids (although not as much) so it should work in place of soy. You should be able to double the xanthan gum and still get good results. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My family is vegan...no egg, no dairy, no meat. We also try to stay away from extracted oils. I am just curious how much better this butter is since it has a lot of coconut oil and some canola oil? It seems like alot of vegan recipes may be egg or dairy free but contain a lot of oil or refined sugar. Help?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by LKelley October 19, 2011

Great Recipes

My family is vegan...no egg, no dairy, no meat. We also try to stay away from extracted oils. I am just curious how much better this butter is since it has a lot of coconut oil and some canola oil? It seems like alot of vegan recipes may be egg or dairy free but contain a lot of oil or refined sugar. Help?

Owner's reply

Hi LKelley, This vegan butter is a replacement for regular butter and also palm oil-based commercial vegan butters which are linked to rainforest destruction. It also gives you the option of customizing your vegan butter with different flavors which are currently not offered on the market. If you're interested in limiting your fat intake, I would advise staying away from this;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
241 results - showing 196 - 210
« 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering