Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 » 
Ordering 
 
I've never made my own vegan butter before but I like how much cheaper and easily customizable it seems to be. I'm trying not to consume too much soy and was wondering if you could possibly tell me if you think this sunflower lecithin would work for this recipe. I've never used any lecithin before and I want to make sure I get the right thing.
http://www.mysunflowerlecithin.com/all-natural-liquid-sunflower-lecithin/
Reviewed by Melissa June 14, 2013

I've never made my own vegan butter before but I like how much cheaper and easily customizable it seems to be. I'm trying not to consume too much soy and was wondering if you could possibly tell me if you think this sunflower lecithin would work for this recipe. I've never used any lecithin before and I want to make sure I get the right thing.
http://www.mysunflowerlecithin.com/all-natural-liquid-sunflower-lecithin/

Owner's reply

Hi Melissa! That and any other sunflower lecithin should work fine in this recipe. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have the highest hopes for this recipe as I have not been able to successfully veganize my favorite Christmas cut-out butter cookie recipe to date due to, I think, the unavailability of a suitable vegan butter option. The only non-vegan items in my cutouts are butter and 1 egg. HOWEVER, the commercially available vegan butter is all salted and I think that it is the reason why the cookies have an unusual "aftertaste" or "off" flavor on the tongue when I do the substitution with Earth Balance sticks for the butter (I don't think it's the "egg" substitutes b/c I've tried multiple methods to replace the egg and still, the same weird aftertaste remains... hence, my suspicion that the problem is the salted vegan butter replacement). Do you think that I can remove all of the salt from this recipe whenever I want to use it just for 'clean' baking? or does the salt serve an essential purpose/ratios/etc.? The flavor is perfect as written for traditional butter purposes, but I think that I will need to remove the salt to "save" my recipes requiring unsalted butter. Have you tried it without adding the salt for an "unsalted" version? Any suggestions would be so appreciated. [and by the way, THANK YOU for having an AMAZING site/recipes to offer!!!]
Rating 
 
5.0
Tiffanybakes Reviewed by Tiffanybakes June 07, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fingers crossed

I have the highest hopes for this recipe as I have not been able to successfully veganize my favorite Christmas cut-out butter cookie recipe to date due to, I think, the unavailability of a suitable vegan butter option. The only non-vegan items in my cutouts are butter and 1 egg. HOWEVER, the commercially available vegan butter is all salted and I think that it is the reason why the cookies have an unusual "aftertaste" or "off" flavor on the tongue when I do the substitution with Earth Balance sticks for the butter (I don't think it's the "egg" substitutes b/c I've tried multiple methods to replace the egg and still, the same weird aftertaste remains... hence, my suspicion that the problem is the salted vegan butter replacement). Do you think that I can remove all of the salt from this recipe whenever I want to use it just for 'clean' baking? or does the salt serve an essential purpose/ratios/etc.? The flavor is perfect as written for traditional butter purposes, but I think that I will need to remove the salt to "save" my recipes requiring unsalted butter. Have you tried it without adding the salt for an "unsalted" version? Any suggestions would be so appreciated. [and by the way, THANK YOU for having an AMAZING site/recipes to offer!!!]

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Tiffanybakes! The salt is just there to amplify the butteriness and savoriness only. It's redundant if you're using salt in your recipe already, which you probably are. So it doesn't matter if you use salt when making this Vegan Butter or not in terms of texture.

I developed Vegan Butter to use salt so it would be similar to European salted butter in both flavor and texture. This also makes it versatile for spreading on things like toast and other non-baking applications so non-bakers can benefit from it.

Since I rarely eat commercial vegan butters anymore, any time I do, I immediately notice the flavoring (diacetyl) and find it incredibly off putting. Perhaps that's what you're noticing in the cookies? Hopefully this Vegan Butter helps you get closer to nailing your recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi there! Thank you for this great recipe! I can't wait to try it. I have just ordered some soy lecithin liquid online so will have to wait for it to arrive before I can make it. One question, do you think it would work using olive oil in place of the canola/safflower/sunflower oil? I only use olive oil at home and don't really want to buy a whole bottle of canola oil for one recipe..

Btw, for those who can't find soy lecithin liquid anywhere, iherb.com is an amazing website that sells just about anything, at very cheap prices. I just ordered a 473ml bottle of soy lecithin liquid for $7.74 (USD). It's an American company but they ship all over the world, even little old NZ (where I am from). It really is a fantastic website, I have found most products from this website to be cheaper than what I can buy them for here in NZ.

Ps. If you use my code QUG080 you'll get $10 off your first order of $40 or more, or $5 off orders under $40.

Thanks again! :-) :-) :-)
Rating 
 
5.0
Joanie Reviewed by Joanie May 31, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Can't wait to try this!

Hi there! Thank you for this great recipe! I can't wait to try it. I have just ordered some soy lecithin liquid online so will have to wait for it to arrive before I can make it. One question, do you think it would work using olive oil in place of the canola/safflower/sunflower oil? I only use olive oil at home and don't really want to buy a whole bottle of canola oil for one recipe..

Btw, for those who can't find soy lecithin liquid anywhere, iherb.com is an amazing website that sells just about anything, at very cheap prices. I just ordered a 473ml bottle of soy lecithin liquid for $7.74 (USD). It's an American company but they ship all over the world, even little old NZ (where I am from). It really is a fantastic website, I have found most products from this website to be cheaper than what I can buy them for here in NZ.

Ps. If you use my code QUG080 you'll get $10 off your first order of $40 or more, or $5 off orders under $40.

Thanks again! :-) :-) :-)

Owner's reply

Hi Joanie! This Vegan Butter will definitely work with olive oil. I've been wanting to do a lemon olive oil version but haven't gotten around to it yet. I also have been meaning to update most of my vegan baking recipes to note that they can be made with light olive oil in addition to safflower, sunflower, etc. Oil choice is like religion;) Olive oil is slightly more solid at refrigerator temperature than canola so the Vegan Butter will probably be a tiny bit more firm but it might not be noticeable. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have not tried the recipe yet, but I am very anxious to. For months I have agonized over what to use instead of the tried-and-true Earth Balance. Canola oil works so well for cake, bar cookie, quick bread, and yeast bread recipes; but, I had no idea what to do about pastry and other cookies. I especially appreciate the background and process explanation, because I like to know the purpose behind using a particular ingredient or performing a certain task. Thanks again.
Rating 
 
5.0
BigDogsAndBirds Reviewed by BigDogsAndBirds May 31, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Thank You!

I have not tried the recipe yet, but I am very anxious to. For months I have agonized over what to use instead of the tried-and-true Earth Balance. Canola oil works so well for cake, bar cookie, quick bread, and yeast bread recipes; but, I had no idea what to do about pastry and other cookies. I especially appreciate the background and process explanation, because I like to know the purpose behind using a particular ingredient or performing a certain task. Thanks again.

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Some really good ideas and worth experimenting with. I do have a problem with soya milk though, in fact any unfermented soy product.The only people that ingest these hormone laden poisons are Europeans where we have been fooled into thinking they are healthy when they are not, and our Asian friends know it. As a Chinese cook and they will tell you that in their country soy is primarilly used as a fertilizer, unless it's fermented into sauces or similar. There are non animal non GM curdling agents and rennet which if you can find them are good for making vegetarian, kosher, halal and some vegan cheeses and spreads.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Dave Jones May 20, 2013

Some really good ideas and worth experimenting with. I do have a problem with soya milk though, in fact any unfermented soy product.The only people that ingest these hormone laden poisons are Europeans where we have been fooled into thinking they are healthy when they are not, and our Asian friends know it. As a Chinese cook and they will tell you that in their country soy is primarilly used as a fertilizer, unless it's fermented into sauces or similar. There are non animal non GM curdling agents and rennet which if you can find them are good for making vegetarian, kosher, halal and some vegan cheeses and spreads.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Came back again to say I tried making it using plain soy yoghurt instead of curdled soymilk, and I love it, I think I'll be using that adaptation permanently. I think it tastes the most like dairy butter that way. Also, I'm dying to hear about your vegan Greek yoghurt experiments!?
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife May 18, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

yoghurt butter!

Came back again to say I tried making it using plain soy yoghurt instead of curdled soymilk, and I love it, I think I'll be using that adaptation permanently. I think it tastes the most like dairy butter that way. Also, I'm dying to hear about your vegan Greek yoghurt experiments!?

Owner's reply

That's great that you gave it a whirl using soy yogurt asharpknife! I also developed a Cultured European Style Vegan Butter using soy yogurt here:
http://www.veganbaking.net/fats/vegan-butters/808-cultured-european-style-vegan-butter
It should work a little better in croissants and other puff pastry than Regular Vegan Butter. Regarding the Greek yogurt, I'm still working on it and want to get it perfect before sharing it so thanks for your interest!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hey there! Thanks for posting this. It was so easy to make! My butter came out tasting more coconutty (which is fine with me since I love coconut). I made two batches. The first batch I made, I followed the directions to a 'T'. and as I said it definately smelled like coconut. The second batch I altered a bit and added less of the coconut oil, 1/4 cup instead of the 1/2 cup. I got the same result. Don't get me wrong, I love it, it's tasty and the texture is great!
Just wondering if I read something wrong...any ideas?
Rating 
 
5.0
prettyleodia Reviewed by prettyleodia May 04, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)

love it

Hey there! Thanks for posting this. It was so easy to make! My butter came out tasting more coconutty (which is fine with me since I love coconut). I made two batches. The first batch I made, I followed the directions to a 'T'. and as I said it definately smelled like coconut. The second batch I altered a bit and added less of the coconut oil, 1/4 cup instead of the 1/2 cup. I got the same result. Don't get me wrong, I love it, it's tasty and the texture is great!
Just wondering if I read something wrong...any ideas?

Owner's reply

Hi prettyleodia! You're using refined coconut oil right? That's coconut oil that has been filtered to remove all traces of coconut aroma and flavor. If you're using unrefined, you'll get the coconut flavor. I usually have both kinds in my kitchen so I can switch between them if I want coconut flavor or not. This particular Vegan Butter recipe is designed to not have coconut flavor, hence, it calls for refined coconut oil. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was really excited to try this recipe. I am not a vegan but I want to be able to bake for friends who are vegan. There are some issues with soy so I made cashew milk/cream btw it is so much creamier then almond milk. I let the milk and ACV sit on the counter for an hour or so. It takes about 3 days on the counter to get cashew milk with ACV to sour. I melted the coconut oil over hot water and let it return to room temp and blended everything together. All I could smell was the ACV I tasted it and it was the predominate flavor it was also a bit tart. Does this mellow out in the fridge/freezer? Would another acid be better with the cashew milk? Any suggestions would be great. I would like to learn from others as it will get very expensive going thru trial and error. Thanks
Rating 
 
3.0
sktlmt Reviewed by sktlmt May 01, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Overwhelmed by ACV

I was really excited to try this recipe. I am not a vegan but I want to be able to bake for friends who are vegan. There are some issues with soy so I made cashew milk/cream btw it is so much creamier then almond milk. I let the milk and ACV sit on the counter for an hour or so. It takes about 3 days on the counter to get cashew milk with ACV to sour. I melted the coconut oil over hot water and let it return to room temp and blended everything together. All I could smell was the ACV I tasted it and it was the predominate flavor it was also a bit tart. Does this mellow out in the fridge/freezer? Would another acid be better with the cashew milk? Any suggestions would be great. I would like to learn from others as it will get very expensive going thru trial and error. Thanks

Owner's reply

Hi sktlmt! Some people are particularly sensitive to apple cider vinegar. If it's too much for you I recently discovered that coconut vinegar is really great because it offers a more subtle, smooth, but longer lasting tartness. One of the reasons for this is probably because it lacks malic acid which is a particularly sharp tasting acid. I also found that using half apple cider vinegar and half coconut vinegar yielded an even better, fuller Vegan Butter taste overall that lingered on the palate slightly longer. I'm going to update my recipe to include this option in the near future. In the meantime, I recommend tracking down coconut vinegar at your local ethnic market or online and giving it a shot. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was so excited finding this recipe (and all the reasoning behind - this fits perfectly with how my brain works) that I've made it immediately, even that I only had unrefined coconut oil. So my butter came out smelling with coconut. But it still tasted lovely, and the coconut smell went away after couple of days in the fridge. I added the tiniest pinch of turmeric for colour.
Me and friend of mine are in transition from vegetarian to vegan. We each have last weakness left. For me it is natural yogurt. For her it is butter. So - next time I go visiting I will bring her some butter :-) - your butter. This tastes so different from many vegetable spreads, even the 'best' ones, really buttery, I am sure she will be thrilled. As for my yogurt - I am experimenting with coconut yogurt (I can make sweet dessert yogurts from soy or other grain milks, but not the Greek yogurt substitute) - so it's all good. Thank you again, this is really great resource.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Anna Sheridan April 28, 2013

Thank you so much for this!

