Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (141)
55
246 results - showing 181 - 195
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering 
 
Hi! I checked out purchasing the Tovolo ice cube trays and found some concerns regarding this product. When you've used these molds have you had any problem with residual tainted flavor or smell? Some that bought these reported that. Thank you! I can't wait to try this!!
Lesley Reviewed by Lesley March 25, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

vegan butter

Hi! I checked out purchasing the Tovolo ice cube trays and found some concerns regarding this product. When you've used these molds have you had any problem with residual tainted flavor or smell? Some that bought these reported that. Thank you! I can't wait to try this!!

Owner's reply

Hi Lesley! I too was originally concerned about the online reviews reporting of off-flavors associated with the Tovolo ice molds. I decided to purchase them anyway and see for myself due to the uniqueness of their product. Fortunately I haven't experienced any of the off-flavors. I suspect they've reformulated their silicone compound.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Is paragraph 1 the method to caramelize garlic? Or is there another method to caramelize garlic? I am so pleased that this is one vegan butter variant that does not require xanthan gum. Will try it right away.
Reviewed by Gemini March 10, 2012

Is paragraph 1 the method to caramelize garlic? Or is there another method to caramelize garlic? I am so pleased that this is one vegan butter variant that does not require xanthan gum. Will try it right away.

Owner's reply

Hi Gemini! Yes, Step 1 is to caramelize the garlic. I just added a few words to make that more clear. Good luck with it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.
Gilly Reviewed by Gilly March 07, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

I'm big enuff (and getting bigger) to admit I was

Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.

Owner's reply

Glad it worked out Gilly! If you want to scale back on toast eating I'd advise you to never make the Garlic Vegan Butter and use Fleur de Sel instead of regular salt. That would be a really bad idea;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, just tried this an it's unbelievable. I'm going to tweak it just a titch as it's slightly too vinegary for me, but I may have sploshed in slightly more than a teaspoon anyway. The texture is out of this world. Very creamy and melts beautifully on toast. Who'd have thunk it! With cheap coconut oil from the Indian grocery shop I think it even works out cheaper than most margarines. I used fleur du sel in it too just to be posh. I might add a little more of that too as I love salty butter. Another superb recipe
Reviewed by Gilly March 05, 2012

Fantastic! I can't believe it's not butter

Mattie, just tried this an it's unbelievable. I'm going to tweak it just a titch as it's slightly too vinegary for me, but I may have sploshed in slightly more than a teaspoon anyway. The texture is out of this world. Very creamy and melts beautifully on toast. Who'd have thunk it! With cheap coconut oil from the Indian grocery shop I think it even works out cheaper than most margarines. I used fleur du sel in it too just to be posh. I might add a little more of that too as I love salty butter. Another superb recipe

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Gilly! I prefer more salt too (salt makes everything taste better!) but I was aiming for something that was an absolute drop-in replacement for butter. I use more salt when I'm making it for toast.

Great idea on going to the Indian store to get a better deal on coconut butter! I've been getting ripped off at the health food store this entire time;) And don't even get me started on how good of an idea the Fleur de Sel is!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Is it possible to refine coconut oil at home ? I do not quite like the idea of using an oil refined through industrial processes where the possibility of chemical additives being added to it are mighty high. Though freshly extracted coconut oil has a nice smell.
gemini16381 Reviewed by gemini16381 March 05, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Is it possible to refine coconut oil at home ? I do not quite like the idea of using an oil refined through industrial processes where the possibility of chemical additives being added to it are mighty high. Though freshly extracted coconut oil has a nice smell.

Owner's reply

Hi Gemini! To my knowledge it's not possible to refine coconut oil at home because the deodorization process, the process that removes most of the flavor and aroma, involves specialized machinery. I'd recommend just sticking with unrefined coconut oil if you don't mind the taste- I sure don't!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Is it possible to omit the salt so as to produce unsalted vegan butter? I try not to use salted fats in baking.
Reviewed by gatoscuro February 29, 2012

Is it possible to omit the salt so as to produce unsalted vegan butter? I try not to use salted fats in baking.

Owner's reply

Hi gatoscuro, It's totally possible to omit the salt. The salt does play a minor role in curdling the protein (along with the acetic acid) in the soy milk but you should still be able to produce a quality butter. I designed these Vegan Butter recipes to be pretty low salt because I wanted it to taste like butter as opposed to the over salted margarine monstrosities that clutter the market. I also wanted this to be as close to a salted regular butter as much as possible, which doesn't have mush salt. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb February 29, 2012
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

No Vinegar, No Problem

I made this again today with a new combo. Homemade almond cream (1C soaked, blanched almonds); 2C water and 2 large Medjool dates.
I used the almond cream rather than soy milk plus 2 tsp Lemon Juice and used 1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Oilive Oil (first press) rather than Canola, along with Sunflower Lecithin.
The almond cream was to allow enough protein to curdle. The lemon juice was because I don't tolerate vinegar and the Olive Oil was to add back the fruity tones plus it's not GM, like Canola. This one has the best flavor to date considering all the modifications. Hope it helps someone else.

Owner's reply

That's so cool laurelvb! I've been wanting to make a homemade almond milk with a higher protein content for vegan butter experimentation but you beat me to it! The date and lemon addition is so innovative! I'm going to eventually break up the Vegan Butters into its own separate section so I can expand the genre more. That would be great if you could submit this as a recipe for the section. I'd love to showcase it if you have a picture! Get in touch with my via my profile if you're interested.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is SEW good! Can't believe it taste BETTER than real butter! Thanks SEW much for all your work!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sew Round February 17, 2012

Excellent taste!

