Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Ultimate Vegan Brownies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.8 (135)
43
161 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 » 
Ordering 
 
Followed recipe exactly with two exceptions: omitted walnuts and used gluten free all-purpose flour due to family members with allergies. WOW these were awesome. I don't ever cook with gf flour, so I was skeptical...but they came out PERFECTLY!!! I am adding this to my recipe collection :) Thank you so much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Claire E Lockwood January 05, 2014

Can't imagine it gets any better!

Followed recipe exactly with two exceptions: omitted walnuts and used gluten free all-purpose flour due to family members with allergies. WOW these were awesome. I don't ever cook with gf flour, so I was skeptical...but they came out PERFECTLY!!! I am adding this to my recipe collection :) Thank you so much!

Owner's reply

So glad the brownies worked out for you with gluten-free flour Claire! Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just made these today for Christmas, and they are amazing! I added a little orange peel to the mix to give it some zest. The best vegan chocolate brownie I have ever made!

Bless up!

Maximus
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Maximus December 25, 2013

Just made these today for Christmas, and they are amazing! I added a little orange peel to the mix to give it some zest. The best vegan chocolate brownie I have ever made!

Bless up!

Maximus

Owner's reply

Wow! Orange zest sounds like a great idea in brownies! So glad they worked out for you Maximus!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are truly incredible. I added 3/4 tsp of chipotle powder for some heat, and used toasted pecans instead of walnuts. I also love someone else's suggestion of adding crushed peppermint candies. Yum!

I'd like to note that I used 4 oz. of dark chocolate chips, and the boiling water didn't melt them all the way so I ended up having to place the bowl with the chocolate paste into the preheating oven. I think this caused the paste to burn ever-so-slightly, but thankfully it wasn't evident in the finished product. If I end up using chocolate chips the next time I make this, I'll probably melt them on the stove with the vegan butter over low heat, and sift the cocoa powder with the flour instead of adding it to the melted chocolate. Hopefully that won't mess with the end result.

This is a recipe I will continue to play with since it is a winner!
Rating 
 
5.0
Juneberry Reviewed by Juneberry December 20, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Top notch!

These are truly incredible. I added 3/4 tsp of chipotle powder for some heat, and used toasted pecans instead of walnuts. I also love someone else's suggestion of adding crushed peppermint candies. Yum!

I'd like to note that I used 4 oz. of dark chocolate chips, and the boiling water didn't melt them all the way so I ended up having to place the bowl with the chocolate paste into the preheating oven. I think this caused the paste to burn ever-so-slightly, but thankfully it wasn't evident in the finished product. If I end up using chocolate chips the next time I make this, I'll probably melt them on the stove with the vegan butter over low heat, and sift the cocoa powder with the flour instead of adding it to the melted chocolate. Hopefully that won't mess with the end result.

This is a recipe I will continue to play with since it is a winner!

Owner's reply

So glad you enjoyed the brownies Juneberry! Chocolate chips have a little bit more cocoa butter than regular chocolate so they're a little bit more resistant to melting. This is so that the chocolate chips hold their shape in things like cookies during baking. It makes sense to me that they might melt a little slower with my method.

I designed the recipe to melt the chocolate this way so the chocolate would melt perfectly to the point of not being burnt. This method makes it so that you don't have to jury rig a double boiler. As long as you keep an eye on it, you could use a metal mixing bowl and just place it over the stove for a brief moment, or use a glass mixing bowl and place it in the microwave for a bit. My concern with melting the chocolate with the Vegan Butter is that the water in the Vegan Butter will cause the chocolate to seize, which might negatively affect the texture of the brownies.

Thanks and happy baking!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Like some others have commented, mine came out slightly on the dry side (but still, delicious.) The top was gloriously crusty and the insides just a bit gooey. I waited until they were fully cooled to cut them, which I might not do next time. But wow. These don't taste vegan at all! No eggs or cream to get in the way of chocolate tastiness :)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Rebecca December 12, 2013

Perfect, and so easy!

