Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (142)
55
247 results - showing 91 - 105
« 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... » 
Ordering 
 
Some really good ideas and worth experimenting with. I do have a problem with soya milk though, in fact any unfermented soy product.The only people that ingest these hormone laden poisons are Europeans where we have been fooled into thinking they are healthy when they are not, and our Asian friends know it. As a Chinese cook and they will tell you that in their country soy is primarilly used as a fertilizer, unless it's fermented into sauces or similar. There are non animal non GM curdling agents and rennet which if you can find them are good for making vegetarian, kosher, halal and some vegan cheeses and spreads.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Dave Jones May 20, 2013

Some really good ideas and worth experimenting with. I do have a problem with soya milk though, in fact any unfermented soy product.The only people that ingest these hormone laden poisons are Europeans where we have been fooled into thinking they are healthy when they are not, and our Asian friends know it. As a Chinese cook and they will tell you that in their country soy is primarilly used as a fertilizer, unless it's fermented into sauces or similar. There are non animal non GM curdling agents and rennet which if you can find them are good for making vegetarian, kosher, halal and some vegan cheeses and spreads.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Came back again to say I tried making it using plain soy yoghurt instead of curdled soymilk, and I love it, I think I'll be using that adaptation permanently. I think it tastes the most like dairy butter that way. Also, I'm dying to hear about your vegan Greek yoghurt experiments!?
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife May 18, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

yoghurt butter!

Came back again to say I tried making it using plain soy yoghurt instead of curdled soymilk, and I love it, I think I'll be using that adaptation permanently. I think it tastes the most like dairy butter that way. Also, I'm dying to hear about your vegan Greek yoghurt experiments!?

Owner's reply

That's great that you gave it a whirl using soy yogurt asharpknife! I also developed a Cultured European Style Vegan Butter using soy yogurt here:
http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/808-cultured-european-style-vegan-butter
It should work a little better in croissants and other puff pastry than Regular Vegan Butter. Regarding the Greek yogurt, I'm still working on it and want to get it perfect before sharing it so thanks for your interest!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hey there! Thanks for posting this. It was so easy to make! My butter came out tasting more coconutty (which is fine with me since I love coconut). I made two batches. The first batch I made, I followed the directions to a 'T'. and as I said it definately smelled like coconut. The second batch I altered a bit and added less of the coconut oil, 1/4 cup instead of the 1/2 cup. I got the same result. Don't get me wrong, I love it, it's tasty and the texture is great!
Just wondering if I read something wrong...any ideas?
Rating 
 
5.0
prettyleodia Reviewed by prettyleodia May 04, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

love it

Hey there! Thanks for posting this. It was so easy to make! My butter came out tasting more coconutty (which is fine with me since I love coconut). I made two batches. The first batch I made, I followed the directions to a 'T'. and as I said it definately smelled like coconut. The second batch I altered a bit and added less of the coconut oil, 1/4 cup instead of the 1/2 cup. I got the same result. Don't get me wrong, I love it, it's tasty and the texture is great!
Just wondering if I read something wrong...any ideas?

Owner's reply

Hi prettyleodia! You're using refined coconut oil right? That's coconut oil that has been filtered to remove all traces of coconut aroma and flavor. If you're using unrefined, you'll get the coconut flavor. I usually have both kinds in my kitchen so I can switch between them if I want coconut flavor or not. This particular Vegan Butter recipe is designed to not have coconut flavor, hence, it calls for refined coconut oil. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was really excited to try this recipe. I am not a vegan but I want to be able to bake for friends who are vegan. There are some issues with soy so I made cashew milk/cream btw it is so much creamier then almond milk. I let the milk and ACV sit on the counter for an hour or so. It takes about 3 days on the counter to get cashew milk with ACV to sour. I melted the coconut oil over hot water and let it return to room temp and blended everything together. All I could smell was the ACV I tasted it and it was the predominate flavor it was also a bit tart. Does this mellow out in the fridge/freezer? Would another acid be better with the cashew milk? Any suggestions would be great. I would like to learn from others as it will get very expensive going thru trial and error. Thanks
Rating 
 
3.0
sktlmt Reviewed by sktlmt May 01, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Overwhelmed by ACV

I was really excited to try this recipe. I am not a vegan but I want to be able to bake for friends who are vegan. There are some issues with soy so I made cashew milk/cream btw it is so much creamier then almond milk. I let the milk and ACV sit on the counter for an hour or so. It takes about 3 days on the counter to get cashew milk with ACV to sour. I melted the coconut oil over hot water and let it return to room temp and blended everything together. All I could smell was the ACV I tasted it and it was the predominate flavor it was also a bit tart. Does this mellow out in the fridge/freezer? Would another acid be better with the cashew milk? Any suggestions would be great. I would like to learn from others as it will get very expensive going thru trial and error. Thanks

Owner's reply

Hi sktlmt! Some people are particularly sensitive to apple cider vinegar. If it's too much for you I recently discovered that coconut vinegar is really great because it offers a more subtle, smooth, but longer lasting tartness. One of the reasons for this is probably because it lacks malic acid which is a particularly sharp tasting acid. I also found that using half apple cider vinegar and half coconut vinegar yielded an even better, fuller Vegan Butter taste overall that lingered on the palate slightly longer. I'm going to update my recipe to include this option in the near future. In the meantime, I recommend tracking down coconut vinegar at your local ethnic market or online and giving it a shot. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I was so excited finding this recipe (and all the reasoning behind - this fits perfectly with how my brain works) that I've made it immediately, even that I only had unrefined coconut oil. So my butter came out smelling with coconut. But it still tasted lovely, and the coconut smell went away after couple of days in the fridge. I added the tiniest pinch of turmeric for colour.
Me and friend of mine are in transition from vegetarian to vegan. We each have last weakness left. For me it is natural yogurt. For her it is butter. So - next time I go visiting I will bring her some butter :-) - your butter. This tastes so different from many vegetable spreads, even the 'best' ones, really buttery, I am sure she will be thrilled. As for my yogurt - I am experimenting with coconut yogurt (I can make sweet dessert yogurts from soy or other grain milks, but not the Greek yogurt substitute) - so it's all good. Thank you again, this is really great resource.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Anna Sheridan April 28, 2013

Thank you so much for this!

I was so excited finding this recipe (and all the reasoning behind - this fits perfectly with how my brain works) that I've made it immediately, even that I only had unrefined coconut oil. So my butter came out smelling with coconut. But it still tasted lovely, and the coconut smell went away after couple of days in the fridge. I added the tiniest pinch of turmeric for colour.
Me and friend of mine are in transition from vegetarian to vegan. We each have last weakness left. For me it is natural yogurt. For her it is butter. So - next time I go visiting I will bring her some butter :-) - your butter. This tastes so different from many vegetable spreads, even the 'best' ones, really buttery, I am sure she will be thrilled. As for my yogurt - I am experimenting with coconut yogurt (I can make sweet dessert yogurts from soy or other grain milks, but not the Greek yogurt substitute) - so it's all good. Thank you again, this is really great resource.

Owner's reply

So glad you like the vegan butter Anna! I'm actually almost done perfecting a vegan Greek style yogurt and I'm trying to figure out if i should share it here or go into business marketing it;) Good luck with your transition to the vegan world!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi again, I commented a few weeks ago about the lecithin granules vs. powder. To update, I did find granules to compare, and my version is definitely more powder-like. The recipe worked great and has a nice taste, though I didn't see any visible curdling of the soy milk for some reason. I can only comment on the "soft" version as I have a pile of Earth Balance that I stocked up on when it was on sale to use up first for baking. I subbed 2 Tbsp of coconut oil with liquid oil, but it was still pretty rock hard when kept in the fridge... next time I'm going to try a whole 1/4 cup of liquid oil and see what happens. I guess I'm too used to vegan Becel :)

On to my question: I made this on March 20th and have used about 3/4 of it since. I haven't opened it in probably close to a week, but this morning I noticed there were several dots of green mold. I'm pretty good about using a clean knife in things that could spoil, so I don't believe it was that. The soy milk I used was just opened for this purpose. I was wondering if you had any insight as to why this would have gone bad after only a couple of weeks, and perhaps some ideas for preservation of the soft version since it's kept in the fridge. Thank you!
Reviewed by Sarah April 06, 2013

Mold problem

Hi again, I commented a few weeks ago about the lecithin granules vs. powder. To update, I did find granules to compare, and my version is definitely more powder-like. The recipe worked great and has a nice taste, though I didn't see any visible curdling of the soy milk for some reason. I can only comment on the "soft" version as I have a pile of Earth Balance that I stocked up on when it was on sale to use up first for baking. I subbed 2 Tbsp of coconut oil with liquid oil, but it was still pretty rock hard when kept in the fridge... next time I'm going to try a whole 1/4 cup of liquid oil and see what happens. I guess I'm too used to vegan Becel :)

On to my question: I made this on March 20th and have used about 3/4 of it since. I haven't opened it in probably close to a week, but this morning I noticed there were several dots of green mold. I'm pretty good about using a clean knife in things that could spoil, so I don't believe it was that. The soy milk I used was just opened for this purpose. I was wondering if you had any insight as to why this would have gone bad after only a couple of weeks, and perhaps some ideas for preservation of the soft version since it's kept in the fridge. Thank you!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah,

The moldy sides can be sliced off and discarded just as with cheese. Was the Vegan Butter stored in a clean airtight container? I noticed that when I used to store it in a non airtight glass butter container it would start to mold in about two weeks. I then started storing it in an airtight container and now I get about 3 to 4 weeks out of it. I've experimented with adding natural preservatives such as ascorbic acid and although it works to preserve, unfortunately it negatively affects flavor. Currently, I make large amounts and store most of it in the freezer. I take whatever I'm going to use in about 3 to 4 weeks and place it in the refrigerator in the airtight container as needed. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Yep, I have liquid lecithin, running out fast though, so I'll bear that in mind and make sure I get the liquid stuff again, thanks for pointing that out.
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife March 27, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

yep!

Yep, I have liquid lecithin, running out fast though, so I'll bear that in mind and make sure I get the liquid stuff again, thanks for pointing that out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've made this several times now, both in my workplace, where I have a food processor, and at home, where I only have a hand blender (albeit a good one) and it's worked out perfectly every time, so I just wanted to let people know that you don't really need a food processor to make this lovely stuff for your toast. Also, I just made a version with Marmite added, to streamline my morning toast making. Thanks for coming up with this Mattie :)
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife March 23, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

even if you don't have a food processor....

I've made this several times now, both in my workplace, where I have a food processor, and at home, where I only have a hand blender (albeit a good one) and it's worked out perfectly every time, so I just wanted to let people know that you don't really need a food processor to make this lovely stuff for your toast. Also, I just made a version with Marmite added, to streamline my morning toast making. Thanks for coming up with this Mattie :)

Owner's reply

So cool that you made Vegan Butter with Marmite! That's brilliant. I assume you're using liquid lecithin? It's my understanding that whisking is not enough to get lecithin granules to dissolve.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe looks fantastic! I was on the hunt for sunflower lecithin since I figured finding non-GMO soy lecithin would be tricky--I was right. Sadly, I couldn't find sunflower lecithin either and had to settle on "lecithin powder". Is that the same as the granules? It's sort of a fine crumb like graham cracker crumbs. If it's different than the granules, should I reduce the amount to 2 tsp since it's probably more compact than granules? Thanks! Can't wait to give this a try!
Reviewed by Sarah March 19, 2013

Lecithin powder?

This recipe looks fantastic! I was on the hunt for sunflower lecithin since I figured finding non-GMO soy lecithin would be tricky--I was right. Sadly, I couldn't find sunflower lecithin either and had to settle on "lecithin powder". Is that the same as the granules? It's sort of a fine crumb like graham cracker crumbs. If it's different than the granules, should I reduce the amount to 2 tsp since it's probably more compact than granules? Thanks! Can't wait to give this a try!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah, To my knowledge, lecithin granules are the same thing as lecithin powder. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm seeing some folks not liking working with the lecithin granules and just wanted to say that I'm using liquid lecithin and it works beautifully. I think it costs a bit more, but since you use so little, it's worth it. I had to have a friend bring it from the states and what she ended up bringing is actually lecithin supplements, so I'm cutting open gel caps (I know!) to get the lecithin out, but it works - and in the states I've been able to get liquid lecithin in the past in health food stores. Good luck ya'l
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by nephyr March 18, 2013

lecithin

I'm seeing some folks not liking working with the lecithin granules and just wanted to say that I'm using liquid lecithin and it works beautifully. I think it costs a bit more, but since you use so little, it's worth it. I had to have a friend bring it from the states and what she ended up bringing is actually lecithin supplements, so I'm cutting open gel caps (I know!) to get the lecithin out, but it works - and in the states I've been able to get liquid lecithin in the past in health food stores. Good luck ya'l

Owner's reply

That's a great tip to just look for the lecithin supplements in stores nephyr! I bought a large bottle of lecithin years ago on Amazon (linked in the recipe) for very little money and I've managed to develop every single Vegan Butter recipe on this website and not even get half way through with it. I definitely recommend liquid lecithin over granules but I understand not everyone can easily find it. Good to know you should be able to just go to a health food store and buy a gelcap-based supplement. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Thanks for the excellent recipe. I've been so nervous about hydrogenated margarine so this is a godsend. It works great as a substitute in all recipes. If any of you love the taste of yogurt margarines, try substituting the soymilk in this recipe with a soy or almond milk yogurt of the same quantity. It is absolutely delicious even without being spread on anything. While I didn't quite like the taste of the soy lecithin granules, one little tweak and this recipe has turned into my new favorite on-bread-spread. The yogurt blocks the lecithin taste and makes it taste like its farm fresh! Thought I'd share the joy over my new find since you so generously shared this recipe for free. The yogurt changes the flavor dramatically!
Rating 
 
5.0
fatvegan Reviewed by fatvegan March 16, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Even more delicious with yogurt!

Thanks for the excellent recipe. I've been so nervous about hydrogenated margarine so this is a godsend. It works great as a substitute in all recipes. If any of you love the taste of yogurt margarines, try substituting the soymilk in this recipe with a soy or almond milk yogurt of the same quantity. It is absolutely delicious even without being spread on anything. While I didn't quite like the taste of the soy lecithin granules, one little tweak and this recipe has turned into my new favorite on-bread-spread. The yogurt blocks the lecithin taste and makes it taste like its farm fresh! Thought I'd share the joy over my new find since you so generously shared this recipe for free. The yogurt changes the flavor dramatically!

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you got a chance to try it with yogurt fatvegan! I've been wanting to work on a "Cultured Vegan Butter" version utilizing vegan yogurt instead of non-dairy milk and just haven't had the time to get down to it yet. It's nice to know that the quantities can be kept the same. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm here to sing praises. I've never loved Earth Balance, but used it when needed as being the only thing commercially available. Then I moved to Thailand, where the only dairy-free butter product I have found tastes like melted down Mcdonalds arches. I found your recipe, and after a friend brought me lecithin, I was good to go (I'd brought xanthan gum with me when I moved). I get freshly made soy milk from a local open market and it curdles beautifully.

All I can say is, why have I never done this before??? It's so easy! And it's SO much better than any other vegan butter! And healthier! And rainforest friendlier (no palm oil!).

For all considering making this; it works! It even melts in the frying pan just like "real" butter, and gives a great flavor to things. It has the perfect consistency; I really can't rave enough.

thank you thank you thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Nephyr March 10, 2013

Gratitude from afar

I'm here to sing praises. I've never loved Earth Balance, but used it when needed as being the only thing commercially available. Then I moved to Thailand, where the only dairy-free butter product I have found tastes like melted down Mcdonalds arches. I found your recipe, and after a friend brought me lecithin, I was good to go (I'd brought xanthan gum with me when I moved). I get freshly made soy milk from a local open market and it curdles beautifully.

All I can say is, why have I never done this before??? It's so easy! And it's SO much better than any other vegan butter! And healthier! And rainforest friendlier (no palm oil!).

For all considering making this; it works! It even melts in the frying pan just like "real" butter, and gives a great flavor to things. It has the perfect consistency; I really can't rave enough.

