Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (136)
43
162 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 » 
Ordering 
 
tried it twice now and both times worked perfectly - great flavour and consistency - many thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Gavin June 25, 2013

Brilliant recipe

tried it twice now and both times worked perfectly - great flavour and consistency - many thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
literally the best brownies I have ever eaten!!! I used coconut oil and added chia seeds for a little extra crunch!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Tessa June 19, 2013

nomnomnom

literally the best brownies I have ever eaten!!! I used coconut oil and added chia seeds for a little extra crunch!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you Tessa! Great idea on adding chia seeds!

Was this review helpful to you? 
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It's so damn amazing! I have done several subs, from extra cocoa and earth balance to replace chopped chocolate, to dairy free chocolate chips, no nuts, instant coffee, organic, not organic (tsk tsk). Even did it with earth balance in the tub and it worked exactly the same for me, turned out fab. THANKS MATTIE!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
cupcakefdoom Reviewed by cupcakefdoom June 12, 2013
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Tried and true and sinful too!

If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. It's so damn amazing! I have done several subs, from extra cocoa and earth balance to replace chopped chocolate, to dairy free chocolate chips, no nuts, instant coffee, organic, not organic (tsk tsk). Even did it with earth balance in the tub and it worked exactly the same for me, turned out fab. THANKS MATTIE!!!

Owner's reply

That's great that you've had such luck with substitutions in these brownies cupcakefdoom! You've got me thinking that I should make some variations of this recipe such as peanut butter brownies and cheesecake brownies. Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank You Mattie for sharing this recipe. These are the most amazing brownies I've ever had.
Recently turned vegan and after making these, I am so looking forward to trying out your other recipes. My non-vegan friends can't stop eating them. I better make some more soon. They keep well in an air-tight container in the fridge. This superb brownie formula is a 5 star vegan winner.
Ultimate brownies indeed. Greetings from the vegan kitchen in London. xxx
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ana June 05, 2013

Divine Brownies

Thank You Mattie for sharing this recipe. These are the most amazing brownies I've ever had.
Recently turned vegan and after making these, I am so looking forward to trying out your other recipes. My non-vegan friends can't stop eating them. I better make some more soon. They keep well in an air-tight container in the fridge. This superb brownie formula is a 5 star vegan winner.
Ultimate brownies indeed. Greetings from the vegan kitchen in London. xxx

Owner's reply

I'm so happy these brownies worked so well for you Ana! I always love it when non-vegans like them too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This was my first time making vegan brownies and I must say this recipe is pretty great. One thing that I didn't like is that the morning after I made them they were rocks. I followed the recipe word for word. Is that supposed to happen or is there something else I can do to preserve them longer?
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Ramz May 24, 2013

This was my first time making vegan brownies and I must say this recipe is pretty great. One thing that I didn't like is that the morning after I made them they were rocks. I followed the recipe word for word. Is that supposed to happen or is there something else I can do to preserve them longer?

Owner's reply

Sorry they got so rock hard on you the following day Ramz. I haven't that issue when making them. It sounds like they may have been slightly overcooked for some reason, possibly due to an oven running a little hot perhaps. You might want to reduce the baking time by about 5 minutes next time. Thanks for your feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
SO so so so good. YUM. I ate some hot, warm and cold and delicious all three stages :) Total winner in my book. Next time I will try with coconut oil as I prefer cooking with that,and it sounds like it works fine :) Thanks so much!!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
tashnz Reviewed by tashnz May 23, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

YUMazing

SO so so so good. YUM. I ate some hot, warm and cold and delicious all three stages :) Total winner in my book. Next time I will try with coconut oil as I prefer cooking with that,and it sounds like it works fine :) Thanks so much!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I LOVE brownies. Every year my mom sticks candles into a pan of brownies for me instead of a regular birthday cake. Ever since going vegan however, most brownies are good - but they're missing that chewy, dense texture that really makes a great brownie. THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. It nails that wonderful texture that brownies are meant to have... and the flavor is perfection as well! My non-vegan friends adore them. The only problem is that you can easily eat the whole pan in a couple of days! : )

One Tip.... wetting your fingers really helps to press the thick dough down into the pan.

Thanks once again Mattie!!!!!!!!!

ps. lining the pan with parchment makes the bottom of the brownies really nice... good idea!
Rating 
 
5.0
mustBmagnets Reviewed by mustBmagnets May 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The way brownies were born to be...

I LOVE brownies. Every year my mom sticks candles into a pan of brownies for me instead of a regular birthday cake. Ever since going vegan however, most brownies are good - but they're missing that chewy, dense texture that really makes a great brownie. THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. It nails that wonderful texture that brownies are meant to have... and the flavor is perfection as well! My non-vegan friends adore them. The only problem is that you can easily eat the whole pan in a couple of days! : )

One Tip.... wetting your fingers really helps to press the thick dough down into the pan.

Thanks once again Mattie!!!!!!!!!

ps. lining the pan with parchment makes the bottom of the brownies really nice... good idea!

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for the feedback and tip mustBmagnets, I'm so happy these vegan brownies worked great for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've tried my share of vegan brownie recipes and I've consistently been let down until now. "Ultimate" is the perfect word for this recipe. These were absolutely the best brownies I've ever made, vegan or otherwise!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Megan May 10, 2013

I've tried my share of vegan brownie recipes and I've consistently been let down until now. "Ultimate" is the perfect word for this recipe. These were absolutely the best brownies I've ever made, vegan or otherwise!

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Megan!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just made these brownies (and managed not to use every dish in my kitchen). (I did not use nuts or espresso.) I pulled them out of the oven, out of the dish and immediately cut them and ate one. Then I cut another one and at that too. They're so good I feel I should eat a vegetable. They're not just so much like the real thing it made me want a glass of cow's milk and I don't like cow's milk vegan or not. No one is available to eat them with me so I'm worried I'm going to eat them all before morning. I used almond milk but then I was wondering how chocolate almond milk would do. In hindsight that would be chocolate overload.

A lot of people are finding it hard to go vegan because they don't want to give things up. It's a victory when the vegan version is better than the non-vegan version.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kelly April 03, 2013

I couldn't even wait for them to cool just a littl

I just made these brownies (and managed not to use every dish in my kitchen). (I did not use nuts or espresso.) I pulled them out of the oven, out of the dish and immediately cut them and ate one. Then I cut another one and at that too. They're so good I feel I should eat a vegetable. They're not just so much like the real thing it made me want a glass of cow's milk and I don't like cow's milk vegan or not. No one is available to eat them with me so I'm worried I'm going to eat them all before morning. I used almond milk but then I was wondering how chocolate almond milk would do. In hindsight that would be chocolate overload.

A lot of people are finding it hard to go vegan because they don't want to give things up. It's a victory when the vegan version is better than the non-vegan version.

Owner's reply

I'm so happy these worked out so well for you Kelly! Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've been making these brownies since I ran across this recipe, and they are fantastic. My husband loves them. I thought I'd leave a note to say that I wanted to make them today and only had 1/4 cup of the vegan chocolate chips. I went ahead and did it, and they were still great! Another tip is that I've found in the past that the edges get more done, so now I put foil around the edges and that works well.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Statch March 31, 2013

Really is the ultimate brownie...

I've been making these brownies since I ran across this recipe, and they are fantastic. My husband loves them. I thought I'd leave a note to say that I wanted to make them today and only had 1/4 cup of the vegan chocolate chips. I went ahead and did it, and they were still great! Another tip is that I've found in the past that the edges get more done, so now I put foil around the edges and that works well.

Owner's reply

Great idea about putting foil on the edges Statch! Have you seen that brownie tin that exposes more surface area to edges so every brownie slice has crispy edge on it? I can't make up my mind whether I like the edges more or the center more with brownies. Thanks for sharing and I'm thrilled that you like them!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These are so perfect...thank you! These stand up beside non-vegan brownies with pride. I used tub margarine in these cos that's all I had at the time and they were fine btw.
Rating 
 
5.0
asharpknife Reviewed by asharpknife March 23, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

love!

