Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (145)
46
173 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
Ordering 
 
Thanks for the vegan recipe! Made the following changes for a bit of a healthier version:

- 3 Tbsp. applesauce + 3 Tbsp. mashed avocado instead of butter
- coconut sugar instead of regular white
- whole spelt flour instead of white wheat (wheat allergy)
- omitted espresso

Final product... delicious! Thanks again!
Rating 
 
5.0
mj Reviewed by mj September 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delicious!

Thanks for the vegan recipe! Made the following changes for a bit of a healthier version:

- 3 Tbsp. applesauce + 3 Tbsp. mashed avocado instead of butter
- coconut sugar instead of regular white
- whole spelt flour instead of white wheat (wheat allergy)
- omitted espresso

Final product... delicious! Thanks again!

Owner's reply

Wow that's a very interesting adaptation on the brownies mj! So glad it worked out well!

Was this review helpful to you? 
All I can say is wow! I am eating one now and it is delicious. I added 2 tablespoons Brewers Yeast to it for an extra nutritional punch and because I am a breastfeeding mom and add it where I can to help boost my milk supply. I left out the coffee and I was conservative on the sugar. I replaced the nuts with a few extra vegan chocolate chips left whole due to a nut allergy in my house. Even with these small changes they were still incredible. The dough was very thick and I used my hands to mix it and press it in the pan and it created the perfect texture! Not only is it chocolate yummy with the flax and brewers yeast this is also a healthy treat. Thanks so much it is my new go to brownie.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sandy September 12, 2013

Wow!!!

All I can say is wow! I am eating one now and it is delicious. I added 2 tablespoons Brewers Yeast to it for an extra nutritional punch and because I am a breastfeeding mom and add it where I can to help boost my milk supply. I left out the coffee and I was conservative on the sugar. I replaced the nuts with a few extra vegan chocolate chips left whole due to a nut allergy in my house. Even with these small changes they were still incredible. The dough was very thick and I used my hands to mix it and press it in the pan and it created the perfect texture! Not only is it chocolate yummy with the flax and brewers yeast this is also a healthy treat. Thanks so much it is my new go to brownie.

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked so well for you Sandy! I'm fascinated that you added brewers yeast to them and they still came out awesome. Good to know!

Was this review helpful to you? 
never had such a good brownies of course i added a 1/2 of rice milk came out ohhhh amaizing
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by lyuda September 09, 2013

best ever brownies

never had such a good brownies of course i added a 1/2 of rice milk came out ohhhh amaizing

Was this review helpful to you? 
In the 2 years since we went vegan, a decent brownie has eluded me - and I'm a good cook! These were just perfect! I made two batches, one with nuts and one without, and everyone in my family loved them. The only changes I made were to leave out the espresso (not coffee drinkers) and subbing pecans because I discovered I was out of walnuts. I will make these often!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by worldmom September 01, 2013

This is the one!

In the 2 years since we went vegan, a decent brownie has eluded me - and I'm a good cook! These were just perfect! I made two batches, one with nuts and one without, and everyone in my family loved them. The only changes I made were to leave out the espresso (not coffee drinkers) and subbing pecans because I discovered I was out of walnuts. I will make these often!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you worldmom! The espresso powder is to increase chocolate complexity and I agree- you'd have to be crazy to drink coffee made from it! I just use it when I bake with chocolate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Mine are currently in the oven.

Just wanted to check the quantity of boiling water, really 1/4 cup?

It wasn't enough to melt my chocolate, so I used a bain-marie.

Also, I ended up with a soft dough, that needed about 1/4 cup soya milk to slacken down to a thick batter? Thanks!!!
Reviewed by Treaclemine August 08, 2013

Mine are currently in the oven.

Just wanted to check the quantity of boiling water, really 1/4 cup?

It wasn't enough to melt my chocolate, so I used a bain-marie.

Also, I ended up with a soft dough, that needed about 1/4 cup soya milk to slacken down to a thick batter? Thanks!!!