thank you thank you thank you!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Nephyr! I'm so glad it's worked out for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Firstly, Thank you so much for this recipe. I have only been a vegan for about a month, and while I had no qualms about omitting meat and milk from my diet, as a passionate baker, I did feel a sense of loss for all the recipes that call for eggs and butter.
However I quickly learnt that they can easily be replaced in the majority of recipes, and have been having great fun recreating all of my old favourites cruelty free!
However, there are just a couple of recipes, like my homemade Croissants/Pain Au Chocolate, for which there is no replacement for butter, and I have been totally unable to purchase vegan butter anywhere, or even find anyone who has heard of it...
Which is what lead me here.
I cannot describe to you the joy and elation of being able to make my own butter, it feels like one of my greatest culinary achievements ever!
I was really shocked at how quick and simple it was too. After mixing it, and putting in the freezer to chill, I was concerned that the mix had quite a vinegary smell, and prepared myself for the worst... An hour later, I tentatively had my first taste and WOW! It was creamy, salty and UTTERLY BUTTERLY!
Thank You, Thank You, and Thank You again for making this available to me (particularly as it seems to be the only one available!).
The only slight issue, is that I used Soya lecithin granules, (as they were the cheapest and most available option) and they didn't seem to melt into the mix, so I had brown flecks in it, which didn't seem to affect the flavour, although it was a little crumbly which could possibly be related(?).
Any tips to avoid this would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much for reuniting me with my beloved Pastries! :)
Rating 
 
5.0
onlyjustvegan Reviewed by onlyjustvegan March 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A million thank you's!

Firstly, Thank you so much for this recipe. I have only been a vegan for about a month, and while I had no qualms about omitting meat and milk from my diet, as a passionate baker, I did feel a sense of loss for all the recipes that call for eggs and butter.
However I quickly learnt that they can easily be replaced in the majority of recipes, and have been having great fun recreating all of my old favourites cruelty free!
However, there are just a couple of recipes, like my homemade Croissants/Pain Au Chocolate, for which there is no replacement for butter, and I have been totally unable to purchase vegan butter anywhere, or even find anyone who has heard of it...
Which is what lead me here.
I cannot describe to you the joy and elation of being able to make my own butter, it feels like one of my greatest culinary achievements ever!
I was really shocked at how quick and simple it was too. After mixing it, and putting in the freezer to chill, I was concerned that the mix had quite a vinegary smell, and prepared myself for the worst... An hour later, I tentatively had my first taste and WOW! It was creamy, salty and UTTERLY BUTTERLY!
Thank You, Thank You, and Thank You again for making this available to me (particularly as it seems to be the only one available!).
The only slight issue, is that I used Soya lecithin granules, (as they were the cheapest and most available option) and they didn't seem to melt into the mix, so I had brown flecks in it, which didn't seem to affect the flavour, although it was a little crumbly which could possibly be related(?).
Any tips to avoid this would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much for reuniting me with my beloved Pastries! :)

Owner's reply

So thrilled that Vegan Butter has worked so well for you onlyjustvegan! Regarding the lecithin granules, it's possible they would dissolve if you processed the mixture in a food processor for 3 to 5 minutes instead of just 2 minutes. I think there needs to be more mixing time to get them to break down. I'll do some more work on this and update the recipe accordingly if I find anything. Thanks for letting me know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm wondering if the xanthan gum in the butter could make baked goods made with gluten-free flour with xanthan gum gummier. Made some cookies today and added an extra half teaspoon xanthan gum to a gluten-free mix recipe I found online and the cookies were extra gummy. I may have messed up some of the measurements for the mix though, and the extra half teaspoon was of course a bad idea. I know now I don't need the extra with this butter.
Reviewed by Grady February 25, 2013

Xanthan Gum

I'm wondering if the xanthan gum in the butter could make baked goods made with gluten-free flour with xanthan gum gummier. Made some cookies today and added an extra half teaspoon xanthan gum to a gluten-free mix recipe I found online and the cookies were extra gummy. I may have messed up some of the measurements for the mix though, and the extra half teaspoon was of course a bad idea. I know now I don't need the extra with this butter.

Owner's reply

Hi Grady,

A half teaspoon xanthan gum in a cookie recipe does seem excessive. Especially since you cookies don't require significant leavening action, which xanthan gum would facilitate. It seems that a gluten-free cookie recipe shouldn't need that much xanthan gum to be cookie-like. But as you said, if you make the cookie recipe again, I recommend reducing xanthan gum somewhere to reduce the gum factor. The minimal amount in the butter shouldn't contribute to considerable gumminess if normal amounts of xanthan gum are used.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Sumatra isn't a country.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Chloe February 21, 2013

Sumatra isn't a country.

Owner's reply

You're absolutely right Chloe! I just updated the article. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
247 results - showing 91 - 105
« 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... » 
Ordering