Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
54
242 results - showing 166 - 180
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 17 » 
Ordering 
 
Hi Mattie,
Can you use regular vegan butter in a "butter cream" frosting? I don't like the taste of Earth Balance spreads or sticks in my frostings and spectrum organic shortening makes the frosting too soft. Also, have you experimented yet with citric acid granules? Looks like you were thinking about this last year, but the recipe still calls for vinegar. Looking forward to trying the recipe, especially if I can sub regular vegan butter for Earth Balance spreads. Thanks!
Reviewed by Beverly May 13, 2012

vegan butter and cake frosting

Hi Mattie,
Can you use regular vegan butter in a "butter cream" frosting? I don't like the taste of Earth Balance spreads or sticks in my frostings and spectrum organic shortening makes the frosting too soft. Also, have you experimented yet with citric acid granules? Looks like you were thinking about this last year, but the recipe still calls for vinegar. Looking forward to trying the recipe, especially if I can sub regular vegan butter for Earth Balance spreads. Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Beverly! You should have no problems using Vegan Butter in frostings. Just keep in mind that since the melting temperature of coconut oil is about 76F, if you take this cake out somewhere where it's hotter, the frosting will slide off! Palm oil and cocoa butter has higher melting points if you need to get around this.

I did experiment with citric acid and ascorbic acid and found that while the ascorbic acid preserves the butter nicely, it makes the Vegan Butter taste like metal, even in the smallest amounts. Icky! So now I've just ordered grape seed extract which is also supposed to be a powerful natural preservative. I haven't put it in vegan butter yet but the powder tastes extremely sour and astringent so it's not looking good. I'll post if it works out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
this recipe is awesome. i run a vegan baking stall and am trying to kick out the margarine because of the palm oil problem. i just tried my first batch and the texture and mouth feel is spot-on. only problem was a bit of an unpleasant apple cider vinegar aftertaste, but as i was measuring the vinegar, it did go over a teaspoon a bit, so i imagine if i minimize the cider vinegar to what the recipe calls for (and or even reduce it a bit more?) it will come out great (?). im not an acv fan so the vinegary taste puts me off a bit but its to use for baking anyway so i think i can still use this batch. i love how there is a flavor reminiscent of butter (even though ive been vegan for years). now, i just need to eliminate the ACV aftertaste.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by kaybee May 09, 2012

awesome

this recipe is awesome. i run a vegan baking stall and am trying to kick out the margarine because of the palm oil problem. i just tried my first batch and the texture and mouth feel is spot-on. only problem was a bit of an unpleasant apple cider vinegar aftertaste, but as i was measuring the vinegar, it did go over a teaspoon a bit, so i imagine if i minimize the cider vinegar to what the recipe calls for (and or even reduce it a bit more?) it will come out great (?). im not an acv fan so the vinegary taste puts me off a bit but its to use for baking anyway so i think i can still use this batch. i love how there is a flavor reminiscent of butter (even though ive been vegan for years). now, i just need to eliminate the ACV aftertaste.

Owner's reply

Thanks kaybee! Feel free to reduce the apple cider vinegar to your liking. Acid is needed in order to coagulate the proteins and thorough testing found that for me, apple cider vinegar works the best due to its flavor profile. Let me know if you make any additional discoveries!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I found one source for ORGANIC soy lechithan - mountainroseherbs.com. I'm ordering it and will try it out. Thought readers might like to know.
Reviewed by Emma Wynn May 09, 2012

Source for Organic Soy Lechithan

I found one source for ORGANIC soy lechithan - mountainroseherbs.com. I'm ordering it and will try it out. Thought readers might like to know.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I eat tofu and tempeh, but I buy the soy-free Earth Balance these days to just cut out unnecessary soy. May I use other alt milk?
Reviewed by Johanna May 09, 2012

alt milk

I eat tofu and tempeh, but I buy the soy-free Earth Balance these days to just cut out unnecessary soy. May I use other alt milk?

Owner's reply

Hi Johanna! Soy milk is his highly recommended due to it containing a higher amount of protein, which curdles more effectively and offers superior flavor development. I've done curdle/flavor tests with all other non-dairy milks and nothing performs as well as soy milk. If you absolutely can't use soy milk, you can use almond milk. There is such a small amount of soy milk in this vegan butter that I recommend using soy milk unless you have a soy allergy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Mattie - I came accross you site recently and it is fantastic. Thank you for all the valuable information. I made your vegan butter yesterday and used it today to make the Chewey Chocolate Chip Cookies. I am not a vegan but am looking to eliminate as many animal fats from my diet as possible for cholestoral reasons. I have been looking for a butter substitute because I find that most vegan butters have a flat taste. I have used Earth Balance in other recipes but find it has a bland or oily taste in baked goods. I made a macadamic nut cream and used it as the base and it worked great. The end product does have strong coconut overtones though and that did come through in the cookies. It was not a problem but I would prefer a butter without that flavor. It was also a very expensive butter as coconut oil is fairly pricy these days.I will try the white chocolate version next but I am afraid of the fats in that. If you come across an idea that omits the coconut oil please post it as I think a more neutral flavor would be preferable. No matter what though it was a gret find and the cookies are exceptional and no one with ever know that they are not slathered in butter!!!
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by AndyB May 03, 2012

Vegan Butter recipe

Mattie - I came accross you site recently and it is fantastic. Thank you for all the valuable information. I made your vegan butter yesterday and used it today to make the Chewey Chocolate Chip Cookies. I am not a vegan but am looking to eliminate as many animal fats from my diet as possible for cholestoral reasons. I have been looking for a butter substitute because I find that most vegan butters have a flat taste. I have used Earth Balance in other recipes but find it has a bland or oily taste in baked goods. I made a macadamic nut cream and used it as the base and it worked great. The end product does have strong coconut overtones though and that did come through in the cookies. It was not a problem but I would prefer a butter without that flavor. It was also a very expensive butter as coconut oil is fairly pricy these days.I will try the white chocolate version next but I am afraid of the fats in that. If you come across an idea that omits the coconut oil please post it as I think a more neutral flavor would be preferable. No matter what though it was a gret find and the cookies are exceptional and no one with ever know that they are not slathered in butter!!!

Owner's reply

Hi AndyB! As I mentioned in my other comment, feel free to use refined coconut oil in order to avoid the coconut flavors. Spectrum makes a refined coconut oil that's pretty easy to find in US health food stores. Coconut oil is expensive isn't it?! I just found that if I go to an Indian food store, coconut oil is about half the price as the health food store! But refined, aka deodorized coconut oil without the coconut flavor was nowhere to be found.

Cocoa butter has slightly less saturated fats than coconut oil (plant-based saturated fats are either good or bad, depending on the food scientist you talk to or the studies you choose to follow at the moment) but it's also rather expensive. You may want to try to find something in bulk on the internet in the long-term.

At any rate, I have a White Chocolate Vegan Butter recipe if you choose to go the cocoa butter route. You can buy deodorized cocoa butter on the internet and it'll work perfectly in the recipe below.
http://veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/783-white-chocolate-vegan-butter

Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could i use lemon juice in place of the vinegar?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Luther.c April 24, 2012

Vinegar

Could i use lemon juice in place of the vinegar?

Owner's reply

Hi Luther.c! You could definitely use lemon juice and it would curdle soy milk adequately but it wouldn't provide the same buttery flavor profile that the apple cider vinegar provides.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi there!

So I goofed up and bought soy lecithin oil online rather than granules. Is there any way to substitute, so should I head back to Amazon?
Reviewed by Katie March 31, 2012

Lecithin oil?

Hi there!

So I goofed up and bought soy lecithin oil online rather than granules. Is there any way to substitute, so should I head back to Amazon?

Owner's reply

Hi Katie! The package is most likely mislabeled. Lecithin is a lipid which sort of places it in the fat family but not completely since it's an emulsifier. The manufacturer probably stated 'oil' because they were misinformed. It should work fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just finished making this this morning. I was so shocked as to how easy it is to make. I spent a lot of time checking and rechecking instructions to make sure I didn't skip any steps because it seemed to go together so quickly. Not only is it fast and easy, this is is fantastic. I like the taste so much more than the store-bought substitutes I've been buying. the mouth feel is so much better too. I have found that the one I was buying had such an odd plastic/greasy/odd feel to it. I love this! I can't wait to try all the other versions. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

One questions. The soy milk that you use, do you recommend unsweetened? does it matter? I had both but used just plain regular soy milk.

Thank you!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Lesley Reviewed by Lesley March 31, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

excellent!!

I just finished making this this morning. I was so shocked as to how easy it is to make. I spent a lot of time checking and rechecking instructions to make sure I didn't skip any steps because it seemed to go together so quickly. Not only is it fast and easy, this is is fantastic. I like the taste so much more than the store-bought substitutes I've been buying. the mouth feel is so much better too. I have found that the one I was buying had such an odd plastic/greasy/odd feel to it. I love this! I can't wait to try all the other versions. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

One questions. The soy milk that you use, do you recommend unsweetened? does it matter? I had both but used just plain regular soy milk.

Thank you!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Lesley! So glad you like the vegan butter! You can use either sweetened or unsweetened soy milk. I have this habit of not wanting excess sugar in my food unless I add it specifically so I can control the flavor as much as possible. I use unsweetened soy milk exclusively at my house. Regular soy milk will work just fine though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have been so hoping to find something like this - my little girl is not yet 2 and she's recently been dubbed officially "allergic" to milk itself. Not lactose intollerant - but ALLERGIC. I bake constantly, love it - it's my passion, but I've been trying to figure out substitutes so the flavors weren't going out. No kid likes cardboard when all the others are eatting the good stuff (that she's allergic to) so THANK YOU!!! You've given a mom a piece of mind, and many more ways of experimenting in the kitchen for her little girl. :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rebeccah March 29, 2012

Thank you!!!!!

I have been so hoping to find something like this - my little girl is not yet 2 and she's recently been dubbed officially "allergic" to milk itself. Not lactose intollerant - but ALLERGIC. I bake constantly, love it - it's my passion, but I've been trying to figure out substitutes so the flavors weren't going out. No kid likes cardboard when all the others are eatting the good stuff (that she's allergic to) so THANK YOU!!! You've given a mom a piece of mind, and many more ways of experimenting in the kitchen for her little girl. :)

Owner's reply

So glad this has worked out so well for you and your family Rebeccah!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was wondering, where you use canola oil, can another oil such as sunflower oil be used instead?
Reviewed by M March 28, 2012

I was wondering, where you use canola oil, can another oil such as sunflower oil be used instead?

Owner's reply

Hi M! You can totally use other oils like safflower or sunflower oil in place of the canola oil. I've actually updated the recipe to reflect this because many people don't prefer canola oil due to non-organic versions having a high probability of being GMO. I also think there is lots of misinformation out there that's causing people to avoid canola oil.

I happen to love GMO-free canola oil due to its high heat performance, neutral flavor and superior fat profile- canola oil has a high amount of monounsaturated fats and a low amount of saturated fat. It also has a fair amount of omega 3 fatty acids for a general use cooking oil. These are the reasons I use it frequently in my baking.

Since safflower and sunflower oils have similar levels of saturated fats as canola oil, they will offer a similar consistency in the stiffness of the vegan butter. The more saturated fat, the firmer the fat will be when it's cold. If you choose to use a different oil in place of canola oil, just make sure it has a similar amount of saturated fat- too much will make the vegan butter too stiff. Light olive oil would work too but I don't prefer the flavor it adds in most of the vegan butter flavors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This stuff is awesome! I can taste vinegar, no matter the amount, in anything, so I substituted, citric acid granules that I ground to a fine powder, for vinegar. I used 1/4 the amount and let the soy milk mixture sit a little longer.I am not a vegan or vegetarian for that matter, but I dabble in both every so often. And this stuff is equivalent to butter in taste, texture and application, Vegan Sweet Potato Pie here I come!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bythepound March 25, 2012

Great Stuff!!!!!

