Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
53
236 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 » 
Ordering 
 
Hey Mattie
I was looking for a vegan palm-oil free margarine which cannot be found anywhere around here in Switzerland - and then I fell in love with your recipe.
As I was too lazy to get some xanthan I just tried it without this magical ingredient - and it woked so well already I'm now a frequent coconut-oil buyer in my shop around the corner.
So I think I should get a box full of the xanthanian wonder and go ahead in buttering =)
Thank you so much!
Do you think this can be used if something like melted butter is required, e.g. for cinnamon rolls?

Best from Switzerland!
Rating 
 
5.0
PeteTheBird Reviewed by PeteTheBird February 03, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I think I love you

Hey Mattie
I was looking for a vegan palm-oil free margarine which cannot be found anywhere around here in Switzerland - and then I fell in love with your recipe.
As I was too lazy to get some xanthan I just tried it without this magical ingredient - and it woked so well already I'm now a frequent coconut-oil buyer in my shop around the corner.
So I think I should get a box full of the xanthanian wonder and go ahead in buttering =)
Thank you so much!
Do you think this can be used if something like melted butter is required, e.g. for cinnamon rolls?

Best from Switzerland!

Owner's reply

So glad you like the Vegan Butter PeteTheBird! Yes, Vegan Butter is designed to be used almost exclusively as a drop-in replacement for traditional dairy butter in vegan baking applications. So it should work great in cinnamon rolls.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I LOVE this recipe the only thing that would make it even better is to have all the ingredients in ounces or grams rather than cups and spoons, is this possible? Many thanks!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ayesha January 28, 2014

ingrediants in weight measurements?

I LOVE this recipe the only thing that would make it even better is to have all the ingredients in ounces or grams rather than cups and spoons, is this possible? Many thanks!!!

Owner's reply

I feel your pain Ayesha! I'm planning to add gram weight equivalents to my recipes in the future. The only problem is that its an extremely time-intensive project!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks so much for this; I am really looking forward to trying! And was just about to order the mold you suggest, but I am wondering how to measure for baking? Does the size of the cubes compare well to standard butter molds? Thanks so much!
lilly38 Reviewed by lilly38 January 18, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Excited to try!

Thanks so much for this; I am really looking forward to trying! And was just about to order the mold you suggest, but I am wondering how to measure for baking? Does the size of the cubes compare well to standard butter molds? Thanks so much!

Owner's reply

Great Vegan Butter questions lilly38! This recipe makes 1 cup, which is about 215 grams, which is equivalent to 2 sticks of butter. When recipes call for butter by volume, I'll melt the butter and measure it in measuring spoons or measuring cups. When recipes call for, say, an unmelted stick, I'll weigh half of the 215 grams, which is about 108 grams.

I recommend buying a scale if you don't have one already. Weighing will make sure you hit your mark every time and don't waste time or precious ingredients. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
follow up comment on my previous question. i used soya lecethin granules which i bought from health store. i also found the xanthan gum in the same store. tried to do it again with all the ingredient posted above. but still oil and water separated every time i take it out from the fridge.
Reviewed by Don January 13, 2014

follow up comment on my previous question. i used soya lecethin granules which i bought from health store. i also found the xanthan gum in the same store. tried to do it again with all the ingredient posted above. but still oil and water separated every time i take it out from the fridge.

Owner's reply

Hi Don, don't forget to put the Vegan Butter in the freezer for solidification. Placing it in the refrigerator will cause the fats and water to separate before the whole thing gets a chance to solidify. It's extremely important that the mixture freezes as quickly as possible. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Just tried making this and it is fairly easy, but the end result for me was too much cider vinegar and not enough salt. Next time I'll try reducing the cider and a tiny bit more salt.

Question - I'd like to try making an Olive Oil spread - do you think substituting the sunflower oil for Extra Virgin Olive Oil would work?

Thanks!
jonesian Reviewed by jonesian January 09, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Just tried making this and it is fairly easy, but the end result for me was too much cider vinegar and not enough salt. Next time I'll try reducing the cider and a tiny bit more salt.

Question - I'd like to try making an Olive Oil spread - do you think substituting the sunflower oil for Extra Virgin Olive Oil would work?

Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi jonesian, My taste isn't as sensitive to acid as other people's so I find the acid balance to be about right for me. Feel free to reduce it if it registers too strongly on your palate. Regarding the salt, this Vegan Butter is designed to be a replacement for traditional butter used for baking, hence the low salt. Adding more salt to this recipe would skew recipes with too much salt when used for a drop-in replacement for traditional dairy butter.

If you'd like something more suitable for non-baking applications, feel free to increase the salt to increase savoriness, and increase the liquid fat (canola oil, olive oil, etc) and decrease the coconut oil which will make it softer and more spreadable. You might want to try using 2 Tablespoons more liquid oil and 2 Tablespoons less coconut oil.

I'm actually going to start working on a dedicated soft, spreadable not-for-baking butter soon so stay tuned. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hello,
I have been searching and searching the shops and online for a vegan butter (and shortening) that doesn't contain palm oil, all the while getting more and more hopeless.

I want to bake cookies for animal rescue charities, but I just can't see how morally I can do it, unless all the ingredients in the cookies don't cause harm to animals. Palm oil does directly cause harm to animals. And there's my conundrum!

I've contacted all the major companies in the UK, and they all tell me the same thing. That the palm oil they use is RSPO certified. But the system seems to be flawed, and I don't think what's on offer is good enough.

So I was very happy to come across you recipes for vegan butter and shortening! :)

I've got a couple of questions though, hope you can answer!

1. I've got access to soy milk (6% soy beans, water, apple juice concentrate, and salt) but also soy cream (Water,Sunflower Oil (8.4%) ,Hulled Soya Beans (3.8%) ,Modified Tapioca Starch ,Fructose-Glucose Syrup ,Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids) ,Thickeners (Locust Bean Gum, Carrageenan) ,Flavouring ,Sea Salt ,Antioxidant (Tocopherol-Rich Extract)
Which do you think would yield a more buttery flavour?

2. I noticed you mentioned a few months ago that coconut vinegar gives a more buttery flavour, would you think it is worth purchasing for baking cookies (as it's quite expensive)?

3. Also bit of a silly one, would the fact that the butter/shortening has a short shelf life, effect the shelf life of the end product do you think? I want to make sure I can send the cookies out and not worry about them going moldy too quickly.

And finally. You should definitely start up a vegan butter/shortening company!!! I would be your first overseas customer! :D
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Laura January 07, 2014

So glad to have found this!

Hello,
I have been searching and searching the shops and online for a vegan butter (and shortening) that doesn't contain palm oil, all the while getting more and more hopeless.

I want to bake cookies for animal rescue charities, but I just can't see how morally I can do it, unless all the ingredients in the cookies don't cause harm to animals. Palm oil does directly cause harm to animals. And there's my conundrum!

I've contacted all the major companies in the UK, and they all tell me the same thing. That the palm oil they use is RSPO certified. But the system seems to be flawed, and I don't think what's on offer is good enough.

So I was very happy to come across you recipes for vegan butter and shortening! :)

I've got a couple of questions though, hope you can answer!

1. I've got access to soy milk (6% soy beans, water, apple juice concentrate, and salt) but also soy cream (Water,Sunflower Oil (8.4%) ,Hulled Soya Beans (3.8%) ,Modified Tapioca Starch ,Fructose-Glucose Syrup ,Emulsifiers (Soya Lecithin, Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids) ,Thickeners (Locust Bean Gum, Carrageenan) ,Flavouring ,Sea Salt ,Antioxidant (Tocopherol-Rich Extract)
Which do you think would yield a more buttery flavour?

2. I noticed you mentioned a few months ago that coconut vinegar gives a more buttery flavour, would you think it is worth purchasing for baking cookies (as it's quite expensive)?

3. Also bit of a silly one, would the fact that the butter/shortening has a short shelf life, effect the shelf life of the end product do you think? I want to make sure I can send the cookies out and not worry about them going moldy too quickly.

And finally. You should definitely start up a vegan butter/shortening company!!! I would be your first overseas customer! :D

Owner's reply

Great Vegan Butter questions Laura! I understand your concern regarding wanting animal friendly ingredients. Here's hoping that coconut oil remains an animal safe ingredient! I'd think that the soy milk would result in tastier vegan butter than the soy cream due to it having more protein that can be denatured by the acid. But who knows! I recommend doing your own test by trying both and seeing which one yields tastier butter. The soy cream might have stuff hidden in that "Flavoring" designation that would make a tastier end product and lead to better butter.

Substituting half coconut vinegar for the apple cider vinegar does yield a slightly better flavor for me, but I don't think it would be worth the extra cost in vegan cookies, unless you were entering a baking competition or something;) Or, say if the coconut vinegar truck broke down near your house and you were able to get a few gallons for free.

The shorter shelf life of the Vegan Butter wouldn't be an issue in a baked product like a cookie because it has enough sugar to deactivate the microbes that cause mold, unless your cookies were ridiculously moist. Cookies usually dry out as they age instead of getting moldy.

I remember seeing someone on the internet a year or so ago marketing an artisanal vegan butter and I was so happy. I'm hoping someone takes it and runs with it! I think it's doable. I need to stay here and run this website though and hopefully come up with other tasty things to help vegan bakers. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm very excited to try this recipe! What type of coconut oil do you use?
DairyfreeBaker Reviewed by DairyfreeBaker January 03, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Coconut Oil

I'm very excited to try this recipe! What type of coconut oil do you use?

