Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
Veganbaking.net - The Hows and Whys of Vegan Baking
  
Vegan Baking Recipes Vegan Cookie Recipes Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies Mattie

Written by Mattie    
 
4.7 (50)
34
Write Review
Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

These Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies are no nonsense soft, chewy chocolate chip cookies like your vegan grandma used to make. Over the years I've learned a lot about the art of cookie making and these are simple to make but still pack lots of flavor into a chewy, chocolatey chippity package. The secret to this cookie recipe is having just the right ratio of fat, water and golden flax meal. The molasses also adds chewiness and the cinnamon adds a touch of flavor complexity. Finally, the way the cookies are formed results in just the right shape. These cookies are also great for ice cream sandwiches.

Find more Easy recipes on Veganbaking.net

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

2 Tablespoons golden flax meal
3 Tablespoons water

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
¾ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ teaspoon salt

¾ cups + 2 Tablespoons (188 grams) or 1 ¾ sticks Regular Vegan Butter or margarine, room temperature
1 ½ cups sugar

2 teaspoons molasses
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1) Prepare your flax gel mixture

Preheat your oven to 350F (177C). In a small bowl whisk together the flax meal and the water. Allow it to sit for 10 minutes so the mixture thickens. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.

2) Whisk together the dry ingredients

In a medium mixing bowl whisk together the all-purpose flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt until well incorporated. Set aside.

3) Cream the Vegan Butter and other ingredients

In another medium mixing bowl cream the Vegan Butter and sugar until well mixed. Beat in the flax meal mixture from step 1 followed by the molasses and vanilla extract.

4) Mix the vegan cookie dough

Add the flour mixture from Step 2 and mix until just incorporated. The dough will be thicker than traditional non-vegan cookie dough so don't be afraid to use your hands to mix it together if you need to. Stir in the chocolate chips.

5) Transfer the cookie dough to the sheets and bake to perfection

Form the dough into 1 ½ inch balls. Place them on the cookie sheet so they're spaced about 2 to 3 inches apart. Bake for 15 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through the baking duration. These cookies will not turn golden as they bake so it's important to pay attention to the baking time. Cookies will store in an air tight container at room temperature for about one week or in a freezer bag in the freezer for up to six months. This recipe makes about 22 to 24 Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Space the cookies 2 to 3 inches apart


Get a price on the Baking Sheet I Recommend at Amazon.




Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported



 

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 50 user(s)

Rating 
 
4.7  (50)
Already have an account?
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Rating
Other Info
Comments
Please enter the security code.
I love these! Will definitely be adding to the recipe box! I love the addition of the cinnamon and molasses....makes a tasty, chewy cookie. And thanks fie the previous comment on using coconut butter/oil...I used Earth Balance and a little grape seed oil, and a mix of organic spelt, rice and white flour and they turned out wonderful. Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Erin at IOGoods April 04, 2014

a keeper

I love these! Will definitely be adding to the recipe box! I love the addition of the cinnamon and molasses....makes a tasty, chewy cookie. And thanks fie the previous comment on using coconut butter/oil...I used Earth Balance and a little grape seed oil, and a mix of organic spelt, rice and white flour and they turned out wonderful. Thanks!

Other Info

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies have an incredible flavour! I love the little bit of cinnamon - they're not "cinnamony" per se, but it does give the flavour added depth without being in-your-face.

I usually bake with coconut oil and coconut palm sugar, so those were the only modifications I made to suit my dietary preferences. The first time, I hadn't read any comments so I just substituted solid coconut oil for the vegan butter, and the dough was super crumbly and dry. I managed to make it work with a bit of water added but it wasn't perfect (but they tasted SO GOOD that I had to try again). This time, I used melted coconut oil, and went by your suggestion (in the comments somewhere) of using 11 tablespoons of oil + 3 tablespoons of water. The dough was a completely different story! It held together beautifully like "normal" cookie dough, and flattened a little in the baking process (though I ended up helping the dough balls a bit by flattening them with a fork).

Thanks so much for this recipe, I know it's going to be a standby in our house!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Allene March 27, 2014

Delicious!

These cookies have an incredible flavour! I love the little bit of cinnamon - they're not "cinnamony" per se, but it does give the flavour added depth without being in-your-face.

I usually bake with coconut oil and coconut palm sugar, so those were the only modifications I made to suit my dietary preferences. The first time, I hadn't read any comments so I just substituted solid coconut oil for the vegan butter, and the dough was super crumbly and dry. I managed to make it work with a bit of water added but it wasn't perfect (but they tasted SO GOOD that I had to try again). This time, I used melted coconut oil, and went by your suggestion (in the comments somewhere) of using 11 tablespoons of oil + 3 tablespoons of water. The dough was a completely different story! It held together beautifully like "normal" cookie dough, and flattened a little in the baking process (though I ended up helping the dough balls a bit by flattening them with a fork).

Thanks so much for this recipe, I know it's going to be a standby in our house!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Hi! This recipe looks absolutely delicious and I'm so excited to try it. I just have one question about the sugar and molasses. I have brown sugar on hand but no molasses, so I was wondering if I could just use the same amount of sugar called for in the recipe, substituting with brown sugar and leaving out the molasses? If I use brown sugar instead should I still add some molasses? Thank you!
Rating 
 
5.0
Felise1999 Reviewed by Felise1999 March 07, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Question about the sugar

Hi! This recipe looks absolutely delicious and I'm so excited to try it. I just have one question about the sugar and molasses. I have brown sugar on hand but no molasses, so I was wondering if I could just use the same amount of sugar called for in the recipe, substituting with brown sugar and leaving out the molasses? If I use brown sugar instead should I still add some molasses? Thank you!

Owner's reply

Great question Felise! I actually have this grand plan to not have any brown sugar in my kitchen, and to use granulated white sugar with molasses so I can dial in exactly the right amount of chewiness and/for flavor complexity I need according to the task-at-hand. You should theoretically be able to do it the other way around: with brown sugar and no molasses, but since I don't know the exact amount of molasses in 1 1/2 cups sugar, it would be difficult to see if it would work exactly the same.

The long answer: Basically, molasses is extremely important in chocolate chip cookies (and some other cookie varieties) because it determines the chewiness of the cookie and lends background flavor notes, not necessarily perceived as "molasses like". Molasses consists of long, sticky sugars that hold onto water, hence the gooeyness, so this would also effect the way your cookies spread during baking too. This is because as molasses holds onto the water, it's less likely to evaporate during baking, thus making your cookies remain in a liquid state longer. The longer your cookies remain in a liquid state during baking, the more they'll spread flat. So molasses is used to "tune" many cookie recipes for optimum flavor, texture and shape.

The short answer: you could probably get away with brown sugar but the cookies wouldn't turn out exactly as designed. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are the best. My husband begs me to make them, he even offers to help!! That should speak for itself!! I have a question though. What adjustments would I need to make to do cookie bars instead?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Jenna March 06, 2014

Amazing flavor!!

These cookies are the best. My husband begs me to make them, he even offers to help!! That should speak for itself!! I have a question though. What adjustments would I need to make to do cookie bars instead?

Owner's reply

So glad you like the cookies Jenna! And if the husband offers to help, that's a good sign. I don't even offer to help my wife when she makes these (although I should). Great question about the bars. I don't think the dough would need to be altered, just the baking time. You might want to also bake at 325F for a little longer to make sure they bake evenly. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
As one who is doing a trail of vegetarian/Vegan diet, it intrigues me that the ingredients used focus on vegan but are not using organic flour but flour denoting ingredients such as aluminum phosphate, bad stuff if you have Alzheimer's as a risk in your family. I think it prudent to not only eat the proper diet but ensure the ingredients are equally proper!
Reviewed by Jennifer January 25, 2014

Ingredients

As one who is doing a trail of vegetarian/Vegan diet, it intrigues me that the ingredients used focus on vegan but are not using organic flour but flour denoting ingredients such as aluminum phosphate, bad stuff if you have Alzheimer's as a risk in your family. I think it prudent to not only eat the proper diet but ensure the ingredients are equally proper!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've fooled so many people by making these. People do not know they are vegan because they are so good!! Pair this with some nondairy ice cream or just by themselves, freshly out of the oven...omg droooool. So good!! Such a great find and I'm never searching again for another chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Rating 
 
5.0
theyummybunny Reviewed by theyummybunny January 20, 2014
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Seriously...the best chocolate chip cookies!

I've fooled so many people by making these. People do not know they are vegan because they are so good!! Pair this with some nondairy ice cream or just by themselves, freshly out of the oven...omg droooool. So good!! Such a great find and I'm never searching again for another chocolate chip cookie recipe!

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies worked out so well for you theyummybunny! Out of all my recipes, these get made the most in my house. Glad they're fooling people in your neck of the woods!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love the sound of this recipe but was wondering if it would turn out the same when using whole wheat pastry flour? I sometimes do a recipe with 1/3 soy flour and 2/3 pastry flour. should I try this or do you think pastry flour alone would be ok?
Reviewed by newly vegan January 07, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Chewy Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love the sound of this recipe but was wondering if it would turn out the same when using whole wheat pastry flour? I sometimes do a recipe with 1/3 soy flour and 2/3 pastry flour. should I try this or do you think pastry flour alone would be ok?

Owner's reply

Great question newly vegan! It's difficult to say if these cookies would work perfectly with pastry flour on the first try. I recommend just going for it, seeing how they come out and making adjustments as necessary in future batches. It'll probably be close enough to the point of where you'll still be able to enjoy the outcome. Same goes for the soy flour. I would think that the soy flour would be a little less absorbent of the water and fats than wheat flour so it might require a little less liquid. This is one of those cases where you're just going to need to give it a shot. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thank you for posting this recipe. My child is allergic to both eggs and dairy, so finding a decent yet simple chocolate chip cookie recipe has been a challenge. We have tried many recipes and this one is by far a favourite with the entire family.

Also, The first time I made this I didn't have molasses on hand, so I used 3/4 caster sugar and 3/4 dark brown sugar, and the cookies turned out lovely and chewy.
Rating 
 
5.0
brittmarie Reviewed by brittmarie December 21, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Best kid/allergy friendly recipe

Thank you for posting this recipe. My child is allergic to both eggs and dairy, so finding a decent yet simple chocolate chip cookie recipe has been a challenge. We have tried many recipes and this one is by far a favourite with the entire family.

Also, The first time I made this I didn't have molasses on hand, so I used 3/4 caster sugar and 3/4 dark brown sugar, and the cookies turned out lovely and chewy.

Owner's reply

Thanks brittmarie! Brown sugar is just white sugar with molasses added so it probably gave you about 3/4 teaspoon molasses in the recipe. So glad the cookies worked out so well for you!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are the best vegan cookies i've ever made. Thank you! I've always been disappointed with the lack of chewiness in the other recipes i've tried. These were delicious, and so, so satisfyingly chewy --you'd never know i'd nearly blown it completely, having A) misjudged the amount of baking soda and been forced to scoop out an indeterminate amount of excess from a mound of flour, and B) realized at the last minute that i was out of the most important ingredient contributing to chewiness: molasses! I replaced it with a 1/4 c of shredded coconut and crossed my fingers. The result was hands-down delicious and, thankfully, idiot-proof.
Rating 
 
5.0
SheraPoP Reviewed by SheraPoP December 07, 2013
Last updated: December 07, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Scrumptious!

These are the best vegan cookies i've ever made. Thank you! I've always been disappointed with the lack of chewiness in the other recipes i've tried. These were delicious, and so, so satisfyingly chewy --you'd never know i'd nearly blown it completely, having A) misjudged the amount of baking soda and been forced to scoop out an indeterminate amount of excess from a mound of flour, and B) realized at the last minute that i was out of the most important ingredient contributing to chewiness: molasses! I replaced it with a 1/4 c of shredded coconut and crossed my fingers. The result was hands-down delicious and, thankfully, idiot-proof.

Owner's reply

That's great that the cookies still turned out chewy for you even though you ran out of molasses SheraPop! Shredded coconut sounds like a great addition. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Thanks Mattie! These cookies were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions except I baked them only about 13 minutes since I think my oven runs hot. They came out perfect. Since this recipe makes more than I could (or should!) eat, I froze them for over a week, defrosted them, and they still have a great chewy texture, almost like I had just bought them from a store or bakery. I am a new vegan and this was my first attempt at vegan baking and am so glad I found this site. I will be making the flaky vegan pie crust next, and can't wait to see how it comes out. Thank you again!!!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by veganlasvegas November 16, 2013

Amazing!!!

Thanks Mattie! These cookies were absolutely amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as written with no substitutions except I baked them only about 13 minutes since I think my oven runs hot. They came out perfect. Since this recipe makes more than I could (or should!) eat, I froze them for over a week, defrosted them, and they still have a great chewy texture, almost like I had just bought them from a store or bakery. I am a new vegan and this was my first attempt at vegan baking and am so glad I found this site. I will be making the flaky vegan pie crust next, and can't wait to see how it comes out. Thank you again!!!

Owner's reply

So glad the cookies worked out veganlasvegas! I frequently freeze cookies too to keep me from eating them all as soon as they come out of the oven;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
These cookies are delicious! I baked them on Halloween to give to my friends' vegan daughter instead of candy, and she loved them! I do have a question, though. I've made them twice and they're very hard, very crunchy! Once you get past the crunch they're sort of chewy, but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left cinnamon out, and replaced the molasses with maple syrup (same amount). Would any of that affect the chewiness? Thanks!
Chelly Reviewed by Chelly November 10, 2013
Last updated: November 10, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

These cookies are delicious! I baked them on Halloween to give to my friends' vegan daughter instead of candy, and she loved them! I do have a question, though. I've made them twice and they're very hard, very crunchy! Once you get past the crunch they're sort of chewy, but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left cinnamon out, and replaced the molasses with maple syrup (same amount). Would any of that affect the chewiness? Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Chelly! Leaving the molasses out will definitely increase chewiness and dryness. The whole reason I use it in this recipe is for a more most, chewy interior and a tiny bit of flavor development in the background. I've found that lots of people leave it out when baking these cookies because they "don't like molasses" but it's not here for molasses flavor. Thick sweeteners like brown rice syrup, sorghum syrup and molasses have longer chains of sugar molecules that bind more aggressively to water which results in a more most and chewy dessert.

This is the same reason why some bakers call for brown sugar in their recipes. Brown sugar is just sugar with a little bit of molasses added.

So glad they worked out and thanks so much for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
These are so easy and yummy! I made them for a second time today and and covered a few Oreos in the dough and they came out so good.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Elizabeth November 03, 2013

These are so easy and yummy! I made them for a second time today and and covered a few Oreos in the dough and they came out so good.

Owner's reply

Pardon me Elizabeth but did you say you covered a few Oreos in the dough before baking?! That's genius! I can't wait to try that. Thanks for sharing and I'm so glad you like the cookies!

Was this review helpful to you? 
So far this is the best chocolate chip cookie we have made and its Vegan. I had a very happy family:) The only issue I have is they went to fast:) Using the kitchen aid mixer was a huge asset with the dough being thick:)
JFiquette Reviewed by JFiquette October 13, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)

Excellent cookie!!!!

So far this is the best chocolate chip cookie we have made and its Vegan. I had a very happy family:) The only issue I have is they went to fast:) Using the kitchen aid mixer was a huge asset with the dough being thick:)

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies turned out so well for you JFiquette! Good to know they worked so well with the mixer!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Best vegan Choc chip ever! Posted my pic! Hope it helps others see how it comes out!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Katy September 26, 2013

Best vegan Choc chip ever! Posted my pic! Hope it helps others see how it comes out!

Owner's reply

So glad you liked the cookies Katy! Thanks for the awesome pic!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Everyone that tried these loved them! They stayed fresh for three days until we finished them all. :) No one could believe they were vegan! I used half all purpose and half wheat flour, and added walnuts. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Rating 
 
5.0
AmyS Reviewed by AmyS September 08, 2013
Last updated: September 08, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Fantastic!!!!!

Everyone that tried these loved them! They stayed fresh for three days until we finished them all. :) No one could believe they were vegan! I used half all purpose and half wheat flour, and added walnuts. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

Owner's reply

So glad these cookies worked out so well for you Amys! Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
OMG!! I stumbled onto your recipe because I have been in search for a really good chocolate chip cookie...this is it!!! Well, I have to admit, I did some variations because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but this cookie is boss! I used spelt flour, coconut oil, and maple syrup. These came out so good :-) We're scraping off the last remnants stuck to the parchment paper now. I never write reviews, but I had to for this recipe...absolutely terrific...great job Mattie.
Rating 
 
5.0
cerabear Reviewed by cerabear August 06, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

The BEST cookie!!

OMG!! I stumbled onto your recipe because I have been in search for a really good chocolate chip cookie...this is it!!! Well, I have to admit, I did some variations because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but this cookie is boss! I used spelt flour, coconut oil, and maple syrup. These came out so good :-) We're scraping off the last remnants stuck to the parchment paper now. I never write reviews, but I had to for this recipe...absolutely terrific...great job Mattie.

Owner's reply

Thanks so much cerabear! So glad these chocolate chip cookies worked out for you and it's great to know you had such great luck with spelt flour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I folllowed this recipe exactly but my results were so much different from everyone else! The dough was so hard to combine near the end, it was SO thick. I ended up adding a little bit of water to help mix everything and that was a HUGE mistake- the dough turned into a paste that was impossible to mold into a ball or even get off my hand. Maybe I used too much butter?? I baked them anyway but I'm nervous to taste them...
Rating 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Ari July 24, 2013

I did something wrong...

I folllowed this recipe exactly but my results were so much different from everyone else! The dough was so hard to combine near the end, it was SO thick. I ended up adding a little bit of water to help mix everything and that was a HUGE mistake- the dough turned into a paste that was impossible to mold into a ball or even get off my hand. Maybe I used too much butter?? I baked them anyway but I'm nervous to taste them...

Owner's reply

Hi Ari! I'm so sorry you had issues with the cookies. I just added information to Step 4 to mention that the dough is going to be a little thicker than traditional non-vegan dough due to the absence of eggs. Thanks for bringing this to my attention and allowing me to improve this recipe!

Was this review helpful to you? 
So, I'm currently obsessed with Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip cookies. I'm not vegan and I'm no longer a vegetarian but I'm still into making either vegan or vegetarian at least 2 times a week. when I made them, I ended up using Truvia baking sugar, and I think that might have screwed me up, I didn't realize I had raw organic sugar in the cabinet till after I added the sugar. My cookies didn't flatten, so when I put the second batch in the oven, I flattened them myself. They were good, and I want to try to make them again with the correct sugar. I wonder if my blackstrap molasses gave it a weird flavor, because I feel like it is lingering in my mouth. So this recipe deserves 5 starts because it's perfect, I'm to one that probably messed it up. Haha I can't wait to make them again.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Michelle July 07, 2013

