Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (58)
37
73 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
How have I been a sweet tooth vegan for 8 years and only just discovered this site/ these cookies!!?

These are PERFECT.

Previous cookies I have tried have been quite 'cakey' but these are just as described. Soft, chewy and cookie perfection.

Thank you for sharing this recipe x
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kate August 17, 2014

PERFECT

How have I been a sweet tooth vegan for 8 years and only just discovered this site/ these cookies!!?

These are PERFECT.

Previous cookies I have tried have been quite 'cakey' but these are just as described. Soft, chewy and cookie perfection.

Thank you for sharing this recipe x

Was this review helpful to you? 
I make these with Maldon salt flakes on top and they are a real crowd pleaser. (^_^)
Rating 
 
5.0
themjs Reviewed by themjs July 03, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

I make these with Maldon salt flakes on top and they are a real crowd pleaser. (^_^)

Was this review helpful to you? 
I made these yesterday. The texture is perfect, and the subtle hint of cinnamon is sheer brilliance. However, they're way too sweet for my tastes, though surprisingly, my husband (who generally has a lower sugar tolerance than me) loves them. Next time, I'm going to try cutting back the sugar to 1 cup, and hope that this doesn't change the texture too much. Will report back.
Rating 
 
4.0

Too sweet but otherwise fantastic

I made these yesterday. The texture is perfect, and the subtle hint of cinnamon is sheer brilliance. However, they're way too sweet for my tastes, though surprisingly, my husband (who generally has a lower sugar tolerance than me) loves them. Next time, I'm going to try cutting back the sugar to 1 cup, and hope that this doesn't change the texture too much. Will report back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I used 3/4 cup olive oil instead of vegan butter, and tripled the flax and reduced the sugar to 1 cup, and rolled them in shredded coconut and was pleased.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Fawcett June 09, 2014

Substitutions I made

I used 3/4 cup olive oil instead of vegan butter, and tripled the flax and reduced the sugar to 1 cup, and rolled them in shredded coconut and was pleased.

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
in fact, i'm not sure i could tell a difference between these and my non-vegan favorites in a blind taste test. this is the perfect dough to eat with a spoon. thank you for this!
Rating 
 
5.0
katymc Reviewed by katymc June 06, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

The Closest I've Come to My Favorite Non-vegan One

in fact, i'm not sure i could tell a difference between these and my non-vegan favorites in a blind taste test. this is the perfect dough to eat with a spoon. thank you for this!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Made these with Regular Vegan Butter, vegan white chocolate chips, and macadamia nuts. and now i need to join some sort of 12 step program, cuz i can't stop. My house has always been food central for my family. no one was ever afraid to be my guinea pig. until i started cooking cruelty free. it was actually really difficult to regain the confidence of those who usually just enthusiastically gobbled up whatever i made. this recipe is like ammo in the battle against nervous grimaces and upturned noses.
Rating 
 
5.0
verveine Reviewed by verveine May 31, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (3)

someone come take these away from me...

Made these with Regular Vegan Butter, vegan white chocolate chips, and macadamia nuts. and now i need to join some sort of 12 step program, cuz i can't stop. My house has always been food central for my family. no one was ever afraid to be my guinea pig. until i started cooking cruelty free. it was actually really difficult to regain the confidence of those who usually just enthusiastically gobbled up whatever i made. this recipe is like ammo in the battle against nervous grimaces and upturned noses.

Was this review helpful to you? 
hey! that recipe looks really great!
just before i try it, i have flax-goo in my freezer and i have a "no egg" egg replacer.
can i use one of them insted of flax meal?
thank you!
Reviewed by ya May 25, 2014

hey! that recipe looks really great!
just before i try it, i have flax-goo in my freezer and i have a "no egg" egg replacer.
can i use one of them insted of flax meal?
thank you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Awesome recipe! Instead of flax, I used standard oats that I ground with a coffee grinder. Came out better than any other vegan cookie recipe I have tried to date. Thank you very much
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jake W May 07, 2014

Amazing

Awesome recipe! Instead of flax, I used standard oats that I ground with a coffee grinder. Came out better than any other vegan cookie recipe I have tried to date. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful to you? 
Too much flour!?!! Both times I've made them they aren't soft and chewy :(
Rating 
 
1.0
Reviewed by Aisha April 27, 2014

Too much flour!?!! Both times I've made them they aren't soft and chewy :(

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love these! Will definitely be adding to the recipe box! I love the addition of the cinnamon and molasses....makes a tasty, chewy cookie. And thanks fie the previous comment on using coconut butter/oil...I used Earth Balance and a little grape seed oil, and a mix of organic spelt, rice and white flour and they turned out wonderful. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Erin at IOGoods April 04, 2014

a keeper

I love these! Will definitely be adding to the recipe box! I love the addition of the cinnamon and molasses....makes a tasty, chewy cookie. And thanks fie the previous comment on using coconut butter/oil...I used Earth Balance and a little grape seed oil, and a mix of organic spelt, rice and white flour and they turned out wonderful. Thanks!

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
These cookies have an incredible flavour! I love the little bit of cinnamon - they're not "cinnamony" per se, but it does give the flavour added depth without being in-your-face.

I usually bake with coconut oil and coconut palm sugar, so those were the only modifications I made to suit my dietary preferences. The first time, I hadn't read any comments so I just substituted solid coconut oil for the vegan butter, and the dough was super crumbly and dry. I managed to make it work with a bit of water added but it wasn't perfect (but they tasted SO GOOD that I had to try again). This time, I used melted coconut oil, and went by your suggestion (in the comments somewhere) of using 11 tablespoons of oil + 3 tablespoons of water. The dough was a completely different story! It held together beautifully like "normal" cookie dough, and flattened a little in the baking process (though I ended up helping the dough balls a bit by flattening them with a fork).

Thanks so much for this recipe, I know it's going to be a standby in our house!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Allene March 27, 2014

Delicious!

These cookies have an incredible flavour! I love the little bit of cinnamon - they're not "cinnamony" per se, but it does give the flavour added depth without being in-your-face.

I usually bake with coconut oil and coconut palm sugar, so those were the only modifications I made to suit my dietary preferences. The first time, I hadn't read any comments so I just substituted solid coconut oil for the vegan butter, and the dough was super crumbly and dry. I managed to make it work with a bit of water added but it wasn't perfect (but they tasted SO GOOD that I had to try again). This time, I used melted coconut oil, and went by your suggestion (in the comments somewhere) of using 11 tablespoons of oil + 3 tablespoons of water. The dough was a completely different story! It held together beautifully like "normal" cookie dough, and flattened a little in the baking process (though I ended up helping the dough balls a bit by flattening them with a fork).

Thanks so much for this recipe, I know it's going to be a standby in our house!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! This recipe looks absolutely delicious and I'm so excited to try it. I just have one question about the sugar and molasses. I have brown sugar on hand but no molasses, so I was wondering if I could just use the same amount of sugar called for in the recipe, substituting with brown sugar and leaving out the molasses? If I use brown sugar instead should I still add some molasses? Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Felise1999 Reviewed by Felise1999 March 07, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Question about the sugar

Hi! This recipe looks absolutely delicious and I'm so excited to try it. I just have one question about the sugar and molasses. I have brown sugar on hand but no molasses, so I was wondering if I could just use the same amount of sugar called for in the recipe, substituting with brown sugar and leaving out the molasses? If I use brown sugar instead should I still add some molasses? Thank you!

Owner's reply

Great question Felise! I actually have this grand plan to not have any brown sugar in my kitchen, and to use granulated white sugar with molasses so I can dial in exactly the right amount of chewiness and/for flavor complexity I need according to the task-at-hand. You should theoretically be able to do it the other way around: with brown sugar and no molasses, but since I don't know the exact amount of molasses in 1 1/2 cups sugar, it would be difficult to see if it would work exactly the same.

The long answer: Basically, molasses is extremely important in chocolate chip cookies (and some other cookie varieties) because it determines the chewiness of the cookie and lends background flavor notes, not necessarily perceived as "molasses like". Molasses consists of long, sticky sugars that hold onto water, hence the gooeyness, so this would also effect the way your cookies spread during baking too. This is because as molasses holds onto the water, it's less likely to evaporate during baking, thus making your cookies remain in a liquid state longer. The longer your cookies remain in a liquid state during baking, the more they'll spread flat. So molasses is used to "tune" many cookie recipes for optimum flavor, texture and shape.

The short answer: you could probably get away with brown sugar but the cookies wouldn't turn out exactly as designed. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are the best. My husband begs me to make them, he even offers to help!! That should speak for itself!! I have a question though. What adjustments would I need to make to do cookie bars instead?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jenna March 06, 2014

Amazing flavor!!

These cookies are the best. My husband begs me to make them, he even offers to help!! That should speak for itself!! I have a question though. What adjustments would I need to make to do cookie bars instead?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the cookies Jenna! And if the husband offers to help, that's a good sign. I don't even offer to help my wife when she makes these (although I should). Great question about the bars. I don't think the dough would need to be altered, just the baking time. You might want to also bake at 325F for a little longer to make sure they bake evenly. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
As one who is doing a trail of vegetarian/Vegan diet, it intrigues me that the ingredients used focus on vegan but are not using organic flour but flour denoting ingredients such as aluminum phosphate, bad stuff if you have Alzheimer's as a risk in your family. I think it prudent to not only eat the proper diet but ensure the ingredients are equally proper!
Reviewed by Jennifer January 25, 2014

Ingredients

As one who is doing a trail of vegetarian/Vegan diet, it intrigues me that the ingredients used focus on vegan but are not using organic flour but flour denoting ingredients such as aluminum phosphate, bad stuff if you have Alzheimer's as a risk in your family. I think it prudent to not only eat the proper diet but ensure the ingredients are equally proper!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've fooled so many people by making these. People do not know they are vegan because they are so good!! Pair this with some nondairy ice cream or just by themselves, freshly out of the oven...omg droooool. So good!! Such a great find and I'm never searching again for another chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
theyummybunny Reviewed by theyummybunny January 20, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Seriously...the best chocolate chip cookies!

I've fooled so many people by making these. People do not know they are vegan because they are so good!! Pair this with some nondairy ice cream or just by themselves, freshly out of the oven...omg droooool. So good!! Such a great find and I'm never searching again for another chocolate chip cookie recipe!

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies worked out so well for you theyummybunny! Out of all my recipes, these get made the most in my house. Glad they're fooling people in your neck of the woods!

Was this review helpful to you? 
73 results - showing 1 - 15
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering