Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

Reviews written by Birgitta

7 results - showing 1 - 7
 
 
Vegan Icing and Glaze Recipes
Reviewed by Birgitta     March 03, 2012
Rating 
 
5.0

Cutting the Recipe Down in Size

Since I have discovered Mattie's Sticky Cinnamon Rolls with Vanilla Icing, I have been making them almost every weekend!
I prefer to make a fresh single batch of this awesome icing, rather than keeping leftovers in the fridge. So for those of you who might find it difficult to cut this recipe down to a 1/4, (which is all you need), I am posting the measurements for a single batch:

1 cup powdered sugar
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1 Tbsp non-dairy milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
smidgen of salt

Other side notes... I have been using unrefined coconut oil and it works fine. The non-diary milk I have been using is Almond.

Vegan Icing and Glaze Recipes
Reviewed by Birgitta     January 22, 2012
Rating 
 
5.0

Mmm, Mmm, Good!

When I looked at the ingredients, 4 cups of powdered sugar seemed like a lot for my dozen cinnamon rolls, so I cut the recipe in half. I ended up only using half of what I made. The rest is in the refrigerator. I plan to make another batch of Mattie's Sticky Cinnamon Rolls again soon, and I will use up the left over icing at that time.
Thanks for letting us know that the icing can last for two weeks in the fridge.

Vegan Pastry Recipes
Reviewed by Birgitta     January 22, 2012
Rating 
 
5.0

The results made me look like a professional baker

These were unbelievable! I have never made anything like this before. As I transition into vegan foods, I have found myself experimenting with cooking and baking more. My omnivore husband and in-laws all gave me the thumbs up, and said, quote, "this recipe is a keeper, you can make them for us again anytime!"

Here are a few slight tweaks I made to the recipe...
I only had one packet of active dry yeast. A packet = 2 1/4 tsp, so my recipe was 1/4 tsp short.
I cut the salt in the dough to a 1/2 tsp.
I added a 1/4 cup of walnut chips into the filling.
I only sprinkled walnuts on the top; no raisins.
I was confused for a short period of time on step #8, and then finally decided that the instructions to preheat the oven was supposed to be before step #10, after the rolls rose for the second hour.

Thank you Mattie for continuing to provide delicious options to wonderful treats. You make becoming a vegan more palatable :-)

Reviewed by Birgitta     December 28, 2011
Rating 
 
5.0

One of the top favorites with friends and family!

EDITED REVIEW:
I was only able to edit my written review of these cookies, but what I really wanted to do was change my original rating. Since the system wouldn't allow a rating change, I have submitted a whole new review... Having come back from the busy holidays after several friends and family dropped by for a visit, to which I served a variety of vegan delights, I have upgraded my rating for these cookies to a 5. Although I still do not care for them, they were one of the favorites with everyone else, and I only felt it would be fair to update this site. I have come to the conclusion that it is just my own preference, and I have accepted the fact of being clearly outvoted!

Vegan Cookie Recipes
Reviewed by Birgitta     December 18, 2011
Rating 
 
5.0

Comparable to old fashioned Shortbread Cookies

Yeah, success! I am slowly replacing my age-old traditional recipes with vegan versions. These cookies turned out very nicely. I personally felt it was closer to a shortbread cookie, rather than a sugar cookie,
I used two Earth Balance buttery sticks in place of the the one cup margarine. I didn't have any golden flax meal, so I used Almond Meal Flour. Sticking with that theme, I used unsweetened Almond Milk for my 3 Tbsp of non-dairy. All of this blended well with the 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp, and topped them off with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.
I will definitely make these again. I look forward to sharing them, over the holidays, with my omnivore friends and family.

Reviewed by Birgitta     December 18, 2011
Last updated: December 28, 2011
Rating 
 
3.0

Husband says "yes", I say "no"

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I was really looking forward to these, but I have to honestly say that I was disappointed with the final product. It didn't bother me that they had spread flat to 4x the original raw dough size during baking. It was that they tasted too greasy that turned me off. I did not like the feeling of my lips and fingers all greasy while eating them.

However, I still gave this recipe a rating of 3 from my omnivore husband. He saved them from going into the garbage. I would also like to note that he lived in Australia for 6 months, and knew all about their history when I told him what they were.

Vegan Cookie Recipes
Reviewed by Birgitta     December 12, 2011
Rating 
 
5.0

Yum! And oh so easy!!!

I took heed of the message about how sticky this mix can get, so I solved this problem by putting on a pair of thin cooking gloves and it was soooo easy. I was able to put my hands into the bowl of ingredients (while wearing the gloves) and really mix it well together. And oh by the way, do they ever taste great. They are not going to last very long, especially since I made mine bigger than a golf ball. Next time I'm probably going to double the mix!
The only alterations I made to the original recipe was omitting the raisins and increasing the cranberries to 1 cup. The nuts I used were walnuts, (awesome brain food), and I used crunchy peanut butter which gave me added peanuts to the mix. I omitted the salt, and only used 1 tsp of organic vanilla extract.

7 results - showing 1 - 7