These are so perfect...thank you! These stand up beside non-vegan brownies with pride. I used tub margarine in these cos that's all I had at the time and they were fine btw.

Owner's reply

So glad to know these worked out so well even with tub margarine asharpknife! Thanks for sharing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is a 6 star recipe! I just made this (i'm actually eating a piece right now) and it's amazing. Fudgy inside and crispy outside. I don't think I ever enjoyed a homemade non-vegan brownie as much as this one. I followed the recipe to a tee (except used 5tbsp coconut oil + 1 tbsp nut milk in place of vegan butter) and they came out just the way they should. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bulut March 21, 2013

This is a 6 star recipe! I just made this (i'm actually eating a piece right now) and it's amazing. Fudgy inside and crispy outside. I don't think I ever enjoyed a homemade non-vegan brownie as much as this one. I followed the recipe to a tee (except used 5tbsp coconut oil + 1 tbsp nut milk in place of vegan butter) and they came out just the way they should. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

Owner's reply

I haven't tried these with a coconut oil/non-dairy milk substitution instead of vegan butter. It's nice to know it works. Thanks for sharing Bulut!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Oh god, this recipe is awesome. I made no subs and it turned out beautifully! Sticky, moist, gooey and crunchy on top..all the things a brownie should be! Thank you!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sammy March 16, 2013

Amaaazing!!!!!!!!

Oh god, this recipe is awesome. I made no subs and it turned out beautifully! Sticky, moist, gooey and crunchy on top..all the things a brownie should be! Thank you!!!

Owner's reply

So glad these brownies worked out for you Sammy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Aaagh! Wish I'd read the bit about the batter being "Very thick!" before over-panicking and nearly ruining my brownies :O Thought I'd misread the amounts for flour and hastily tried to "dilute" the mix by adding more hot water, melted choc etc. Luckily they still turned out ok but next time I will have to follow to a tee!
Rating 
 
4.0
zapplepie Reviewed by zapplepie March 13, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Aaagh! Wish I'd read the bit about the batter being "Very thick!" before over-panicking and nearly ruining my brownies :O Thought I'd misread the amounts for flour and hastily tried to "dilute" the mix by adding more hot water, melted choc etc. Luckily they still turned out ok but next time I will have to follow to a tee!

Owner's reply

Sorry zapplepie! I know- the batter thickness is strange. I could't believe it when the recipe evolved this way when I developed it. Non-vegan brownies use egg coagulation that is the primary structure builder. These brownies use primarily flour and flax for this which results in an unconventionally thick batter. Vegan batters and doughs tend to be thicker because of this factor.

Was this review helpful to you? 
These were the most delicious brownies I've ever baked (vegan and non vegan). Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Mattie!
I've just writed a new blog post about this recipe on my blog. Check it out and I hope you like how my vegan brownies came out! :-)
xo
Gemma.
http://www.cinnamongirldelights.blogspot.com.es/2013/03/the-best-vegan-brownies.html
Rating 
 
5.0
Cinnamongem Reviewed by Cinnamongem March 12, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Best brownies!

These were the most delicious brownies I've ever baked (vegan and non vegan). Thanks for sharing the recipe with us Mattie!
I've just writed a new blog post about this recipe on my blog. Check it out and I hope you like how my vegan brownies came out! :-)
xo
Gemma.
http://www.cinnamongirldelights.blogspot.com.es/2013/03/the-best-vegan-brownies.html

Owner's reply

That's so cool Cinnamongem! Thanks so much for writing about them! I'm so happy they worked out for you. I love your food photography- especially the one that's looking inside the oven where the brownies are baking. By the way, the boiling water is used to melt the chocolate, soften the cocoa powder and dissolve the espresso powder all in one fell swoop. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
162 results - showing 61 - 75
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 » 
Ordering