This stuff is awesome! I can taste vinegar, no matter the amount, in anything, so I substituted, citric acid granules that I ground to a fine powder, for vinegar. I used 1/4 the amount and let the soy milk mixture sit a little longer.I am not a vegan or vegetarian for that matter, but I dabble in both every so often. And this stuff is equivalent to butter in taste, texture and application, Vegan Sweet Potato Pie here I come!

Owner's reply

So glad you like this Bythepound and thanks for sharing your citric acid version! I'm planning on making a lemon olive oil one next and it's nice to know the citric acid can still enhance flavor. I tried using a small amount of ascorbic acid to improve shelf life but the tartness didn't develop buttery flavors to my liking. Can't wait to see how citric acid fares.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! I checked out purchasing the Tovolo ice cube trays and found some concerns regarding this product. When you've used these molds have you had any problem with residual tainted flavor or smell? Some that bought these reported that. Thank you! I can't wait to try this!!
Lesley Reviewed by Lesley March 25, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

vegan butter

Hi! I checked out purchasing the Tovolo ice cube trays and found some concerns regarding this product. When you've used these molds have you had any problem with residual tainted flavor or smell? Some that bought these reported that. Thank you! I can't wait to try this!!

Owner's reply

Hi Lesley! I too was originally concerned about the online reviews reporting of off-flavors associated with the Tovolo ice molds. I decided to purchase them anyway and see for myself due to the uniqueness of their product. Fortunately I haven't experienced any of the off-flavors. I suspect they've reformulated their silicone compound.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Is paragraph 1 the method to caramelize garlic? Or is there another method to caramelize garlic? I am so pleased that this is one vegan butter variant that does not require xanthan gum. Will try it right away.
Reviewed by Gemini March 10, 2012

Is paragraph 1 the method to caramelize garlic? Or is there another method to caramelize garlic? I am so pleased that this is one vegan butter variant that does not require xanthan gum. Will try it right away.

Owner's reply

Hi Gemini! Yes, Step 1 is to caramelize the garlic. I just added a few words to make that more clear. Good luck with it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.
Gilly Reviewed by Gilly March 07, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

I'm big enuff (and getting bigger) to admit I was

Okay Mattie,
I was wrong, the vinegar is just fine. I've had a cold and my sense of smell and taste is all to hell. I made another lot of your butter and added the amount you stated (but with a bit more fleur du sel) and it's absolutely perfect. The problem is I can't stop eating this stuff. I had stopped eating as much toast when I became vegan because I'm not wild about margarine but now....I'll never be slender and lissom Bill Clinton.

Owner's reply

Glad it worked out Gilly! If you want to scale back on toast eating I'd advise you to never make the Garlic Vegan Butter and use Fleur de Sel instead of regular salt. That would be a really bad idea;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, just tried this an it's unbelievable. I'm going to tweak it just a titch as it's slightly too vinegary for me, but I may have sploshed in slightly more than a teaspoon anyway. The texture is out of this world. Very creamy and melts beautifully on toast. Who'd have thunk it! With cheap coconut oil from the Indian grocery shop I think it even works out cheaper than most margarines. I used fleur du sel in it too just to be posh. I might add a little more of that too as I love salty butter. Another superb recipe
Reviewed by Gilly March 05, 2012

Fantastic! I can't believe it's not butter

Mattie, just tried this an it's unbelievable. I'm going to tweak it just a titch as it's slightly too vinegary for me, but I may have sploshed in slightly more than a teaspoon anyway. The texture is out of this world. Very creamy and melts beautifully on toast. Who'd have thunk it! With cheap coconut oil from the Indian grocery shop I think it even works out cheaper than most margarines. I used fleur du sel in it too just to be posh. I might add a little more of that too as I love salty butter. Another superb recipe

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Gilly! I prefer more salt too (salt makes everything taste better!) but I was aiming for something that was an absolute drop-in replacement for butter. I use more salt when I'm making it for toast.

Great idea on going to the Indian store to get a better deal on coconut butter! I've been getting ripped off at the health food store this entire time;) And don't even get me started on how good of an idea the Fleur de Sel is!

Was this review helpful to you? 
242 results - showing 166 - 180
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 17 » 
Ordering