I was so excited finding this recipe (and all the reasoning behind - this fits perfectly with how my brain works) that I've made it immediately, even that I only had unrefined coconut oil. So my butter came out smelling with coconut. But it still tasted lovely, and the coconut smell went away after couple of days in the fridge. I added the tiniest pinch of turmeric for colour.
Me and friend of mine are in transition from vegetarian to vegan. We each have last weakness left. For me it is natural yogurt. For her it is butter. So - next time I go visiting I will bring her some butter :-) - your butter. This tastes so different from many vegetable spreads, even the 'best' ones, really buttery, I am sure she will be thrilled. As for my yogurt - I am experimenting with coconut yogurt (I can make sweet dessert yogurts from soy or other grain milks, but not the Greek yogurt substitute) - so it's all good. Thank you again, this is really great resource.

Owner's reply

So glad you like the vegan butter Anna! I'm actually almost done perfecting a vegan Greek style yogurt and I'm trying to figure out if i should share it here or go into business marketing it;) Good luck with your transition to the vegan world!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi again, I commented a few weeks ago about the lecithin granules vs. powder. To update, I did find granules to compare, and my version is definitely more powder-like. The recipe worked great and has a nice taste, though I didn't see any visible curdling of the soy milk for some reason. I can only comment on the "soft" version as I have a pile of Earth Balance that I stocked up on when it was on sale to use up first for baking. I subbed 2 Tbsp of coconut oil with liquid oil, but it was still pretty rock hard when kept in the fridge... next time I'm going to try a whole 1/4 cup of liquid oil and see what happens. I guess I'm too used to vegan Becel :)

On to my question: I made this on March 20th and have used about 3/4 of it since. I haven't opened it in probably close to a week, but this morning I noticed there were several dots of green mold. I'm pretty good about using a clean knife in things that could spoil, so I don't believe it was that. The soy milk I used was just opened for this purpose. I was wondering if you had any insight as to why this would have gone bad after only a couple of weeks, and perhaps some ideas for preservation of the soft version since it's kept in the fridge. Thank you!
Reviewed by Sarah April 06, 2013

Mold problem

Hi again, I commented a few weeks ago about the lecithin granules vs. powder. To update, I did find granules to compare, and my version is definitely more powder-like. The recipe worked great and has a nice taste, though I didn't see any visible curdling of the soy milk for some reason. I can only comment on the "soft" version as I have a pile of Earth Balance that I stocked up on when it was on sale to use up first for baking. I subbed 2 Tbsp of coconut oil with liquid oil, but it was still pretty rock hard when kept in the fridge... next time I'm going to try a whole 1/4 cup of liquid oil and see what happens. I guess I'm too used to vegan Becel :)

On to my question: I made this on March 20th and have used about 3/4 of it since. I haven't opened it in probably close to a week, but this morning I noticed there were several dots of green mold. I'm pretty good about using a clean knife in things that could spoil, so I don't believe it was that. The soy milk I used was just opened for this purpose. I was wondering if you had any insight as to why this would have gone bad after only a couple of weeks, and perhaps some ideas for preservation of the soft version since it's kept in the fridge. Thank you!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah,

The moldy sides can be sliced off and discarded just as with cheese. Was the Vegan Butter stored in a clean airtight container? I noticed that when I used to store it in a non airtight glass butter container it would start to mold in about two weeks. I then started storing it in an airtight container and now I get about 3 to 4 weeks out of it. I've experimented with adding natural preservatives such as ascorbic acid and although it works to preserve, unfortunately it negatively affects flavor. Currently, I make large amounts and store most of it in the freezer. I take whatever I'm going to use in about 3 to 4 weeks and place it in the refrigerator in the airtight container as needed. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Yep, I have liquid lecithin, running out fast though, so I'll bear that in mind and make sure I get the liquid stuff again, thanks for pointing that out.
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife March 27, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

yep!

Yep, I have liquid lecithin, running out fast though, so I'll bear that in mind and make sure I get the liquid stuff again, thanks for pointing that out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've made this several times now, both in my workplace, where I have a food processor, and at home, where I only have a hand blender (albeit a good one) and it's worked out perfectly every time, so I just wanted to let people know that you don't really need a food processor to make this lovely stuff for your toast. Also, I just made a version with Marmite added, to streamline my morning toast making. Thanks for coming up with this Mattie :)
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife March 23, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

even if you don't have a food processor....

I've made this several times now, both in my workplace, where I have a food processor, and at home, where I only have a hand blender (albeit a good one) and it's worked out perfectly every time, so I just wanted to let people know that you don't really need a food processor to make this lovely stuff for your toast. Also, I just made a version with Marmite added, to streamline my morning toast making. Thanks for coming up with this Mattie :)

Owner's reply

So cool that you made Vegan Butter with Marmite! That's brilliant. I assume you're using liquid lecithin? It's my understanding that whisking is not enough to get lecithin granules to dissolve.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe looks fantastic! I was on the hunt for sunflower lecithin since I figured finding non-GMO soy lecithin would be tricky--I was right. Sadly, I couldn't find sunflower lecithin either and had to settle on "lecithin powder". Is that the same as the granules? It's sort of a fine crumb like graham cracker crumbs. If it's different than the granules, should I reduce the amount to 2 tsp since it's probably more compact than granules? Thanks! Can't wait to give this a try!
Reviewed by Sarah March 19, 2013

Lecithin powder?

This recipe looks fantastic! I was on the hunt for sunflower lecithin since I figured finding non-GMO soy lecithin would be tricky--I was right. Sadly, I couldn't find sunflower lecithin either and had to settle on "lecithin powder". Is that the same as the granules? It's sort of a fine crumb like graham cracker crumbs. If it's different than the granules, should I reduce the amount to 2 tsp since it's probably more compact than granules? Thanks! Can't wait to give this a try!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah, To my knowledge, lecithin granules are the same thing as lecithin powder. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm seeing some folks not liking working with the lecithin granules and just wanted to say that I'm using liquid lecithin and it works beautifully. I think it costs a bit more, but since you use so little, it's worth it. I had to have a friend bring it from the states and what she ended up bringing is actually lecithin supplements, so I'm cutting open gel caps (I know!) to get the lecithin out, but it works - and in the states I've been able to get liquid lecithin in the past in health food stores. Good luck ya'l
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by nephyr March 18, 2013

lecithin

I'm seeing some folks not liking working with the lecithin granules and just wanted to say that I'm using liquid lecithin and it works beautifully. I think it costs a bit more, but since you use so little, it's worth it. I had to have a friend bring it from the states and what she ended up bringing is actually lecithin supplements, so I'm cutting open gel caps (I know!) to get the lecithin out, but it works - and in the states I've been able to get liquid lecithin in the past in health food stores. Good luck ya'l

Owner's reply

That's a great tip to just look for the lecithin supplements in stores nephyr! I bought a large bottle of lecithin years ago on Amazon (linked in the recipe) for very little money and I've managed to develop every single Vegan Butter recipe on this website and not even get half way through with it. I definitely recommend liquid lecithin over granules but I understand not everyone can easily find it. Good to know you should be able to just go to a health food store and buy a gelcap-based supplement. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks for the excellent recipe. I've been so nervous about hydrogenated margarine so this is a godsend. It works great as a substitute in all recipes. If any of you love the taste of yogurt margarines, try substituting the soymilk in this recipe with a soy or almond milk yogurt of the same quantity. It is absolutely delicious even without being spread on anything. While I didn't quite like the taste of the soy lecithin granules, one little tweak and this recipe has turned into my new favorite on-bread-spread. The yogurt blocks the lecithin taste and makes it taste like its farm fresh! Thought I'd share the joy over my new find since you so generously shared this recipe for free. The yogurt changes the flavor dramatically!
Rating 
 
5.0
fatvegan Reviewed by fatvegan March 16, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Even more delicious with yogurt!

Thanks for the excellent recipe. I've been so nervous about hydrogenated margarine so this is a godsend. It works great as a substitute in all recipes. If any of you love the taste of yogurt margarines, try substituting the soymilk in this recipe with a soy or almond milk yogurt of the same quantity. It is absolutely delicious even without being spread on anything. While I didn't quite like the taste of the soy lecithin granules, one little tweak and this recipe has turned into my new favorite on-bread-spread. The yogurt blocks the lecithin taste and makes it taste like its farm fresh! Thought I'd share the joy over my new find since you so generously shared this recipe for free. The yogurt changes the flavor dramatically!

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you got a chance to try it with yogurt fatvegan! I've been wanting to work on a "Cultured Vegan Butter" version utilizing vegan yogurt instead of non-dairy milk and just haven't had the time to get down to it yet. It's nice to know that the quantities can be kept the same. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 » 
Ordering