This is SEW good! Can't believe it taste BETTER than real butter! Thanks SEW much for all your work!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks for this - I've long wondered how I can get around the palm oil issue as I've found it pretty hard to get away from using the Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for most of my baking.

One interesting thing I've found about the coconut oils I've used in cooking is that extra virgin coconut oil usually has a more pronounced coconut flavour than more refined coconut oil (even if both types are organic). I'm thinking that when I try the regular butter recipe I'll use refined coconut oil to get a more neutral taste.
Reviewed by Nicole February 16, 2012

Thanks for this - I've long wondered how I can get around the palm oil issue as I've found it pretty hard to get away from using the Earth Balance Buttery Sticks for most of my baking.

One interesting thing I've found about the coconut oils I've used in cooking is that extra virgin coconut oil usually has a more pronounced coconut flavour than more refined coconut oil (even if both types are organic). I'm thinking that when I try the regular butter recipe I'll use refined coconut oil to get a more neutral taste.

Owner's reply

Hi Nicole, There is definitely a difference between refined and unrefined coconut oil and I use the two specific types differently according to what I'm making. Refined means they've run it through a filtering process to remove most of the odor and flavor. This works well when you want to make something that doesn't impart coconut flavors- like Regular Vegan Butter.

I go for unrefined coconut oil (that is more in its natural state) when I want to showcase coconut flavor- as I do in Coconut Vegan Butter. I use both types extensively in my kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Awesome work man! I have been thinking about this same thing, but did not think of the curdling of the milk for flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kelly February 12, 2012

Awesome work man! I have been thinking about this same thing, but did not think of the curdling of the milk for flavor. Thanks for sharing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I greatly admire all research and work you have done to create these butters! Thank you for the information. I have a quick question for you. I have an allergy to coconut; is there another oil that I can substitute that will give the right consistency and butter flavor?
Reviewed by Ellie February 05, 2012

I greatly admire all research and work you have done to create these butters! Thank you for the information. I have a quick question for you. I have an allergy to coconut; is there another oil that I can substitute that will give the right consistency and butter flavor?

Owner's reply

Hi Ellie,

The White Chocolate Vegan Butter uses cocoa butter instead of coconut but it's going to add a subtle chocolate flavor to the butter unless you can find a deodorized version. I don't recommend palm kernel oil due to the environmental issues associated with it. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This looks great! How much cream of tartar should be substituted for the vinegar?
Reviewed by Janille Wood February 04, 2012

This looks great! How much cream of tartar should be substituted for the vinegar?

Owner's reply

Hi Janille, I don't recommend substituting cream of tartar for the apple cider vinegar because the vinegar adds complex, fruity notes that are similar to butter. Cream of tartar adds more singular 'tart' notes that don't make the butter as tasty.

But if you're still set on using cream of tartar I'd recommend something in the neighborhood of 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
You have mentioned that coconut oil requires to be melted before adding it to the butter. But in Goa coconut oil is always in the liquid state, Goa's climate being tropical, except for the very brief period of winter (November-January end).

We use home made unrefined coconut oil (from coconut trees in our garden) for cooking too. Can I use home made oil? Is it ok to use it directly as melting it is not possible, unless I freeze/refrigerate it and then melt it?
gemini16381 Reviewed by gemini16381 January 13, 2012
Last updated: January 13, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

You have mentioned that coconut oil requires to be melted before adding it to the butter. But in Goa coconut oil is always in the liquid state, Goa's climate being tropical, except for the very brief period of winter (November-January end).

We use home made unrefined coconut oil (from coconut trees in our garden) for cooking too. Can I use home made oil? Is it ok to use it directly as melting it is not possible, unless I freeze/refrigerate it and then melt it?

Owner's reply

HI Gemini,

That's so cool that you can just grab coconuts from your back yard! As long as you can extract 100% coconut oil from the coconuts you can use it in your vegan butter. Just be advised that since it's unrefined it will make your Vegan Butter taste more like coconut than butter.

It doesn't matter if it's pre-melted or not; once the recipe is prepped it'll need to be solidified in the refrigerator. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Oh My God! Your recipes are amazing. I have been wondering about vegan butter for a long time and as you said they practically don't exist. Margarine and other substitutes just do not taste the same and do not do the job well. I am dying to try out these recipes for vegan butter starting with the basic one. I'll get back with a report.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Dee December 31, 2011

How to make vegan butter

Oh My God! Your recipes are amazing. I have been wondering about vegan butter for a long time and as you said they practically don't exist. Margarine and other substitutes just do not taste the same and do not do the job well. I am dying to try out these recipes for vegan butter starting with the basic one. I'll get back with a report.

Owner's reply

Thanks Dee! A couple days ago my girlfriend made chocolate chip cookies with the White Chocolate Vegan Butter and they were insane- It was really cool to get white chocolate background notes in the cookie. Good luck with your experiments!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can you replace lemon juice for Apple cider vinegar? It curdles the milk better.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Suneah December 30, 2011

question

Can you replace lemon juice for Apple cider vinegar? It curdles the milk better.

Owner's reply

Hi Suneah, the apple cider is used in Vegan Butter for optimal flavor development. You can use lemon juice if you prefer but it won't taste as buttery. However, I have plans to use lemon juice in a future version of Vegan Butter that puts lemon and cream at the forefront.

Was this review helpful to you? 
246 results - showing 181 - 195
« 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering