Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (139)
54
243 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering 
 
Hi - I'm dying to try the white choc butter - I'm vegan and nursing my highly allergic toddler so we also have to avoid all nuts, soy, sunflower, coconut, legumes, safflower and flax - so I guess I'm stuck using hemp milk but since I can't use either lecithin, can I add extra xanthan gum? I'm praying something will work. Thanks!
Reviewed by Sarah October 21, 2011

Can't wait to try this!

Hi - I'm dying to try the white choc butter - I'm vegan and nursing my highly allergic toddler so we also have to avoid all nuts, soy, sunflower, coconut, legumes, safflower and flax - so I guess I'm stuck using hemp milk but since I can't use either lecithin, can I add extra xanthan gum? I'm praying something will work. Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Sarah, hemp milk does curdle with acids (although not as much) so it should work in place of soy. You should be able to double the xanthan gum and still get good results. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My family is vegan...no egg, no dairy, no meat. We also try to stay away from extracted oils. I am just curious how much better this butter is since it has a lot of coconut oil and some canola oil? It seems like alot of vegan recipes may be egg or dairy free but contain a lot of oil or refined sugar. Help?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by LKelley October 19, 2011

Great Recipes

My family is vegan...no egg, no dairy, no meat. We also try to stay away from extracted oils. I am just curious how much better this butter is since it has a lot of coconut oil and some canola oil? It seems like alot of vegan recipes may be egg or dairy free but contain a lot of oil or refined sugar. Help?

Owner's reply

Hi LKelley, This vegan butter is a replacement for regular butter and also palm oil-based commercial vegan butters which are linked to rainforest destruction. It also gives you the option of customizing your vegan butter with different flavors which are currently not offered on the market. If you're interested in limiting your fat intake, I would advise staying away from this;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made the regular one about three weeks ago, and loved it so made the herbed and white chocolate flavours a week later too. Amazing! However, a few days ago I noticed that the regular one had grown mold! I have stored it in the fridge obviously, and it wasn't contaminated with anything to my knowledge - the mold is growing on the surface parts rather than where the knife has been. Any ideas on how to prevent this? I am worried the others will turn moldy too soon.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Melanie October 19, 2011

I made the regular one about three weeks ago, and loved it so made the herbed and white chocolate flavours a week later too. Amazing! However, a few days ago I noticed that the regular one had grown mold! I have stored it in the fridge obviously, and it wasn't contaminated with anything to my knowledge - the mold is growing on the surface parts rather than where the knife has been. Any ideas on how to prevent this? I am worried the others will turn moldy too soon.

Owner's reply

Hi Melanie, Yes, this is an issue with vegan butter that is stored in the refrigerator for a few weeks or more. I'm currently experimenting with curdling with citric acid (derived from citrus fruits) that would do the curdling as well as provide vitamin C to preserve the vegan butter longer (apple cider vinegar contains acetic acid which doesn't have as much C). I'll post an update when I'm done testing. Thanks for your concern!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Vegan magic! I could not believe how easy and awesome this is! Magic I tell you! Magic! I've made the regular butter a couple of times now and it tastes fantastic! I am looking forward to trying to bake with it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It really has opened my eyes to what can be accomplished in my kitchen! Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gina October 18, 2011

Vegan magic! I could not believe how easy and awesome this is! Magic I tell you! Magic! I've made the regular butter a couple of times now and it tastes fantastic! I am looking forward to trying to bake with it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It really has opened my eyes to what can be accomplished in my kitchen! Thank you!

Owner's reply

So glad you've found Vegan Butter useful Gina!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Fantastic, as soon as I get the soy lecithin I am going to try all these butters. Wow! this is a very easy process.
Thank You
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johnny De Vivo October 18, 2011

Cef De Cuisine

Fantastic, as soon as I get the soy lecithin I am going to try all these butters. Wow! this is a very easy process.
Thank You

Was this review helpful to you? 
where can i get liquid soy lecithin
Reviewed by andrea October 18, 2011

where can i get liquid soy lecithin

Owner's reply

Hi Andrea, I just updated the post with a link to where to get liquid soy lecithin online. Look at the soy lecithin hyperlink on the Regular Vegan Butter entry. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can't wait to try this. My husband is going vegan and if I can find tasty alternatives, I probably would too! One question...where do I find soy lethicin and xanthan gum??? Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cristy P October 05, 2011

Where do I find those ingredients?

Can't wait to try this. My husband is going vegan and if I can find tasty alternatives, I probably would too! One question...where do I find soy lethicin and xanthan gum??? Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am allergic to soy and all tree nuts. I could use sunflower lecithin instead of soy, but don't know what to substitute for the soy milk. Any suggestions?
Reviewed by BD October 04, 2011

I am allergic to soy and all tree nuts. I could use sunflower lecithin instead of soy, but don't know what to substitute for the soy milk. Any suggestions?

Owner's reply

Hi BD, Sunflower lecithin will work fine but for a soy substitute I'd recommend a nut milk with a substantial amount of protein. You may be able to get along fine with store-bought almond milk but perhaps homemade nut milk with a bit more solids would work better due to the higher protein content (for curdling and flavor development). I intend to test this with homemade nut milks shortly!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi Mattie, here in the UK liquid lecithin is not available, except in 25 kgs lots. Im going to keep up the search and include Europe, meanwhile is there any alternative to the liquid lecithin?
Thanks for your recipe,
Most kind regards,
Prema.
Prema Reviewed by Prema September 29, 2011
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Hi Mattie, here in the UK liquid lecithin is not available, except in 25 kgs lots. Im going to keep up the search and include Europe, meanwhile is there any alternative to the liquid lecithin?
Thanks for your recipe,
Most kind regards,
Prema.

Owner's reply

Hi Prema,

There's really no substitute for the lecithin due to its ability to bind water-based ingredients with fats. I recommend buying it online. I've posted a link to where to get it online in the US but perhaps you can also find a suitable place in the UK. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm excited to try this recipe! I'm just curious on the fat content of this butter, I know Earth Balance's total fat content is 17% (11 g) for 1 tbsp. If you have an idea I'd love to know!
Reviewed by Frances Love September 26, 2011

Fats

I'm excited to try this recipe! I'm just curious on the fat content of this butter, I know Earth Balance's total fat content is 17% (11 g) for 1 tbsp. If you have an idea I'd love to know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This sounds fantastic:) I admire the scientific approach you've taken in order to produce something that appears to work - can't wait to try it. thank you:)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by christine September 23, 2011

wow!

This sounds fantastic:) I admire the scientific approach you've taken in order to produce something that appears to work - can't wait to try it. thank you:)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb September 22, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

Not Recipe

Mattie: I'd love to submit a recipe. I just, um, don't have one.
I had a GF all purpose white rice flour mix in my fridge which I made so long ago, I don't know what was in it.
So...
1/2 C Vegan Butter
1/4 C Vanilla Sugar
1 C GF Flour Mix
1 tsp Ground Chia Seed
2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When I made the butter I used home made nut milk and lemon juice because I'm allergic to soy and vinegar.

Cream butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.
Add vanilla extract.
Add flour mixed with ground chia a little at a time until well
incorporated.
Place on wax paper and press into 1/2" round
Refrigerate about an hour
Preheat oven to 350 F
Cut into 8 wedges
Bake until edges are just brown.
Cool at least 10 minutes.
Do a happy dance.
I am so turning this into pie crust for Thanksgiving.
Thanks Mattie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.
Rating 
 
5.0
laurelvb Reviewed by laurelvb September 21, 2011
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (16)

OMG Mattie!!!

OMG. I am a complete idiot. I made this recipe over a month ago and was afraid to try it. IDIOT!!!
I had to make changes-- Lemon Juice for the Vinegar; Light Olive Oil for the Canola; and Sunflower Lecithin for the Soy.
I just ate an entire batch of Gluten Free Shortbread. Holy Moly.
Never, Never, Never buying Earth Balance or Spectrum again.

Owner's reply

Hi laurelvb,

Interesting changes you have there! I've been wanting to do a Lemon Vegan Butter version with lemon juice (and maybe lemon extract) so that's great that version worked out for you. I haven't made shortbread with this yet but I so wish I could have a piece of yours! And gluten-free too- awesome. You should submit the recipe to Veganbaking.net. I'd love to showcase it if you're down!

Was this review helpful to you? 

This looks great. I can't wait to try it! Thanks
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Life Currents September 20, 2011

How to Make Vegan Butter


This looks great. I can't wait to try it! Thanks

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is amazing Mattie! I love it, great job. I'll try it soon and write a detailed review for you.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Christine Dickson September 20, 2011

This is Amazing!

This is amazing Mattie! I love it, great job. I'll try it soon and write a detailed review for you.

Owner's reply

Thanks Christine!

Was this review helpful to you? 
243 results - showing 211 - 225
« 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 » 
Ordering