Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (141)
44
168 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
Ordering 
 
I made these for my daughter in law and her boyfriend. I am not vegan but these were so good I will probably use this recipe from now on. I did not have espresso powder but used coffee beans and ground them and the flax seeds together, worked fine. I had no problem with over/under doneness, they came out perfect.
Rating 
 
5.0
Gigi2009 Reviewed by Gigi2009 July 27, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Very Surprised!

I made these for my daughter in law and her boyfriend. I am not vegan but these were so good I will probably use this recipe from now on. I did not have espresso powder but used coffee beans and ground them and the flax seeds together, worked fine. I had no problem with over/under doneness, they came out perfect.

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out well for you Gigi2009! Great idea on using coffee beans and grinding them with the flax seeds. I should look into utilizing ground coffee beans in baking more. I think it could be more effective in building flavor than using crappy store bought dehydrated espresso;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
We made these as instructed, for the full 35 minutes. Our oven must bake faster than others (we had it on convection-multi at 325). The brownies came out sad and overcooked :((((

They were good aside form that, next time we will bake for less time.

Baker's little helper added a warm dark chocolate ganache on top, which then solidified, and they improved.
BakerEric Reviewed by BakerEric July 26, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

We made these as instructed, for the full 35 minutes. Our oven must bake faster than others (we had it on convection-multi at 325). The brownies came out sad and overcooked :((((

They were good aside form that, next time we will bake for less time.

Baker's little helper added a warm dark chocolate ganache on top, which then solidified, and they improved.

Owner's reply

Hi BakerEric! I'm so sorry the brownies overcooked. Do you happen to have a JennAir oven with MultiMode Convection? A quick Google of "convection-multi" brought up that feature. At any rate, I don't recommend convection for baking under pretty much any circumstances because it consists of a fan that blows the hot air which is supposed to result in more even baking according to the oven manufacturers. But what it actually does is dry out the surface of your baked item, then promptly overcooks the entire thing. It works by raising the relative heat of your oven (think of the opposite of 'wind chill'). The vast majority of baking recipes are designed for non-convection (no air circulation) unless specifically stated.

Many sources say you can reduce baking times and/or temperature by 25 degrees and employ the convection setting but I disagree due to baking requiring particularly specific procedures in order for the right chemical reactions to take place.

I really wish it would work for baking though- I would be able to save so much time! Glad you were able to make them edible in the end. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Without doubt the best brownies ever! Squidgy, fudgy, rich and delicious - I will definitely be making these again! Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
poppyloveseddie Reviewed by poppyloveseddie July 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Ultimate!!

Without doubt the best brownies ever! Squidgy, fudgy, rich and delicious - I will definitely be making these again! Thank you!

Owner's reply

So happy you love the brownies poppyloveseddie! Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These brownies are sooooo good! I even prefer them to the ones from my favorite vegan bakery in Brooklyn. Plus, they're super easy to make. I didn't have flax on hand so I substituted for eggs with 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp of baking powder and they still came out great! And I happen to be very particular about my brownies.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kristen July 19, 2013

Love!

These brownies are sooooo good! I even prefer them to the ones from my favorite vegan bakery in Brooklyn. Plus, they're super easy to make. I didn't have flax on hand so I substituted for eggs with 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp of baking powder and they still came out great! And I happen to be very particular about my brownies.

Owner's reply

Thrilled these brownies worked out so well for you Kristen! I haven't tried them with applesauce yet so it's great to know you had success.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
My husband and I have been eating vegan about nine months and have finally started indulging in some higher calorie goodies. We've both lost a good bit of weight and come off cholesterol meds, so we felt eager to reward ourselves in a way that wouldn't be cheating on our vegan diet. Your brownies were a hit! we substituted whole wheat flour, but they were delicious. I can't compare since I haven't tried them with regular flour, but we both loved them! Thanks for posting this great recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mjmiles July 17, 2013

I could eat the whole pan myself!my

My husband and I have been eating vegan about nine months and have finally started indulging in some higher calorie goodies. We've both lost a good bit of weight and come off cholesterol meds, so we felt eager to reward ourselves in a way that wouldn't be cheating on our vegan diet. Your brownies were a hit! we substituted whole wheat flour, but they were delicious. I can't compare since I haven't tried them with regular flour, but we both loved them! Thanks for posting this great recipe!!

Owner's reply

Congrats on the healthy life changes Mjmiles! So glad these brownies work so well for your occasional indulgences!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Best brownie recipe ever, vegan or not! I have been searching for a year, thank you Mattie!! I am wondering if anyone has tried the recipe with part/all whole wheat pastry flour?
Rating 
 
5.0
Lilew Reviewed by Lilew July 06, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

So Good!

Best brownie recipe ever, vegan or not! I have been searching for a year, thank you Mattie!! I am wondering if anyone has tried the recipe with part/all whole wheat pastry flour?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the brownies Lilew! My guess is that you could probably get away with substituting half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. Let me know how it works out if you give it a shot!

Was this review helpful to you? 
tried it twice now and both times worked perfectly - great flavour and consistency - many thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gavin June 25, 2013

Brilliant recipe

tried it twice now and both times worked perfectly - great flavour and consistency - many thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
literally the best brownies I have ever eaten!!! I used coconut oil and added chia seeds for a little extra crunch!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Tessa June 19, 2013

nomnomnom

literally the best brownies I have ever eaten!!! I used coconut oil and added chia seeds for a little extra crunch!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you Tessa! Great idea on adding chia seeds!

Was this review helpful to you? 
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It's so damn amazing! I have done several subs, from extra cocoa and earth balance to replace chopped chocolate, to dairy free chocolate chips, no nuts, instant coffee, organic, not organic (tsk tsk). Even did it with earth balance in the tub and it worked exactly the same for me, turned out fab. THANKS MATTIE!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
cupcakefdoom Reviewed by cupcakefdoom June 12, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Tried and true and sinful too!

If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It's so damn amazing! I have done several subs, from extra cocoa and earth balance to replace chopped chocolate, to dairy free chocolate chips, no nuts, instant coffee, organic, not organic (tsk tsk). Even did it with earth balance in the tub and it worked exactly the same for me, turned out fab. THANKS MATTIE!!!

Owner's reply

That's great that you've had such luck with substitutions in these brownies cupcakefdoom! You've got me thinking that I should make some variations of this recipe such as peanut butter brownies and cheesecake brownies. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank You Mattie for sharing this recipe. These are the most amazing brownies I've ever had.
Recently turned vegan and after making these, I am so looking forward to trying out your other recipes. My non-vegan friends can't stop eating them. I better make some more soon. They keep well in an air-tight container in the fridge. This superb brownie formula is a 5 star vegan winner.
Ultimate brownies indeed. Greetings from the vegan kitchen in London. xxx
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ana June 05, 2013

Divine Brownies

Thank You Mattie for sharing this recipe. These are the most amazing brownies I've ever had.
Recently turned vegan and after making these, I am so looking forward to trying out your other recipes. My non-vegan friends can't stop eating them. I better make some more soon. They keep well in an air-tight container in the fridge. This superb brownie formula is a 5 star vegan winner.
Ultimate brownies indeed. Greetings from the vegan kitchen in London. xxx

Owner's reply

I'm so happy these brownies worked so well for you Ana! I always love it when non-vegans like them too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This was my first time making vegan brownies and I must say this recipe is pretty great. One thing that I didn't like is that the morning after I made them they were rocks. I followed the recipe word for word. Is that supposed to happen or is there something else I can do to preserve them longer?
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Ramz May 24, 2013

This was my first time making vegan brownies and I must say this recipe is pretty great. One thing that I didn't like is that the morning after I made them they were rocks. I followed the recipe word for word. Is that supposed to happen or is there something else I can do to preserve them longer?

Owner's reply

Sorry they got so rock hard on you the following day Ramz. I haven't that issue when making them. It sounds like they may have been slightly overcooked for some reason, possibly due to an oven running a little hot perhaps. You might want to reduce the baking time by about 5 minutes next time. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
SO so so so good. YUM. I ate some hot, warm and cold and delicious all three stages :) Total winner in my book. Next time I will try with coconut oil as I prefer cooking with that,and it sounds like it works fine :) Thanks so much!!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
tashnz Reviewed by tashnz May 23, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUMazing

SO so so so good. YUM. I ate some hot, warm and cold and delicious all three stages :) Total winner in my book. Next time I will try with coconut oil as I prefer cooking with that,and it sounds like it works fine :) Thanks so much!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I LOVE brownies. Every year my mom sticks candles into a pan of brownies for me instead of a regular birthday cake. Ever since going vegan however, most brownies are good - but they're missing that chewy, dense texture that really makes a great brownie. THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. It nails that wonderful texture that brownies are meant to have... and the flavor is perfection as well! My non-vegan friends adore them. The only problem is that you can easily eat the whole pan in a couple of days! : )

One Tip.... wetting your fingers really helps to press the thick dough down into the pan.

Thanks once again Mattie!!!!!!!!!

ps. lining the pan with parchment makes the bottom of the brownies really nice... good idea!
Rating 
 
5.0
mustBmagnets Reviewed by mustBmagnets May 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The way brownies were born to be...

I LOVE brownies. Every year my mom sticks candles into a pan of brownies for me instead of a regular birthday cake. Ever since going vegan however, most brownies are good - but they're missing that chewy, dense texture that really makes a great brownie. THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. It nails that wonderful texture that brownies are meant to have... and the flavor is perfection as well! My non-vegan friends adore them. The only problem is that you can easily eat the whole pan in a couple of days! : )

One Tip.... wetting your fingers really helps to press the thick dough down into the pan.

Thanks once again Mattie!!!!!!!!!

ps. lining the pan with parchment makes the bottom of the brownies really nice... good idea!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for the feedback and tip mustBmagnets, I'm so happy these vegan brownies worked great for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've tried my share of vegan brownie recipes and I've consistently been let down until now. "Ultimate" is the perfect word for this recipe. These were absolutely the best brownies I've ever made, vegan or otherwise!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Megan May 10, 2013

I've tried my share of vegan brownie recipes and I've consistently been let down until now. "Ultimate" is the perfect word for this recipe. These were absolutely the best brownies I've ever made, vegan or otherwise!

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Megan!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just made these brownies (and managed not to use every dish in my kitchen). (I did not use nuts or espresso.) I pulled them out of the oven, out of the dish and immediately cut them and ate one. Then I cut another one and at that too. They're so good I feel I should eat a vegetable. They're not just so much like the real thing it made me want a glass of cow's milk and I don't like cow's milk vegan or not. No one is available to eat them with me so I'm worried I'm going to eat them all before morning. I used almond milk but then I was wondering how chocolate almond milk would do. In hindsight that would be chocolate overload.

A lot of people are finding it hard to go vegan because they don't want to give things up. It's a victory when the vegan version is better than the non-vegan version.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kelly April 03, 2013

I couldn't even wait for them to cool just a littl

I just made these brownies (and managed not to use every dish in my kitchen). (I did not use nuts or espresso.) I pulled them out of the oven, out of the dish and immediately cut them and ate one. Then I cut another one and at that too. They're so good I feel I should eat a vegetable. They're not just so much like the real thing it made me want a glass of cow's milk and I don't like cow's milk vegan or not. No one is available to eat them with me so I'm worried I'm going to eat them all before morning. I used almond milk but then I was wondering how chocolate almond milk would do. In hindsight that would be chocolate overload.

A lot of people are finding it hard to go vegan because they don't want to give things up. It's a victory when the vegan version is better than the non-vegan version.

Owner's reply

I'm so happy these worked out so well for you Kelly! Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
168 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
Ordering