Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  

How to Make Vegan Butter - Regular Vegan Butter - Coconut Oil Base Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.9 (124)
52
221 results - showing 166 - 180
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 » 
Ordering 
 
I greatly admire all research and work you have done to create these butters! Thank you for the information. I have a quick question for you. I have an allergy to coconut; is there another oil that I can substitute that will give the right consistency and butter flavor?
Reviewed by Ellie February 05, 2012

I greatly admire all research and work you have done to create these butters! Thank you for the information. I have a quick question for you. I have an allergy to coconut; is there another oil that I can substitute that will give the right consistency and butter flavor?

Owner's reply

Hi Ellie,

The White Chocolate Vegan Butter uses cocoa butter instead of coconut but it's going to add a subtle chocolate flavor to the butter unless you can find a deodorized version. I don't recommend palm kernel oil due to the environmental issues associated with it. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This looks great! How much cream of tartar should be substituted for the vinegar?
Reviewed by Janille Wood February 04, 2012

This looks great! How much cream of tartar should be substituted for the vinegar?

Owner's reply

Hi Janille, I don't recommend substituting cream of tartar for the apple cider vinegar because the vinegar adds complex, fruity notes that are similar to butter. Cream of tartar adds more singular 'tart' notes that don't make the butter as tasty.

But if you're still set on using cream of tartar I'd recommend something in the neighborhood of 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar to 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar.

Was this review helpful to you? 
You have mentioned that coconut oil requires to be melted before adding it to the butter. But in Goa coconut oil is always in the liquid state, Goa's climate being tropical, except for the very brief period of winter (November-January end).

We use home made unrefined coconut oil (from coconut trees in our garden) for cooking too. Can I use home made oil? Is it ok to use it directly as melting it is not possible, unless I freeze/refrigerate it and then melt it?
gemini16381 Reviewed by gemini16381 January 13, 2012
Last updated: January 13, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (4)

You have mentioned that coconut oil requires to be melted before adding it to the butter. But in Goa coconut oil is always in the liquid state, Goa's climate being tropical, except for the very brief period of winter (November-January end).

We use home made unrefined coconut oil (from coconut trees in our garden) for cooking too. Can I use home made oil? Is it ok to use it directly as melting it is not possible, unless I freeze/refrigerate it and then melt it?

Owner's reply

HI Gemini,

That's so cool that you can just grab coconuts from your back yard! As long as you can extract 100% coconut oil from the coconuts you can use it in your vegan butter. Just be advised that since it's unrefined it will make your Vegan Butter taste more like coconut than butter.

It doesn't matter if it's pre-melted or not; once the recipe is prepped it'll need to be solidified in the refrigerator. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Oh My God! Your recipes are amazing. I have been wondering about vegan butter for a long time and as you said they practically don't exist. Margarine and other substitutes just do not taste the same and do not do the job well. I am dying to try out these recipes for vegan butter starting with the basic one. I'll get back with a report.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Dee December 31, 2011

How to make vegan butter

Oh My God! Your recipes are amazing. I have been wondering about vegan butter for a long time and as you said they practically don't exist. Margarine and other substitutes just do not taste the same and do not do the job well. I am dying to try out these recipes for vegan butter starting with the basic one. I'll get back with a report.

Owner's reply

Thanks Dee! A couple days ago my girlfriend made chocolate chip cookies with the White Chocolate Vegan Butter and they were insane- It was really cool to get white chocolate background notes in the cookie. Good luck with your experiments!

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
Can you replace lemon juice for Apple cider vinegar? It curdles the milk better.
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Suneah December 30, 2011

question

Can you replace lemon juice for Apple cider vinegar? It curdles the milk better.

Owner's reply

Hi Suneah, the apple cider is used in Vegan Butter for optimal flavor development. You can use lemon juice if you prefer but it won't taste as buttery. However, I have plans to use lemon juice in a future version of Vegan Butter that puts lemon and cream at the forefront.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I was disheartened to see canola oil listed as an ingredient in this recipe.

A variety developed in 1998 is considered to be the most disease- and drought-resistant Canola variety of rapeseed to date. This and other recent varieties have been produced by using genetic engineering. Currently, 82% of the rapeseed crops planted in Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan are GM (genetically modified) herbicide-tolerant canola varieties.

From the Wikipedia.

Canola oil is not good for humans at all.
Reviewed by Cindy December 24, 2011

Canola Oil?

I was disheartened to see canola oil listed as an ingredient in this recipe.

A variety developed in 1998 is considered to be the most disease- and drought-resistant Canola variety of rapeseed to date. This and other recent varieties have been produced by using genetic engineering. Currently, 82% of the rapeseed crops planted in Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan are GM (genetically modified) herbicide-tolerant canola varieties.

From the Wikipedia.

Canola oil is not good for humans at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am SEW making this immediately! Finally vegan butter! Can't wait to try it! Thanks SEW much!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Sewround December 09, 2011

Vegan Butter

I am SEW making this immediately! Finally vegan butter! Can't wait to try it! Thanks SEW much!

Was this review helpful to you? 
are the 'lauric' fats such as coconut oil turning to hydrogenated fats becuase you are melting them and then freezing them? i am on the swank diet for multiple sclerosis and can not have coconut, palm or cocoa butter is there another way to make this butter? sounds so yummy!
Reviewed by Caroline December 07, 2011

are the 'lauric' fats such as coconut oil turning

are the 'lauric' fats such as coconut oil turning to hydrogenated fats becuase you are melting them and then freezing them? i am on the swank diet for multiple sclerosis and can not have coconut, palm or cocoa butter is there another way to make this butter? sounds so yummy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
You write "Real butter consists of about 18% fat, 78% water and 4% milk solids." In Ireland butter has 80% minimum fat, the rest being water and milk solids I imagine. (and usually max 2% salt)

Is butter in the US that different? or are fat and water content switched above?
Reviewed by Irmhild December 05, 2011

You write "Real butter consists of about 18% fat, 78% water and 4% milk solids." In Ireland butter has 80% minimum fat, the rest being water and milk solids I imagine. (and usually max 2% salt)

Is butter in the US that different? or are fat and water content switched above?

Owner's reply

Good eye Irmhild! That was a typo and I just switched it to reflect that Butter is roughly 80% fat and 20% water and often higher in European countries. Thanks for bringing this to my attention!

Was this review helpful to you? 
My father is allergic to coconut. Are there any substitutes for coconut oil that can be used in the Regular Vegan Butter recipe?
Reviewed by Nolachan December 05, 2011

Substitute for coconut oil

My father is allergic to coconut. Are there any substitutes for coconut oil that can be used in the Regular Vegan Butter recipe?

Was this review helpful to you? 
{loadposition review-ad}
This post is amazing, thank you so much! Packed with information and recipes, that's great! In Brazil where I'm from and here in the Oceania where I'm travelling we don't have any alternative for vegan butter apart from margarine. I'm sharing this post so many more sad vegan bakers can enjoy this!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Anderson Santos November 28, 2011

Amazing info

This post is amazing, thank you so much! Packed with information and recipes, that's great! In Brazil where I'm from and here in the Oceania where I'm travelling we don't have any alternative for vegan butter apart from margarine. I'm sharing this post so many more sad vegan bakers can enjoy this!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Mattie, these recipes are brilliant! Quick question: will guar gum work in place of xanthan gum?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Theo November 25, 2011

Guar gum

Mattie, these recipes are brilliant! Quick question: will guar gum work in place of xanthan gum?

Owner's reply

Thanks Theo! Guar gum should work unless you're planning on whipping the vegan butter like you would before adding it to some cake recipes. Guar gum doesn't facilitate the trapping of air bubbles as well as xanthan gum. Guar gum's emulsification properties should work just about as well as xanthan gum's though so if you're not whipping it you should be good to go. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
this recipe looks great! but i wonder, how do you think this would taste in mashed potatoes? would it still give it that same buttery taste that earth balance gives it?
Reviewed by nikki November 23, 2011

this recipe looks great! but i wonder, how do you think this would taste in mashed potatoes? would it still give it that same buttery taste that earth balance gives it?

Owner's reply

Hi nikki, Earth Balance uses a flavoring that likely contains the chemical diacetyl, which is actually what real butter flavor is made of. The vegan butter listed here doesn't use chemically derived diacetyl so it has a more subtle flavor. If you're pressed for time you may want to go the Earth Balance route. If you have a little extra time and want something truly homemade, I think the Regular or Three-herbed vegan butter would be fantastic in mashed potatoes. Let us know how it works if you end up going for it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is an excellent article. It is well thought out and presented in an excellent format. I also appreciate your concern about palm and habitat destruction.

I have food allergies and cannot have palm or coconut products, corn, and dairy (among other things). That means I no longer have any butter alternatives other than hydrogenated soybean shortening. Do you have any other suggestions for fats that will work to create a vegan butter? Other than the one using cocoa butter, that is. I am looking forward to making a batch to use for baking desserts, but there are some uses that really shouldn't have a chocolate flavor.

Thank you for any suggestions that you might be able to offer.
Rating 
 
5.0
Ktquilt Reviewed by Ktquilt November 21, 2011
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Anything without Coconut?

This is an excellent article. It is well thought out and presented in an excellent format. I also appreciate your concern about palm and habitat destruction.

I have food allergies and cannot have palm or coconut products, corn, and dairy (among other things). That means I no longer have any butter alternatives other than hydrogenated soybean shortening. Do you have any other suggestions for fats that will work to create a vegan butter? Other than the one using cocoa butter, that is. I am looking forward to making a batch to use for baking desserts, but there are some uses that really shouldn't have a chocolate flavor.

Thank you for any suggestions that you might be able to offer.

Owner's reply

Hi Ktquilt, The lauric fats, that is, saturated plant-based fats from tropical regions, consist of cocoa butter, coconut, palm kernel and palm oils. These oils are necessary in vegan butter so it stays solid at room temperature. As of now I don't have any other solutions to creating vegan butter without lauric fats but if I ever do, rest assured that I'll post it. Good luck and let me know if you find an alternative!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I hope you get a patent for your recipes! With all the scientific information, you sound like Alton Brown. Are you related? ;-) Thanks so much!
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Kelly November 18, 2011

Great Vegan Butter

I hope you get a patent for your recipes! With all the scientific information, you sound like Alton Brown. Are you related? ;-) Thanks so much!

Owner's reply

Thanks for the compliment Kelly! No relation but I would trounce Alton in an arm wrestling competition (due to my constant whisking of vegan butter) but that's all I've got. These recipes are not patented and free to flourish in the open world. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
221 results - showing 166 - 180
« 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 » 
Ordering