Owner's reply

Hi Treaclemine! Hopefully your brownies worked out. The 1/4 cup boiling water is usually able to melt my chocolate if I work fast and whisk like mad. If other people comment on that being an issue I'll consider updating the recipe. Glad you were able to get it all melted with a bain marie. The batter is actually supposed to be a dough- extremely thick due to the absence of eggs to pull it all together. This ensures that the brownies are the appropriate texture after baking. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these for my daughter in law and her boyfriend. I am not vegan but these were so good I will probably use this recipe from now on. I did not have espresso powder but used coffee beans and ground them and the flax seeds together, worked fine. I had no problem with over/under doneness, they came out perfect.
Rating 
 
5.0
Gigi2009 Reviewed by Gigi2009 July 27, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Very Surprised!

I made these for my daughter in law and her boyfriend. I am not vegan but these were so good I will probably use this recipe from now on. I did not have espresso powder but used coffee beans and ground them and the flax seeds together, worked fine. I had no problem with over/under doneness, they came out perfect.

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out well for you Gigi2009! Great idea on using coffee beans and grinding them with the flax seeds. I should look into utilizing ground coffee beans in baking more. I think it could be more effective in building flavor than using crappy store bought dehydrated espresso;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
We made these as instructed, for the full 35 minutes. Our oven must bake faster than others (we had it on convection-multi at 325). The brownies came out sad and overcooked :((((

They were good aside form that, next time we will bake for less time.

Baker's little helper added a warm dark chocolate ganache on top, which then solidified, and they improved.
BakerEric Reviewed by BakerEric July 26, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

We made these as instructed, for the full 35 minutes. Our oven must bake faster than others (we had it on convection-multi at 325). The brownies came out sad and overcooked :((((

They were good aside form that, next time we will bake for less time.

Baker's little helper added a warm dark chocolate ganache on top, which then solidified, and they improved.

Owner's reply

Hi BakerEric! I'm so sorry the brownies overcooked. Do you happen to have a JennAir oven with MultiMode Convection? A quick Google of "convection-multi" brought up that feature. At any rate, I don't recommend convection for baking under pretty much any circumstances because it consists of a fan that blows the hot air which is supposed to result in more even baking according to the oven manufacturers. But what it actually does is dry out the surface of your baked item, then promptly overcooks the entire thing. It works by raising the relative heat of your oven (think of the opposite of 'wind chill'). The vast majority of baking recipes are designed for non-convection (no air circulation) unless specifically stated.

Many sources say you can reduce baking times and/or temperature by 25 degrees and employ the convection setting but I disagree due to baking requiring particularly specific procedures in order for the right chemical reactions to take place.

I really wish it would work for baking though- I would be able to save so much time! Glad you were able to make them edible in the end. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Without doubt the best brownies ever! Squidgy, fudgy, rich and delicious - I will definitely be making these again! Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
poppyloveseddie Reviewed by poppyloveseddie July 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Ultimate!!

Without doubt the best brownies ever! Squidgy, fudgy, rich and delicious - I will definitely be making these again! Thank you!

Owner's reply

So happy you love the brownies poppyloveseddie! Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These brownies are sooooo good! I even prefer them to the ones from my favorite vegan bakery in Brooklyn. Plus, they're super easy to make. I didn't have flax on hand so I substituted for eggs with 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp of baking powder and they still came out great! And I happen to be very particular about my brownies.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kristen July 19, 2013

Love!

These brownies are sooooo good! I even prefer them to the ones from my favorite vegan bakery in Brooklyn. Plus, they're super easy to make. I didn't have flax on hand so I substituted for eggs with 1/2 cup of applesauce and 2 tsp of baking powder and they still came out great! And I happen to be very particular about my brownies.

Owner's reply

Thrilled these brownies worked out so well for you Kristen! I haven't tried them with applesauce yet so it's great to know you had success.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My husband and I have been eating vegan about nine months and have finally started indulging in some higher calorie goodies. We've both lost a good bit of weight and come off cholesterol meds, so we felt eager to reward ourselves in a way that wouldn't be cheating on our vegan diet. Your brownies were a hit! we substituted whole wheat flour, but they were delicious. I can't compare since I haven't tried them with regular flour, but we both loved them! Thanks for posting this great recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mjmiles July 17, 2013

I could eat the whole pan myself!my

My husband and I have been eating vegan about nine months and have finally started indulging in some higher calorie goodies. We've both lost a good bit of weight and come off cholesterol meds, so we felt eager to reward ourselves in a way that wouldn't be cheating on our vegan diet. Your brownies were a hit! we substituted whole wheat flour, but they were delicious. I can't compare since I haven't tried them with regular flour, but we both loved them! Thanks for posting this great recipe!!

Owner's reply

Congrats on the healthy life changes Mjmiles! So glad these brownies work so well for your occasional indulgences!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Best brownie recipe ever, vegan or not! I have been searching for a year, thank you Mattie!! I am wondering if anyone has tried the recipe with part/all whole wheat pastry flour?
Rating 
 
5.0
Lilew Reviewed by Lilew July 06, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

So Good!

Best brownie recipe ever, vegan or not! I have been searching for a year, thank you Mattie!! I am wondering if anyone has tried the recipe with part/all whole wheat pastry flour?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the brownies Lilew! My guess is that you could probably get away with substituting half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour. Let me know how it works out if you give it a shot!

Was this review helpful to you? 
tried it twice now and both times worked perfectly - great flavour and consistency - many thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gavin June 25, 2013

Brilliant recipe

tried it twice now and both times worked perfectly - great flavour and consistency - many thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
literally the best brownies I have ever eaten!!! I used coconut oil and added chia seeds for a little extra crunch!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Tessa June 19, 2013

nomnomnom

literally the best brownies I have ever eaten!!! I used coconut oil and added chia seeds for a little extra crunch!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you Tessa! Great idea on adding chia seeds!

Was this review helpful to you? 
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It's so damn amazing! I have done several subs, from extra cocoa and earth balance to replace chopped chocolate, to dairy free chocolate chips, no nuts, instant coffee, organic, not organic (tsk tsk). Even did it with earth balance in the tub and it worked exactly the same for me, turned out fab. THANKS MATTIE!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
cupcakefdoom Reviewed by cupcakefdoom June 12, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Tried and true and sinful too!

If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It's so damn amazing! I have done several subs, from extra cocoa and earth balance to replace chopped chocolate, to dairy free chocolate chips, no nuts, instant coffee, organic, not organic (tsk tsk). Even did it with earth balance in the tub and it worked exactly the same for me, turned out fab. THANKS MATTIE!!!

Owner's reply

That's great that you've had such luck with substitutions in these brownies cupcakefdoom! You've got me thinking that I should make some variations of this recipe such as peanut butter brownies and cheesecake brownies. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank You Mattie for sharing this recipe. These are the most amazing brownies I've ever had.
Recently turned vegan and after making these, I am so looking forward to trying out your other recipes. My non-vegan friends can't stop eating them. I better make some more soon. They keep well in an air-tight container in the fridge. This superb brownie formula is a 5 star vegan winner.
Ultimate brownies indeed. Greetings from the vegan kitchen in London. xxx
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ana June 05, 2013

Divine Brownies

Thank You Mattie for sharing this recipe. These are the most amazing brownies I've ever had.
Recently turned vegan and after making these, I am so looking forward to trying out your other recipes. My non-vegan friends can't stop eating them. I better make some more soon. They keep well in an air-tight container in the fridge. This superb brownie formula is a 5 star vegan winner.
Ultimate brownies indeed. Greetings from the vegan kitchen in London. xxx

Owner's reply

I'm so happy these brownies worked so well for you Ana! I always love it when non-vegans like them too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
173 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... » 
Ordering