Really Good

So, I'm currently obsessed with Whole Foods vegan chocolate chip cookies. I'm not vegan and I'm no longer a vegetarian but I'm still into making either vegan or vegetarian at least 2 times a week. when I made them, I ended up using Truvia baking sugar, and I think that might have screwed me up, I didn't realize I had raw organic sugar in the cabinet till after I added the sugar. My cookies didn't flatten, so when I put the second batch in the oven, I flattened them myself. They were good, and I want to try to make them again with the correct sugar. I wonder if my blackstrap molasses gave it a weird flavor, because I feel like it is lingering in my mouth. So this recipe deserves 5 starts because it's perfect, I'm to one that probably messed it up. Haha I can't wait to make them again.

Owner's reply

Hi Michelle! Sugar type is actually a super important factor in the way cookies flatten. It sounds crazy but it's because cookie dough is extremely rich in sugar compared to other doughs. This sugar liquifies during baking and contributes to the water soluble water content of the cookie. The sugary dough is then hygroscopic which means that it really likes to hold onto water and not allow very much of it to be baked off. As you probably know, more water means more flattening, less water means less flattening.

Molasses also plays a role due to it containing polysaccharides (long chain sugars) that hold onto water more, preventing it from being baked off. Molasses also is acidic which can increase leavening, which also tends to decrease flattening in a cookie. So cookies are a balancing act in regards to flattening. I haven't worked with Truvia but I'd guess that it's probably different in the way it works with water compared to granulated sugar enough to cause of your lack of flattening. I use the molasses so you don't have to go out and buy brown sugar. Molasses or brown sugar increases chewiness and adds a flavor complexity that I don't find off base but who knows. Every one is different and it could have caused your flavor woes.

I just had the vegan Whole Foods cookies this weekend and they're awesome! So chewy! Thanks for the feedback!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Delicious!! I did it with half wholemeal/half all-purpose flour and it worked fine!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Isadora May 01, 2013

Delicious!! I did it with half wholemeal/half all-purpose flour and it worked fine!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.
Rating 
 
5.0
elphabaalfafa Reviewed by elphabaalfafa April 19, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

I just baked these for my brother and I because we are watching the finale of our favorite TV show tonight. I tried a cookie and it was PERFECT. It's somewhere between soft and chewy and, in general, has a really nice texture. Absolutely delightful. My brother can't stand molasses, so I used syrup instead.

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these elphabaalfalfa! The molasses is just there because I prefer to use it instead of brown sugar, which is just white sugar coated in molasses. It's there to increase chewiness and shouldn't be able to be detected on the palette. Looks like they still turned out great with the syrup wich is good to know. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!
Rating 
 
5.0
vegagenesis Reviewed by vegagenesis April 11, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

High Altitude

I am so excited to have found your website! I am a new vegan and have never been happier the Internet exists. :) Do you have any tips for high altitude for vegan baking? We usually have to add a little extra flour or water. I am very much looking forward to perusing your site for more deliciousness! Thanks in advance!

Owner's reply

Thanks vegagenesis! It's my impression that most cookies are not going to require major modifications, if any, to work at high altitudes. You might want to just give it a go and see how they turn out. Regarding general vegan baking high altitude tips, here's some tips I answered for someone recently on the Ask a Vegan Baker forum:
http://www.veganbaking.net/ask-a-vegan-baker/high-altitude-baking-tips#reply-22
Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Lindsay March 29, 2013

Cookie perfection!

Wow! I made these last night and they turned out amazingly!! I followed the recipe to a T and I'm so pleased! the 1 thing I would say is that the dough is a little bit crumbly when you first make it... but once you form it into balls it comes together perfectly. and yes, have faith, because they will flatten as they cook!
Thanks for this great recipe. :-)

Owner's reply

So glad these worked out for you Lindsay! It is a little odd that the dough comes together on the crumbly side but since there's no eggs to pull it all together during baking, it as to start out that way. Thanks for sharing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I just came across this recipe and I can't wait to try it! Is it possible to use oil in place of the margarine, though? I don't have vegan margarine where I live. Also is there a special reason why only 3 tbsp water is used with the 2 tbsp of flax? I thought the usual ratio was 1tbsp flax + 3tbsp water. (I'm only asking to determine if my previous cookie flops were due to the flax+water ratio I used) Thanks!
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bulut March 18, 2013

I just came across this recipe and I can't wait to try it! Is it possible to use oil in place of the margarine, though? I don't have vegan margarine where I live. Also is there a special reason why only 3 tbsp water is used with the 2 tbsp of flax? I thought the usual ratio was 1tbsp flax + 3tbsp water. (I'm only asking to determine if my previous cookie flops were due to the flax+water ratio I used) Thanks!

Owner's reply

Hi Bulut! You should be able to use oil in place of margarine but keep in mind that margarine and butter has a roughly 80/20 fat to water ratio. This means that since there is about 14 Tablespoons of Vegan Butter in this recipe, you should aim to compensate with about 11 Tablespoons vegetable oil and 3 extra Tablespoons water or non-dairy milk. Also, you should add about 1/8 teaspoon salt to make up for the lack of margarine/Vegan Butter. Normally the usual ratio to replace one egg is 1 Tablespoon flax meal to 3 Tablespoons water. However, I needed more binding power in this recipe without the extra liquid so I specifically designed it to use 2 Tablespoons of flax meal with 3 Tablespoons water. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I'm not able to use all purpose as I have wheat/gluten allergies; I cannot use the vegan margarine you've suggested as I have soy/canola,dairy allergies. I was wondering what type of flour would be comparible other than grain flours? Would coconut oil be okay to use? I would really like to try this recipe but I want to know what substitutes I can use before trying it.

Thanks,

Kelly
Reviewed by Kelly March 04, 2013

I'm not able to use all purpose as I have wheat/gluten allergies; I cannot use the vegan margarine you've suggested as I have soy/canola,dairy allergies. I was wondering what type of flour would be comparible other than grain flours? Would coconut oil be okay to use? I would really like to try this recipe but I want to know what substitutes I can use before trying it.

Thanks,

Kelly

Owner's reply

Hi Kelly! I've been working on a gluten-free flour to use for cup for cup substitutions but it's not ready yet. I recommend just finding a chocolate chip cookie recipe that's just designed from the ground-up to be gluten-free. I'm almost certain you'll have to wrestle with this recipe awhile to get it to work. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I brought two plates of these to a dessert party last night. I was the only vegan in the group, and didn't mention ahead of time that the cookies were vegan. The first plate was gone like THAT! When I mentioned the cookies were vegan no one could believe it! The party hosts asked if they could keep (what little remained of) the second plate. Thanks for making recipes like these that help spread the word about how great vegan cuisine and baking can be!
skinnyvegan Reviewed by skinnyvegan February 26, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

Non-vegans agree these are excellent!!

I brought two plates of these to a dessert party last night. I was the only vegan in the group, and didn't mention ahead of time that the cookies were vegan. The first plate was gone like THAT! When I mentioned the cookies were vegan no one could believe it! The party hosts asked if they could keep (what little remained of) the second plate. Thanks for making recipes like these that help spread the word about how great vegan cuisine and baking can be!

Owner's reply

That's the ultimate compliment skinnyvegan! Thanks! I love it when a vegan dish is enjoyed by people of all diets just for being a good dish. That's the main reason why I do this stuff;)

Was this review helpful to you? 
There is nothing wrong with these! Perfect chocolate chip cookie. Cannot tell its vegan! Delicious.
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Bridgette February 18, 2013

Perfect!

There is nothing wrong with these! Perfect chocolate chip cookie. Cannot tell its vegan! Delicious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
My cookies never flatted either half way through. I used Earth Balance shortening and turbinado sugar, as that's all I had and I had to press them down half way through baking to work. They just stayed in balls. I even baked them at 360 F just in case... Sad.
Rating 
 
2.0
Reviewed by Veronica February 16, 2013

Didn't flatten

My cookies never flatted either half way through. I used Earth Balance shortening and turbinado sugar, as that's all I had and I had to press them down half way through baking to work. They just stayed in balls. I even baked them at 360 F just in case... Sad.

Owner's reply

Hi Veronica,

The cookies probably didn't flatten because you used shortening instead of vegan butter. Shortening is 100% fat while vegan butter is around 60% fat, 40% water. Hopefully they were still somewhat tasty though!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Due to a new egg and milk allergy I don't have to miss my chocolate chip cookies. I used the coarse cane sugar and it gave it a grainy texture but they tasted really great. Next time I will use standard sugar. They did brown on the edges and were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
Rating 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Nicole February 06, 2013

The Best So Far

Due to a new egg and milk allergy I don't have to miss my chocolate chip cookies. I used the coarse cane sugar and it gave it a grainy texture but they tasted really great. Next time I will use standard sugar. They did brown on the edges and were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've baked these cookies again and again, I couldn't be more satisfied!! They're awesome. My non vegan friends ate them and loved them, they couldn't believe they were vegan!!
A friend of mine asked me the recipe but would like to substitute the flax meal with eggs, because where she lives flax seeds are hard to find and she doesn't have a grinder, so how many eggs should be put in the recipe instead of the mixture water + flax meal?
Rating 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kirsten February 02, 2013

.

I've baked these cookies again and again, I couldn't be more satisfied!! They're awesome. My non vegan friends ate them and loved them, they couldn't believe they were vegan!!
A friend of mine asked me the recipe but would like to substitute the flax meal with eggs, because where she lives flax seeds are hard to find and she doesn't have a grinder, so how many eggs should be put in the recipe instead of the mixture water + flax meal?

Owner's reply

So glad you like them Kirsten! For an egg substitution, replacing the flax/water mixture with one egg should work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
these cookies are GREAT! it's my 3rd attempt for a vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe and this one is by far the best! when i did my shopping i didn't realize i needed to get flax meal and ended up getting the golden flax seeds. i just threw a handful in the food processor for a while until it was all ground up. it was fun watching the seeds fly around in there! i only have 1 cookie sheet. the first round i made the cookies kind of on the bigger side (about 3 1/2-4inches diameter after cooked) and baked them for 15 minutes as the recipe suggests, also turning it half way through. they came out SOOOO good. i made them around 11:30am and they are still soft and it's 8:30pm now! the 2nd round i made the cookie dough smaller (about 2 inches diameter after cooked) and baked for the full 15 minutes, turning half way through. and those came out VERRRRRY crunchy! still tastes great and good for dunking though!!

Thanks for such a good recipe :-D
Rating 
 
4.0
JackieT.Esp. Reviewed by JackieT.Esp. January 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

timing is everything!

these cookies are GREAT! it's my 3rd attempt for a vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe and this one is by far the best! when i did my shopping i didn't realize i needed to get flax meal and ended up getting the golden flax seeds. i just threw a handful in the food processor for a while until it was all ground up. it was fun watching the seeds fly around in there! i only have 1 cookie sheet. the first round i made the cookies kind of on the bigger side (about 3 1/2-4inches diameter after cooked) and baked them for 15 minutes as the recipe suggests, also turning it half way through. they came out SOOOO good. i made them around 11:30am and they are still soft and it's 8:30pm now! the 2nd round i made the cookie dough smaller (about 2 inches diameter after cooked) and baked for the full 15 minutes, turning half way through. and those came out VERRRRRY crunchy! still tastes great and good for dunking though!!

Thanks for such a good recipe :-D

Owner's reply

So glad you liked these JackieT!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews