Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (124)
52
221 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 » 
Ordering 
 
I'm here to sing praises. I've never loved Earth Balance, but used it when needed as being the only thing commercially available. Then I moved to Thailand, where the only dairy-free butter product I have found tastes like melted down Mcdonalds arches. I found your recipe, and after a friend brought me lecithin, I was good to go (I'd brought xanthan gum with me when I moved). I get freshly made soy milk from a local open market and it curdles beautifully.

All I can say is, why have I never done this before??? It's so easy! And it's SO much better than any other vegan butter! And healthier! And rainforest friendlier (no palm oil!).

For all considering making this; it works! It even melts in the frying pan just like "real" butter, and gives a great flavor to things. It has the perfect consistency; I really can't rave enough.

thank you thank you thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Nephyr March 10, 2013

Gratitude from afar

I'm here to sing praises. I've never loved Earth Balance, but used it when needed as being the only thing commercially available. Then I moved to Thailand, where the only dairy-free butter product I have found tastes like melted down Mcdonalds arches. I found your recipe, and after a friend brought me lecithin, I was good to go (I'd brought xanthan gum with me when I moved). I get freshly made soy milk from a local open market and it curdles beautifully.

All I can say is, why have I never done this before??? It's so easy! And it's SO much better than any other vegan butter! And healthier! And rainforest friendlier (no palm oil!).

For all considering making this; it works! It even melts in the frying pan just like "real" butter, and gives a great flavor to things. It has the perfect consistency; I really can't rave enough.

thank you thank you thank you!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much Nephyr! I'm so glad it's worked out for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Firstly, Thank you so much for this recipe. I have only been a vegan for about a month, and while I had no qualms about omitting meat and milk from my diet, as a passionate baker, I did feel a sense of loss for all the recipes that call for eggs and butter.
However I quickly learnt that they can easily be replaced in the majority of recipes, and have been having great fun recreating all of my old favourites cruelty free!
However, there are just a couple of recipes, like my homemade Croissants/Pain Au Chocolate, for which there is no replacement for butter, and I have been totally unable to purchase vegan butter anywhere, or even find anyone who has heard of it...
Which is what lead me here.
I cannot describe to you the joy and elation of being able to make my own butter, it feels like one of my greatest culinary achievements ever!
I was really shocked at how quick and simple it was too. After mixing it, and putting in the freezer to chill, I was concerned that the mix had quite a vinegary smell, and prepared myself for the worst... An hour later, I tentatively had my first taste and WOW! It was creamy, salty and UTTERLY BUTTERLY!
Thank You, Thank You, and Thank You again for making this available to me (particularly as it seems to be the only one available!).
The only slight issue, is that I used Soya lecithin granules, (as they were the cheapest and most available option) and they didn't seem to melt into the mix, so I had brown flecks in it, which didn't seem to affect the flavour, although it was a little crumbly which could possibly be related(?).
Any tips to avoid this would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much for reuniting me with my beloved Pastries! :)
Rating 
 
5.0
onlyjustvegan Reviewed by onlyjustvegan March 08, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

A million thank you's!

Firstly, Thank you so much for this recipe. I have only been a vegan for about a month, and while I had no qualms about omitting meat and milk from my diet, as a passionate baker, I did feel a sense of loss for all the recipes that call for eggs and butter.
However I quickly learnt that they can easily be replaced in the majority of recipes, and have been having great fun recreating all of my old favourites cruelty free!
However, there are just a couple of recipes, like my homemade Croissants/Pain Au Chocolate, for which there is no replacement for butter, and I have been totally unable to purchase vegan butter anywhere, or even find anyone who has heard of it...
Which is what lead me here.
I cannot describe to you the joy and elation of being able to make my own butter, it feels like one of my greatest culinary achievements ever!
I was really shocked at how quick and simple it was too. After mixing it, and putting in the freezer to chill, I was concerned that the mix had quite a vinegary smell, and prepared myself for the worst... An hour later, I tentatively had my first taste and WOW! It was creamy, salty and UTTERLY BUTTERLY!
Thank You, Thank You, and Thank You again for making this available to me (particularly as it seems to be the only one available!).
The only slight issue, is that I used Soya lecithin granules, (as they were the cheapest and most available option) and they didn't seem to melt into the mix, so I had brown flecks in it, which didn't seem to affect the flavour, although it was a little crumbly which could possibly be related(?).
Any tips to avoid this would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much for reuniting me with my beloved Pastries! :)

Owner's reply

So thrilled that Vegan Butter has worked so well for you onlyjustvegan! Regarding the lecithin granules, it's possible they would dissolve if you processed the mixture in a food processor for 3 to 5 minutes instead of just 2 minutes. I think there needs to be more mixing time to get them to break down. I'll do some more work on this and update the recipe accordingly if I find anything. Thanks for letting me know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm wondering if the xanthan gum in the butter could make baked goods made with gluten-free flour with xanthan gum gummier. Made some cookies today and added an extra half teaspoon xanthan gum to a gluten-free mix recipe I found online and the cookies were extra gummy. I may have messed up some of the measurements for the mix though, and the extra half teaspoon was of course a bad idea. I know now I don't need the extra with this butter.
Reviewed by Grady February 25, 2013

Xanthan Gum

I'm wondering if the xanthan gum in the butter could make baked goods made with gluten-free flour with xanthan gum gummier. Made some cookies today and added an extra half teaspoon xanthan gum to a gluten-free mix recipe I found online and the cookies were extra gummy. I may have messed up some of the measurements for the mix though, and the extra half teaspoon was of course a bad idea. I know now I don't need the extra with this butter.

Owner's reply

Hi Grady,

A half teaspoon xanthan gum in a cookie recipe does seem excessive. Especially since you cookies don't require significant leavening action, which xanthan gum would facilitate. It seems that a gluten-free cookie recipe shouldn't need that much xanthan gum to be cookie-like. But as you said, if you make the cookie recipe again, I recommend reducing xanthan gum somewhere to reduce the gum factor. The minimal amount in the butter shouldn't contribute to considerable gumminess if normal amounts of xanthan gum are used.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Sumatra isn't a country.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Chloe February 21, 2013

Sumatra isn't a country.

Owner's reply

You're absolutely right Chloe! I just updated the article. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I don't have xanthan gum, can I use arrowroot starch instead? What's the amount to use? Thanks for your help and sharing :)
Reviewed by Jen February 20, 2013

I don't have xanthan gum, can I use arrowroot starch instead? What's the amount to use? Thanks for your help and sharing :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
This was great the second time I made it and used table salt as opposed to un-grinded rock salt--it's as great as everyone says. Tastes like real butter. I used the suggested king ice cube mold purchased at Bed Bath and Beyond for $7.99. A double batch of butter takes up five out of the six cubes, in case anyone's wondering, like I was. Having the coconut oil well melted makes it faster and easier to pour the butter into the mold, but harder to move the ice cube mold to the freezer without spilling some of the butter. I may work a little slower than most people, so others may not need the butter as melted as I did.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Grady February 20, 2013

What I Thought

This was great the second time I made it and used table salt as opposed to un-grinded rock salt--it's as great as everyone says. Tastes like real butter. I used the suggested king ice cube mold purchased at Bed Bath and Beyond for $7.99. A double batch of butter takes up five out of the six cubes, in case anyone's wondering, like I was. Having the coconut oil well melted makes it faster and easier to pour the butter into the mold, but harder to move the ice cube mold to the freezer without spilling some of the butter. I may work a little slower than most people, so others may not need the butter as melted as I did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, Grazie Grazie Grazie! What a great recipe. I made it today for the first time and love it. I have one question though, because I live here in Italy, I can only find Virgin Coconut oil, which as you know has a taste of coconut. The refined kind is sold to the food industry in very huge quantities. Is there any way I can diminish the taste of coconut when using the virgin kind? I also tried to find cocoa butter but alas that is not sold here either. Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW I LOVE your website, it is my go to site as I am a vegan newbie. Thanks again.
Rating 
 
5.0
patchouligrrl Reviewed by patchouligrrl February 16, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Buonissimo Burro!

Mattie, Grazie Grazie Grazie! What a great recipe. I made it today for the first time and love it. I have one question though, because I live here in Italy, I can only find Virgin Coconut oil, which as you know has a taste of coconut. The refined kind is sold to the food industry in very huge quantities. Is there any way I can diminish the taste of coconut when using the virgin kind? I also tried to find cocoa butter but alas that is not sold here either. Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW I LOVE your website, it is my go to site as I am a vegan newbie. Thanks again.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much patchouligrrl! I'm sorry you can't find refined coconut oil or cocoa butter in Italy. Perhaps there's a way you can order it online there? I usually get my refined cocoa butter that way. I believe refined coconut oil is refined by passing it through a charcoal filter and I don't think it's possible to do that at home. If anyone knows, please chime in!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've made this recipe and it is terrific! The first batch was made with ACV, the second, I used lemon juice to curdle as the ACV's smell was a bit too much for my delicate nose. Right now, my vegan butter is in the freezer. I would like to make my favorite cookie recipe that calls for softened butter, so my question is, how long can I keep the frozen vegan butter on the counter to soften? I've only used Earth Balance in my recipes and this product softens at room temperature rather quickly. My vegan butter is rock hard. I'm concerned if I leave it out too long to soften that I could be courting bacteria. Perhaps I could soften it in the microwave? Thanks for any help you can offer.
Rating 
 
5.0
bettye Reviewed by bettye February 15, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

thawing vegan butter

I've made this recipe and it is terrific! The first batch was made with ACV, the second, I used lemon juice to curdle as the ACV's smell was a bit too much for my delicate nose. Right now, my vegan butter is in the freezer. I would like to make my favorite cookie recipe that calls for softened butter, so my question is, how long can I keep the frozen vegan butter on the counter to soften? I've only used Earth Balance in my recipes and this product softens at room temperature rather quickly. My vegan butter is rock hard. I'm concerned if I leave it out too long to soften that I could be courting bacteria. Perhaps I could soften it in the microwave? Thanks for any help you can offer.

Owner's reply

Thanks bettye! When kept at room temperature, Vegan Butter should soften in the time frame that normal butter would; in about 4 to 8 hours depending on the ambient temperature of your kitchen. You should be safe from spoilage microbes for at least 24 hours after leaving it out. I usually soften Vegan Butter by leaving it out of the refrigerator the night before, but still keeping it in its air-tight container. This keeps it from drying out and from dust particles. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm newbie vegan and I love it! However, I really missed the butter. Have tried various recipes and bought vegan butter in the store, but nothing has worked for me. Searched a few days ago on Google, something like that; "vegan butter tastes like real butter". Then I found the recipe here. I did not believe it could be possible. But when I read all the ecstatic comments here, I just had to try.
And yes, IT REALLY TASTE LIKE BUTTER! I'm so overwhelmed! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe. Of course I have written about it on my blog (and of course linked to the page here)! Skandinavian readers can read it here; http://livsmagasinet.no/vegansk-smor-som-virkelig-smaker-som-mejerismor - and the rest of you can see the pictures. :-D
Rating 
 
5.0
Eva Reviewed by Eva February 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I can't believe it!

I'm newbie vegan and I love it! However, I really missed the butter. Have tried various recipes and bought vegan butter in the store, but nothing has worked for me. Searched a few days ago on Google, something like that; "vegan butter tastes like real butter". Then I found the recipe here. I did not believe it could be possible. But when I read all the ecstatic comments here, I just had to try.
And yes, IT REALLY TASTE LIKE BUTTER! I'm so overwhelmed! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe. Of course I have written about it on my blog (and of course linked to the page here)! Skandinavian readers can read it here; http://livsmagasinet.no/vegansk-smor-som-virkelig-smaker-som-mejerismor - and the rest of you can see the pictures. :-D

Other Info

Owner's reply

I'm so glad you like it Eva! I just read your blog entry with Google Translate;) Well done and thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My family loves this butter. I found the best milk to use is Blue Diamond Coconut Almond...curdels nice and makes the butter have a wonderful creamy taste.
Reviewed by Chris February 02, 2013

My family loves this butter. I found the best milk to use is Blue Diamond Coconut Almond...curdels nice and makes the butter have a wonderful creamy taste.

Owner's reply

Glad you like it Chris! I'll have to try it with the non-dairy milk you recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hi Mike, I made this recipe today and due to the fact that I was not able to obtain yet Xantham here in Swittzerland and the Lecithine only in granulated form, I experimented with the Chia in one batch, the AgarAgar in another, with store brand Soy and homemade one (with the wonderful veganstar).

My experiences:

1. Mixing the soy, vinegar and the AgarAgar or Chia from the beginning limited the soy from curdeling as the Chia and AgarAgar emulgated the soy, the chia more than the Agaragar.

2. Curdeling was slightly better with the homemade soydrink (most probably because it had more protein)

3. The soy lecithine granulates did not disolve well (how did the others here managed?) in my Thermomix mixer; only when transferred to the Vitamix did the get grinded well enough. I wonder, if this isn't essential for doing the job in the butter, plus: The butter looks strange with the dots inside. Any idea how to "work" the granulates so that they are more similar to the liquid lecithine?

4. The chia remained such a dark, grey mess (grinded in the Vitamix), that I did not feel like mixing it with the coconut oil. I wonder though what it looks like in the end and if people "liked" the colour of it.

5. Tomorrow, I will sure check around here to see if I can't get my hand on Xantham, so that the experimenting can go on. ;-))))

THANKS for sharing all your wonderful experiences with us here. BR from Zurich!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Isabelle January 28, 2013

Avoinding Palm Oil thanks to you

Hi Mike, I made this recipe today and due to the fact that I was not able to obtain yet Xantham here in Swittzerland and the Lecithine only in granulated form, I experimented with the Chia in one batch, the AgarAgar in another, with store brand Soy and homemade one (with the wonderful veganstar).

My experiences:

1. Mixing the soy, vinegar and the AgarAgar or Chia from the beginning limited the soy from curdeling as the Chia and AgarAgar emulgated the soy, the chia more than the Agaragar.

2. Curdeling was slightly better with the homemade soydrink (most probably because it had more protein)

3. The soy lecithine granulates did not disolve well (how did the others here managed?) in my Thermomix mixer; only when transferred to the Vitamix did the get grinded well enough. I wonder, if this isn't essential for doing the job in the butter, plus: The butter looks strange with the dots inside. Any idea how to "work" the granulates so that they are more similar to the liquid lecithine?

4. The chia remained such a dark, grey mess (grinded in the Vitamix), that I did not feel like mixing it with the coconut oil. I wonder though what it looks like in the end and if people "liked" the colour of it.

5. Tomorrow, I will sure check around here to see if I can't get my hand on Xantham, so that the experimenting can go on. ;-))))

THANKS for sharing all your wonderful experiences with us here. BR from Zurich!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the detailed analysis Isabelle! It would seem that adding things like chia and agar to the soy milk/acid mix would in fact inhibit curdling and, hence flavor development because the starches in the chia/agar would coat the proteins, keeping the acids from affecting them as thoroughly.

In regards to #2 in your comment, you're most likely correct. This is why I don't use rice or coconut milk for Vegan Butter. Regarding #3, I usually food process the mixture with the lecithin granules until they disappear which usually takes a few minutes in a slightly warm liquid. Perhaps the solubility of lecithin granules varies from brand to brand? I tested the recipe with Kalustyan's brand (from NYC) but I exclusively use liquid lecithin now because I have a TON of it. The lecithin is necessary to make the butter melt with 'placticity' which is important for spreading and things like puff pastry.

Regarding #4, I haven't tested Vegan Butter with chia seeds yet because I know they're going to make the consistency grainy and I just don't want that. But, you should be able to take 1/3 cup chia or flax seeds, 1 1/2 cup water, boil them in a small saucepan for about 20 minutes and strain off the seeds from the 'mucilage'. What you'll be left with is just the liquid mucilage which you can add to the vegan butter (exact amount still to be determined, but probably 1 teaspoon) in place of xanthan gum. I'm in early testing phases with this but it looks promising. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
thank you so much
it was pretty nice.
i love this recipe!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by sinja January 27, 2013

thanks

thank you so much
it was pretty nice.
i love this recipe!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This recipe is glorious. Easy and tastes amazing. I wanted a spreadable butter so I swapped 1 tbsp of coconut oil for 1 tbsp of vegetable oil, just as the recipe suggests. I love it!! 5 stars, EASY. Next time I make pie crust I'll make it again and stick to the original recipe that makes the harder butter.
Rating 
 
5.0
applatt Reviewed by applatt January 18, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delicious and easy!

This recipe is glorious. Easy and tastes amazing. I wanted a spreadable butter so I swapped 1 tbsp of coconut oil for 1 tbsp of vegetable oil, just as the recipe suggests. I love it!! 5 stars, EASY. Next time I make pie crust I'll make it again and stick to the original recipe that makes the harder butter.

Owner's reply

So glad this worked out for you applatt!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Could you use unsweetened coconut milk in place of the soy milk?
Reviewed by Allison January 10, 2013

Wondering

Could you use unsweetened coconut milk in place of the soy milk?

Was this review helpful to you? 
hi
i was wondering if i could use rice milk instead of soy milk as i cannot buy rice milk where i live
Reviewed by bethany January 09, 2013

hi
i was wondering if i could use rice milk instead of soy milk as i cannot buy rice milk where i live

Was this review helpful to you? 
221 results - showing 76 - 90
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 » 
Ordering