Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (141)
44
168 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... » 
Ordering 
 
I was craving a Clementine Bakery delectable brownie, but didn't want to make the trek out to Brooklyn to get one. So upon surfing the net, I decided upon this recipe due to all the stellar reviews. I was a bit dubious, since the brownies at Clementine Bakery are very special. Lo and behold, I am gladly satisfied and surprised that these brownies came out fantastic. Really wonderful chocolatey stuff. I don't think your pictures do it justice, however, so here's a link to mine: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/t1/1922506_10153902436585088_329271101_n.jpg. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Diana March 03, 2014

Delicious... filled my craving!

I was craving a Clementine Bakery delectable brownie, but didn't want to make the trek out to Brooklyn to get one. So upon surfing the net, I decided upon this recipe due to all the stellar reviews. I was a bit dubious, since the brownies at Clementine Bakery are very special. Lo and behold, I am gladly satisfied and surprised that these brownies came out fantastic. Really wonderful chocolatey stuff. I don't think your pictures do it justice, however, so here's a link to mine: https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/t1/1922506_10153902436585088_329271101_n.jpg. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!

Owner's reply

I'm so happy you enjoyed the brownies Diana! Great pic! They look oh so moist and gooey. I love Clementine Bakery! I used to live in Brooklyn and had their amazing eats at the Vegan Shop-up. Now I wish that I had had a chance to experience their brownies when I lived out there!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These were fabulous! I've been vegan for 14 years and had given up on brownies long ago. These were chewy moist brownies and I will be saving this recipe for sure.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Melody March 03, 2014

Amazing

These were fabulous! I've been vegan for 14 years and had given up on brownies long ago. These were chewy moist brownies and I will be saving this recipe for sure.

Owner's reply

Thanks Melody! I'm so happy you enjoyed the brownies.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks for this wonderful recipe, Mattie! I am new to vegan baking and these are both delicious and easy to make (the "hardest" part was finding the golden flax meal the first time). Even my skeptical "meatatarian" husband did NOT know these were vegan. I also found your tips (separate post) about the science of vegan baking & "veganizing" recipes both enlightening and hilarious ("if a recipe calls for 6 eggs, just walk away", indeed). and appreciate your positive and helpful comments and feedback to other reviewers!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Nancy February 28, 2014

THANK YOU! These are delicious!

Thanks for this wonderful recipe, Mattie! I am new to vegan baking and these are both delicious and easy to make (the "hardest" part was finding the golden flax meal the first time). Even my skeptical "meatatarian" husband did NOT know these were vegan. I also found your tips (separate post) about the science of vegan baking & "veganizing" recipes both enlightening and hilarious ("if a recipe calls for 6 eggs, just walk away", indeed). and appreciate your positive and helpful comments and feedback to other reviewers!

Owner's reply

So glad you enjoyed the brownies Nancy! I've had it with tracking down hard to find ingredients and now I don't hesitate to just order stuff online. The only problem is that now my house is turning into a health food store!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Can you please specify how much of the chocolate chips to add? Is it fluid ounces or weight ounces? Also, I don't have a weigher so could you just convert it? A cup of chocolate chips? Half a cup?? Thanks!!
ecrivezmaria Reviewed by ecrivezmaria February 23, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Weight or fluid ounces?

Can you please specify how much of the chocolate chips to add? Is it fluid ounces or weight ounces? Also, I don't have a weigher so could you just convert it? A cup of chocolate chips? Half a cup?? Thanks!!

Owner's reply

Hi ecrivezmaria, chocolate is a solid so it's measured as ounces by weight, not by liquid. So the measurement is weight ounces. Four ounces of chocolate is roughly a commercial bar of high quality chocolate. I don't recommend using chocolate chips in baking unless they're specifically called for. This is because chocolate chips are usually inferior quality compared to the higher quality chocolate available for baking and in bar form.

If you absolutely had to use chocolate chips, 4 ounces is 3/4 cup. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I've made these brownies a handful of times and seriously, this is the best recipe I've found (vegan or otherwise). My last batch turned out dry and crumbly (like a sad, dense cake) but that was my fault as I didn't have vegan butter in the house, and substituted canola oil spread. Otherwise, they always turn out perfectly - moist inside, chewy but not overcooked on the outside and decadently fudgey. Thanks for the excellent recipe. I look forward to checking out the rest of the site.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Isabelle February 21, 2014

Ultimate is right!

I've made these brownies a handful of times and seriously, this is the best recipe I've found (vegan or otherwise). My last batch turned out dry and crumbly (like a sad, dense cake) but that was my fault as I didn't have vegan butter in the house, and substituted canola oil spread. Otherwise, they always turn out perfectly - moist inside, chewy but not overcooked on the outside and decadently fudgey. Thanks for the excellent recipe. I look forward to checking out the rest of the site.

Owner's reply

So glad you like the brownies Isabelle! Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these for valentine's day for my husband. We really enjoyed them and I will send some to work with him to get some non-vegan thoughts. I made the following modifications:
- I substituted a 3oz bar of dark chocolate with espresso beans for the semi-sweet chocolate because we didn't have semi-sweet chocolate in the house
- instead of the walnuts, I added 1/3 cup raw cashews and 1/3 cup cocoa nibs
- I forgot to add the espresso powder
- I completely forgot to put the pan on the lower rack and instead baked it for 15 min on the upper rack until I realized my mistake. I only ended up baking for 30 min total.
I think they turned out really well. The outer edge is chewy, just how I would imagine a regular brownie to be, and the rest of the brownie is really moist. I did not have any problems with these turning out too dry, despite failing to follow some of the instructions.
The 1/4 cup hot water did not melt all the chocolate, possibly because I did not chop it up small enough, but that's ok because there are tiny pieces of heavenly chocolate throughout the brownies. Overall, I find these to be quite sweet and in the future I would try to make some modifications for the amount of sugar. I do not think that warrants giving this recipe a lower rating, though, as that is personal preference. I do not eat a lot of sugar on a daily basis and have cut out foods with added sugar, so I feel like I am a bit more sensitive to sweet foods. I will probably try some changes to the amount of sugar in the future, but I wanted to make sure I didn't make too many modifications on the first go round with this recipe.
This will likely be my go-to vegan brownie recipe, as I feel pretty comfortable about making some changes without affecting the quality too much.
Rating 
 
5.0
sunny Reviewed by sunny February 15, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Decadent

I made these for valentine's day for my husband. We really enjoyed them and I will send some to work with him to get some non-vegan thoughts. I made the following modifications:
- I substituted a 3oz bar of dark chocolate with espresso beans for the semi-sweet chocolate because we didn't have semi-sweet chocolate in the house
- instead of the walnuts, I added 1/3 cup raw cashews and 1/3 cup cocoa nibs
- I forgot to add the espresso powder
- I completely forgot to put the pan on the lower rack and instead baked it for 15 min on the upper rack until I realized my mistake. I only ended up baking for 30 min total.
I think they turned out really well. The outer edge is chewy, just how I would imagine a regular brownie to be, and the rest of the brownie is really moist. I did not have any problems with these turning out too dry, despite failing to follow some of the instructions.
The 1/4 cup hot water did not melt all the chocolate, possibly because I did not chop it up small enough, but that's ok because there are tiny pieces of heavenly chocolate throughout the brownies. Overall, I find these to be quite sweet and in the future I would try to make some modifications for the amount of sugar. I do not think that warrants giving this recipe a lower rating, though, as that is personal preference. I do not eat a lot of sugar on a daily basis and have cut out foods with added sugar, so I feel like I am a bit more sensitive to sweet foods. I will probably try some changes to the amount of sugar in the future, but I wanted to make sure I didn't make too many modifications on the first go round with this recipe.
This will likely be my go-to vegan brownie recipe, as I feel pretty comfortable about making some changes without affecting the quality too much.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the great feedback sunny! It looks like the changes you made to the recipe are relatively minor and probably reflect mostly how the brownies turn out in normal circumstances. I just updated the recipe to call for chopping the chocolate into 1/4 inch pieces instead of 1/2 inch pieces. This will allow the chocolate to melt more adequately. I've been doing some minor tests with baking times lately and so far I haven't been having over-baking issues like some others have mentioned. I still want to run a few more tests though just to be sure.

If you reduce the sugar, be on the lookout for a drier texture, as sugar holds onto moisture. You should consider adding a tiny bit more water to the recipe if you reduce the sugar in order to compensate for this. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Love your Ultimate Vegan Brownies. That said, mine were a bit dry and crumbly. How do you suggest I correct this? Probably it was due to the modifications i made. First, Earth Balance Buttery Sticks were not available, however EB Vegan Buttery (tub) Spread was so I used it. Second, I don't have a mixer and so I mixed it by hand.

Any comments: We like our brownies to have a more fudgy texture.

Rating 
 
3.0
sbriggs Reviewed by sbriggs January 16, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Ultimate Vegan Brownie

Love your Ultimate Vegan Brownies. That said, mine were a bit dry and crumbly. How do you suggest I correct this? Probably it was due to the modifications i made. First, Earth Balance Buttery Sticks were not available, however EB Vegan Buttery (tub) Spread was so I used it. Second, I don't have a mixer and so I mixed it by hand.

Any comments: We like our brownies to have a more fudgy texture.

Owner's reply

Sorry the brownies didn't work out for you sbriggs! This recipe was designed for use with a vegan butter such as Earth Balance Buttery Sticks or Vegan Butter. If you choose to use tub vegan butter, it'll turn out excessively dry due to the higher water ratio. In this case the water bakes off, resulting in a drier brownie. My advice is to always have either Buttery Sticks or Vegan Butter in your freezer for baking. In fact, I recommend just forgetting about the possibility of using tub margarine for baking- it's just not going to offer the same results as butter.

The mixing is an important step too because it allows the water-based ingredients to emulsify with the fats, which makes for a more moist, fudgy texture that'll resist letting go of water during baking. This will also lead to a more moist brownie. If you don't have a mixer I recommend just hand mixing like crazy during this step until you have a smooth, consistent mass.

I know these small details wouldn't seem like they'd make a difference but believe me, after spending seven years on this recipe, I think I've experienced it all! Good luck if you decide to make another crack at it in the future!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Followed recipe exactly with two exceptions: omitted walnuts and used gluten free all-purpose flour due to family members with allergies. WOW these were awesome. I don't ever cook with gf flour, so I was skeptical...but they came out PERFECTLY!!! I am adding this to my recipe collection :) Thank you so much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Claire E Lockwood January 05, 2014

Can't imagine it gets any better!

Followed recipe exactly with two exceptions: omitted walnuts and used gluten free all-purpose flour due to family members with allergies. WOW these were awesome. I don't ever cook with gf flour, so I was skeptical...but they came out PERFECTLY!!! I am adding this to my recipe collection :) Thank you so much!

Owner's reply

So glad the brownies worked out for you with gluten-free flour Claire! Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just made these today for Christmas, and they are amazing! I added a little orange peel to the mix to give it some zest. The best vegan chocolate brownie I have ever made!

Bless up!

Maximus
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Maximus December 25, 2013

Just made these today for Christmas, and they are amazing! I added a little orange peel to the mix to give it some zest. The best vegan chocolate brownie I have ever made!

Bless up!

Maximus

Owner's reply

Wow! Orange zest sounds like a great idea in brownies! So glad they worked out for you Maximus!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are truly incredible. I added 3/4 tsp of chipotle powder for some heat, and used toasted pecans instead of walnuts. I also love someone else's suggestion of adding crushed peppermint candies. Yum!

I'd like to note that I used 4 oz. of dark chocolate chips, and the boiling water didn't melt them all the way so I ended up having to place the bowl with the chocolate paste into the preheating oven. I think this caused the paste to burn ever-so-slightly, but thankfully it wasn't evident in the finished product. If I end up using chocolate chips the next time I make this, I'll probably melt them on the stove with the vegan butter over low heat, and sift the cocoa powder with the flour instead of adding it to the melted chocolate. Hopefully that won't mess with the end result.

This is a recipe I will continue to play with since it is a winner!
Rating 
 
5.0
Juneberry Reviewed by Juneberry December 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Top notch!

These are truly incredible. I added 3/4 tsp of chipotle powder for some heat, and used toasted pecans instead of walnuts. I also love someone else's suggestion of adding crushed peppermint candies. Yum!

I'd like to note that I used 4 oz. of dark chocolate chips, and the boiling water didn't melt them all the way so I ended up having to place the bowl with the chocolate paste into the preheating oven. I think this caused the paste to burn ever-so-slightly, but thankfully it wasn't evident in the finished product. If I end up using chocolate chips the next time I make this, I'll probably melt them on the stove with the vegan butter over low heat, and sift the cocoa powder with the flour instead of adding it to the melted chocolate. Hopefully that won't mess with the end result.

This is a recipe I will continue to play with since it is a winner!

Owner's reply

So glad you enjoyed the brownies Juneberry! Chocolate chips have a little bit more cocoa butter than regular chocolate so they're a little bit more resistant to melting. This is so that the chocolate chips hold their shape in things like cookies during baking. It makes sense to me that they might melt a little slower with my method.

I designed the recipe to melt the chocolate this way so the chocolate would melt perfectly to the point of not being burnt. This method makes it so that you don't have to jury rig a double boiler. As long as you keep an eye on it, you could use a metal mixing bowl and just place it over the stove for a brief moment, or use a glass mixing bowl and place it in the microwave for a bit. My concern with melting the chocolate with the Vegan Butter is that the water in the Vegan Butter will cause the chocolate to seize, which might negatively affect the texture of the brownies.

Thanks and happy baking!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Like some others have commented, mine came out slightly on the dry side (but still, delicious.) The top was gloriously crusty and the insides just a bit gooey. I waited until they were fully cooled to cut them, which I might not do next time. But wow. These don't taste vegan at all! No eggs or cream to get in the way of chocolate tastiness :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rebecca December 12, 2013

Perfect, and so easy!

Like some others have commented, mine came out slightly on the dry side (but still, delicious.) The top was gloriously crusty and the insides just a bit gooey. I waited until they were fully cooled to cut them, which I might not do next time. But wow. These don't taste vegan at all! No eggs or cream to get in the way of chocolate tastiness :)

Owner's reply

So happy that the brownies worked out for you Rebecca!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'll start of by saying I'm not a vegan, I made these because a friend was going to a party and all the dishes had to be vegan. I love brownies, my go to comfort food is a brownie it's fair to say I have eaten many many brownies in my time on this planet. These are by far the best I have ever had. From that perfect crunch when you first bite into them to the fudgie center, heaven just heaven. I made 5 pans of them for the party with the expectation of some coming back to me, exactly 3 brownies made it home. I will be making these again and again, and did I say again. The only change I made was to bake them 30 minutes instead of 35 as my oven tends to run a bit hot.
Rating 
 
5.0
raveynsheart Reviewed by raveynsheart December 09, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Heavenly Chocolate Perfection

I'll start of by saying I'm not a vegan, I made these because a friend was going to a party and all the dishes had to be vegan. I love brownies, my go to comfort food is a brownie it's fair to say I have eaten many many brownies in my time on this planet. These are by far the best I have ever had. From that perfect crunch when you first bite into them to the fudgie center, heaven just heaven. I made 5 pans of them for the party with the expectation of some coming back to me, exactly 3 brownies made it home. I will be making these again and again, and did I say again. The only change I made was to bake them 30 minutes instead of 35 as my oven tends to run a bit hot.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for the great comment on the brownies raveynsheart! I'm thrilled to know that only three brownies make it back after five pans. I've learned over the years that the best indication of how good something is is how much is left over at the end of the night. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I agree with a prior comment that vegan or not this is the best brownie recipe I have made. Just as intended, crispy on the outside and fudgy on the inside. Only modification I made was I used 4 oz unsweetened chocolate plus 4 tablespoons sugar in lieu of the semi-sweet chocolate and ¼ c water and I omitted the coffee, did not use nuts. I watched the baking time due to the drying concerns but had no difficulty. Day 1 and the next day they were perfect. I will make again soon for Christmas gifts and have linked on my website http://www.veganaugusta.com/desserts/ to share with others. Thanks for the great recipe and great tip about the dough needing to be like dough and not like batter!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cindy Moores December 06, 2013

Ultimate Vegan Brownies

I agree with a prior comment that vegan or not this is the best brownie recipe I have made. Just as intended, crispy on the outside and fudgy on the inside. Only modification I made was I used 4 oz unsweetened chocolate plus 4 tablespoons sugar in lieu of the semi-sweet chocolate and ¼ c water and I omitted the coffee, did not use nuts. I watched the baking time due to the drying concerns but had no difficulty. Day 1 and the next day they were perfect. I will make again soon for Christmas gifts and have linked on my website http://www.veganaugusta.com/desserts/ to share with others. Thanks for the great recipe and great tip about the dough needing to be like dough and not like batter!

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the brownies Cindy! That's interesting that you got it to work well with the unsweetened chocolate with extra sugar. Nice! Veganaugusta looks awesome! Such a wealth of great information.

Was this review helpful to you? 
These brownies are so delicious!!! They're by far the best brownies I've ever had! I've made them several times and have taken them to parties. Everyone has loved them! Thank you for sharing the recipe! :) I do have one question though. Instead of using walnuts, could I use candy canes to make like a peppermint bark brownie?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Hadley December 02, 2013

Absolutely Amazing!!!

These brownies are so delicious!!! They're by far the best brownies I've ever had! I've made them several times and have taken them to parties. Everyone has loved them! Thank you for sharing the recipe! :) I do have one question though. Instead of using walnuts, could I use candy canes to make like a peppermint bark brownie?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the brownies Hadley! I have to beg you, please make the brownies with candy canes instead of walnuts! That sounds amazing! I think it would work fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Would you modify these in any way at 5,500 feet?
Reviewed by erin November 26, 2013

Would you modify these in any way at 5,500 feet?

Owner's reply

Great question erin! It's my understanding that high altitude mainly effects baked goods that rise. So the less the rise, the less the problems. Fortunately, these brownies barely utilize rising so the only thing I'd recommend is to pull them out of the oven a minute or so earlier than the recipe calls for, to compensate for slightly drier air. Good luck and let me know how they turn out if you give it a go!

Was this review helpful to you? 
168 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... » 
Ordering