Like some others have commented, mine came out slightly on the dry side (but still, delicious.) The top was gloriously crusty and the insides just a bit gooey. I waited until they were fully cooled to cut them, which I might not do next time. But wow. These don't taste vegan at all! No eggs or cream to get in the way of chocolate tastiness :)

Owner's reply

So happy that the brownies worked out for you Rebecca!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
I'll start of by saying I'm not a vegan, I made these because a friend was going to a party and all the dishes had to be vegan. I love brownies, my go to comfort food is a brownie it's fair to say I have eaten many many brownies in my time on this planet. These are by far the best I have ever had. From that perfect crunch when you first bite into them to the fudgie center, heaven just heaven. I made 5 pans of them for the party with the expectation of some coming back to me, exactly 3 brownies made it home. I will be making these again and again, and did I say again. The only change I made was to bake them 30 minutes instead of 35 as my oven tends to run a bit hot.
Rating 
 
5.0
raveynsheart Reviewed by raveynsheart December 09, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Heavenly Chocolate Perfection

I'll start of by saying I'm not a vegan, I made these because a friend was going to a party and all the dishes had to be vegan. I love brownies, my go to comfort food is a brownie it's fair to say I have eaten many many brownies in my time on this planet. These are by far the best I have ever had. From that perfect crunch when you first bite into them to the fudgie center, heaven just heaven. I made 5 pans of them for the party with the expectation of some coming back to me, exactly 3 brownies made it home. I will be making these again and again, and did I say again. The only change I made was to bake them 30 minutes instead of 35 as my oven tends to run a bit hot.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much for the great comment on the brownies raveynsheart! I'm thrilled to know that only three brownies make it back after five pans. I've learned over the years that the best indication of how good something is is how much is left over at the end of the night. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I agree with a prior comment that vegan or not this is the best brownie recipe I have made. Just as intended, crispy on the outside and fudgy on the inside. Only modification I made was I used 4 oz unsweetened chocolate plus 4 tablespoons sugar in lieu of the semi-sweet chocolate and ¼ c water and I omitted the coffee, did not use nuts. I watched the baking time due to the drying concerns but had no difficulty. Day 1 and the next day they were perfect. I will make again soon for Christmas gifts and have linked on my website http://www.veganaugusta.com/desserts/ to share with others. Thanks for the great recipe and great tip about the dough needing to be like dough and not like batter!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Cindy Moores December 06, 2013

Ultimate Vegan Brownies

I agree with a prior comment that vegan or not this is the best brownie recipe I have made. Just as intended, crispy on the outside and fudgy on the inside. Only modification I made was I used 4 oz unsweetened chocolate plus 4 tablespoons sugar in lieu of the semi-sweet chocolate and ¼ c water and I omitted the coffee, did not use nuts. I watched the baking time due to the drying concerns but had no difficulty. Day 1 and the next day they were perfect. I will make again soon for Christmas gifts and have linked on my website http://www.veganaugusta.com/desserts/ to share with others. Thanks for the great recipe and great tip about the dough needing to be like dough and not like batter!

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the brownies Cindy! That's interesting that you got it to work well with the unsweetened chocolate with extra sugar. Nice! Veganaugusta looks awesome! Such a wealth of great information.

Was this review helpful to you? 
These brownies are so delicious!!! They're by far the best brownies I've ever had! I've made them several times and have taken them to parties. Everyone has loved them! Thank you for sharing the recipe! :) I do have one question though. Instead of using walnuts, could I use candy canes to make like a peppermint bark brownie?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Hadley December 02, 2013

Absolutely Amazing!!!

These brownies are so delicious!!! They're by far the best brownies I've ever had! I've made them several times and have taken them to parties. Everyone has loved them! Thank you for sharing the recipe! :) I do have one question though. Instead of using walnuts, could I use candy canes to make like a peppermint bark brownie?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the brownies Hadley! I have to beg you, please make the brownies with candy canes instead of walnuts! That sounds amazing! I think it would work fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Would you modify these in any way at 5,500 feet?
Reviewed by erin November 26, 2013

Would you modify these in any way at 5,500 feet?

Owner's reply

Great question erin! It's my understanding that high altitude mainly effects baked goods that rise. So the less the rise, the less the problems. Fortunately, these brownies barely utilize rising so the only thing I'd recommend is to pull them out of the oven a minute or so earlier than the recipe calls for, to compensate for slightly drier air. Good luck and let me know how they turn out if you give it a go!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Followed recipe exactly. Why mess with perfection? You did the work, and I reap the benefits. Stayed up late baking these. It is now 12:30 am................but I wanted to let them cool per your instructions. You can't even tell they are vegan. Yummmy!!!! Had to stop myself. There's always tomorrow. Thank you so much
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Shryee November 19, 2013

DELICIOUS!!!!

Followed recipe exactly. Why mess with perfection? You did the work, and I reap the benefits. Stayed up late baking these. It is now 12:30 am................but I wanted to let them cool per your instructions. You can't even tell they are vegan. Yummmy!!!! Had to stop myself. There's always tomorrow. Thank you so much

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the brownies Shryee!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Thanks for this recipe and the clear instructions. I strayed from the recipe in a few ways:
- Used a flax / almond LSA mix instead of the golden flax meal, and baking powder instead of baking soda as this is what I had
- I used half plain flour and half wholemeal
- I used a 100g bar of ordinary dark chocolate as didn't have semi-sweet.
- I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as I always reduce this and the sweetness was great - probably also thanks to the sweetness of the chocolate that I used.

Also, I found I didn't need to use a hand blender to mix the chocolate + cocoa powder + margarine + sugar; it all mixed in really smoothly with the boiling water.

With the above, they've come out with a great flavour and the exterior has a good bite to it, but unfortunately they're pretty dry in the middle, and hard to eat without large gulps of tea. This is probably due to one or more of my variations above! Next time I might add a mashed banana to the chocolate mixture (using a blender this time) as I love the taste and have found it adds great gooey-ness in baking.

As I was making the chocolate mixture, I wasn't too sure if tablespoons of cocoa and margarine should be heaped or not as I don't have proper measuring spoons, but I erred on the side of level. Perhaps more margarine would be good next time. I did use heaped tbsps of the flax mix though, because it wasn't 100% flax (it's partly almond meal and ground sunflower).

Thanks again :) I'll definitely revisit this recipe and make little tweaks till I perfect it.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Cat November 04, 2013

Yummy but dry - I must have made one too many alte


Thanks for this recipe and the clear instructions. I strayed from the recipe in a few ways:
- Used a flax / almond LSA mix instead of the golden flax meal, and baking powder instead of baking soda as this is what I had
- I used half plain flour and half wholemeal
- I used a 100g bar of ordinary dark chocolate as didn't have semi-sweet.
- I only used 3/4 cup of sugar as I always reduce this and the sweetness was great - probably also thanks to the sweetness of the chocolate that I used.

Also, I found I didn't need to use a hand blender to mix the chocolate + cocoa powder + margarine + sugar; it all mixed in really smoothly with the boiling water.

With the above, they've come out with a great flavour and the exterior has a good bite to it, but unfortunately they're pretty dry in the middle, and hard to eat without large gulps of tea. This is probably due to one or more of my variations above! Next time I might add a mashed banana to the chocolate mixture (using a blender this time) as I love the taste and have found it adds great gooey-ness in baking.

As I was making the chocolate mixture, I wasn't too sure if tablespoons of cocoa and margarine should be heaped or not as I don't have proper measuring spoons, but I erred on the side of level. Perhaps more margarine would be good next time. I did use heaped tbsps of the flax mix though, because it wasn't 100% flax (it's partly almond meal and ground sunflower).

Thanks again :) I'll definitely revisit this recipe and make little tweaks till I perfect it.

Owner's reply

Thanks for the feedback Cat! The only alteration that could have made a difference in having them come out excessively dry is reducing the sugar. Nowadays I feel that I favor dessert complexity over sweetness in vegan desserts so I don't try to overdo it with the sugar. sugar is hygroscopic which means it binds to water. Reducing it by half will definitely result in a drier end product as the water-based ingredients in the recipe are less bound to sugar and more apt to evaporate during baking.

Having said that, there have been reports lately of these brownies turning out on the dry side (which is peculiar because I haven't changed the recipe- global warming perhaps?) but I plan to do a few tests in the near future to make sure everything is on par. I'll be sure to update the recipe with my findings to make sure it remains as good as it can possibly be. Thanks for sharing your results!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Hello Mattie!

your recipe and the way you explain every step is perfect. Only the baking time/temperature does not seem to work properly. They came out overbaked with a slighty black (=burnt) base.
I placed the tray on the lowest postition, like you recommend/say in the recipe.

I put the brownies in a air tight container overnight, hoping they migh develop some softness. The next day they were even harder, like very old bread. Fail.

My oven is a basic oven, electricity, constant accurate temperature, no convection, no circulating air or similar.
Could it be that your 350 F aren't "true" 350 F, but more like 330-340F?
My old oven used to be cooler than the number on the knob promised.

I will give it another try, bake only for 25 Min at 330 and see how they turn out.

I still give this recipe three stars, mainly because I don't want to ruin your good overall rating and secondly because I really enjoy your writing. Only the outcome was a disappointment.

Maybe I should mention I did not substitute or replace any of your ingredients. This can't be the reason for the failure either.

warm regards,
Paula
Rating 
 
3.0
Paula Reviewed by Paula November 03, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

Overbaked :-(

Hello Mattie!

your recipe and the way you explain every step is perfect. Only the baking time/temperature does not seem to work properly. They came out overbaked with a slighty black (=burnt) base.
I placed the tray on the lowest postition, like you recommend/say in the recipe.

I put the brownies in a air tight container overnight, hoping they migh develop some softness. The next day they were even harder, like very old bread. Fail.

My oven is a basic oven, electricity, constant accurate temperature, no convection, no circulating air or similar.
Could it be that your 350 F aren't "true" 350 F, but more like 330-340F?
My old oven used to be cooler than the number on the knob promised.

I will give it another try, bake only for 25 Min at 330 and see how they turn out.

I still give this recipe three stars, mainly because I don't want to ruin your good overall rating and secondly because I really enjoy your writing. Only the outcome was a disappointment.

Maybe I should mention I did not substitute or replace any of your ingredients. This can't be the reason for the failure either.

warm regards,
Paula

Owner's reply

Thanks for the feedback Paula! I'm going to make these brownies again due to more reports of them turning out a bit dry. I just moved to another place with a completely different oven and I'll be sure to use a second thermometer in the oven to make sure my baking temperatures are as legit as possible. I'll be sure to update the recipe if I find that temperature needs to be reduced or a tiny bit of water needs to be added to reduce dryness. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these last night and HAD to sample them before taking them to a BBQ later today. Absolutely delicious. I omitted the espresso powder, as I didn't have any and they were still great! Highly recommend. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Rhi Reviewed by Rhi November 02, 2013
Last updated: November 02, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Delish

I made these last night and HAD to sample them before taking them to a BBQ later today. Absolutely delicious. I omitted the espresso powder, as I didn't have any and they were still great! Highly recommend. Thanks!

Owner's reply

So glad you enjoyed the brownies Rhi!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Dear Mattie,

We had high expectations of these brownies given the high recommendations and clear instructions. We used the same ingredients and followed the instructions but to our disappointment ours turned dry and pretty tasteless. Would you have any idea why this might be?
Rating 
 
1.0
Paivi Reviewed by Paivi November 02, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Where did we go wrong.

Dear Mattie,

We had high expectations of these brownies given the high recommendations and clear instructions. We used the same ingredients and followed the instructions but to our disappointment ours turned dry and pretty tasteless. Would you have any idea why this might be?

Owner's reply

Sorry they didn't work out Paivi! Due to the involvement of this recipe, it's possible that I didn't make something clear enough which may have caused you to add too little of one ingredient or two much of another. Or, your oven is running a little on the hot side and it dried them out. These brownies are pretty sensitive to over baking.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you for this great recipe!!
I changed a few things to make it healthier (whole wheat flour, black bean pure instead of margarine and date pure and agave syrup instead of suger) - and they were so delicious.
Also I used chickpeas flour instead of flax seed and macadamia nuts.
I have to say - these are the best brownies I've ever made, better than all vegan and non-vegan ones, really fudgy and rich. Thank you so much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Leni October 25, 2013

Wow!!

Thank you for this great recipe!!
I changed a few things to make it healthier (whole wheat flour, black bean pure instead of margarine and date pure and agave syrup instead of suger) - and they were so delicious.
Also I used chickpeas flour instead of flax seed and macadamia nuts.
I have to say - these are the best brownies I've ever made, better than all vegan and non-vegan ones, really fudgy and rich. Thank you so much!

Owner's reply

Wow Leni! That's quite a customization! So glad the brownies turned out so well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have unsweetened 100% cacao Ghirardelli baking bars. Should I add a little extra sugar or just try it as is?
Reviewed by AlyCat October 24, 2013

Question

I have unsweetened 100% cacao Ghirardelli baking bars. Should I add a little extra sugar or just try it as is?

Owner's reply

Hi AlyCat! In this case I recommend using about half the 100% unsweetened baking chocolate and adding a little bit of sugar, say 1 Tablespoon. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
161 results - showing 31 - 45
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 » 
Ordering