Owner's reply

Hi DairyfreeBaker! I usually use Spectrum or Cadia refined coconut oil in my Vegan Butters but so far, I haven't met a coconut oil I didn't like. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Looking forward to trying this.

Some ideas on the mold:
- Might try adding vitamin E to the oil.
- might try using a stainless steel butter enclosure (stainless kills bacteria)
- might spray or dip just the outside with a full-strength Vit C solution saturated with lecithin (so the solution will bond to the outside of the butter). This shouldn't affect the taste of each butter slice.
Rating 
 
5.0
davea0511 Reviewed by davea0511 December 18, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

great article - about the moldy problem

Looking forward to trying this.

Some ideas on the mold:
- Might try adding vitamin E to the oil.
- might try using a stainless steel butter enclosure (stainless kills bacteria)
- might spray or dip just the outside with a full-strength Vit C solution saturated with lecithin (so the solution will bond to the outside of the butter). This shouldn't affect the taste of each butter slice.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the Vegan Butter mold issue ideas davea0511! I'll have to give them a shot. Right now I store my larger batches in the freezer and use one cube at a time in the refrigerator. Good to know that there's some other ideas. I was hoping that ascorbic acid would work in place of the acid but wow does that stuff taste sharply acidic. It's amazing how bluntly the acid jolts you on the tongue. No wonder microbes don't like it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi, Mattie, and thank you for your amazing vegan recipes. I want to make your Vegan Butter but would prefer using homemade soy milk due to GMO issues. Do you make your own or use packaged? I'm asking because packaged non-dairy milks usually contain xanthum gum or some other emulsifier. If you're using packaged and I'm using home made should I add extra xanthum gum or soy lecithin? Your advice is greatly appreciated.
Rating 
 
5.0
shireen Reviewed by shireen December 14, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Question

Hi, Mattie, and thank you for your amazing vegan recipes. I want to make your Vegan Butter but would prefer using homemade soy milk due to GMO issues. Do you make your own or use packaged? I'm asking because packaged non-dairy milks usually contain xanthum gum or some other emulsifier. If you're using packaged and I'm using home made should I add extra xanthum gum or soy lecithin? Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Owner's reply

Great question shireen! After switching to Edensoy Unsweetened soy milk a few years ago, I can't even think of going back to other brands laced with things like carrageenan, sugar, "natural flavoring" and other weird stuff. I'll just have soy beans and water thanks. I've also been making my own soy milk lately and use it in Vegan Butter often.

I do all of my recipe development with Edensoy Unsweetened but I make sure that when I call for "soy milk" any type of soy milk can be used. The key here is to use soy milk because it contains proteins that denature from the acids, allowing for extra tasty, buttery flavors to be generated. More protein = more denaturing = more buttery goodness. So the short answer is, yes, your Vegan Butter will be even awesomerer with homemade soy milk!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made so far the non-refined version and the banana butter. OMFG so good...recently learned that I have a low tolerance for lactose but love me some butter. I used unsweetened Almond milk in my recipe and worked fine.

Question about baking - is it a 1-1 swap for regular butter?

Seriously - so flipping good!
Rating 
 
5.0
Flanzo Reviewed by Flanzo December 12, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Wow - Amazing

Made so far the non-refined version and the banana butter. OMFG so good...recently learned that I have a low tolerance for lactose but love me some butter. I used unsweetened Almond milk in my recipe and worked fine.

Question about baking - is it a 1-1 swap for regular butter?

Seriously - so flipping good!

Owner's reply

So glad you like the Vegan Butter Flanzo! Yes, all of the Vegan Butters on Veganbaking.net are a 1 to 1 swap with regular butter. The water-to-fat ratios are the same. I make croissants with it regularly. I'm developing a spreadable Vegan Butter which will be posted soon. It's not going to be a 1 to 1 swap for butter; it'll be similar to Earth Balance spread for spreading on things like muffins, toast and pancakes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
hi, tried doing it with refined coconut edible oil, but oil and soy milk keeps on separating every time i let it out of the fridge
Reviewed by Don P December 11, 2013

hi, tried doing it with refined coconut edible oil, but oil and soy milk keeps on separating every time i let it out of the fridge

Owner's reply

Hi Don, did you use lecithin and process all ingredients in a food processor? If you do that and let it solidify immediately in the freezer, the water and fat shouldn't separate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks for the recipe! I've been trying to stray away from things like Earth Balance because of the palm oil scenario and this gives me hope. Would I be able to use unrefined coconut oil instead of refined? Or would it give the butter too much of a coconut-y taste?
Reviewed by Jason December 08, 2013

Thanks for the recipe! I've been trying to stray away from things like Earth Balance because of the palm oil scenario and this gives me hope. Would I be able to use unrefined coconut oil instead of refined? Or would it give the butter too much of a coconut-y taste?

Owner's reply

Hi Jason,

I have a version called Coconut Vegan Butter on Veganbaking.net which is designed to use unrefined coconut oil. The recipe is also designed to highlight coconut flavors. You could also just make this version and add unrefined oil and it'll still work and taste good with a little coconut flavor. Both oils are structurally the same.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks so much for posting this recipe. It's easy and a great alternative to Earth Balance which still uses palm oil. I find that when I store the cubes in the fridge (after they've been frozen) they appear to look moldy within a few weeks. What's been your experience with how long this will stay good in the fridge?
Dena Reviewed by Dena November 29, 2013
Last updated: November 29, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

How long will this stay good in fridge

Thanks so much for posting this recipe. It's easy and a great alternative to Earth Balance which still uses palm oil. I find that when I store the cubes in the fridge (after they've been frozen) they appear to look moldy within a few weeks. What's been your experience with how long this will stay good in the fridge?

Owner's reply

Hi Dena! I have the same issues with the relatively short shelf life. I've tried adding ascorbic acid as part of the acid component and while it does increase shelf life, it adds a harsh, sharp acid profile that's not acceptable. This is still something I'd like to figure out some day. If you find a way to make Vegan Butter last longer please let me know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you for posting this recipe. I learned a great deal from your fats article mattie. I have made this recipe a few times the buttery taste is so close to dairy butter. This is perfect for my pie crust. I used the regular butter for my first attempt at croissant making, I will be making the European style butter next.
Rating 
 
5.0
Trickmonet Reviewed by Trickmonet November 27, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

versatile and tasty

Thank you for posting this recipe. I learned a great deal from your fats article mattie. I have made this recipe a few times the buttery taste is so close to dairy butter. This is perfect for my pie crust. I used the regular butter for my first attempt at croissant making, I will be making the European style butter next.

vegan butter 2 tbs cubes
Owner's reply

That's a great picture of your Vegan Butter Trickmonet! I also saw a picture of your croissants which looked amazing. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you for applying your chemistry inclined mind to vegan recipes!!!
A couple things, just to preface, I sub'd the xanthan gum for guar gum as I am sticking with all organic ingredients.
-That being said, I've made two batches now and both have filled up a little over three squares in the Tovolo ice tray, is that about right?
-I noticed when I was heating the butter on medium high heat that it started to brown and solidify a bit... is that normal?
-I'm making it primarily to use on my cupcakes and although the flavor is great, after creating my frosting I can still smell the vinegar, not taste, only smell. It's bothersome and I'm wondering if you've tried the recipe with the lemon, salt and agar agar instead?
Thanks so much again!

Rating 
 
5.0
RunicBaked Reviewed by RunicBaked November 19, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Cupcake frosting?

Thank you for applying your chemistry inclined mind to vegan recipes!!!
A couple things, just to preface, I sub'd the xanthan gum for guar gum as I am sticking with all organic ingredients.
-That being said, I've made two batches now and both have filled up a little over three squares in the Tovolo ice tray, is that about right?
-I noticed when I was heating the butter on medium high heat that it started to brown and solidify a bit... is that normal?
-I'm making it primarily to use on my cupcakes and although the flavor is great, after creating my frosting I can still smell the vinegar, not taste, only smell. It's bothersome and I'm wondering if you've tried the recipe with the lemon, salt and agar agar instead?
Thanks so much again!

Owner's reply

Thanks RunicBaked! I usually use the Tovolo ice cube tray that makes the large cubes (that's linked in this recipe). I usually fill up two cubes worth and sometimes have a little left over. If you're using Tovolo's smaller size cube tray, it makes sense that you'd probably be making three smaller cubes.

Vegan Butter may brown and solidify slightly if exposed to medium-high heat for a bit over time, but in the recipe I call for the coconut oil to be heated to just the melting point. This is so things can solidify as fast as possible resulting in smaller ice crystals once it goes to the freezer. Traditional dairy butter browns when exposed to heat also. I'm planning on making a Brown Vegan Butter recipe soon so there's a vegan option for that.

Sensitivities to vinegar vary. I must not be that sensitive to it because I love it and tend to use it liberally; I have a carousel in my pantry for just assorted vinegars! Some people find the acidity/vinegar level of this Vegan Butter to be too much. Feel free to reduce it to your liking. Also keep in mind that when Vegan Butter is heated, you're going to notice the vinegar notes more due to more volatile vinegar compounds getting into the surrounding air and being sensed by your sense of smell. When you're eating Vegan Butter in normal conditions, this should't be the case. Also, as I mentioned in another comment, lately I've found that 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar and 1/2 teaspoon coconut vinegar results in better butter flavor with less of the vinegar "funk". I'll probably be updating all Vegan Butter recipes to reflect this after a little more testing. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
236 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 » 
Ordering